DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Cha et al (US 10,266,214).
As concerns claim 1, Cha discloses a vehicle exterior air guiding device intended to be installed on a motor vehicle, comprising:
- a fixed part (Cha - 10) intended to be attached to said motor vehicle,
- a movable part (Cha - 200) movably mounted on the fixed part (Cha - 10),
- at least one connecting mechanism (Cha – 110, 170, 190, 150, etc) allowing a movement of the movable part (Cha - 200) relative to the fixed part (Cha - 10) between a stowed position and a deployed position, and
- for each connecting mechanism, an assembling device (Cha - 300) for connecting the connecting mechanism and the movable part (Cha - 200), the assembling device (Cha - 300) comprising a link bar (Cha – 400, among others) extending along a bar axis (Cha - Figure 2 and Figure 4 both illustrates such extents) the link bar (Cha - 400) being inserted in at least one opening defined in the movable part (Cha - 200) and in at least one opening defined in the connecting mechanism (Figures 3 and 4 illustrate such a configuration),
wherein the assembling device (Cha - 300) comprises one fastening element (Cha - 500) extending along a fastening axis and locking the link bar (Cha - 400) in position, the bar axis and the fastening axis extending in different directions.
As concerns claim 2, Cha discloses the air guiding device according to claim 1, wherein the bar axis (Cha - Figure 2) is substantially parallel to a transverse axis, said transverse axis defining a rotation axis and/or a translation axis of the movable part (Cha - 200) relative to the fixed part (Cha - 10).
As concerns claim 3, Cha discloses the air guiding device according to claim 1, wherein the bar axis (Cha - Figure 2) and the fastening axis are substantially perpendicular. (Cha- Figure 3)
As concerns claim 4, Chat discloses the air guiding device according to claim 1, wherein the fastening element is a screw. (Cha – 526 is a screw mechanism)
As concerns claim 5, Chat discloses the air guiding device according to claim 1, wherein the link bar (Cha - 400) is inserted in two openings (through two sections of 170, connected directly to 200 and considered a part there-of) defined in the movable part (Cha - 200) and in one opening (at either side of 110, wherein 400 inserts) defined in the connecting mechanism (Cha - 110), the three openings being aligned along the bar axis (Cha - Figure 3) and the opening defined in the connecting mechanism (Cha - 110) being located between the two openings defined in the movable part (Cha - 200).
As concerns claim 6, Cha discloses the air guiding device according to claim 5, wherein the movable part (Cha - 200) comprises, for each connecting mechanism (Cha - 110), two distinct protruding housings (50) comprising each one of the two openings (46) of the movable part (Cha - 200) for the passage of the link bar (Cha - 400), the two housings (50) defining between them a cavity (54) to receive a part of the connecting mechanism (Cha - 110) in which the opening (48) for the passage of link bar (Cha - 400) is defined.
As concerns claim 7, Cha discloses the air guiding device according to claim 1, wherein the link bar (Cha - 400) comprises a fastening head (Cha - 540), said fastening head being fastened to the movable part (Cha - 200) through the fastening element (Cha - 526).
As concerns claim 8, Cha discloses the air guiding device according to claim 4, wherein the link bar comprises a fastening head (Cha – 540), said fastening head being fastened to the movable part via the screw (Cha – 526), and wherein a threaded hole (Cha – Figure 2) is defined in the fastening head, the screw being screwed into said threaded hole of the fastening head of the link bar (Cha – Figure 4).
As concerns claim 9, Cha discloses the air guiding device according to claim 1, comprising a sealing system (Cha – 20).
As concerns claim 10, Cha discloses a method for assembling the air guiding device according to claim 1 on a motor vehicle, the method comprising at least the following steps, for each connecting mechanism (Cha - 110): - placing the link bar (Cha - 400) close to one opening defined in the movable part (Cha - 200); - placing the movable part (Cha - 200) on the connecting mechanism (Cha - 110); - pushing the link bar (Cha - 400) along the bar axis (Cha - Figure 2), so that the link bar (Cha - 400) passes through the openings; and - locking the link bar (Cha - 400) in position using the fastening element (Cha – 526) extending along the fastening axis, which extends in a different direction than the bar axis (Cha - Figure 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/AARON L LEMBO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3679