This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 3/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Grouping, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/26/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations in claim 2, lines 4-5 of “wherein the separating ribs have in particular a lower height than the height of the longitudinal-edge strips” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 recites the limitation the separating “ribs" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 1, line 1, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, lines 11 and 17, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 2, line 5, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 5, line 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, line 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USP 5868080 to Wyler et al (hereinafter Wyler).
Wyler discloses (Claim 1). A product carrier 12 for transporting food products, and in particular chocolate products, in a transport device, the transport device in a plant for producing food products, wherein the product carrier 12 has an upper side for loading and/or inserting products and an underside opposite the upper side, the product carrier 12 has a rectangular basic shape with longitudinal sides (Fig. 1, X-axis) which have a length in a longitudinal direction, and with width sides (Fig. 1, Y-axis) which have a width in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, wherein the product carrier 12 has, on the longitudinal sides, mutually-opposing longitudinal-edge strips (not numbered), each of which has a drive aperture 18, wherein the drive apertures 18 of the two longitudinal-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side, have a longitudinal extent of greater than 50%, and preferably greater than 80%, of the length of the product carrier 12, and have stop edges in and counter to the longitudinal direction, and, on the width sides, the product carrier 12 has mutually-opposing width-edge strips (defined by side walls 44) which each have at least one guide aperture 54, wherein the guide apertures 54 of the width-edge strips 44 are open in a direction extending away from the upper side, and have a width extent of less than 10%, and preferably less than 5%, of the width of the product carrier; (Claim 2). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein at least one separating rib (middle runner shown in Fig. 1) which extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction, is arranged on the underside of the product carrier and forms at least two channels (such as shown in Fig. 4) which are open in a direction pointing away from the upper side and along which air can be conducted, wherein the separating ribs have in particular a lower height than the height of the width-edge strips 44; (Claim 3). The product carrier according to claim 2, wherein the height of the separating rib is smaller than the height of the width-edge strips 44 on the guide apertures 54; (Claim 4). The product carrier according to claim 2, wherein reinforcing ribs (such as shown in Figs. 8A-9B) which extend in the longitudinal direction and which in particular have a lower height than the separating rib are attached in the channels; (Claim 6). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein the product carrier 12 comprises support bars (see below annotated copy) which are each arranged parallel to the width-edge strips 44 which preferably have just as many apertures as the width-edge strips 44;
(Claim 7). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein one or a plurality of alveoli 24,26 is arranged on the upper side of the product carrier 12; (Claim 9). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein each of the width-edge strips 44 has one to eight guide apertures.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2011/0041706 Whetstone.
Whetstone discloses (Claim 1). A product carrier 30 for transporting food products, and in particular chocolate products, in a transport device, the transport device in a plant for producing food products, wherein the product carrier 30 has an upper side 31 for loading and/or inserting products and an underside opposite the upper side, the product carrier 30 has a rectangular basic shape with longitudinal sides which have a length in a longitudinal direction, and with width sides which have a width in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, wherein the product carrier 30 has, on the longitudinal sides, mutually-opposing longitudinal-edge strips, each of which has a drive aperture (defined as between sidewalls 42,43), wherein the drive apertures of the two longitudinal-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side, have a longitudinal extent of greater than 50%, and preferably greater than 80%, of the length of the product carrier 30, and have stop edges in and counter to the longitudinal direction, and, on the width sides, the product carrier has mutually-opposing width-edge strips (defined the outer surface of sidewalls 42, 43) which each have at least one guide aperture 45a,45b (Fig. 4), wherein the guide apertures of the width-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side 31, and have a width extent of less than 10%, and preferably less than 5%, of the width of the product carrier 30; (Claim 2). (Previously Presented): The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein at least one separating rib (see below annotated copy) which extends perpendicularly to the longitudinal direction, is arranged on the underside of the product carrier 30 and forms at least two channels which are open in a direction pointing away from the upper side and along which air can be conducted, wherein the separating ribs have in particular a lower height than the width-edge strips;
(Claim 3). The product carrier according to claim 2, wherein the height of the separating rib is smaller than or equal to the height of the width-edge strips on the guide apertures; (Claim 6). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein the product carrier 30 comprises support bars (see below annotated copy) which are each arranged parallel to the width-edge strips which preferably have just as many apertures as the width-edge strips;
(Claim 7). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein one or a plurality of alveoli 32 (Fig. 2) is arranged on the upper side of the product carrier 30; (Claim 9). The product carrier according to claim 1, wherein each of the width-edge strips has one to eight guide apertures 45a,45b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whetstone in view of USP 10737832 to Apps et al (hereinafter Apps).
Whetstone discloses all the elements as discussed above the limitations in claim 5.
However, Apps discloses a product carrier 10 comprising an upper side for loading products and an underside opposite the upper side, the product carrier 10 has a rectangular basic shape with longitudinal sides which have a length in a longitudinal direction, and with width sides which have a width in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, wherein the product carrier 10 has, on the longitudinal sides, mutually-opposing longitudinal-edge strips, each of which has a drive aperture, wherein the drive apertures of the two longitudinal-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side, have a longitudinal extent of greater than 50%, and preferably greater than 80%, of the length of the product carrier 10, and have stop edges in and counter to the longitudinal direction, and, on the width sides, the product carrier has mutually-opposing width-edge strips (defined as the outer surface of each support 14); wherein the longitudinal-edge strips and/or the width-edge strips are beveled towards the upper side of the product carrier, and preferably along the entire length and/or width (such as shown in Figs. 1, and 3-4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Apps, to modify Whetstone to include the limitations in claim 5 of wherein the longitudinal- edge strips and/or the width-edge strips are beveled towards the upper side of the product carrier, and preferably along the entire length and/or width a reasonable expectation of success in order to prevent potential snagging of the product carrier.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyler in view of USP 12409973 to Glaser et al.
Wyler discloses all the elements as discussed above the limitations in claim 5.
However, Glaser discloses a product carrier 10 comprising an upper side for loading products and an underside opposite the upper side, the product carrier 10 has a rectangular basic shape with longitudinal sides which have a length in a longitudinal direction, and with width sides which have a width in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, wherein the product carrier 10 has, on the longitudinal sides, mutually-opposing longitudinal-edge strips, each of which has a drive aperture, wherein the drive apertures of the two longitudinal-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side, have a longitudinal extent of greater than 50%, and preferably greater than 80%, of the length of the product carrier 10, and have stop edges in and counter to the longitudinal direction, and, on the width sides, the product carrier has mutually-opposing width-edge strips (defined as the outer surface of each block 12); wherein the length is shorter than the width (such as shown in Figs. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Glaser, to modify Wyler to include the limitations in claim 8 of wherein the length is shorter than the width with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the product carrier.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Whetstone in view of USP 10815028 to Turner et al (hereinafter Turner).
Whetstone discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations in claim 10.
However, Turner discloses a product carrier 5 comprising an upper side for loading products and an underside opposite the upper side, the product carrier 5 has a rectangular basic shape with longitudinal sides which have a length in a longitudinal direction, and with width sides which have a width in a width direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, wherein the product carrier 5 has, on the longitudinal sides, mutually-opposing longitudinal-edge strips, each of which has a drive aperture, wherein the drive apertures of the two longitudinal-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side, have a longitudinal extent of greater than 50%, and preferably greater than 80%, of the length of the product carrier 10, and have stop edges in and counter to the longitudinal direction, and, on the width sides, the product carrier has mutually-opposing width-edge strips (defined as the outer surface of each riser 300) which have at least one guide aperture (Fig. 5: defined between end sections 308 and middle section 310), wherein the guide apertures of the width-edge strips are open in a direction extending away from the upper side; wherein the part of the contour of the guide aperture which abuts the edge, facing away from the upper side, of the width- edge strips encloses an angle α of 85°-95° with the edge, facing away from the upper side, of the width-edge strips Figs. 6 & 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Turner, to modify Whetstone to include the limitations in claim 10 of wherein the part of the contour of the guide aperture which abuts the edge, facing away from the upper side, of the width- edge strips encloses an angle a of 85°-95° with the edge, facing away from the upper side, of the width-edge strips with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility of the product carrier.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and all show structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
HVT
June 15, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637