DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the amendments made to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-15, and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 2023/0309115; citing US Provisional 63159202).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method by a wireless device configured with at least a first search-space set group, SSSG, and a second SSSG, the method comprising: receiving a first indication to transition from the first SSSG to the second SSSG ([0280], “A SSS group switching flag, of the one or more SSS group switching flags, corresponding to a cell group, may indicate, when setting to a first value, switching from a first SSS group to a second SSS group for each cell of the cell group.”); based on the first indication, starting a SSSG-switching timer ([0277], “In an example, the PDCCH configuration parameters may comprise a timer value (e.g., an integer in units of symbol/slot, or in units of ms) for a search space switch timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer IE). The search space switch timer and the time value may be used for a search space switching operation which will be described in FIG. 28B.”); while monitoring a PDCCH according to the second SSSG, receiving a second indication ([0289], “In an example, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH on a second SSS group (e.g., 2.sup.nd SSS group or a SSS with group index 1) based on configuration of SSS groups of a BWP of a cell. The wireless device may be provided by SearchSpaceSwitchTrigger a location of a search space set group switching flag field for a serving cell in a DCI format 2_0. The wireless device may receive a DCI.”) to transition to PDCCH skipping for a duration ([0296], “As shown in FIG. 29, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI) indicating skipping PDCCH with a time window.”); though the SSSG-switching timer expires before the duration ends, continuing PDCCH skipping until the duration ends ([0307], As shown in FIG. 30, in response to receiving the PDCCH skipping indication, the wireless device may stop the first time window associated with the second SSG on the BWP. Stopping the first time window, in response to receiving the PDCCH skipping indication, may avoid unnecessary SSG switching during the second time window in which the wireless device skips PDCCH monitoring on the BWP. Otherwise, keeping the first time window running, during the PDCCH skipping, may result in switching to a second SSG when the first time window expires, while the wireless device is not monitoring the PDCCH due to the PDCCH skipping indication.”; The contingent limitation has no patentable weight because it is a conditional statement in the method claim.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: after the duration expires, switching to the first SSSG ([0345], “In an example, the wireless device may switch from the second SSG to a third SSG of the plurality of SSGs on the BWP in response to the first time window expiring. The third SSG may be the first SSG.”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: while the UE is performing PDCCH skipping, transmitting an uplink transmission ([0367], “In an example, during the second time window, the wireless device may receive a DCI (not shown in FIG. 37) based on monitoring the PDCCH on the second SSG on the BWP of the first cell. The wireless device may transmit a TB or receive a TB based on the DCI indicating uplink grant or indicating downlink assignment.”); and switching to monitoring the PDCCH according to the first SSSG or the second SSSG ([0366], “The wireless device may start the second time duration (if configured) associated with the second SSG. The wireless device may determine that starting the second time duration (automatically) disables (or stops) the first time window. The wireless device may determine that the second DCI indicating the SSG switching (automatically) disables the first DCI indicating the PDCCH skipping, e.g., when the wireless device is applying the PDCCH skipping on the BWP and the wireless device receives the SSG switching indication from the second cell. The wireless device may start monitoring PDCCH on the second SSG based on switching from the first SSG to the second SSG.”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 4, wherein the uplink transmission comprises a scheduling request, SR ([0191], “Uplink control signaling may comprise scheduling requests (SR). The UE may transmit an SR indicating that uplink data is available for transmission to the base station.”).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: prior to receiving the second indication, receiving a configuration for PDCCH skipping, via a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message, and wherein the configuration comprises the duration ([0296], “As shown in FIG. 29, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI) indicating skipping PDCCH with a time window. A time value for the time window may be indicated by the first DCI or configured by the one or more RRC messages.”).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first periodicity and the second SSSG is associated with a second periodicity, the first periodicity and the second periodicity being different ([0278], “FIG. 27 shows an example of configuration of a search space (e.g., SearchSpace IE) of a BWP. In an example, one or more search space configuration parameters of a search space may comprise at least one of: a search space ID (searchSpaceld), a control resource set ID (controlResourceSetld), a monitoring slot periodicity … The monitoring slot periodicity and offset parameter may indicate slots (e.g., in a radio frame) and slot offset (e.g., related to a starting of a radio frame) for PDCCH monitoring. The monitoring symbol indication may indicate on which symbol(s) of a slot a wireless device may monitor PDCCH on the SS. The control resource set ID may identify a control resource set on which a SS may be located.”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first duration ([0329], “In an example embodiment, a base station may transmit, and/or a wireless device may receive, a DCI comprising a DCI field indicating a time duration for skipping PDCCH monitoring. The DCI may not comprise a SSG index for SSG switching. The time duration, being set to the first value, may indicate that the wireless device skip PDCCH monitoring for the rest time period of a first time window associated with a first SSG.”) and the second SSSG is associated with a second duration, the first duration and the second duration being different ([0357], “The configuration parameters may comprise a plurality of time values (e.g., a list of time values with orders) for PDCCH skipping on the BWP. The plurality of time values may comprise one or more first values (e.g., 1, 2, 3, any integer greater than 1) indicating that the wireless device skips PDCCH monitoring for a number of slots, wherein the number is, indicated by the PDCCH skipping duration indication field, one of the one or more first values. The plurality of time values may comprise a second value (e.g., zero) indicating that the wireless device does not skip PDCCH monitoring on the BWP in response to receiving a DCI comprising a PDCCH skipping duration indication field indicating the first value.”).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first Aggregation Level, AL, ([0186], “The number of the contiguous CCEs (referred to as aggregation level) may be 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, and/or any other suitable number.”) and the second SSSG is associated with a second AL, the first AL and the second AL being different ([0189], “A search space set may comprise a set of PDCCH candidates formed by CCEs at a given aggregation level. The configuration parameters may indicate: a number of PDCCH candidates to be monitored per aggregation level; a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and a PDCCH monitoring pattern; one or more DCI formats to be monitored by the UE; and/or whether a search space set is a common search space set or a UE-specific search space set. A set of CCEs in the common search space set may be predefined and known to the UE. A set of CCEs in the UE-specific search space set may be configured based on the UE's identity (e.g., C-RNTI).”).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first coreset and the second SSSG is associated with a second coreset, the first coreset and the second coreset being different ([0267], “a wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set comprising a plurality of search spaces (SSs). The wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESET: for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats. Monitoring may comprise decoding a DCI content of one or more PDCCH candidates with possible (or configured) PDCCH locations, possible (or configured) PDCCH formats (e.g., number of CCEs, number of PDCCH candidates in common SSs, and/or number of PDCCH candidates in the UE-specific SSs) and possible (or configured) DCI formats.”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first set of monitoring symbols ([0289], “The DCI may indicate a SSS group switching for the cell, e.g., when a value of the search space set group switching flag field in the DCI format 2_0 is 0, the wireless device may start monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 0 and stop monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 1 for the serving cell. The wireless device may start monitoring the PDCCH according to search space set with group index 0 and stop monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group 1 at a first slot that is at least P.sub.switch symbols after the last symbol of the PDCCH with the DCI format 2_0.”) and the second SSSG is associated with a second set of monitoring symbols, the first set of monitoring symbols and the second set of monitoring symbols being different ([0290], “In an example, if the wireless device monitors PDCCH for a serving cell according to a first SSS group (e.g., search space sets with group index 1), the wireless device may start monitoring PDCCH for the serving cell according to a second SSS group (e.g., search space sets with group index 0), and stop monitoring PDCCH according to the first SSS group, for the serving cell at the beginning of the first slot that is at least P.sub.switch symbols after a slot where the timer expires or after a last symbol of a remaining channel occupancy duration for the serving cell that is indicated by DCI format 2_0.”).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first DCI format ([0288], “As shown in FIG. 28B, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH on a first SSS group (e.g., 1.sup.st SSS group or a SSS with group index 0) based on configuration of SSS groups of a BWP of a cell. The wireless device may be provided by SearchSpaceSwitchTrigger with a location of a search space set group switching flag field for a serving cell in a DCI format 2_0. The SearchSpaceSwitchTrigger may be configured based on example embodiments of FIG. 27. The wireless device may receive a DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI in FIG. 28B with DCI format 2_0). The DCI may indicate a SSS group switching for the cell, e.g., when a value of the SSS group switching flag field in the DCI format 2_0 is 1.”) and the second SSSG is associated with a second DCI format, the first DCI format and the second DCI format being different ([0289], “The wireless device may be provided by SearchSpaceSwitchTrigger a location of a search space set group switching flag field for a serving cell in a DCI format 2_0. The wireless device may receive a DCI. The DCI may indicate a SSS group switching for the cell, e.g., when a value of the search space set group switching flag field in the DCI format 2_0 is 0, the wireless device may start monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 0 and stop monitoring PDCCH according to search space sets with group index 1 for the serving cell.”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the wireless device monitors the PDCCH while in the first SSSG or the second SSSG ([0290], “In an example, if the wireless device monitors PDCCH for a serving cell according to a first SSS group (e.g., search space sets with group index 1), the wireless device may start monitoring PDCCH for the serving cell according to a second SSS group”), and wherein the wireless device does not monitor the PDCCH while in PDCCH skipping ([0319], “As shown in FIG. 31, the wireless device may skip PDCCH monitoring (on the first SSG and/or the second SSG, or any SSG of the plurality of SSGs) on the BWP based on receiving the PDCCH skipping indication in the second DCI, during the second time window, or when a timer associated with the second time window is running.”).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein at least one of the first indication and the second indication is received via downlink control information, DCI ([0298], “In existing technologies, a wireless device may receive a first DCI comprising a SSG indication indicating that the wireless device switches PDCCH monitoring from a first SSG to a second SSG on a BWP, e.g., based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 28A and/or FIG. 28B. The wireless device may receive a second DCI comprising a PDCCH skipping indication indicating that the wireless device skips PDCCH monitoring on the BWP for a time duration, e.g., based on example embodiments described above with respect to FIG. 29.”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou discloses a method by a network node comprising: configuring a wireless device with at least a first search-space set group, SSSG, and a second SSSG, transmitting, to the wireless device, a first indication to transition from the first SSSG to the second SSSG ([0280], “A SSS group switching flag, of the one or more SSS group switching flags, corresponding to a cell group, may indicate, when setting to a first value, switching from a first SSS group to a second SSS group for each cell of the cell group.”); based on the first indication, starting a SSSG-switching timer ([0277], “In an example, the PDCCH configuration parameters may comprise a timer value (e.g., an integer in units of symbol/slot, or in units of ms) for a search space switch timer (e.g., searchSpaceSwitchTimer IE). The search space switch timer and the time value may be used for a search space switching operation which will be described in FIG. 28B.”); while the wireless device is monitoring a Physical Downlink Control Channel, PDCCH, according to the second SSSG, transmitting a second indication ([0289], “In an example, the wireless device may monitor PDCCH on a second SSS group (e.g., 2.sup.nd SSS group or a SSS with group index 1) based on configuration of SSS groups of a BWP of a cell. The wireless device may be provided by SearchSpaceSwitchTrigger a location of a search space set group switching flag field for a serving cell in a DCI format 2_0. The wireless device may receive a DCI.”) to transition to PDCCH skipping for a duration ([0296], “As shown in FIG. 29, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI) indicating skipping PDCCH with a time window.”); determining not to send PDCCH to the wireless device during the duration ([0296], “In an example, during the time window (or when a timer associated with the time window is running), the base station may not transmit PDCCH to the wireless device.”); and though the SSSG-switching timer expires before the duration ends, determining to continue to not send PDCCH during the duration ([0307], As shown in FIG. 30, in response to receiving the PDCCH skipping indication, the wireless device may stop the first time window associated with the second SSG on the BWP. Stopping the first time window, in response to receiving the PDCCH skipping indication, may avoid unnecessary SSG switching during the second time window in which the wireless device skips PDCCH monitoring on the BWP. Otherwise, keeping the first time window running, during the PDCCH skipping, may result in switching to a second SSG when the first time window expires, while the wireless device is not monitoring the PDCCH due to the PDCCH skipping indication.”; The contingent limitation has no patentable weight because it is a conditional statement in the method claim.).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 15, further comprising: after the duration expires, transmitting PDCCH (FIG. 29 shows that PDCCH can be transmitted after the duration expires. [0296], “In an example, during the time window (or when a timer associated with the time window is running), the base station may not transmit PDCCH to the wireless device.”).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein prior to transmitting the second indication, the method further comprises: transmitting, to the wireless device, a configuration for PDCCH skipping via a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message, and wherein the configuration comprises the duration ([0296], “As shown in FIG. 29, the wireless device may receive a first DCI (e.g., 1.sup.st DCI) indicating skipping PDCCH with a time window. A time value for the time window may be indicated by the first DCI or configured by the one or more RRC messages.”).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou discloses the method Claim 15, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first periodicity and the second SSSG is associated with a second periodicity, the first periodicity and the second periodicity being different ([0278], “FIG. 27 shows an example of configuration of a search space (e.g., SearchSpace IE) of a BWP. In an example, one or more search space configuration parameters of a search space may comprise at least one of: a search space ID (searchSpaceld), a control resource set ID (controlResourceSetld), a monitoring slot periodicity … The monitoring slot periodicity and offset parameter may indicate slots (e.g., in a radio frame) and slot offset (e.g., related to a starting of a radio frame) for PDCCH monitoring. The monitoring symbol indication may indicate on which symbol(s) of a slot a wireless device may monitor PDCCH on the SS. The control resource set ID may identify a control resource set on which a SS may be located.”).
Regarding claim 20, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first duration ([0329], “In an example embodiment, a base station may transmit, and/or a wireless device may receive, a DCI comprising a DCI field indicating a time duration for skipping PDCCH monitoring. The DCI may not comprise a SSG index for SSG switching. The time duration, being set to the first value, may indicate that the wireless device skip PDCCH monitoring for the rest time period of a first time window associated with a first SSG.”) and the second SSSG is associated with a second duration, the first duration and the second duration being different ([0357], “The configuration parameters may comprise a plurality of time values (e.g., a list of time values with orders) for PDCCH skipping on the BWP. The plurality of time values may comprise one or more first values (e.g., 1, 2, 3, any integer greater than 1) indicating that the wireless device skips PDCCH monitoring for a number of slots, wherein the number is, indicated by the PDCCH skipping duration indication field, one of the one or more first values. The plurality of time values may comprise a second value (e.g., zero) indicating that the wireless device does not skip PDCCH monitoring on the BWP in response to receiving a DCI comprising a PDCCH skipping duration indication field indicating the first value.”).
Regarding claim 21, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first Aggregation Level, AL, and the second SSSG is associated with a second AL, ([0186], “The number of the contiguous CCEs (referred to as aggregation level) may be 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, and/or any other suitable number.”) the first AL and the second AL being different ([0189], “A search space set may comprise a set of PDCCH candidates formed by CCEs at a given aggregation level. The configuration parameters may indicate: a number of PDCCH candidates to be monitored per aggregation level; a PDCCH monitoring periodicity and a PDCCH monitoring pattern; one or more DCI formats to be monitored by the UE; and/or whether a search space set is a common search space set or a UE-specific search space set. A set of CCEs in the common search space set may be predefined and known to the UE. A set of CCEs in the UE-specific search space set may be configured based on the UE's identity (e.g., C-RNTI).”).
Regarding claim 22, Zhou discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the first SSSG is associated with a first coreset and the second SSSG is associated with a second coreset, the first coreset and the second coreset being different ([0267], “a wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set comprising a plurality of search spaces (SSs). The wireless device may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or more CORESET: for detecting one or more DCIs. Monitoring may comprise decoding one or more PDCCH candidates of the set of the PDCCH candidates according to the monitored DCI formats. Monitoring may comprise decoding a DCI content of one or more PDCCH candidates with possible (or configured) PDCCH locations, possible (or configured) PDCCH formats (e.g., number of CCEs, number of PDCCH candidates in common SSs, and/or number of PDCCH candidates in the UE-specific SSs) and possible (or configured) DCI formats.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 2023/0309115; citing US Provisional 63159202) in view of Guo et al. (US 2023/0354364).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou does not disclose the fewer PDCCH monitoring occasions. Guo discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the first SSSG has fewer PDCCH monitoring occasions than the second SSSG ([0148], “the wireless communication device 104 or 204 can switch from a denser SSSG to a sparser SSSG after the switching timer expires, where the denser SSSG can include more search space sets, or more RNTI types, or more PDCCH monitoring occasions, or larger T.sub.s values, or smaller k.sub.s values than sparser normal SSSG,”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou in view of Guo to have the fewer PDCCH monitoring occasions. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption (e.g., Guo [0095]).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou does not disclose the fewer PDCCH monitoring occasions. Guo discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the first SSSG has fewer PDCCH monitoring occasions than the second SSSG ([0148], “the wireless communication device 104 or 204 can switch from a denser SSSG to a sparser SSSG after the switching timer expires, where the denser SSSG can include more search space sets, or more RNTI types, or more PDCCH monitoring occasions, or larger T.sub.s values, or smaller k.sub.s values than sparser normal SSSG,”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhou in view of Guo to have the fewer PDCCH monitoring occasions. The motivation would have been to reduce power consumption (e.g., Guo [0095]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26 and 30 are allowed. The amendments made to claim 26 and 30 to give structure overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICK ANON SUNDARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479