DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 2/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-20 have been canceled.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/027897 (5/5/2022) which claims benefit of 63/184,654 (5/5/2021).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 5/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception, abstract idea, without significantly more.
A three-step inquiry has been established to determine subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, in accordance with MPEP § 2106:
Step (1): Is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes. The claim is directed to a process.
Step (2A):
Prong 1: Does the claim recite a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes. The claim recites an abstract idea, diagnosing the subject. Diagnosing the subject is a mental process, as this step encompasses looking at a result (mast cell tryptase levels) and deciding if a person has CP/CPPS or not. This action is performed mentally, and therefore this claim is directed to a judicial exception.
Prong 2: If the claim recites a judicial exception, does it recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No. The claim does not recite any additional elements other than the mental step of diagnosing.
Step (2B): If the recited judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No. Claim 2 does not recite additional elements to amount to significantly more than the exception. Claim 2 only recites diagnosing a patient as having CP or CPPS if mast cell tryptase is elevated. Additionally, such a process is routine and conventional in the art (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102, Thumbikat col. 13 lines 55-67).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thumbikat et al., US 8,586,044 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Thumbikat teaches methods for detection, diagnosis, and treatment of chronic prostatitis/chronic pelvic pain syndrome (CPPS) (“Abstract”; col. 1 lines 30-35). Thumbikat teaches obtaining samples of expressed prostatic secretion (EPS) and testing the sample to quantify levels of mast cell tryptase (col. 13 lines 46-65).
Regarding claim 2, Thumbikat teaches detection or measurement of mast cell tryptase as an indicator of CPPS in a subject, and teaches diagnosis of CPPS based on detection of mast cell tryptase above a threshold level, i.e. above a control (col. 13 lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 3, Thumbikat teaches treating subjects with CPPS, i.e., subjects that have higher tryptase levels than control (col. 13 lines 55-67; col 14 lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 4, Thumbikat teaches that the treatment comprises inhibitors of the CPPS biomarker mast cell tryptase, or mast cell inhibitor therapy (col. 18 lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 5, Thumbikat teaches administering cromolyn sodium and/or cetirizine (col. 17 lines 60-65).
Conclusion
Claims 1-5 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653