Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 3-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), applicant amendment has been fully considered. The amendment overcomes the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, hence 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn for claims 3-7.
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Thomas only discloses an unspecified vent in housing main body 45 and does not teach ventilation through an optical-path opening. However, to clarify more on this teaching, Thomas teaches an embodiment including lens cover 135, which Thomas describes as transparent or translucent optical lens/light pipe, and 135 includes inlets 142, and that ambient air enters the fixture through inlets 142, flows across light engine 115 and PCB 150, and exits through vents 144. Thus, Thomas teaches ventilation openings provided in the optical lens/light-output cover region of an LED light fixture.
It would have been obvious to modify Murphy’s optical output/window region to include such ventilation openings, as taught by Thomas, in order to provide airflow through the LED housing and across the light engine for improved thermal management and reliability. Applicant’s argument that the modification would render Murphy inoperable is not persuasive because the proposed modification does not require eliminating Murphy’s optical output path; rather, light would still pass through the optical region while air is permitted to communicate through openings in that same optical output region optical-output/lens region.
Hence the rejection for claims 1-7 and 9-10 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US 20170059400 A1) in view of Takaku (JP 2009129709 A) and further in view of Thomas (US 20190056076 A1).
Re: independent Claim 1 (Currently Amended), Murphy discloses LED light source device comprising:
a light emitting element that emits the light (Murphy, Fig. 3, LED chips 140 that emit light);
a substrate on which the light emitting element is mounted (Murphy, Fig. 3, substrate 130 on which LED chips 140 is mounted);
a spacer that supports the substrate (Murphy, Fig. 3, heat sink 115 including an aluminum block 120 that support the substrate 130, thus heatsink 115/aluminum block 120 corresponds to spacer);
a housing that accommodates the light emitting element, the substrate, and the spacer (Murphy, in Figs. 5-11 and ¶ [0061] – [0064], teaches a housing in the form of a reflector 180 that defines a reflector chamber 225. Murphy teaches that the LED substrate 130 carrying LED chips 140 is mounted to the heat sink 115 including the aluminum block 120, and that the reflector 180 is mounted over and around this LED/heat sink assembly. Thus, the reflector 180/reflector chamber 225 accommodates the light emitting elements 140, substrate 130, and the spacer/heat sink 155/120);
an optical path that allows the light emitted from the light emitting element to pass through, wherein the optical path has an opening through which the light passes (Murphy teaches, in ¶ [0064], an optical output structure in which light emitted from the LEDs (e.g., LED chip 140) passes outward through the housing via the window region (e.g., fixed inner window 240 and outer window 230), thereby providing an optical path having an opening through which the emitted light passes),
and a lid that seals the housing (Murphy teaches, in Fig. 7 and ¶¶ [0062] – [0063], that the LEDs 140 are hermetically sealed from the environment by a fixed inner window 240, and the reflector 180 carries the permanently fixed inner window 240 which allows LED light to pass while providing the hermetic seal-i.e., the window 240 functions as the claimed lid that seals the housing (reflector chamber 225) provides hermetic seal to protect the LEDs, i.e., 240 is a “lid” that seals the housing),
wherein the light emitting element includes an LED (Fig. 3 and ¶ [0056], LED chips 140 includes LEDs),
wherein the spacer is disposed so as to be in contact with at least one of the housing or the lid (Murphy teaches, in ¶ [0062], reflector 180 is attached directly to the aluminum block 120 of the heat sink 115 (spacer) by screws 185, and an O-ring 190 is placed directly between the interfaces of reflector 180 and aluminum block 120 of heat sink 115, providing a hermetic seal - thereby teaching the spacer (heat sink 115/aluminum block 120) is disposed in contact with the housing (reflector 180)).
Murphy is silent regarding,
wherein a thermal conductivity of the substrate and a thermal conductivity of the spacer are higher than both of a thermal conductivity of the housing and a thermal conductivity of the lid.
However, Takaku teaches wherein a thermal conductivity of the substrate and a thermal conductivity of the spacer are higher than both of a thermal conductivity of the housing and a thermal conductivity of the lid (Takaku teaches, in Fig. 8 and related description, selecting materials of lamp/light source enclosure components to achieve desired thermal performance including teaching a case 5 (housing) formed of stainless steel having thermal conductivity of 25 W/(m-k), and further teaches, in Fig. 3 and related description, high thermal conductivity heat-dissipation/support members such as heat radiating plate 41 and heat radiating block 42 formed of copper having thermal conductivity of 380 W/(m-k). With respect to the claimed thermal conductivity relationship, Takaku’s heat radiating plate 41 is relied upon as being analogous in function to Murphy’s substrate (LED substrate 130) because both are thermally conductive members positioned at/near the light source and configured to spread/conduct heat from the light emitting element. Takaku’s heat radiating block 42 is relied upon as being analogous in function to Murphy’s spacer/support structure (heat sink 115/aluminum block 120) because both are thermally conductive support members that receive heat from the substrate-level member and provide a primary heat conduction path away from the light emitting element).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select materials for Murphy’s substrate 130 and spacer/support structure 115/120 to have thermal conductivities higher than the materials selected for Murphy’s housing (e.g., reflector 180) and lid (e.g., window 240), as suggested by Takaku’s teaching of using very high thermal conductivity heat-dissipating members (plate 41 and block 42) in combination with lower thermal conductivity enclosure members (case 5), in order to improve heat dissipation from the LEDs and thereby reduce temperature-related instability during operation.
Murphy is further silent regarding
wherein an internal space of the housing and outside air of the LED light source device are allowed to be ventilated through the opening.
However, Thomas teaches wherein an internal space of the housing and outside air of the LED light source device are allowed to be ventilated through the opening (Thomas teaches ventilation of an LED light fixture though an opening associated with the optical/lens region. In particular, Thomas teaches a light fixture having a housing and a lens/light-output region, and teaches, in ¶ [0030], that ventilation may be provided to reduce fogging of the lens in harsh or damp operating environment. As clarification of this teaching, Thomas further teaches in another embodiment of Figs. 6 and 12 and ¶ [0037], that lens cover 135 is a transparent or translucent optical lens/protective cover/light pipe, and that lens cover 135 include inlets 142 through which ambient air enters housing 120 and light engine 115, flows across light engine 115 and PCB 150, and exits through vents 144. Thus, Thomas teaches providing air-communication openings in the optical lens/light-output cover region of an LED light fixture).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the vented optical/lens-region airflow arrangement of Thomas into the LED light source housing arrangement of Murphy and Takaku on order to permit ventilation through the optical output/lens region, improve airflow across the LED light engine, reduce heat and moisture buildup near the lens, and reduce fogging or condensation at the light-output region. In particular, Thomas expressly recognized lens fogging as a problem addressed by ventilation, and Thomas also shows that air inlets may be provided in a transparent/translucent optical lens cover. Providing such air-communication openings in Murphy’s optical output/ window region would have been a predictable use of a known ventilation arrangement for its known purpose.
Examiner notes that the limitation “an internal space of the housing and outside air of the LED light source device are allowed to be ventilated through the opening” goes towards the function of ventilation during operation of the device in an apparatus claim. The limitation does not patentably distinguish the structure of the device. Thomas, as explained above, teaches such structure because inlets 142 are formed in lens cover 135 and allow ambient air to enter housing 120 and light engine 115. Therefore, the claimed ventilation language does not patentably distinguish over the prior art structure.
Examiner further notes that “LED light source device that emits light used to measure absorbance of a sample” is a statement to intended use and does not further limit the claimed LED light source device. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.
Re: Claim 2 (Original), Murphy, Takaku and Thomas disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Takaku further teaches
wherein the thermal conductivity of the housing and the thermal conductivity of the lid are both 10 W/(m-k) or more and 50 W/(m-k) or less (Takaku teaches, in Fig 1-2, and Best-mode description, a light source device including a case 5 (housing) and a lens holding plate 8 (lid/cover) that closes the upper end of the case 5. Takaku further teaches the case 5 is made of stainless steel having thermal conductivity of 25 W/(m-k), which is within the claimed 10-50 W/(m-k) range. Although Murphy does not expressly recite the numerical thermal-conductivity range of claim 2, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the material of Murphy’s housing and lid (e.g., reflector (180) and the member closing/sealing the housing opening) to have a thermal conductivity within the claimed 10-50 W/(m-K) range, as taught by Takaku’s stainless steel case 5 (25 W/(m-k) and corresponding closure structure (lens holding plate 8), in order to achieve predictable and controlled heat transfer/thermal stability of the LED light source device during operation while maintaining a structurally robust sealed enclosure).
Re: Claim 3 (Currently Amended), Murphy, Takaku and Thomas disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Takaku further teaches
wherein the thermal conductivity of the substrate and the thermal conductivity of the spacer are both equal to or higher than a thermal conductivity of a typical phosphor bronze material used in electronic components (Takaku teaches, in Fig. 2 and related description, forming heat-dissipation/support members, including a heat radiating plate 41 and a heat radiating block 42), of copper having thermal conductivity of 380 W/(m-k), which is greater than the thermal conductivity of phosphor bronze (about 63 W(m-K)). Accordingly, it would have been, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the material of Murphy’s substate and spacer (e.g., the LED substrate and the heat-sink/support body) to have thermal conductivities equal to or higher than phosphor bronze, such as by using copper or other comparably high-thermal-conductivity materials as taught by Takaku, in order to improve heat dissipation and reduced-temperature related light output drift from the LED light source used in absorbance measurement.
Re: Claim 9 (Currently Amended), Murphy, Takaku and Thomas disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Thomas further teaches,
the lid has a hole that allows a wiring for supplying power to the light emitting element to pass through (Thomas teaches, in ¶¶ [0029]- [0031], a light fixture 10 including a housing 20 with an internal power supply 25, wherein a rear cover 65 (i.e., a lid/cover portion) includes an opening 69 that allows for passage of electrical leads, specifically main power leads 85 and a ground lead 90, for connection to the power supply 25. Accordingly, Thomas teaches a lid/cover (rear cover 65) having a hole/opening (69) through which wiring (85, 90) passes through), and
wherein a size of an opening of the hole is smaller than a size of the opening of the optical path (Murphy’s opening of the optical path is the opening through which emitted light passes outward from the device (e.g., through the window region including exit window 230 and fixed inner window 240). Thomas teaches the wiring hole is opening 69 that allows only electrical leads 85, 90 to pass through. Although Murphy and Thomas do not expressly state that the opening of the hole is smaller than the optical path opening, it would have been an obvious matter of routine engineering design to dimension the wiring pass-through opening 69 to be smaller than the optical-path opening (Murphy window opening) because (a) the wiring hole need only accommodate thin electrical leads and therefore can be minimized, while (b) the optical-path opening must provide sufficient aperture for emission of the LED light).
Re: Claim 10 (Original), Murphy, Takaku and Thomas disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Thomas further teaches wherein a volume of the spacer is smaller than both of a volume of the housing and a volume of the lid (Thomas teaches, in Figs. 11-12 and ¶¶ [0032]-[0036], a light fixture 110 having a housing 120 and a front lens cover 135 (cover/lid), and further teaches a spacer-like thermal support member in the form of a heat transfer element 160 (e.g., thermal pad 161) positioned between the rear surface of the circuit board 150 and the primary mounting surface 196 of the housing 120. Thomas further teaches, in ¶ [0039], the circuit board 150 and heat transfer element 160 have an outer periphery less than inner periphery of the main body portion 145 of the housing 120; and also, as shown in Fig. 12, lens cover 135 has dimension as large as the main body portion 145, evidencing that the spacer/heat transfer element is dimensioned substantially smaller than the housing and the lens cover assembly).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size the spacer that supports the substrate to have a volume smaller than the housing and lid, as taught by Thomas, because the spacer is an internal support/thermal interface member and minimizing its volume is a predictable design choice that reduces material usage and allows compact packaging while still supporting the substrate within the larger enclosing housing/lid.
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy (US 20170059400 A1) in view of Takaku (JP 2009129709 A) further in view of Thomas (US 20190056076 A1) and further in view of Adachi (US20110110822 A1).
Re: Claim 4 (Currently Amended), Murphy, Takaku and Thomas disclose all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Murphy, Takaku and Thomas are silent regarding,
wherein the housing includes a temperature adjustment mechanism capable of adjusting temperature within the housing to be higher than outside temperature.
However, Adachi teaches wherein the housing includes a temperature adjustment mechanism capable of adjusting temperature within the housing to be higher than an ambient temperature outside of the LED light source device (Adachi teaches, in Fig. 2 and ¶ [0025], an automatic analysis device including a thermostatic chamber 18 holding a constant temperature fluid 17, wherein the constant temperature fluid 17 is brought in and circulated and is controlled accurately (e.g., 37C) to maintain the temperature of the reaction solution, and further teaches a constant temperature fluid control part configured to control the temperature (and flow rate) of the constant temperature fluid. Accordingly, Adachi teaches a temperature adjustment mechanism for a chamber/housing (thermostatic chamber 18) capable of adjusting the temperature within the chamber using controlled constant temperature fluid 17.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Adachi’s temperature control mechanism into Murphy’s sealed LED housing (reflector 180/chamber 225) in order to adjust/maintain the temperature within the housing to a controlled setpoint (including a setpoint above outside/ambient temperature as needed for reaction temperature operation), thereby improving LED stability and absorbance measurement accuracy.
Re: Claim 5 (Original), Murphy, Takaku, Thomas and Adachi disclose all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends.
Adachi further teaches,
wherein the temperature adjustment mechanism includes at least one of: a mechanism that circulates a constant temperature liquid within the housing, or a heater that heats the housing (As set forth with respect to claim 4, Adachi teaches an automatic analysis device including a thermostatic chamber 18 holding constant temperature fluid 17, wherein the constant temperature fluid 17 is brought in and circulated and is controlled accurately (e.g., 37C) to maintain the temperature of the reaction solution, and further teaches a constant temperature fluid control part configured to control the temperature (and flow rate) of the constant temperature fluid. Accordingly, Adachi teaches the claimed “mechanism that circulates a constant temperature liquid within the housing” (constant temperature fluid 17 circulated in thermostatic chamber 18). Therefore, Hoshizaki teaches the temperature adjustment mechanism that includes “a mechanism that circulates a constant temperature liquid within the housing”).
Re: Claim 6 (Original), Murphy, Takaku, Thomas and Adachi disclose all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends.
Adachi further teaches,
the temperature adjustment mechanism includes a mechanism that circulates a constant temperature liquid within the housing, and wherein the temperature adjustment mechanism is configured such that a decrease of a flow rate of the constant temperature liquid lowers the temperature within the housing (Adachi teaches the claimed constant temperature liquid circulation mechanism (constant temperature fluid 17 circulated in thermostatic chamber 18) and teaches flow-rate control of that constant temperature liquid 17 is brought in and circulated so that the measurement region is immersed in the circulating constant temperature fluid. Adachi further teaches providing a constant temperature fluid control part configurated to control both the temperature and the flow rate of the constant temperature fluid 17. Accordingly, Adachi teaches the claimed constant temperature liquid circuit mechanism (constant temperature fluid 17 circulated in thermostatic chamber 18) and teaches flow-rate control of that constant temperature liquid. Further, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Adachi’s controlled circulation of constant temperature fluid 17 (with controlled flow rate) as the temperature adjustment mechanism for Murphy’s sealed LED light source housing, in order to stabilize the LED operating temperature).
Re: Claim 7 (Original), Murphy, Takaku, Thomas and Adachi disclose all the limitations of claim 4 on which this claim depends.
Adachi further teaches,
wherein the temperature adjustment mechanism adjusts the temperature within the housing using a constant temperature liquid used to maintain temperature of a constant temperature reservoir included in an automatic analysis device to which the LED light source device supplies the light (Adachi teaches, in Figs. 1-2, an automatic analysis device including a measurement unit 13 having a light emission unit 15 as a light source for radiating light 16 to a reaction solution 7 in a cell 8, and a light receiving element 21 for receiving light having passed the reaction solution. Adachi further teaches that the cell 8 is immersed in a constant temperature fluid 17 held in a thermostatic chamber 18 so that the reaction solution temperature is kept constant, i.e., the thermostatic chamber 18 functions as a constant temperature reservoir for the constant temperature liquid 17).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure Murphy’s LED light source device (housing reflector 180/chamber 225) to employ Adachi’s constant temperature liquid 17 from the automatic analyzer’s constant temperature reservoir (thermostatic chamber 18) as the temperature adjustment medium for adjusting the temperature within the LED light source housing, in order to maintain stable LED operating temperature and reduce temperature-related output drift during absorbance measurement, thereby improving measurement stability and accuracy (Adachi, ¶ [0009]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BIPANA ADHIKARI DAWADI/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898