DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 47, 50-56, and 58-69 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 47, 51-52, 54-56, 58, 60-61, 63-65, and 68-69, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Berggren et al. (US 2023/0379823 A1).
Regarding claim 47, Berggren discloses a method by a wireless device (e.g. 300 or 300A) comprising: receiving, from a network node (e.g. 400 or 400A) (figs. 1A-1C), a message (S301) comprising an indication that of whether the wireless device is to monitor for a Paging Early Indicator, PEI, for the wireless device in a cell only when the cell is a last cell used by the wireless device (fig. 3; paragraph [0085]-[0095]; [0193]-[0198]; [0006]; and etc., illustrating a UE receives a message indicating whether the UE is to monitor for a paging, WUS, for the UE in a cell only when the UE used the cell most recently or previously or last used cell. Berggren cited release 15, section 7.4 for the indication of the paging, WUS, received and monitored by the UE when the UE last used cell only).
Regarding claim 56, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 47. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 47 in order to define the corresponding wireless device, and the rejection to claim 47 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 58, a method by a network node (e.g. 400 or 400A) comprising: transmitting, to a wireless device (300 or 300A), a message comprising an indication of whether the wireless device is to monitor for a Paging Early Indicator, PEI, for the wireless device in a cell only when the cell is a last cell used by the wireless device (fig. 3; paragraph [0085]-[0095]; [0193]-[0198]; [0006]; and etc., illustrating RAN node transmits a message to UE indicating whether the UE is to monitor for a paging, WUS, for the UE in a cell only when the UE used the cell most recently or previously or last used cell. Berggren cited release 15, section 7.4 for the indication of the paging, WUS, received and monitored by the UE when the UE last used cell only).
Regarding claim 65, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 58. The claim is a mere reformulation of claim 58 in order to define the corresponding wireless device, and the rejection to claim 58 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 51 and 60, Berggren discloses wherein the message is received in system information for the cell (e.g. paragraph [0090]-[0092]; and so on).
Regarding claim 52 and 61, Berggren discloses wherein the message comprises a parameter that indicates whether the wireless device is to monitor for PEI in the cell only when the cell is the last cell used by the wireless device (fig. 3; paragraph [0085]-[0095]; [0193]-[0198]; [0006]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 54 and 63, Berggren discloses wherein the message is a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message (paragraph [0046]; [0061]; [0081]; [0090]; [0095]).
Regarding claim 55, Berggren further discloses comprising: based on the message, monitoring for the PEI in the cell (fig. 3; paragraph [0085]-[0095]; [0193]-[0198]; [0006]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 64, Berggren discloses wherein the network node comprises a gNodeB, gNB (paragraph [0030]-[0040]; and so on).
Regarding claim 68, Berggren discloses wherein at least one of the message is received in system information for the cell, the message is a Radio Resource Control, RRC, message, the message is associated with a registration or update procedure (paragraph [0046]; [0061]; [0081]; [0090]; [0095]).
Regarding claim 69, Berggren discloses wherein the processing circuitry is configured to monitor for the PEI in the last cell used by the wireless device based on the message (fig. 3; paragraph [0085]-[0095]; [0193]-[0198]; [0006]; and etc.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50, 59, and 66 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren in view of Shubhi et al. (US 2024/0137868 A1).
Regarding claim 50, 59, and 66-67, as applied above, Berggren discloses wherein the indication that whether the wireless device is to monitor for PEI in the cell only when the cell is the last cell used by the wireless device. Berggren doesn’t disclose wherein the message comprises an indicator of a Boolean type.
Shubhi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the message comprises an indicator of a Boolean type (paragraph [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the message comprises an indicator of a Boolean type as taught by Shubhi into Berggren in order to easily detect errors and successfully decode.
Claims 53 and 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0227466 A1).
Regarding claim 53 and 62, as applied above, Berggren discloses a message. However, Berggren doesn’t disclose the message is associated with a registration or update procedure.
Kim teaches the message is associated with a registration or update procedure (paragraph [0123]; [0129]; [0131]; [0145]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the message comprises an indicator of a Boolean type as taught by Kim into Berggren in order to improve quality of service of the communication.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461