Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/24 was filed in a timely manner; thus, the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) #1-3, 19, 21, 24, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by SEO (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0234115), hereinafter referred to as "Seo".
Seo shows, with respect to claim #1, a light-emitting device, comprising: a first electrode (fig. #4a, item 101) (paragraph 0141), and a first carrier transport layer (Hole transport; fig. #4a, item 112) (paragraph 0097, 0102), a light-emitting layer (fig. #4a, item 113), a second carrier transport layer (electron transport; fig. #4a, item 114) and a second electrode (fig. #4a, item 102) that are stacked on the first electrode in sequence (paragraph 0097, 0102), wherein transmittance of the second electrode (fig. #4a, item 102) is higher than that of the first electrode (fig. #4a, item 101) light-emitting layer (paragraph 0095), and the transmittance is transmittance of visible light (paragraph 0064, 0095, 0098); the first carrier transport sub-layers (fig. #4a, item 117-119) (paragraph 0133-0135), the refractive indexes of the first carrier transport sub-layers decrease layer by layer in a direction from the light-emitting layer [fig. #4a, item 114 (1.65-2.5), item 115 (1.7-2.0), EL, item 13] to the first electrode (fig. #4a, item 101) (paragraph 0102, 0135); and in the at least two first carrier transport sub-layers, a thickness of a film layer with a low refractive index (fig. #4a, item 114; 15nm) is greater than a thickness of a film layer (fig. #4a, item 115; 1nm) with a high refractive index (paragraph 0249-0250); and/or, the second carrier transport layer includes at least two second carrier transport sub- layers with different refractive indexes, and in the at least two second carrier transport sub-layers, the refractive indexes of the second carrier transport sub-layers decrease layer by layer in a direction from the light-emitting layer to the second electrode; and in the at least two second carrier transport sub-layers, a thickness of a film layer with a low refractive index is greater than a thickness of a film layer with a high refractive index.
Seo shows, with respect to claim #2, a device wherein the first carrier transport layer includes two first carrier transport sub-layers (fig. #4a, item 116) (paragraph 0133-0135), a first carrier transport sub-layer (fig. #4a, item 117), proximate to the first electrode (fig. #4a, item 102) is a first carrier first transport sub-layer, and a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the light-emitting layer (fig. #4a, item 113) is a first carrier second (fig. #4a, item 119), transport sub-layer (paragraph 0133-0135); and/or, the second carrier transport layer includes two second carrier transport sub-layers, a second carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the second electrode is a second carrier first transport sub-layer, and a second carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the light-emitting layer is a second carrier second transport sub-layer.
Seo shows, with respect to claim #3, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers (fig. #4a, item 117-119), the first carrier first transport sub-layer (fig. #4a, item 117) is a continuous film layer, and a material (paragraph 0104, 0133) of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a first carrier first material (paragraph 0133-0135); and/or, in the two second carrier transport sub-layers, the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer, and a material of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a second carrier first material.
Seo shows, with respect to claim #19, a device wherein the light-emitting device (paragraph 0063) is upright, the first electrode is an anode (fig. #4a, item 101) (paragraph 0097), the second electrode is a cathode (fig. #4a, item 102) (paragraph 0097), the first carrier transport layer is a hole transport layer (fig. #4a, item 112) (paragraph 0099), and the second carrier transport layer is an electron transport layer (fig. #4a, item 114) (paragraph 0102); or the light-emitting device is inverted, the first electrode is the cathode, the second electrode is the anode, the first carrier transport layer is the electron transport layer, and the second carrier transport layer is the hole transport layer; wherein the second electrode is a transparent electrode.
Seo shows, with respect to claim 21, a method wherein manufacturing method for a light-emitting device (paragraph 0063), comprising: forming a first electrode (fig. #4a, item 102) (paragraph 0097); forming a first carrier transport layer (fig. #4a, item 117) on the first electrode (paragraph 0133); forming a light-emitting layer (fig. #4a, item 113), on the first carrier transport layer (fig. #4b, item 116) (paragraph 0102, 0132-0133); forming a second carrier transport layer (fig. #4a, item, 111) on the light-emitting layer (fig. #4a, item, 113) (paragraph 0102, 0132-0133); and forming a second electrode (fig 4b, item 101) on the second carrier transport layer (fig 4b, item 111); wherein the first carrier transport layer (fig. #4a, item 117) includes at least two first carrier transport sub-layers (fig. #4a, item 118, 119) with different refractive indexes (paragraph 0135), and in the at least two first carrier transport sub- layers, the refractive indexes of the first carrier transport sub-layers decrease layer by layer in a direction from the light-emitting layer to the first electrode [fig. #4a, item 114 (1.65-2.5), item 115 (1.7-2.0), EL, item 13]; and in the at least two first carrier transport sub-layers, a thickness of a film layer with a low refractive index is greater than a thickness of a film layer with a high refractive index [(fig. #4a, item 114; 15nm) (fig. #4a, item 115; 1nm) (paragraph 0249-0250)]; and/or the second carrier transport layer includes at least two second carrier transport sub- layers with different refractive indexes, and in the at least two second carrier transport sub-layers, the refractive indexes of the second first carrier transport sub-layers decrease layer by layer in a direction from the light-emitting layer to the second electrode; and in the at least two second carrier transport sub-layers, a thickness of a film layer with a low refractive index is greater than a thickness of a film layer with a high refractive index.
Seo shows, with respect to claim #24, display substrate, comprising at least one light-emitting device (paragraph 0023).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim #4-7, 12-14, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0234115), hereinafter referred to as "Seo as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above and in view of Miller et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0102706), hereinafter referred to as "Miller".
Seo substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #4, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers, the first carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other, and materials of the plurality of patterned structures are a first carrier first material; the first carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode, and a second portion disposed on the first electrode and in contact with the first electrode; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are equal, and a surface of the first carrier second transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is not in a same plane; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material.
Miller teaches, with respect to claim #4, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers (Below; fig. #Ex1, item SB), the first carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures (Below; fig. #Ex1, item PS) spaced apart (fig. #2, item 36) (paragraph 0022) from each other, and materials of the plurality of patterned structures are a first carrier first material (paragraph 0042); the first carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side (Below; fig. #Ex1, item PaS2) of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer (fig. #2, item 42, 44) away from the first electrode (fig. #2, item 24a&b), and a second portion disposed on the first electrode and in contact with the first electrode (paragraph 0022-0023); thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are equal (paragraph 0031), and a surface of the first carrier second transport sub-layer (Below; fig. #Ex1, item PaS2) away from the first electrode (fig. #Ex1, item 24b) is not in a same plane; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material (paragraph 0042).
[AltContent: textbox (Pattern Structure; PS)][AltContent: ]
[AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (C- axis Oriented; CO)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pattern Sides; PaS3)][AltContent: textbox (Sublayer; SB)][AltContent: ][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Pattern Sides; PaS2)][AltContent: textbox (Ex1)]
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #4, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Miller, which teaches, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers, the first carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other, and materials of the plurality of patterned structures are a first carrier first material; the first carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode, and a second portion disposed on the first electrode and in contact with the first electrode; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are equal, and a surface of the first carrier second transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is not in a same plane; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material, to incorporate a structural condition wherein the electroluminescent device is capable of producing light within the area between the individual electrode segments to obtain improved fill factor, as taught by Miller.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #5, a wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers, the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer, and includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other and other structures except the plurality of patterned structures; a surface of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is in a same plane; and the first carrier second transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer, and a material of the first carrier second transport sub-layer and a material of the other structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material, and a material of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a first carrier first material.
Miller shows, with respect to claim #5, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers42
, the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer (paragraph 0022), and includes a plurality of patterned structures (Above; fig. #Ex1, item PS) spaced apart (fig. #2, item 36) from each other and other structures except the plurality of patterned structures (paragraph 0022); a surface of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is in a same plane (Above; fig. #Ex1, item PaS2); and the first carrier second transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer (paragraph 0022) , and a material of the first carrier (fig. #2, item 34) second transport sub-layer (fig. #2, item 44) and a material of the other structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material, and a material of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a first carrier first material (paragraph 0031; Table #1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #5, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Miller, which teaches, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers, the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer, and includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other and other structures except the plurality of patterned structures; a surface of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is in a same plane; and the first carrier second transport sub-layer is a continuous film layer, and a material of the first carrier second transport sub-layer and a material of the other structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material, and a material of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is a first carrier first material, to incorporate a structural condition wherein the electroluminescent device is capable of producing light within the area between the individual electrode segments to obtain improved fill factor, as taught by Miller.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #6, a device wherein in the two second carrier transport sub-layers, the second carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other, and a material of the plurality of patterned structures of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a second carrier first material; the second carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the second carrier first transport sub-layer away from the second electrode, and a second portion disposed on a side of the second electrode and in contact with the second electrode; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer are both a second carrier second material; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer are not equal, and a thickness of the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer is equal to a sum of a thickness of the first portion of the second carrier first second transport sub-layer and a thickness of the second carrier first transport sub-layer.
Miller shows, with respect to claim #6, a device wherein in the two second carrier transport sub-layers, the second carrier first transport sub-layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item SB) includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart (fig. #2, item 36) from each other, and a material of the plurality of patterned structures of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a second carrier first material (paragraph 0031; Table #1); the second carrier second transport sub-layer (fig. #2, item 46) includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the second carrier first transport sub-layer away from the second electrode (Above; fig. #Ex1, item PaS3), and a second portion disposed on a side of the second electrode (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 26) and in contact with the second electrode (paragraph 0022-0023); materials of the first portion and the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer are both a second carrier second material; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer are not equal, and a thickness of the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer is equal to a sum of a thickness of the first portion of the second carrier first second transport sub-layer and a thickness of the second carrier first transport sub-layer (paragraph 0031, 0042).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #6, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Miller, which teaches, a device , wherein in the two second carrier transport sub-layers, the second carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other, and a material of the plurality of patterned structures of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a second carrier first material; the second carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the second carrier first transport sub-layer away from the second electrode, and a second portion disposed on a side of the second electrode and in contact with the second electrode; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer are both a second carrier second material; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer are not equal, and a thickness of the second portion of the second carrier second transport sub-layer is equal to a sum of a thickness of the first portion of the second carrier first second transport sub-layer and a thickness of the second carrier first transport sub-layer, to incorporate a structural condition wherein the electroluminescent device is capable of producing light within the area between the individual electrode segments to obtain improved fill factor, as taught by Miller.
Seo shows, with respect to claim #7, a device wherein cross-sectional areas of at least one patterned structure in the plurality of patterned structures gradually increase or remain unchanged in a direction away from the light-emitting layer, a cross-sectional area of the patterned structure being an area of a cross-section obtained by taking a section of the patterned structure along a plane parallel to the light-emitting layer (paragraph 0092, 0098, 0102).
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #12, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sublayer the first carrier second transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented; and/or, sublayers in the two second carrier transport the second carrier second transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented.
Miller shows, with respect to claim #12, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sublayer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item CO) the first carrier second transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 32, 34, 44, 46, 48); and/or, sublayers in the two second carrier transport the second carrier second transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented (paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #12, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Miller, which teaches, a device , a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sublayer the first carrier second transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented; and/or, sublayers in the two second carrier transport the second carrier second transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented, to incorporate a structural condition wherein the electroluminescent device is capable of producing light within the area between the individual electrode segments to obtain improved fill factor, as taught by Miller.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #13, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sublayers the first carrier first transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented, and a degree of C-axis orientation of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is less than that of the first carrier second transport sub-layer; and/or, sublayers in the two second carrier transport the second carrier first transport sub- layer is C-axis oriented, and a degree of C-axis orientation of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is less than that of the second carrier second transport sub-layer.
Miller shows, with respect to claim #13, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sublayers (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 42, 44) the first carrier first transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented, and a degree of C-axis orientation of the first carrier (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 42) first transport sub-layer is less than that of the first carrier second transport sub-layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 44); and/or, sublayers in the two second carrier transport the second carrier first transport sub- layer is C-axis oriented, and a degree of C-axis orientation of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is less than that of the second carrier second transport sub-layer (paragraph 0022).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #13, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Miller, which teaches, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sublayers the first carrier first transport sub-layer is C-axis oriented, and a degree of C-axis orientation of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is less than that of the first carrier second transport sub-layer; and/or, sublayers in the two second carrier transport the second carrier first transport sub- layer is C-axis oriented, and a degree of C-axis orientation of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is less than that of the second carrier second transport sub-layer, to incorporate a structural condition wherein the electroluminescent device is capable of producing light within the area between the individual electrode segments to obtain improved fill factor, as taught by Miller.
Seo shows, the respect to claim #14, a device wherein a refractive index of the first carrier first transport sub-layer is in a range of 1.7 to 1.77 [fig. #4a, item 114 (1.65-2.5)], and a refractive index of the first carrier second transport sub-layer is in a range of 2.0 to 2.06 [fig. #4a, item 115 (1.7-2.0)]; and/or, a refractive index of the second carrier first transport sub-layer is in a range of 1.7 to 1.77; and a refractive index of the second carrier second transport sub-layer is in a range of 2.0 to 2.06 (paragraph 0102, 0135).
Seo substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #21 above.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #22, a device wherein the first carrier transport layer includes two first carrier transport sub-layers, a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the first electrode is a first carrier first transport sub-layer, and a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the light- emitting layer is a first carrier second transport sub-layer; forming the first carrier transport layer on the first electrode, includes: forming an initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and annealing the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, etching the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form a plurality of patterned structures, and annealing the plurality of patterned structures to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer; or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and performing local laser annealing on the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer; or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and performing ion implantation on the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer.
.
Miller teaches, with respect to claim #22, a device wherein the first carrier transport layer includes two first carrier transport sub-layers (Above; fig. #Ex1, item SB), a first carrier transport sub-layer (fig. #2, item 42, 44) proximate to the first electrode (fig. #2, item 24a&b) is a first carrier first transport sub-layer, and a first carrier transport sub-layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item PaS2) proximate to the light- emitting layer (Above; fig. #Ex1, item 32) is a first carrier second transport sub-layer (fig. #2, item 44); forming the first carrier transport layer (fig. #2, item 42, 44) on the first electrode (fig. #2, item 24a), includes: forming an initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode (paragraph 0022-0023), and annealing the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer (paragraph 0038-0039) or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, etching the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form a plurality of patterned structures, and annealing the plurality of patterned structures to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer; or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and performing local laser annealing on the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer; or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and performing ion implantation on the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #22, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Miller, which teaches, a device wherein the first carrier transport layer includes two first carrier transport sub-layers, a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the first electrode is a first carrier first transport sub-layer, and a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the light- emitting layer is a first carrier second transport sub-layer; forming the first carrier transport layer on the first electrode, includes: forming an initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and annealing the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, etching the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form a plurality of patterned structures, and annealing the plurality of patterned structures to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer; or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and performing local laser annealing on the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer; or, forming the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer on the first electrode, and performing ion implantation on the initial first carrier first transport sub-layer to form the first carrier first transport sub-layer; and forming the first carrier second transport sub-layer on the first carrier first transport sub-layer , to incorporate a structural condition that will alter their resistivity, as taught by Miller.
///
Claim #25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO (U.S. Pub. No, 2021/0234115-), hereinafter referred to as "Seo as shown in the rejection of claim #24 above and in view of Hasegawa, (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0133575), hereinafter referred to as "Hasegawa".
Seo substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #24 above.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #25, a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers, the first carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other, and materials of the plurality of patterned structures are a first carrier first material; the first carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode, and a second portion disposed on the first electrode and in contact with the first electrode; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are equal, and a surface of the first carrier second transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is not in a same plane; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material.
Hasegawa teaches, with respect to claim 25, a display wherein the display substrate (fig. #1, item 10) includes a plurality of sub-pixels, and the plurality of sub-pixels include red sub-pixels (fig. #1, item 14), green sub-pixels (fig. #1, item 15) and blue sub-pixels (fig. #1, item 16) (paragraph 0020-0021, 0086); a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a red sub-pixel away from the first electrode, a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode (fig. #1, item 11) are not in a same plane (paragraph 0021); and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel away from the first electrode (fig. #1, item 11), a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are not in a same plane (paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #25, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Hasegawa, which teaches a device wherein in the two first carrier transport sub-layers, the first carrier first transport sub-layer includes a plurality of patterned structures spaced apart from each other, and materials of the plurality of patterned structures are a first carrier first material; the first carrier second transport sub-layer includes a first portion disposed on a side of the plurality of patterned structures of the first carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode, and a second portion disposed on the first electrode and in contact with the first electrode; thicknesses of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are equal, and a surface of the first carrier second transport sub-layer away from the first electrode is not in a same plane; materials of the first portion and the second portion of the first carrier second transport sub-layer are both a first carrier second material, to incorporate a structural condition wherein multiple pixels including an optical unit for allowing a part of light emitted from the light-emitting layer to exit to outside while changing an existing direction thereof, in which, in the multiple pixels including the optical unit, an optical distance between the light-emitting layer and the first electrode or an optical distance between the light-emitting layer and the second electrode is set to a predetermined value, as taught by Hasegawa.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #26, a device wherein the display substrate includes a plurality of sub-pixels, and the plurality of sub-pixels include red sub-pixels, green sub-pixels and blue sub-pixels; a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a red sub-pixel away from the first electrode, a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are in a same plane; and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel away from the first electrode, a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are in a same plane.
Hasegawa teaches, with respect to claim 26, a display wherein the display substrate (fig. #1, item 10) includes a plurality of sub-pixels, and the plurality of sub-pixels include red sub-pixels (fig. #1, item 14), green sub-pixels (fig. #1, item 15) and blue sub-pixels (fig. #1, item 16); a surface of a first carrier transport layer (fig. #1, item 13) of a light-emitting device in a red sub-pixel away from the first electrode (fig. #1, item 11), a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are in a same plane; and a surface of a second carrier transport layer (fig. #1, item 17) of the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel away from the first electrode, a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are in a same plane (paragraph 0020-0021, 0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #26, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Hasegawa, which teaches a device wherein the display substrate includes a plurality of sub-pixels, and the plurality of sub-pixels include red sub-pixels, green sub-pixels and blue sub-pixels; a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a red sub-pixel away from the first electrode, a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a first carrier transport layer of a light-emitting device in a blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are in a same plane; and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel away from the first electrode, a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel away from the first electrode, and a surface of a second carrier transport layer of the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel away from the first electrode are in a same plane, to incorporate a structural condition wherein multiple pixels including an optical unit for allowing a part of light emitted from the light-emitting layer to exit to outside while changing an existing direction thereof, in which, in the multiple pixels including the optical unit, an optical distance between the light-emitting layer and the first electrode or an optical distance between the light-emitting layer and the second electrode is set to a predetermined value, as taught by Hasegawa.
Seo fails to show, with respect to claim #27, a device wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is Al, a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is A2, and a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is A3; Al> A2 > A3; and a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is k1, a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is k2, and a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is k3; k1< k2 < k3; and/or, a proportion of a thickness of a second carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is k1', a proportion of a thickness of a second carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is k2', and a proportion of a thickness of a second carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is k3'; k1'< k2'< k3'.
Hasegawa teaches, with respect to claim 27, a display wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is Al (620 to 750 nanometers), a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is A2between (500 and 570 nanometers), and a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is A3 (380 to 500 nanometers ); Al> A2 > A3; and a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is k1, a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is k2, and a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is k3; k1< k2 < k3 (paragraph 0020-0021, 0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #27, to modified the invention of Seo as modified by the invention of Hasegawa, which teaches a device wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is Al, a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is A2, and a wavelength of light emitted by the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is A3; Al> A2 > A3; and a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is k1, a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is k2, and a proportion of a thickness of a first carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is k3; k1< k2 < k3; and/or, a proportion of a thickness of a second carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the red sub-pixel is k1', a proportion of a thickness of a second carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the green sub-pixel is k2', and a proportion of a thickness of a second carrier first transport sub-layer to a total thickness of the first carrier transport layer in the light-emitting device in the blue sub-pixel is k3'; k1'< k2'< k3', to incorporate a structural condition wherein multiple pixels including an optical unit for allowing a part of light emitted from the light-emitting layer to exit to outside while changing an existing direction thereof, in which, in the multiple pixels including the optical unit, an optical distance between the light-emitting layer and the first electrode or an optical distance between the light-emitting layer and the second electrode is set to a predetermined value, as taught by Hasegawa.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims #11, 18, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating of allowable subject matter: While the prior art teaches a device wherein the first carrier transport layer includes two first carrier transport sub-layers, a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the first electrode is a first carrier first transport sub-layer, and a first carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the light-emitting layer is a first carrier second transport sub-layer; and/or, the second carrier transport layer includes two second carrier transport sub-layers, a second carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the second electrode is a second carrier first transport sub-layer, and a second carrier transport sub-layer proximate to the light- emitting layer is a second carrier second transport sub-layer, (SEO, 2021/0234115; Miller et al., 2010/0102706), it fails to teach either collectively or alone, with respect to claim #11, a device wherein a concentration of the doped atoms in the second carrier first transport sub-layer decreases exponentially with a depth of the doped atoms in the second carrier first transport sub-layer, and a distance between the doped atoms increases as the depth of the doped atoms in the second carrier first transport sub- layer increases; wherein the depth of the doped atoms in the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a distance between the doped atoms and a surface of the second carrier first transport sub-layer away from the first electrode. Also, with respect to claim #18, the prior art fails to teach either collectively or alone, a device wherein a surface roughness of the first carrier transport layer away from the first electrode is in a range of 0.5 nm to 2 nm. Furthermore, with respect to claim #23, the prior fails to teach either collectively or alone, a method wherein performing ion implantation on the initial second carrier transport sub-layer to form the second carrier first transport sub-layer and the second carrier second transport sub-layer, wherein the second carrier first transport sub-layer is a portion of the initial second carrier transport sub-layer that has been implanted with ions, and the second carrier second transport sub-layer is a portion of the initial second carrier transport sub-layer that has not been implanted with ions
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
02/06/2026
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899