DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 to 23 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 to 11 and 21 to 29 of copending Application No. 17/940,759 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the sole difference between the instant claims and the copending claims is the material being specifically gallium nitride. However, the instant claims recite a Group III nitride and the same property ranges as the copending. It is well within the skill of the art that gallium nitride is a group III nitride. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to grow gallium nitride in the instant claims from the genius that is claimed.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 17 to 19, 24, 26 and 28 to 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Wang 2020 (applied physics letters).
The Wang 2020 reference teaches a method of fabricating a heterostructure, note entire reference. The method comprising providing a substrate (page 2, column 1, accord paragraph, ScxAl1-xN samples were grown GaN and AIN templates on sapphire); then implementing a non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure at a growth temperature to form a wurtzite structure supported by the substrate (abstract, and page 2, column 1, second paragraph). The apparatus used was a MBE system equipped with a radio frequency (BF) plasma-assisted nitrogen source. The growth conditions included the growth temperature is about 650 degrees Celsius or less (page 2. column 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claims 18, 26 and 29, the Wang 2020 reference teaches forming a semiconductor layer supported by the substrate before implementing the non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure such that the wurtzite structure is formed on the semiconductor layer (page 2, column 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 19, 31 and 32, the Wang 2020 reference teaches wherein forming the semiconductor layer comprises forming a III-nitride layer (page 2, column 1, second paragraph, ScAlN).
Claim(s) 1 to 4, 6, 11 to 13 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al 2020.
The Wang et al 2020 reference teaches a method and product of a heterostructure note entire reference. The reference teaches the growth of pure wurtzite phase ScxAl1-xN with a Sc composition as high as X = 0.34 on GaN and AIN templates using plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy, page 2, column 1, second paragraph, ScxAl1-xN samples were grown on GaN and AIN templates on sapphire. The method comprising providing a substrate (page 2, column 1, second paragraph, ScxAl1-xN samples were grown on GaN and AIN templates on sapphire); and implementing a non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure at a growth temperature to form a wurtzite structure supported by the substrate (abstract, the growth of pure wurtzite phase SoxAl1-xN with a Sc composition as high as X = 0.34 on GaN and AIN templates using plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy; page 2, column 1. second paragraph. The growth conditions included epitaxy in the range of 400-900 °C. The wurtzite structure comprising an alloy of a III-nitride material, the non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure being configured to incorporate a group IIIB element into the alloy of the Ill-nitride material (abstract, the growth of pure wurtzite phase SexAl1-XN with a Sc composition as high as X = 0.34 on GaN and AIN templates using plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy; page 2, column I, second paragraph. The growth conditions included a nitrogen flow rate of 0.3-0.6 standard cubie centimeters per minute (scom). RF plasma forward power of 350 W. Al beam equivalent pressure (BEP) in the range of 2.0-8.0x10^-8 Torr, Ga BEP of 2.0x10^-7 Tom, Sc deposition rate of 0.05-0.10 A/s, and TG in the range of 400-900 °C). The sole difference between the instant claim and the prior art is the wurtzite structure exhibits breakdown field strength greater than ferroelectric coercive field strength of the wurtzite structure. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Wang 202 reference to have the claimed properties of breakdown strength in order to grow the desired structure noting, the reference grows the same materials with similar process parameters, which would give rise to similar results.
Regarding Claim 2, the Wang 2020 reference teaches the growth temperature is at about 650 degrees Celsius or less page 2, column 1, second paragraph.
Regarding Claim 3, the Wang 2020 reference teaches forming a semiconductor layer supported by the substrate before implementing the non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure such that the wurtzite structure is formed on the semiconductor layer (page 2, column 1, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 4, the Wang 2020 reference teaches wherein forming the semiconductor layer comprises forming a III-nitride layer (page 2, column 1, second paragraph, ScAlN).
Regarding Claim 6, the Wang '2020 reference teaches wherein the semiconductor layer comprises gallium nitride (GaN) (page 2. column 1, second paragraph
Regarding Claim 11, the Wang 2020 reference teaches the group IIIB element is scandium (abstract, the growth of pure wurtzite phase ScxAI1-xN).
Regarding Claim 12, the Wang 2020 reference teaches the III-nitride material can be aluminum nitride (AIN) (page 2, column 1, second paragraph, ScAlN samples ware grown on GaN and AIN templates).
Regarding Claim 13, the Wang 2020 reference teaches the substrate comprising sapphire (page 2, column 1, second paragraph.
Claim(s) 5, 8, 20, 27 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al 2020 in view of Tsui.
The Wang 2020 reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the wurtzite structure is nitrogen-polar. However, the Tsui reference teaches epitaxial grown wurtzite-structure semiconducting ScGaN (abstract) where the III-nitride layer is nitrogen-polar, page 84. first paragraph. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the at the time of the invention to modify Weng 12020 by the teachings of the Tsui reference to include a nitrogen-polar in order to grow pure wurtzite phase ScxAl1-xN using plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy.
Claim(s) 7, 9. 10 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al 2020 in view of Tsui and Leone et al.
The Wang and Tsui references are relied on for the same reasons as stated supra, and differ from the instant claims in forming the semiconductor such that the substrate is not removed from the epitaxial growth chamber between forming the semiconductor layer and implementing the non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure. However, the Leone in the field of structures grown by molecular beam (MBE) epitaxy (abstract) teaches growing the semiconductor layer in an epitaxial growth chamber such that the substrate is not removed from the epitaxial growth chamber between forming the semiconductor layer and implementing the non-sputtered, epitaxial growth procedure (page A, column 1, second paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wang 2020 by the teachings of the Leone et al reference to grow in one chamber in order to growing a pure wurtzite phase ScxAl1-xN lowering impurities by movement.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al 2020 in view of wo 2018/217973
The Wang 2020 reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in off-cut sapphire. However, wo 2018/217973 reference teaches using the (page 2, lines 34) sapphire substrates to form inclined off the c-plane surfaces. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wang 2020 to include wherein a substrate comprises off-cut sapphire as taught by wo 2018/217973 reference in order to grow the desired orientation of the layers.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al 2020 in view of US 2014/0217553 to Arena at al.
The Wang 2020 reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the annealing of the wurtzite structure at a temperature higher than the growth. Arena et al teaches in the field of depositing III-nitride semiconductor materials on substrates by HVPE process (abs) annealing wurtzite structure at a temperature higher than a growth temperature (Pare. [0009] Both are done in the same chamber (claim 16). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the Invention to modify Wang "2020 to include further comprising annealing the wurtzite structure as taught by Arena, for the benefit of reducing cracks in the layers.
Examiner’s Remarks
The remaining references are merely cited of interest as showing the state of the art in nitride growth.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714