DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because processing circuitry, absent memory to store instructions executed by the processor, is paramount to software per-se as it can be implemented as a software solution.
Dependent claims 30-32 do not remedy the deficiency listed above, and are rejected under similar rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NOH (US 20220232655 A1) hereafter NOH.
Regarding Claim 25:
Noh discloses:
A method performed by a network node operating as an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node operating in dual connectivity ([¶0002] The present disclosure relates to a technique for dual connectivity management in a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a technique for dual connectivity management in a wireless communication system to which an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network is applied.) where an IAB-MT is connected to two IAB parents and two IAB donors,([¶0355] Referring to FIG. 22, an IAB network 2200 in the communication system may be configured with links such as IAB links and access links of one or more layers. Here, the IAB links may include a link between an IAB donor 2210 and a first parent node 2220, a link between the first parent node 2220 and an IAB node 2240, and the like. Meanwhile, the access links may include a link between the IAB node 2240 and a terminal 2250. [¶0235] Here, each of the one or more parent nodes 1320 may be referred to as a ‘donor node’. ) the method comprising: obtaining a first semi-static flexible resource configuration from a first IAB donor of the two IAB donors and a second semi-static flexible resource configuration from a second IAB donor of the two IAB donors;([¶0011] In the identifying of the one or more DC schemes, when the first IAB node does not support the intra-carrier DC, a DC in which radio resources are time division multiplexed (TDMed) based on semi-static coordination with the second communication node, or a DC in which the first communication node and the second communication node use different component carriers (CCs) may be determined as applicable to the first IAB node.) obtaining a first uplink/downlink resource indication for a semi-statically configured flexible resource from a first IAB parent of the two IAB parents and a second uplink/downlink resource indication for a semi-statically configured flexible resource from a second IAB parent of the IAB parents; ([¶0009] receiving, from a first IAB node that is a lower node of the first communication node, a first capability report including information of DC-related capability of the first IAB node; based on the first capability report, identifying whether the first IAB node supports a multi transmission and reception point (multi-TRP) function; ) obtaining a priority associated with the first IAB parent and a priority associated with the second IAB parent; ([¶0395] when determining a priority between DC resources within the carrier, a reference cell may be selected according to the following schemes. In the case of intra-carrier DC, a plurality of cell groups (e.g., MCG, SCG, etc.) may share the same frequency resources (or frequency band). In other words, in the case of intra-carrier DC, a plurality of cell groups may share a CC physically located in the same location position or may share a cell having the same cell ID. Accordingly, a method of selecting a reference cell based on the cell ID may not be easy to apply to the intra-carrier DC. In an exemplary embodiment of the communication system, when some of the radio resources (time-frequency resources) allocated by the MCG and the radio resources allocated by the SCG overlap, the priority may be determined by using one or a combination of the following schemes. [¶0396] Scheme 1: When the physical cell IDs (PCIs) of the cell in which the MCG resource is configured and the cell in which the SCG resource is configured are the same, a resource having the lowest (or, higher) cell group index indicated by a predetermined higher layer parameter (e.g., CellGroupID) may be assumed as the resource of the reference cell. This is for reducing system complexity by unifying IAB-MT operations in a direction that decision of the MCG. [¶0397] Scheme 2: Among the overlapping MCG and SCG resources, a resource of a channel or signal started earlier (e.g., from an earlier symbol) may be assumed as the resource of the reference cell. This is for reduction implementation and operation complexity by promising that the IAB-MT maintains the operation it started first. [¶0398] Scheme 3: Among the overlapping MCG and SCG resources, a resource for a channel or signal started later (e.g., from a later symbol) may be assumed as the resource of the reference cell. This is for preferentially reflecting the latest decision of the upper node. [¶0399] Scheme 4: Among the overlapping resources of MCG and SCG, resources of a channel or signal started at a lower (or higher) position may be assumed as the resources of the reference cell.) determining the first uplink/downlink resource indication conflicts with the second uplink/downlink indication; ([¶0385] As described with reference to FIG. 23A or 23B, with respect to the IAB node (or IAB-MT) supporting the intra-carrier DC, each of different cell groups (or different parent nodes) such as the MCG and the SCG may allocate different resources within one carrier, and a collision may occur between the allocated resources.) selecting one of the first uplink/downlink resource indication and the second uplink/downlink resource indication based on the priority associated with the first IAB parent and the priority associated with the second IAB parent; ([¶0392] The first row to the sixteenth row in Table 26, for example, may be the same as or similar to a selection scheme of a terminal operating in the half-duplex CA scheme when a transmission direction collision occurs for different cells. In general, such the direction collision between D/Us or the direction collision between U/Ds may be seen as not occurring within one carrier. However, when the intra-carrier DC is applied and resources included in one carrier are jointly used by the MCG and the SCG, such the direction collision may occur even within one carrier. In this case, the IAB node or the IAB-MT constituting the IAB node may select one resource (i.e., resource of the reference cell) from among the conflicting resources with reference to one of the first row to the sixteenth row in Table 26. In this case, at least one of the first row to the sixteenth row in Table 26 may be used for prioritization when using FDM in the intra-carrier DC. In this case, the reference resource or the reference cell may be configured based on the following methods.) and communicating with the two IAB parents according to the selected uplink/downlink resource indication. ([¶0234] IAB node communicates with one or more upper nodes and one or more lower nodes.)
Regarding Claim 26:
Noh discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Noh discloses:
wherein communicating with the two IAB parents according to the selected uplink/downlink resource indication comprises communicating with the IAB parent associated with a highest priority according to the selected uplink/downlink resource indication and disabling communication with the IAB parent not associated with the highest priority, optionally, the method further comprises transmitting the selected uplink/downlink resource indication to the IAB parent not associated with the highest priority. ([¶0371] Here, a radio resource for communications with the first parent node and a radio resource for communications with the second parent node, which are configured or indicated to the first IAB node (or the first IAB-MT constituting the first IAB node), may overlap at least partially. For example, one of the first parent node and the second parent node may correspond to the MCG and the other may correspond to the SCG, and there may be a case in which a portion of the radio resource for communications with the first parent node and a portion of the radio resource for communications with the second parent node are SDMed. In this case, the first IAB node may perform communications by selecting a preferential resource according to a predetermined dropping rule from among the overlapping radio resources. Here, the ‘dropping rule’ may be referred to as ‘prioritization’. Here, the technical features related to the dropping rule or prioritization for the resource selection will be described in more detail in a second exemplary embodiment of the communication system.)
Regarding Claim 27:
Noh discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Noh discloses:
wherein obtaining a first uplink/downlink resource indication from a first IAB parent of the two IAB parents and a second uplink/downlink resource configuration from a second IAB parent of the two IAB parents comprises receiving at least one of the first uplink/downlink resource indication and the second uplink/downlink resource indication via one of a semi-static indication and a dynamic indication. ([¶0284] The higher layer IAB-DU resource configuration information may include type (i.e., hard, soft, or not-available) information of the IAB-DU resources configured by the upper IAB node. The higher layer IAB-DU resource configuration information may include a part or all of cell-specific/semi-static downlink signals and channels such as SSB(s), type 0-PDCCH CSS set configured by a SIB1 for PDCCH configuration, CSI-RS, etc. configured in a cell (or cell group) configured to the IAB-DU. The higher layer IAB-DU resource configuration information may include a part or all of cell-specific/semi-static downlink signals and channels such as PRACH, SR, etc. configured in a cell (or cell group) configured to the IAB-DU.)
Regarding Claim 28:
Noh discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Noh discloses:
wherein the first IAB parent comprises a master cell group (MCG) parent and the second IAB parent comprises a secondary cell group (SCG) parent, and the priority associated with the first IAB parent is higher than the priority associated with the second IAB parent. ([¶0304] the communication system may include a master cell group (MCG 1870) and a secondary cell group (SCG) 1880. A cell or base station of the MCG 1870 and SCG 1880 may configure a DC with a lower node such as a terminal based on the user plane protocol stack structure 1850 for DC. In the user plane radio interface protocol stack structure 1850 for DC, the cell or base station of the MCG 1870 may include a PHY layer 1871 included in L1, a MAC layer 1872, RLC layer 1873, and PDCP layer 1874 included in L2, a SDAP layer 1875 included in L3, and the like. Meanwhile, the cell or base station of the SCG 1880 may include a PHY layer 1881 included in L1, a MAC layer 1882 and RLC layer 1883 included in L2, and the like.)
Regarding Claim 29:
Noh discloses:
A network node capable of operating as an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node ([¶0002] The present disclosure relates to a technique for dual connectivity management in a wireless communication system, and more particularly, to a technique for dual connectivity management in a wireless communication system to which an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) network is applied.) in dual connectivity where an IAB-MT is connected to two IAB parents and two IAB donors, ([¶0355] Referring to FIG. 22, an IAB network 2200 in the communication system may be configured with links such as IAB links and access links of one or more layers. Here, the IAB links may include a link between an IAB donor 2210 and a first parent node 2220, a link between the first parent node 2220 and an IAB node 2240, and the like. Meanwhile, the access links may include a link between the IAB node 2240 and a terminal 2250. [¶0235] Here, each of the one or more parent nodes 1320 may be referred to as a ‘donor node’. ) the network node comprising processing circuitry ([¶0402] a communication node 2400 may comprise at least one processor 2410, a memory 2420, and a transceiver 2430 connected to the network for performing communications. Also, the communication node 2400 may further comprise an input interface device 2440, an output interface device 2450, a storage device 2460, and the like. The respective components included in the communication node 2400 may communicate with each other as connected through a bus 2470. [¶0404] The processor 2410 may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory 2420 and the storage device 2460. The processor 2410 may refer to a central processing unit (CPU), a graphics processing unit (GPU), or a dedicated processor on which methods in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure are performed. Each of the memory 2420 and the storage device 2460 may be constituted by at least one of a volatile storage medium and a non-volatile storage medium. For example, the memory 2420 may comprise at least one of read-only memory (ROM) and random access memory (RAM). ) operable to: obtain a first semi-static flexible resource configuration from a first IAB donor of the two IAB donors and a second semi-static flexible resource configuration from a second IAB donor of the two IAB donors;([¶0011] In the identifying of the one or more DC schemes, when the first IAB node does not support the intra-carrier DC, a DC in which radio resources are time division multiplexed (TDMed) based on semi-static coordination with the second communication node, or a DC in which the first communication node and the second communication node use different component carriers (CCs) may be determined as applicable to the first IAB node.) obtain a first uplink/downlink resource indication for a semi-statically configured flexible resource from a first IAB parent of the two IAB parents and a second uplink/downlink resource indication for a semi-statically configured flexible resource from a second IAB parent of the IAB parents; ([¶0009] receiving, from a first IAB node that is a lower node of the first communication node, a first capability report including information of DC-related capability of the first IAB node; based on the first capability report, identifying whether the first IAB node supports a multi transmission and reception point (multi-TRP) function; ) obtaining a priority associated with the first IAB parent and a priority associated with the second IAB parent; ([¶0395] when determining a priority between DC resources within the carrier, a reference cell may be selected according to the following schemes. In the case of intra-carrier DC, a plurality of cell groups (e.g., MCG, SCG, etc.) may share the same frequency resources (or frequency band). In other words, in the case of intra-carrier DC, a plurality of cell groups may share a CC physically located in the same location position or may share a cell having the same cell ID. Accordingly, a method of selecting a reference cell based on the cell ID may not be easy to apply to the intra-carrier DC. In an exemplary embodiment of the communication system, when some of the radio resources (time-frequency resources) allocated by the MCG and the radio resources allocated by the SCG overlap, the priority may be determined by using one or a combination of the following schemes. [¶0396] Scheme 1: When the physical cell IDs (PCIs) of the cell in which the MCG resource is configured and the cell in which the SCG resource is configured are the same, a resource having the lowest (or, higher) cell group index indicated by a predetermined higher layer parameter (e.g., CellGroupID) may be assumed as the resource of the reference cell. This is for reducing system complexity by unifying IAB-MT operations in a direction that decision of the MCG. [¶0397] Scheme 2: Among the overlapping MCG and SCG resources, a resource of a channel or signal started earlier (e.g., from an earlier symbol) may be assumed as the resource of the reference cell. This is for reduction implementation and operation complexity by promising that the IAB-MT maintains the operation it started first. [¶0398] Scheme 3: Among the overlapping MCG and SCG resources, a resource for a channel or signal started later (e.g., from a later symbol) may be assumed as the resource of the reference cell. This is for preferentially reflecting the latest decision of the upper node. [¶0399] Scheme 4: Among the overlapping resources of MCG and SCG, resources of a channel or signal started at a lower (or higher) position may be assumed as the resources of the reference cell.) determine the first uplink/downlink resource indication conflicts with the second uplink/downlink indication; ([¶0385] As described with reference to FIG. 23A or 23B, with respect to the IAB node (or IAB-MT) supporting the intra-carrier DC, each of different cell groups (or different parent nodes) such as the MCG and the SCG may allocate different resources within one carrier, and a collision may occur between the allocated resources.) select one of the first uplink/downlink resource indication and the second uplink/downlink resource indication based on the priority associated with the first IAB parent and the priority associated with the second IAB parent; ([¶0392] The first row to the sixteenth row in Table 26, for example, may be the same as or similar to a selection scheme of a terminal operating in the half-duplex CA scheme when a transmission direction collision occurs for different cells. In general, such the direction collision between D/Us or the direction collision between U/Ds may be seen as not occurring within one carrier. However, when the intra-carrier DC is applied and resources included in one carrier are jointly used by the MCG and the SCG, such the direction collision may occur even within one carrier. In this case, the IAB node or the IAB-MT constituting the IAB node may select one resource (i.e., resource of the reference cell) from among the conflicting resources with reference to one of the first row to the sixteenth row in Table 26. In this case, at least one of the first row to the sixteenth row in Table 26 may be used for prioritization when using FDM in the intra-carrier DC. In this case, the reference resource or the reference cell may be configured based on the following methods.) and communicate with the two IAB parents according to the selected uplink/downlink resource indication. ([¶0234] IAB node communicates with one or more upper nodes and one or more lower nodes.)
Regarding Claim 30:
Noh discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Noh discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry is operable to communicate with the two IAB parents according to the selected uplink/downlink resource indication by communicating with the IAB parent associated with a highest priority according to the selected uplink/downlink resource indication and disabling communication with the IAB parent not associated with the highest priority, optionally the processing circuitry is further operable to transmit the selected uplink/downlink resource indication to the IAB parent not associated with the highest priority. ([¶0371] Here, a radio resource for communications with the first parent node and a radio resource for communications with the second parent node, which are configured or indicated to the first IAB node (or the first IAB-MT constituting the first IAB node), may overlap at least partially. For example, one of the first parent node and the second parent node may correspond to the MCG and the other may correspond to the SCG, and there may be a case in which a portion of the radio resource for communications with the first parent node and a portion of the radio resource for communications with the second parent node are SDMed. In this case, the first IAB node may perform communications by selecting a preferential resource according to a predetermined dropping rule from among the overlapping radio resources. Here, the ‘dropping rule’ may be referred to as ‘prioritization’. Here, the technical features related to the dropping rule or prioritization for the resource selection will be described in more detail in a second exemplary embodiment of the communication system.)
Regarding Claim 31:
Noh discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Noh discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry is operable to obtain a first uplink/downlink resource indication from a first IAB parent of the two IAB parents and a second uplink/downlink resource configuration from a second IAB parent of the two IAB parents by receiving at least one of the first uplink/downlink resource indication and the second uplink/downlink resource indication via one of a semi-static indication and a dynamic indication. ([¶0284] The higher layer IAB-DU resource configuration information may include type (i.e., hard, soft, or not-available) information of the IAB-DU resources configured by the upper IAB node. The higher layer IAB-DU resource configuration information may include a part or all of cell-specific/semi-static downlink signals and channels such as SSB(s), type 0-PDCCH CSS set configured by a SIB1 for PDCCH configuration, CSI-RS, etc. configured in a cell (or cell group) configured to the IAB-DU. The higher layer IAB-DU resource configuration information may include a part or all of cell-specific/semi-static downlink signals and channels such as PRACH, SR, etc. configured in a cell (or cell group) configured to the IAB-DU.)
Regarding Claim 32:
Noh discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Noh discloses:
wherein the first IAB parent comprises a master cell group (MCG) parent and the second IAB parent comprises a secondary cell group (SCG) parent, and the priority associated with the first IAB parent is higher than the priority associated with the second IAB parent. ([¶0304] the communication system may include a master cell group (MCG 1870) and a secondary cell group (SCG) 1880. A cell or base station of the MCG 1870 and SCG 1880 may configure a DC with a lower node such as a terminal based on the user plane protocol stack structure 1850 for DC. In the user plane radio interface protocol stack structure 1850 for DC, the cell or base station of the MCG 1870 may include a PHY layer 1871 included in L1, a MAC layer 1872, RLC layer 1873, and PDCP layer 1874 included in L2, a SDAP layer 1875 included in L3, and the like. Meanwhile, the cell or base station of the SCG 1880 may include a PHY layer 1881 included in L1, a MAC layer 1882 and RLC layer 1883 included in L2, and the like.)
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463