DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1 – 10, in the reply filed on 19 March 2026 is acknowledged.
The examiner notes the Restriction Requirement mailed 22 January 2026 failed to indicate claim 11 belonging to any group. The examiner notes claim 11 should have been grouped into Group I and therefore is examined with Applicant’s election of claims 1 – 10.
Claims 12 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2016/0243773 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a liquid resin laminated glass panel (“panel”, e.g. “panel” 200, 300, 400, 500 e.g. Fig. 1 – 14; ¶¶ [0016] – [0077]), comprising:
a first layer of glass (a first of “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]);
a second layer of glass (a second of the “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]); and
a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin while in contact with the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass (“interlayer” of “liquid resin” between the “two layers of glass” 230, e.g. “interlayer” 220 and “cured resin” 310: e.g. Fig. 2; ¶¶ [0017], [0020], [0021], [0026], [0030] – [0032], [0035] – [0038], [0040] – [0056], [0059] – [0065], [0067], [0068], [0072] – [0077]);
wherein the liquid resin is added into a substantially sealed glass cavity formed between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass by a vacuum (“edge seal” 420 defines a “cavity” between the “two layers of glass” 230 where the “liquid resin” is added during “vacuum filling”, or “sealing spacer” 1310: e.g. Fig. 4, 14; ¶¶ [0025], [0042], [0045], [0050]).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the liquid resin is added into the substantially sealed glass cavity with a degassing (bubbles are removed: e.g. ¶¶ [0047], [0048], [0050] – [0053], [0058], [0059], [0063], [0064]).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the polymer is formed from a one-part resin or a multiple-part resin (“DayLightCure resin” can be considered a one-part for its acrylate monomers or a two-part where each acrylate monomer is a part: e.g. ¶¶ [0045], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0052], [0061], [0063], [0067], [0068], [0075]).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the polymer or the liquid resin comprises spacers (“spacers”, e.g. “spacers” 410: e.g. Fig. 4; ¶¶ [0042], [0047], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the polymer comprises, e.g. a polyacrylate, a polyurethane, a polysilicon, a polyester, an epoxy, or a polysulfide (e.g. ¶¶ [0038], [0040], [0041]; “DayLightCure resin” is an example commercial product mentions which is a polyacrylate: e.g. ¶¶ [0045], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0052], [0061], [0063], [0067], [0068], [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the liquid resin further comprises, e.g., a dye (e.g. ¶ [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses at least one of the first glass layer or the second glass layer comprises a low-e coating (e.g. claim 24).
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the polymer comprises one or more inserts of, e.g. plastic sheet (“LCMD film”, e.g. “LCMD film” 100 comprising “transparent plastic film” 130: e.g. Fig. 1 – 8, 10, 11; ¶¶ [0017], [0019], [0028], [0029], [0034] – [0037], [0039] – [0045], [0049] – [0056], [0059], [0060], [0063] – [0065]).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Wang discloses the panel is fitted to a third layer of glass positioned on the panel such that the third layer of glass is separated from the panel with a sealing spacer positioned at edges thereof, thereby defining a gap between the panel and the third layer of glass to form a laminated insulating glass unit (“sealing spacer” 410 spacing a “LRLSP” 300 from a “layer of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 3, 14; ¶¶ [0041], [0070]).
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the limitations of claim 10, Wang discloses the gap is filled with, e.g., an inert gas (“inert argon gas”: e.g. ¶ [0070]).
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (KR 2018-0045750 A, referencing a machine translation thereof provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a liquid resin laminated glass panel (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0009] – [0035]), comprising:
a first layer of glass (a first of a pair of “glass panes”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0011], [0023], [0026]);
a second layer of glass (a first of a pair of “glass panes”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0011], [0023], [0026]); and
a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin while in contact with the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass (“UV resin” injected between the “glass panes”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0015], [0017] – [0019], [0021] – [0023], [0026] – [0035]);
wherein the liquid resin is added into a substantially sealed glass cavity formed between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass by a vacuum (e.g. ¶¶ [0013], [0015], [0028], [0030], [0031], [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Park discloses the liquid resin is added into the substantially sealed glass cavity with a degassing (bubbles are removed: e.g. ¶¶ [0012], [0013], [0015], [0018], [0025], [0028], [0030] – [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Park discloses a spacing between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass is 0.5 to 0.8 mm (e.g. ¶ [0027]), which is within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Park discloses the polymer comprises one or more inserts of, e.g. plastic sheet (“PDLC film”, where PDLC is short for “polymer dispersed liquid crystal”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0005], [0009] – [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3 – 5, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 3, although Park is not explicit as to the polymer being formed from a one-part resin or a multiple-part resin, this feature would have been obvious in view of Wang.
Like Park, Wang discloses a liquid resin laminated glass panel (“panel”, e.g. “panel” 200, 300, 400, 500 e.g. Fig. 1 – 14; ¶¶ [0016] – [0077]), comprising:
a first layer of glass (a first of “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]);
a second layer of glass (a second of the “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]); and
a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin while in contact with the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass (“interlayer” of “liquid resin” between the “two layers of glass” 230, e.g. “interlayer” 220 and “cured resin” 310: e.g. Fig. 2; ¶¶ [0017], [0020], [0021], [0026], [0030] – [0032], [0035] – [0038], [0040] – [0056], [0059] – [0065], [0067], [0068], [0072] – [0077]);
wherein the liquid resin is added into a substantially sealed glass cavity formed between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass by a vacuum (“edge seal” 420 defines a “cavity” between the “two layers of glass” 230 where the “liquid resin” is added during “vacuum filling”, or “sealing spacer” 1310: e.g. Fig. 4, 14; ¶¶ [0025], [0042], [0045], [0050]), and
the polymer or the liquid resin comprises spacers (“spacers”, e.g. “spacers” 410: e.g. Fig. 4; ¶¶ [0042], [0047], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0063]).
Wang discloses the polymer is formed from a one-part resin or a multiple-part resin (“DayLightCure resin” can be considered a one-part for its acrylate monomers or a two-part where each acrylate monomer is a part: e.g. ¶¶ [0045], [0046], [0048], [0050], [0052], [0061], [0063], [0067], [0068], [0075]). The polymer is useful for conferring sound-proofing or bulletproofing, depending on the monomer makeup (e.g. ¶ [0045]).
Accordingly, to provide sound-proofing or bulletproofing, it would have been obvious to modify Park’s polymer to be a one-part resin or a multiple-part resin, e.g. the polymer Wang discloses.
Regarding claim 4, although Park is not explicit as to the polymer or the liquid resin comprising spacers, this feature would have been obvious in view of Wang.
Like Park, Wang discloses a liquid resin laminated glass panel (“panel”, e.g. “panel” 200, 300, 400, 500 e.g. Fig. 1 – 14; ¶¶ [0016] – [0077]), comprising:
a first layer of glass (a first of “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]);
a second layer of glass (a second of the “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]); and
a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin while in contact with the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass (“interlayer” of “liquid resin” between the “two layers of glass” 230, e.g. “interlayer” 220 and “cured resin” 310: e.g. Fig. 2; ¶¶ [0017], [0020], [0021], [0026], [0030] – [0032], [0035] – [0038], [0040] – [0056], [0059] – [0065], [0067], [0068], [0072] – [0077]);
wherein the liquid resin is added into a substantially sealed glass cavity formed between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass by a vacuum (“edge seal” 420 defines a “cavity” between the “two layers of glass” 230 where the “liquid resin” is added during “vacuum filling”, or “sealing spacer” 1310: e.g. Fig. 4, 14; ¶¶ [0025], [0042], [0045], [0050]), and
the polymer or the liquid resin comprises spacers (“spacers”, e.g. “spacers” 410: e.g. Fig. 4; ¶¶ [0042], [0047], [0053], [0055], [0056], [0063]).
Wang discloses the spacers provide flatness, ensure the liquid resin easily covers the entire surface of a LCMD (liquid crystal micro-droplet) film, and/or to prevent contact of an NPD-LCD (non-homogenous polymer dispersed liquid crystal display) film included between the layers of glass (e.g. ¶¶ [0005], [0034], [0042], [0047]).
Given Park also includes a PDLC (polymer dispersed liquid crystal) film between the layers of glass (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0009] – [0035]) and acknowledges direct contact between the PDLC film and glass is undesirable from a spreadability standpoint of the liquid resin (e.g. ¶ [0027]), it would have been obvious for the polymer or the liquid resin Park discloses to comprise spacers as Wang suggests, the motivation being to provide flatness, ensure the liquid resin easily covers the PDLC film, and to prevent contact of the PDLC film with the layers of glass.
Regarding claim 5, although Park is not explicit as to the polymer comprising one or more of: a polyacrylate, a polyurethane, a polycarbonate, a polysilicon, a polyester, an epoxy, a polysulfide, a polyimide, a polyphenolic, a polyethylene, or a copolymer, this feature would have been obvious in view of Wang.
Park notes the liquid resin cures with ultraviolet (UV) radiation (e.g. ¶¶ [0009] – [0015], [0017] – [0019], [0021] – [0023], [0026] – [0035]).
Wang discloses UV resins suitable for this purpose (e.g. ¶¶ [0030], [0044] – [0046], [0048], [0049], [0051], [0056], [0057], [0059], [0063], [0068]), noting the liquid resin may be, e.g. a polyacrylate, a polyurethane, a polysilicon, a polyester, an epoxy, or a polysulfide (e.g. ¶¶ [0038], [0040], [0041]). Wang also discloses a curing process useful for avoiding asymmetries in a panel that negatively impact switching performance (e.g. ¶ [0049]).
Given Park similarly desires their panel to exhibit smoothness (e.g. ¶¶ [0013], [0015], [0018], [0031], [0032]), it would have been obvious to employ, as the polymer, e.g., one or more of a polyacrylate, a polyurethane, a polysilicon, a polyester, an epoxy, or a polysulfide as Wang suggests since these polymers are suitable for Park’s goals.
Regarding claim 7, although Park is not explicit as to the liquid resin further comprising one or more of a dye, a pigment, a coupling agent, or a UV absorber, this feature would have been obvious in view of Wang.
Park notes the liquid resin cures with ultraviolet (UV) radiation (e.g. ¶¶ [0009] – [0015], [0017] – [0019], [0021] – [0023], [0026] – [0035]).
Wang discloses UV resins suitable for a liquid resin of this purpose (e.g. ¶¶ [0030], [0044] – [0046], [0048], [0049], [0051], [0056], [0057], [0059], [0063], [0068]), noting the liquid resin further comprises, e.g., a dye to add decorative or projection screen properties (e.g. ¶ [0072]).
For these reason, it would have been obvious to add, e.g. a dye to the liquid resin Park discloses.
Regarding claim 10, although Park is not explicit as to the panel being fitted to a third layer of glass positioned on the panel such that the third layer of glass is separated from the panel with a sealing spacer positioned at edges thereof, thereby defining a gap between the panel and the third layer of glass to form a laminated insulating glass unit, this feature would have been obvious in view of Wang.
Like Park, Wang discloses a liquid resin laminated glass panel (“panel”, e.g. “panel” 200, 300, 400, 500 e.g. Fig. 1 – 14; ¶¶ [0016] – [0077]), comprising:
a first layer of glass (a first of “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]);
a second layer of glass (a second of the “two layers of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 2 – 8, 10, 11, 13, 14; ¶¶ [0028], [0029], [0035] – [0037], [0040] – [0045], [0050], [0051], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0062] – [0065], [0067] – [0071], [0073], [0075] – [0077]); and
a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin while in contact with the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass (“interlayer” of “liquid resin” between the “two layers of glass” 230, e.g. “interlayer” 220 and “cured resin” 310: e.g. Fig. 2; ¶¶ [0017], [0020], [0021], [0026], [0030] – [0032], [0035] – [0038], [0040] – [0056], [0059] – [0065], [0067], [0068], [0072] – [0077]);
wherein the liquid resin is added into a substantially sealed glass cavity formed between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass by a vacuum (“edge seal” 420 defines a “cavity” between the “two layers of glass” 230 where the “liquid resin” is added during “vacuum filling”, or “sealing spacer” 1310: e.g. Fig. 4, 14; ¶¶ [0025], [0042], [0045], [0050]).
Wang also discloses the panel is fitted to a third layer of glass positioned on the panel such that the third layer of glass is separated from the panel with a sealing spacer positioned at edges thereof, thereby defining a gap between the panel and the third layer of glass to form a laminated insulating glass unit, e.g. to lower thermal conductivity (“sealing spacer” 410 spacing a “LRLSP” 300 from a “layer of glass” 230: e.g. Fig. 3, 14; ¶¶ [0041], [0070]).
Accordingly, to lower the thermal conductivity of Park’s panel, it would have been obvious to fit a third layer of glass positioned on the panel such that the third layer of glass is separated from the panel with a sealing spacer positioned at edges thereof, thereby defining a gap between the panel and the third layer of glass to form a laminated insulating glass unit as Wang suggests.
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the limitations of claim 10, Wang discloses the gap is filled with, e.g., an inert gas (“inert argon gas”: e.g. ¶ [0070]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park.
Regarding claim 6, although Wang is not explicit as to a spacing between the first layer of glass and the second glass layer being 0.01 to 2.00 millimeters, this feature would have been obvious in view of Park.
Wang discloses an embodiment where their panel includes a polymer dispersed liquid crystal (PDLC) film (e.g. ¶ [0034]), e.g. to allow the panel to be switchable to control how much light and radiation passes through (e.g. ¶¶ [0003], [0021], [0030] – [0032], [0034], [0037], [0039] – [0041], [0043], [0044], [0049], [0050], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0060], [0064], [0065], [0067], [0070], [0071], [0077]).
Like Wang, Park discloses a liquid resin laminated glass panel (e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0009] – [0035]), comprising:
a first layer of glass (a first of a pair of “glass panes”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0011], [0023], [0026]);
a second layer of glass (a first of a pair of “glass panes”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010], [0011], [0023], [0026]); and
a layer of polymer that is polymerized or cured from a liquid resin while in contact with the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass (“UV resin” injected between the “glass panes”: e.g. Fig. 1; ¶¶ [0010] – [0015], [0017] – [0019], [0021] – [0023], [0026] – [0035]);
wherein the liquid resin is added into a substantially sealed glass cavity formed between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass by a vacuum (e.g. ¶¶ [0013], [0015], [0028], [0030], [0031], [0033]).
Park discloses a spacing between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass is 0.5 to 0.8 mm to ensure spreadability of the liquid resin and to avoid excessive thickness between the glass and a switchable PDLC film between the layers of glass (e.g. ¶ [0027]),
Given Wang also discloses a switchable film between layers of glass (“LCMD film”, e.g. “LCMD film” 100 comprising “transparent plastic film” 130: e.g. Fig. 1 – 8, 10, 11; ¶¶ [0017], [0019], [0028], [0029], [0034] – [0037], [0039] – [0045], [0049] – [0056], [0059], [0060], [0063] – [0065]), it would have been obvious to modify Wang’s panel such that a spacing between the first layer of glass and the second layer of glass is 0.5 to 0.8 mm as Park suggests. One of ordinary skill in the art would have done this to ensure spread ability of the liquid resin and to avoid excessive thickness between the glass and a switchable PDLC film between the layers of glass
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klein (WO 2020/001949 A1, referencing US 2021/0268774 A1 as an English-language equivalent). This is an alternative rejection to that above in view of Wang alone.
Regarding claim 8, although Wang is not explicit as to at least one of the first glass layer or the second glass layer comprises a low-e coating, this feature would have been obvious in view of Klein.
Wang discloses their panel is switchable to control how much light and radiation passes through (e.g. ¶¶ [0003], [0021], [0030] – [0032], [0034], [0037], [0039] – [0041], [0043], [0044], [0049], [0050], [0053] – [0056], [0059], [0060], [0064], [0065], [0067], [0070], [0071], [0077]).
Klein also discloses switchable panels (e.g. ¶¶ [0009] – [0104]), and uses low-e coatings on a glass layer to further control how much light and radiation passes through, e.g. to boost the control in extreme conditions (such as strong solar radiation and ice formation: e.g. ¶ [0045]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Wang’s panel such that at least one of the first glass layer or the second glass layer comprises a low-e coating as Klein suggests, the motivation being to enhance control of light and radiation passing through the panel in extreme conditions.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klein.
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, although Park is not explicit as to at least one of the first glass layer or the second glass layer comprises a low-e coating, this feature would have been obvious in view of Klein.
Park discloses their panel is switchable to control how much light and radiation passes through (e.g. ¶¶ [0009], [0017], [0022]).
Klein also discloses switchable panels (e.g. ¶¶ [0009] – [0104]), and uses low-e coatings on a glass layer to further control how much light and radiation passes through, e.g. to boost the control in extreme conditions (such as strong solar radiation and ice formation: e.g. ¶ [0045]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to modify Park’s panel such that at least one of the first glass layer or the second glass layer comprises a low-e coating as Klein suggests, the motivation being to enhance control of light and radiation passing through the panel in extreme conditions.
Conclusion
/ETHAN A. UTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783