DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 21, 2023 and February 13, 2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 47 and 55 of co-pending Application No. 18/554,086 (US20240372589A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the claims of the instant application completely encompass the scope of the claims of co-pending application reveal the claims at issue define essentially the same invention. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in claims at issue is an obvious variation of the invention defined in the claims of the co-pending application. Thus, examiner asserts the difference describe a subset of all possible conditions being monitored in the co-pending claims. These differences are not sufficient to render the claims patentably distinct and therefore a terminal disclaimer is required.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. Claim 1 of the instant application and claim 1 of provisional application 18/554,086 has been mapped below for example.
For claim 1, the scope of claim 1 of 18/554,086 is entirely encompassed by the scope of claim 1 of the instant application as further detailed in the table provided below.
Instant Application 18/559,954
18/554,086
1. A method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, the method comprising:
1. A method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD, the method comprising:
configuring the WD for at least one of single transmission-and-reception point, TRP, channel state information, CSI, reporting and joint TRP CSI reporting,
transmitting a third indication indicating to the WD which one of the NC-JT and single TRP measurement hypotheses are to be included in a CSI- report
the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements measured on channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one TRP;
transmitting a first indication indicating to the WD a set of channel measurement resources, CMRs, to use for determining channel state information, CSI, the CSI including at least one of (i) a first CSI for multiple transmission and reception point, multi-TRP, physical downlink shared channel, PDSCH, transmission, and (ii) at least one second CSI for PDSCH transmission from one TRP; transmitting a second indication indicating to the WD which of a first subset of CMRs and a second subset of CMRs are to be used for anon-coherent joint transmission, NC-JT, measurement hypothesis and which of the first subset of CMRs and the second subset of CMRs are to be used for a single TRP measurement hypothesis
and receiving from the WD an indication of one of single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting
And receiving a CSI report configured with an indicated one of the NC-JT and single TRP measurement hypotheses
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khoshnevisan et al. (US20240306023A1, hereinafter Khoshnevisan).
For claim 1, Khoshnevisan discloses a method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD ([Para. 0042], A method for wireless communications at a base station, include transmitting, to a UE, an indication and receiving, from the UE, UCI), the method comprising: configuring the WD for at least one of single transmission-and-reception point, TRP, channel state information, CSI, reporting and joint TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0110] a base station may send to a UE a CSI report configuration that configures resources for a CSI report. The CSI report configuration may be linked to resource settings, each of which may have an active resource set. For example, a single resource setting (a resource setting for channel measurement resources (CMR)). [Para. 0112] A CMR in a CMR resource set may be configured for a single-TRP (sTRP) hypothesis. If the TRPs associated with UE support joint transmissions, a pair of CMR resources in the CMR resource set may be configured for the non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) hypothesis associated with those TRPs. [Para. 0113] A UE may be configured to provide one or more CSI reports corresponding to various hypotheses. The UE may be configured to report a CSI report for the NCJT hypotheses configured for the UE and X (e.g., 0,1,2) CSI reports for the single TRP (sTRP) hypothesis configured for the UE. [Para. 0065], when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for sTRP operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation)), the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements measured on channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one TRP ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. In cases where the UE supports mTRP operations, the UE may engage in transmissions with different single TRPs, or the UE may engage in non-coherent joint transmissions (NCJT) with a pair of TRPs. Thus, when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for single TRP (sTRP) operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation). [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0143] the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a configuration for measuring CSI-RSs for a first CSI report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the CMR, a second CSI report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second CMR, and a third CSI report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third CMR and a fourth CMR. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP), and receiving from the WD an indication of one of single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0042], receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses).
For claim 2, Khoshnevisan discloses the method of claim 1. The reference further discloses wherein the indication is included in a channel resource indicator, CRI, field configured to indicate for which of at least one TRP, CSI is reported ([Para. 0117], the UE may report the CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) in a first portion of a CSI. [Para. 0139], the UE identify a first CRI associated with the first CMR and a second CRI associated with the second CMR. The CSI report configuration may be linked to an active resource set. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
For claim 6, Khoshnevisan discloses a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD ([Para. 0032], An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, to transmit, to a UE and receive, from the UE), the network node ([FIG. 10], base station 1005) comprising: processing circuitry ([Para. 0032], The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor) configured to configure the WD for at least one of single transmission-and-reception point, TRP, channel state information, CSI, reporting and joint TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0110] a base station may send to a UE a CSI report configuration that configures resources for a CSI report. The CSI report configuration may be linked to resource settings, each of which may have an active resource set. For example, a single resource setting (a resource setting for channel measurement resources (CMR)). [Para. 0112] A CMR in a CMR resource set may be configured for a single-TRP (sTRP) hypothesis. If the TRPs associated with a UE support joint transmissions, a pair of CMR resources in the CMR resource set may be configured for the non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) hypothesis associated with those TRPs. [Para. 0113] A UE may be configured to provide one or more CSI reports corresponding to various hypotheses. The UE may be configured to report a CSI report for the NCJT hypotheses configured for the UE and X (e.g., 0,1,2) CSI reports for the single TRP (sTRP) hypothesis configured for the UE. [Para. 0065], when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for sTRP operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation)), the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements measured on channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one TRP ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. In cases where the UE supports mTRP operations, the UE may engage in transmissions with different single TRPs, or the UE may engage in non-coherent joint transmissions (NCJT) with a pair of TRPs. Thus, when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for single TRP (sTRP) operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation). [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0143] the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a configuration for measuring CSI-RSs for a first CSI report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the CMR, a second CSI report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second CMR, and a third CSI report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third CMR and a fourth CMR. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP), and a radio interface in communication with the processing circuitry and configured to receive from the WD an indication of one of single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0195] and [FIG. 10], base station 1005 may include a receiver 1010, a transmitter 1015, and a communications manager 1020. [Para. 0196], [0196], The receiver 1010 may provide a means for receiving information. [Para. 0032], An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, to receive, from the UE. [Para. 0042], receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses).
For claim 7 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 7 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2.
For claim 11, Khoshnevisan discloses a method in a wireless device, WD ([FIG. 4], terminal), configured to communicate with a network node ([Para. 0018], a method for wireless communications at a UE including transmitting, to a base station, the UCI), the method comprising: performing channel measurements on each of a plurality of channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one transmission-and-reception point, TRP ([Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP. [Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports); and transmitting to the network node an indication of at least one of reporting single-TRP channel state information, CSI, and reporting joint-TRP CSI ([Para. 0021], UE transmits, to a base station, the UCI. [Para. 0042], a base station, receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses); the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements on the CMR associated with at least one TRP for which CSI is reported ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
For claim 12 is directed to method claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2.
For claim 21, Khoshnevisan discloses a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node ([Para. 0020], apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include means for receiving an indication and means for transmitting, to a base station), the wireless device comprising a radio interface ([Para. 0151] and [FIG. 6], UE 605. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. [Para. 0152], The receiver 610 may provide a means for receiving information. [Para. 0020], apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include means for receiving an indication) configured to: perform channel measurements on each of a plurality of channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one transmission-and-reception point, TRP ([Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP. [Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports); and transmit to the network node an indication of at least one of reporting single-TRP channel state information, CSI, and reporting joint-TRP CSI ([Para. 0021], UE transmits, to a base station, the UCI. [Para. 0042], a base station, receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses); the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements on the CMR associated with at least one TRP for which CSI is reported ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
For claim 22 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 22 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Intel Corporation (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-e R1-2103020, hereinafter Intel).
For claim 3, Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 2. The reference further teaches wherein the CRI field is configured to indicate omission of joint CSI reporting for at least one of a plurality of TRPs (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0139], the UE identify a first CRI associated with the first CMR and a second CRI associated with the second CMR [Examiner’s Note: CRI in the first part indicates the CMR for which CSI is reported]. Khoshnevisan [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
Although teaching joint CSI reporting for multiple TRPs, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein the CRI field is configured to indicate omission of joint CSI reporting for at least one of a plurality of TRPs.
Intel teaches wherein the CRI field is configured to indicate omission of joint CSI reporting for at least one of a plurality of TRPs ([Page 1, Agreement], the UE can be configured with NZP CSI-RS resources in a CSI-RS resource set for CMR and N ≥ 1 NZP CSI-RS resource pairs whereas each pair is used for a NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: CMR pair is for joint CSI]. [Page 2, paragraph above Proposal 1], The selection of CMR pairs at the UE can be indicated by using CRI. [Page 2, paragraph above Proposal 2], option 2 corresponds to the category 1 NCJT CSI, where one CSI report is transmitted with content for both TRPs [Examiner’s Note: NCJT is for both TRPs]. [Page 4, first paragraph and Proposal 3], we propose to support NCJT CSI omission in part 2 with indication of omission in part 1. For the indication of NCJT CSI omission any bitfield in CSI part 1 can be used, for example CRI. Proposal 3: Omission of NCJT measurement hypothesis is indicated in CSI part 1 by using CRI field).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that omission of NCJT CSI report is indicated in CRI field, as taught by Intel. The modification would have improved reporting efficiency (Intel [Page 3, [Last paragraph]).
For claim 8 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 8 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
For claim 13 is directed to method claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
For claim 23 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 23 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4, 9, 18-19 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Yuan et al. (US20240007166A1, hereinafter Yuan).
For claim 4, Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 1. Although teaching single and joint CSI reporting, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications, and wherein configuring the WD includes indicating a first rank for single CSI reporting and a second rank for joint CSI reporting.
Yuan is directed to providing csi feedback method and apparatus, device, and readable storage medium. More specifically, Yuan teaches wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications ([0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three rank indicator (RI)-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: CMR0 and CMR1 individually, and CMR0 and CMR1 paired are associated with the TRPs as Khoshnevisan teaches]. [Para. 0081], the terminal indicates, to the network-side device by using the first field in the CSI report, that a type of the first measurement hypothesis is an STRP measurement hypothesis or a joint transmission measurement hypothesis. [Para. 0083 and 0086], The first field is an RI Field. [Examiner’s Note: The first field in the CSI report includes a first RI field, a second RI field and a third RI field]. [Para. 0463 and 0470], in a case that the first field is an RI field and that the first measurement hypothesis is one of all the STRP measurement hypotheses and joint transmission measurement hypotheses, a bitwidth of the RI field is determined based on: a quantity of antenna ports;… [Examiner’s Note: Based on paragraph 0470, there are three RI fields of different bitwidths]), and wherein configuring the WD includes indicating a first rank for single CSI reporting and a second rank for joint CSI reporting ([Para. 0460], Referring to FIG. 5 , apparatus 500, a network-side device. [Para. 0523], apparatus 500 configured to send higher layer signaling, where the higher layer signaling is used to limit the first field in the CSI report. [Para. 0252 and 0255], The first field is an RI Field. [Para. 0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three RI-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: The individual CMRs to which the ranks correspond are the indication of the first rank and CMR pair to which the rank correspond is the indication of the second rank]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that rank indicators are in reserved bits indicating single and joint measurement hypotheses corresponding to the CMRs and the terminal is configured with the rank indicator fields for the single and joint measurement hypotheses, as taught by Yuan. The modification would have provided CSI that well supports multiple measurement hypotheses (Yuan [Para. 0009]).
For claim 9 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 9 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
For claim 18, Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 11. Although teaching single and joint CSI reporting, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for reporting rank indications for single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting.
Yuan is directed to providing csi feedback method and apparatus, device, and readable storage medium. More specifically, Yuan teaches wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications ([0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three rank indicator (RI)-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: CMR0 and CMR1 individually, and CMR0 and CMR1 paired are associated with the TRPs as Khoshnevisan teaches]. [Para. 0081], the terminal indicates, to the network-side device by using the first field in the CSI report, that a type of the first measurement hypothesis is an STRP measurement hypothesis or a joint transmission measurement hypothesis. [Para. 0083 and 0086], The first field is an RI Field. [Examiner’s Note: The first field in the CSI report includes a first RI field, a second RI field and a third RI field]. [Para. 0463 and 0470], in a case that the first field is an RI field and that the first measurement hypothesis is one of all the STRP measurement hypotheses and joint transmission measurement hypotheses, a bitwidth of the RI field is determined based on: a quantity of antenna ports;…[Examiner’s Note: Based on paragraph 0470, there are three RI fields of different bitwidths]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that rank indicators are in reserved bits indicating single and joint measurement hypotheses corresponding to the CMRs, as taught by Yuan. The modification would have provided CSI that well supports multiple measurement hypotheses (Yuan [Para. 0009]).
For claim 19, Khoshnevisan and Yuan teach the method of claim 18. The references further teach wherein a first rank is indicated for single-TRP CSI reporting and a second rank is indicated for joint-TRP CSI reporting (Yuan [Para. 0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three RI-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: The individual CMRs to which the ranks correspond are the indication of the first rank and CMR pair to which the rank correspond is the indication of the second rank]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that rank indicators indicate ranks for single and joint measurement hypotheses corresponding to the CMRs, as taught by Yuan. The modification would have provided CSI that well supports multiple measurement hypotheses (Yuan [Para. 0009]).
For claims 28-29 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claims 18-19. Therefore, claims 28-29 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 18-19.
Claims 14-16 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Fraunhofer IIS et al. (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-bis-e R1-2102810, hereinafter Fraunhofer).
For claim 14, Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 11. The reference further teaches wherein a CSI report includes a first part and a second part ([Para. 0117], the UE may report the RIs and CRI in a first portion of a CSI (e.g., CSI part 1), while reporting LIs and PMIs in a second portion of CSI (e.g., CSI part 2). The CSI part 1 may have constant size (e.g., irrespective of the CSI payload) while the size of CSI part 2 may be based on the corresponding payload of CSI part 1), the first part of the CSI report indicating for which CMR the CSI is reported ([Para. 0117], the UE may report the CRI in a first portion of a CSI (e.g., CSI part 1). [Para. 0139], the UE identify a first CRI associated with the first CMR and a second CRI associated with the second CMR [Examiner’s Note: CRI in the first part indicates the CMR for which CSI is reported]. [Para. 0143] the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a configuration for measuring CSI-RSs for a first CSI report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first CMR, a second CSI report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second CMR, and a third CSI report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third CMR and a fourth CMR).
Although teaching CSI report including two parts and the first part indicating CMRs by CRIs, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose the second part of the CSI report reporting CSI for the indicated CMR.
Fraunhofer teaches the second part of the CSI report reporting CSI for the indicated CMR ([Page 7], Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. [Page 7, second paragraph], a two-part UCI structure can be adopted. The UCI payload depends on the selected (single-TRP and/or NCJT) hypothesis and can vary a lot. A two-part UCI structure can be adopted. The UCI comprises two parts, where part 1 has a fixed payload size and indicates the size of part 2. For option 1, UCI part 1 comprises X CRIs for the X selected single-TRP measurement hypotheses, and one CRI for the NCJT measurement hypothesis. The UCI part 2 has a varying payload size and comprises the remaining CSI content).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that part 1 of the CSI report indicates CMRs and part2 comprises remaining CSI content associated with the CMRs, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claim 15, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 14. The references further teach wherein the first part of the CSI report includes a first field to indicate for which CMR the single-TRP CSI is reported and a second field to indicate for which CMR joint-TRP CSI is reported (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0117], the UE may report the rank indicator (RI)s and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) in a first portion of a CSI (e.g., CSI part 1. Fraunhofer [Page 7], Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph], a two-part UCI structure can be adopted. For option 1, UCI part 1 comprises X CRIs and X RIs for the X selected single-TRP measurement hypotheses, and one CRI and two RIs for the NCJT measurement hypothesis. [Examiner’s Note: X CRIs for single-TRP measurement hypotheses are the first field and one CRI for the NCJT measurement hypothesis is the second field in part 1]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that multiple CRI fields are included in part 1 indicating for which CMRs the single TRP CSI and joint TRP CSI are reported, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claim 16, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the second field includes one or both of: at least one codepoint reserved to indicate inclusion of CSI reporting of at least one of a set of joint-TRP CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7], Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph], a two-part UCI structure can be adopted. For option 1, UCI part 1 comprises X CRIs and X RIs for the X selected single-TRP measurement hypotheses, and one CRI and two RIs for the NCJT measurement hypothesis.); and at least one codepoint reserved to indicate omission of CSI reporting of at least one of a set of joint-TRP CSI.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that one-to-one mapped CRI codepoints for joint CSI are included in the one CRI for the NCJT measurement hypothesis in part 1, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claims 24-26 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claims 14-16. Therefore, claims 24-26 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 14-16.
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Li et al. (US20200127721A1, hereinafter Li) and Intel Corporation (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-e R1-2103020, hereinafter Intel).
For claim 20, Khoshnevisan teaches the method of claim 11. Although teaching single TRP and joint TRP CSI reporting, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold.
Li is directed to providing transmission method, terminal device, and network device. More specifically, Li teaches wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold ([Para. 0049], if the RI is greater than the threshold of the RI, the second CSI includes some parameters in the first CSI; or if the RI is less than or equal to the threshold of the RI, the second CSI includes all parameters in the first CSI [Examiner’s Note: Portion of CSI is omitted in the second CSI when RI exceeds a threshold]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that portion of the CSI is omission when RI exceeds a threshold, as taught by Li. The modification would have allowed terminal device can properly use a limited uplink channel resource allocated by the network device to the terminal device, thereby improving transmission performance of the CSI (Li [Para. 0123]).
Although teaching omission of a portion of CSI, Khoshnevisan and Li do not explicitly disclose wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold
Intel teaches wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold ([Page 2, paragraph above Proposal 2], option 2 corresponds to the category 1 NCJT CSI, where one CSI report is transmitted with content for both TRPs. [Page 4, first paragraph and Proposal 3], we propose to support NCJT CSI omission in part 2 with indication of omission in part 1. For the indication of NCJT CSI omission any bitfield in CSI part 1 can be used, for example rank indicator (RI). Proposal 3: Omission of NCJT measurement hypothesis is indicated in CSI part 1 by using RI [Examiner’s Note: The indication of omission using RI can be that RI exceeds a threshold as Li teaches]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Li, so that omission of NCJT CSI report is indicated by RI, as taught by Intel. The modification would have improved reporting efficiency (Intel [Page 3, [Last paragraph]).
For claim 30 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 20. Therefore, claim 30 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 20.
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417