DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 18 and 19 begin with “The display device…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bang (US 2018/0366524).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bang teaches a light-emitting element (Fig. 11) comprising a bank including a base portion (Fig. 6, Element 180; ¶ [0055]) and a first protruding portion (Fig. 6, Element 182; ¶ [0056]) protruding from an upper face of the base portion; and a first function layer (Fig. 6, Element 221B; ¶ [0094]), wherein at least a part of an end portion of the first function layer is located above the upper face of the base portion or adjacently to a side face of the first protruding portion (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Bang teaches at least a part of the first function layer formed extending over the first protruding portion (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Bang teaches an inclination angle of the side face of the first protruding portion being less than 90 degrees (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Bang teaches a step between the upper face of the base portion and an upper face of the first protruding portion being less than 10 µm (¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Bang teaches the at least a part of the end portion of the first function layer located above the upper face of the base portion (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Bang teaches the first function layer having a thick end portion as compared to a portion formed in an opening of the bank (Fig. 6; portion of functional layer 220B on top of convex portion 182 is thicker than the portion of functional layer 220B extending down lateral surface 182b into an opening of the bank).
Regarding claim 7, Bang teaches the first function layer including at least any one layer of a light-emitting layer, a charge transport layer, and a charge injection layer (¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Bang teaches the bank including a second protruding portion (Fig. 7, Element 181; ¶ [0056]) protruding from the upper face of the base portion, and the at least a part of the end portion of the first function layer is located between the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Bang teaches a step between the upper face of the base portion and the upper face of the first protruding portion being larger than a thickness of the at least a part of the end portion of the first function layer, and a step between the upper face of the base portion and the upper face of the second protruding portion is larger than the thickness of the at least a part of the end portion of the first function layer (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Bang teaches an entire part of the end portion of the first function layer being located above the upper face of the base portion or adjacently to the side face of the first protruding portion (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Bang teaches the first protruding portion not surrounding an opening of the bank (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 12, Bang teaches at least one side face (Fig. 17; upper side face) of the first protruding portion including a meandering shape or a zigzag shape
Regarding claim 13, Bang teaches the first function layer including a plurality of layers (Fig. 6; ¶ [0094]).
Regarding claim 14, Bang teaches an insulating layer (Fig. 6, Element 170; ¶ [0050]); and an island-shaped electrode (Fig. 6, Element 210B; ¶ [0050]) located on the insulating layer, wherein the bank covers an end portion of the island-shaped electrode, a distance from an upper face of the insulating layer to the upper face of the base portion is equivalent to a distance from a surface of the end portion of the island-shaped electrode to the upper face of the first protruding portion, the island-shaped electrode has a uniform thickness, and the first protruding portion is located above the end portion of the island-shaped electrode (Fig. 13B; ¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 15, Bang teaches an insulating layer (Fig. 6, Element 170; ¶ [0050]); and an island-shaped electrode (Fig. 6, Element 210B; ¶ [0050]) located on the insulating layer, wherein the bank covers an end portion of the island-shaped electrode, a distance from an upper face of the insulating layer to the upper face of the base portion is equivalent to a distance from an upper face of the island-shaped electrode to the upper face of the first protruding portion, at least a part of the end portion of the island-shaped electrode is thicker than a central portion of the island-shaped electrode corresponding to an opening of the bank, and the first protruding portion is located above the at least a part of the end portion of the island-shaped electrode (Fig. 13B; ¶ [0084]).
Regarding claim 16, Bang teaches an insulating layer (Fig. 6, Element 170; ¶ [0050]) including a flat portion and a depressed portion depressed from the flat portion, wherein the bank covers the depressed portion, and the first protruding portion is located above the flat portion (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Bang teaches a display device comprising the light-emitting element according to claim 1, comprising a second function layer (Fig. 6, Element 220A; ¶ [0078]) including an end portion formed above the bank and located on a side opposite to the first function layer with respect to the bank, wherein at least a part of the second function layer is located above the upper face of the base portion or adjacently to the side face of the first protruding portion (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Bang teaches a display device comprising the-light emitting element according to claim 1, comprising a second function layer (Fig. 6, Element 220A; ¶ [0078]) including an end portion formed above the bank and located on a side opposite to the first function layer with respect to the bank, wherein the bank further includes a second protruding portion (Fig. 7, Element 181; ¶ [0056]) protruding from the upper face of the base portion, and at least a part of an end portion of the second function layer is located between the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 20, Bang teaches the display device according to claim 19, wherein the bank includes a third protruding portion (Fig. 17, central Element 2181; ¶ [0128]) protruding from the upper face of the base portion and being located between the first protruding portion (Fig. 17, right Element 2181; ¶ [0128]) and the second protruding portion (Fig. 17, left Element 2181; ¶ [0128]), at least a part of the first function layer (Fig. 17, Element 2220A; ¶ [0129]) is formed extending over the first protruding portion, at least a part of the second function layer (Fig. 17, Element 2230A; ¶ [0129]) is formed extending over the second protruding portion, the at least a part of the end portion of the first function layer is located between the first protruding portion and the third protruding portion (Fig. 17), and the at least a part of the end portion of the second function layer is located between the second protruding portion and the third protruding portion (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 21, Bang teaches the display device according to claim 19, wherein the bank includes a third protruding portion (Fig. 17, central Element 2181; ¶ [0128]) protruding from the upper face of the base portion and being located between the first protruding portion (Fig. 17, right Element 2181; ¶ [0128]) and the second protruding portion (Fig. 17, left Element 2181; ¶ [0128]), at least a part of the first function layer (Fig. 17, Element 2230A; ¶ [0129]) is formed extending over the first protruding portion and the third protruding portion, at least a part of the second function layer (Fig. 17, Element 2220A; ¶ [0129]) is formed extending over the second protruding portion and the third protruding portion, the at least a part of the end portion of the first function layer is located between the second protruding portion and the third protruding portion (Fig. 17), and the at least a part of the end portion of the second function layer is located between the first protruding portion and the third protruding portion (Fig. 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishioka (US 2019/0363139) teaches an organic electroluminescent display apparatus with a lattice-shaped bank. Ochi (US 2019/0363275) teaches a display device with a frame-shaped bank surrounding the display region. Kim (US 2018/0026189) teaches a mask frame assembly with a rib portion surrounding a pattern portion.
Contact Information
/Kevin Quarterman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 4 April 2026