DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 24, 2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 6, 11 and 21 are amended.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-16, 18-26 and 28-30 are pending in this application.
In view of the amendment, the double patenting rejection and the 35 USC §102 rejection have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed April 24, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 6, 11 and 21 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of another reference.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that “Fraunhofer does not disclose or suggest ‘determining when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI’, as recited in the independent claims” (Response filed April 24, 2026, Page 16), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Fraunhofer teaches “the UE can be configured to report one CSI associated with the best one among NCJT and single-TRP measurement hypotheses” (Fraunhofer [Page 2, option 2 of Agreement]), indicating that the network node configures the UE to determine when to omit NCJT report, and “the UE can be configured with a single CSI for the selected hypothesis among the single-TRP and NCJT measurement hypotheses (option 2). The selected CSI hypotheses are indicated in the CSI report by CRI(s), where for option 2 the CSI report comprises one CRI”, further teaching that the network node configures the UE to report only single-TRP hypothesis indicated by CRI in the CSI report and omit NCJT hypothesis when single-TRP hypothesis is the best.
Fraunhofer provides “To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses, a one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is needed” (Fraunhofer [Page 7, first paragraph]) and “Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis” (Fraunhofer [Page 7]). The provision indicates that the hypotheses are mapped to the CRI codepoints and the selected hypothesis is indicated in CSI report by CRI codepoint of the hypothesis.
Fraunhofer further teaches “The CRI mapping can be higher-layer configured” (Fraunhofer [Page 7, first paragraph]). Accordingly, the network node determines the CRI codepoint mapping and thus has the knowledge of the mapping. The network node determines that NCJT hypothesis is omitted when the CRI codepoint of NCJT hypothesis is not indicated in CSI report and the CRI codepoint of the single-TRP hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report. Therefore, Fraunhofer teaches that the network node determines when to omit NCJT reporting based on the CRI codepoint mapping, and the terminal determines when to omit NCJT reporting based on CRI codepoint mapping.
Applicant argues that “Yuan does not disclose a rank indicator field with ‘bitsPage reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications’, as the claims recite” (Response filed April 24, 2026, Pages 15-16), Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant.
Yuan teaches “the terminal indicates, to the network-side device by using the first field in the CSI report, that a type of the first measurement hypothesis is an STRP measurement hypothesis or a joint transmission measurement hypothesis” (Yuan [Para. 0081]) and “The first field is an RI Field” (Yuan [Para. 0083 and 0086]). An RI field indicates single versus joint hypothesis reporting. Yuan further teaches “in a case that the first field is an RI field and that the first measurement hypothesis is one of all the STRP measurement hypotheses and joint transmission measurement hypotheses, a bitwidth of the RI field is determined based on. A third value, where the third value includes 0 or ┌log2 NRI┐, where NRI represents the total quantity of supported rank indicators or rank indicator combinations” (Yuan [Para. 0463 and 0473]), and “in a case that the first measurement hypothesis includes the X STRP measurement hypotheses and the one joint transmission measurement hypothesis, a quantity of RI fields in the CSI report is: 1, where one RI field corresponds to the X STRP measurement hypotheses and the one joint transmission measurement hypothesis “(Yuan [Para. 0484 and 0487]). Therefore, ┌log2 NRI┐bits are reserved for rank indicator field including bits for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be amended to read, “configuring the D for at least one of single transmission-and reception point, TRP, channel state information, CSI, reporting and non-coherent joint transmission CSI reporting” to prevent any confusion with the later introduced non-coherent joint transmission.
Similar amendment should be made to claims 6, 11, and 21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, 14-16, 21-22 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US20240306023A1, hereinafter Khoshnevisan) in view of Fraunhofer (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-bis-e R1-2102810, hereinafter Fraunhofer).
For claim 1, Khoshnevisan teaches a method in a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD ([Para. 0042], A method for wireless communications at a base station, include transmitting, to a UE, an indication and receiving, from the UE, UCI), the method comprising: configuring the WD for at least one of single transmission-and-reception point, TRP, channel state information, CSI, reporting and joint TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0110] a base station may send to a UE a CSI report configuration that configures resources for a CSI report. The CSI report configuration may be linked to resource settings, each of which may have an active resource set. For example, a single resource setting (a resource setting for channel measurement resources (CMR)). [Para. 0112] A CMR in a CMR resource set may be configured for a single-TRP (sTRP) hypothesis. If the TRPs associated with UE support joint transmissions, a pair of CMR resources in the CMR resource set may be configured for the non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) hypothesis associated with those TRPs. [Para. 0113] A UE may be configured to provide one or more CSI reports corresponding to various hypotheses. The UE may be configured to report a CSI report for the NCJT hypotheses configured for the UE and X (e.g., 0,1,2) CSI reports for the single TRP (sTRP) hypothesis configured for the UE. [Para. 0065], when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for sTRP operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation)), the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements measured on channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one TRP ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. In cases where the UE supports mTRP operations, the UE may engage in transmissions with different single TRPs, or the UE may engage in non-coherent joint transmissions (NCJT) with a pair of TRPs. Thus, when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for single TRP (sTRP) operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation). [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0143] the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a configuration for measuring CSI-RSs for a first CSI report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the CMR, a second CSI report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second CMR, and a third CSI report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third CMR and a fourth CMR. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP), receiving from the WD an indication of one of single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0042], receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses).
Although teaching receiving from WD single-TRP and joint-TRP CSI report, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose and determining when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI.
Fraunhofer teaches and determining when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI ([Page 2, Agreement], For a CSI report associated with a Multi-TRP/panel NCJT measurement hypothesis configured by single CSI reporting setting: Option 2: the UE can be configured to report one CSI associated with the best one among NCJT and single-TRP measurement hypotheses [Examiner’s Note: When single-TRP measurement hypothesis is the best, NCJT CSI is omitted]. [Page 7, first paragraph], the UE can be configured with a single CSI for the selected hypothesis among the single-TRP and NCJT measurement hypotheses (option 2). The selected CSI hypotheses are indicated in the CSI report by CRI(s), where for option 2 the CSI report comprises one CRI [Examiner’s Note: Configuration of UE by the network node to report only single-TRP hypothesis when single-TRP hypothesis is the best indicates that the network node determines when to omit NCJT report]. [Page 7, first paragraph], To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses, a one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is needed. The CRI mapping can be higher-layer configured. Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. [Examiner’s Note: To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses by CRI codepoint indicates that the CRI codepoint of the selected hypothesis is indicated in CSI report. That the mapping between CRI codepoints and hypotheses is configured by the network node via higher-layer configuration indicates the network node determines the mapping. When the CRI codepoint of the single-TRP hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report, the network node determines that NCJT is omitted based on the CRI codepoint of NCJT being absent]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that NCJT is omitted when the single TRP hypothesis is the best, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claim 2, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 1. The reference further discloses wherein the indication is included in a channel resource indicator, CRI, field configured to indicate for which of at least one TRP, CSI is reported (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0117], the UE may report the CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) in a first portion of a CSI. Khoshnevisan [Para. 0139], the UE identify a first CRI associated with the first CMR and a second CRI associated with the second CMR. The CSI report configuration may be linked to an active resource set. Khoshnevisan [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
For claim 6, Khoshnevisan teaches a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device, WD ([Para. 0032], An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, to transmit, to a UE and receive, from the UE), the network node ([FIG. 10], base station 1005) comprising: processing circuitry ([Para. 0032], The apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor) configured to configure the WD for at least one of single transmission-and-reception point, TRP, channel state information, CSI, reporting and joint TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0110] a base station may send to a UE a CSI report configuration that configures resources for a CSI report. The CSI report configuration may be linked to resource settings, each of which may have an active resource set. For example, a single resource setting (a resource setting for channel measurement resources (CMR)). [Para. 0112] A CMR in a CMR resource set may be configured for a single-TRP (sTRP) hypothesis. If the TRPs associated with a UE support joint transmissions, a pair of CMR resources in the CMR resource set may be configured for the non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) hypothesis associated with those TRPs. [Para. 0113] A UE may be configured to provide one or more CSI reports corresponding to various hypotheses. The UE may be configured to report a CSI report for the NCJT hypotheses configured for the UE and X (e.g., 0,1,2) CSI reports for the single TRP (sTRP) hypothesis configured for the UE. [Para. 0065], when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for sTRP operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation)), the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements measured on channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one TRP ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. In cases where the UE supports mTRP operations, the UE may engage in transmissions with different single TRPs, or the UE may engage in non-coherent joint transmissions (NCJT) with a pair of TRPs. Thus, when providing CSI reports, the UE may provide CSI reports on a per-TRP basis (for single TRP (sTRP) operation) or for joint TRP communications (for mTRP operation). [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0143] the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a configuration for measuring CSI-RSs for a first CSI report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the CMR, a second CSI report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second CMR, and a third CSI report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third CMR and a fourth CMR. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP), and a radio interface in communication with the processing circuitry and configured to receive from the WD an indication of one of single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting ([Para. 0195] and [FIG. 10], base station 1005 may include a receiver 1010, a transmitter 1015, and a communications manager 1020. [Para. 0196], [0196], The receiver 1010 may provide a means for receiving information. [Para. 0032], An apparatus for wireless communications at a base station, to receive, from the UE. [Para. 0042], receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses).
Although teaching receiving from WD single-TRP and joint-TRP CSI report, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose and determine when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI.
Fraunhofer teaches and determine when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI ([Page 2, Agreement], For a CSI report associated with a Multi-TRP/panel NCJT measurement hypothesis configured by single CSI reporting setting: Option 2: the UE can be configured to report one CSI associated with the best one among NCJT and single-TRP measurement hypotheses [Examiner’s Note: When single-TRP measurement hypothesis is the best, NCJT CSI is omitted]. [Page 7, first paragraph], the UE can be configured with a single CSI for the selected hypothesis among the single-TRP and NCJT measurement hypotheses (option 2). The selected CSI hypotheses are indicated in the CSI report by CRI(s), where for option 2 the CSI report comprises one CRI [Examiner’s Note: Configuration of UE by the network node to report only single-TRP hypothesis when single-TRP hypothesis is the best indicates that the network node determines when to omit NCJT report]. [Page 7, first paragraph], To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses, a one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is needed. The CRI mapping can be higher-layer configured. Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. [Examiner’s Note: To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses by CRI codepoint indicates that the CRI codepoint of the selected hypothesis is indicated in CSI report. That the mapping between CRI codepoints and hypotheses is configured by the network node via higher-layer configuration indicates the network node determines the mapping. When the CRI codepoint of the single-TRP hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report, the network node determines that NCJT is omitted based on the CRI codepoint of NCJT being absent]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that NCJT is omitted when the single TRP hypothesis is the best, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
Claim 7 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 7 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2.
For claim 11, Khoshnevisan teaches a method in a wireless device, WD ([FIG. 4], terminal), configured to communicate with a network node ([Para. 0018], a method for wireless communications at a UE including transmitting, to a base station, the UCI), the method comprising: performing channel measurements on each of a plurality of channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one transmission-and-reception point, TRP ([Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP. [Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports); and transmitting to the network node an indication of at least one of reporting single-TRP channel state information, CSI, and reporting joint-TRP CSI ([Para. 0021], UE transmits, to a base station, the UCI. [Para. 0042], a base station, receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses); the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements on the CMR associated with at least one TRP for which CSI is reported ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
Although teaching receiving from WD single-TRP and joint-TRP CSI report, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose and determine when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI.
Fraunhofer teaches and determine when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI ([Page 2, Agreement], For a CSI report associated with a Multi-TRP/panel NCJT measurement hypothesis configured by single CSI reporting setting: Option 2: the UE can be configured to report one CSI associated with the best one among NCJT and single-TRP measurement hypotheses [Examiner’s Note: When single-TRP measurement hypothesis is the best, NCJT CSI is omitted]. [Page 7, first paragraph], the UE can be configured with a single CSI for the selected hypothesis among the single-TRP and NCJT measurement hypotheses (option 2). The selected CSI hypotheses are indicated in the CSI report by CRI(s), where for option 2 the CSI report comprises one CRI [Examiner’s Note: When the CRI of the single-TRP hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report, the network node is indicated that the NCJT is omitted]. [Page 7, first paragraph], To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses, a one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is needed. The CRI mapping can be higher-layer configured. Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses by CRI codepoint indicates that the CRI codepoint is indicated in CSI report. Since the selected CSI hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report by CRI codepoint, when the WD does not include CRI codepoint of NCJT in the CSI report, the WD determines the NCJT is omitted]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that NCJT is omitted when the single TRP hypothesis is the best, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
Claim 12 is directed to method claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2.
For claim 14, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 11. The references further teach wherein a CSI report includes a first part and a second part (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0117], the UE may report the rank indicator (RI)s and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) in a first portion of a CSI (e.g., CSI part 1), while reporting LIs and PMIs in a second portion of CSI (e.g., CSI part 2). The CSI part 1 may have constant size (e.g., irrespective of the CSI payload) while the size of CSI part 2 may be based on the corresponding payload of CSI part 1), the first part of the CSI report indicating for which CMR the CSI is reported (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0117], the UE may report the CRI in a first portion of a CSI (e.g., CSI part 1). Khoshnevisan [Para. 0139], the UE identify a first CRI associated with the first CMR and a second CRI associated with the second CMR [Examiner’s Note: CRI in the first part indicates the CMR for which CSI is reported]. Khoshnevisan [Para. 0143] the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, a configuration for measuring CSI-RSs for a first CSI report that includes a first single transmission hypothesis associated with the first CMR, a second CSI report that includes a second single transmission hypothesis associated with the second CMR, and a third CSI report that includes a joint transmission hypothesis associated with both a third CMR and a fourth CMR), the second part of the CSI report reporting CSI for the indicated CMR (Fraunhofer [Page 7], Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. [Page 7, second paragraph], a two-part UCI structure can be adopted. The UCI payload depends on the selected (single-TRP and/or NCJT) hypothesis and can vary a lot. A two-part UCI structure can be adopted. The UCI comprises two parts, where part 1 has a fixed payload size and indicates the size of part 2. For option 1, UCI part 1 comprises X CRIs for the X selected single-TRP measurement hypotheses, and one CRI for the NCJT measurement hypothesis. The UCI part 2 has a varying payload size and comprises the remaining CSI content).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that part 1 of the CSI report indicates CMRs and part2 comprises remaining CSI content associated with the CMRs, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claim 15, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 14. The references further teach wherein the first part of the CSI report includes a first field to indicate for which CMR the single-TRP CSI is reported and a second field to indicate for which CMR joint-TRP CSI is reported (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0117], the UE may report the rank indicator (RI)s and CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI) in a first portion of a CSI (e.g., CSI part 1. Fraunhofer [Page 7], Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph], a two-part UCI structure can be adopted. For option 1, UCI part 1 comprises X CRIs and X RIs for the X selected single-TRP measurement hypotheses, and one CRI and two RIs for the NCJT measurement hypothesis. [Examiner’s Note: X CRIs for single-TRP measurement hypotheses are the first field and one CRI for the NCJT measurement hypothesis is the second field in part 1]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that multiple CRI fields are included in part 1 indicating for which CMRs the single TRP CSI and joint TRP CSI are reported, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claim 16, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 15. The references further teach wherein the second field includes one or both of: at least one codepoint reserved to indicate inclusion of CSI reporting of at least one of a set of joint-TRP CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7], Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis. Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph], a two-part UCI structure can be adopted. For option 1, UCI part 1 comprises X CRIs and X RIs for the X selected single-TRP measurement hypotheses, and one CRI and two RIs for the NCJT measurement hypothesis.); and at least one codepoint reserved to indicate omission of CSI reporting of at least one of a set of joint-TRP CSI.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that one-to-one mapped CRI codepoints for joint CSI are included in the one CRI for the NCJT measurement hypothesis in part 1, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
For claim 21, Khoshnevisan discloses a wireless device, WD, configured to communicate with a network node ([Para. 0020], apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include means for receiving an indication and means for transmitting, to a base station), the wireless device comprising a radio interface ([Para. 0151] and [FIG. 6], UE 605. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. [Para. 0152], The receiver 610 may provide a means for receiving information. [Para. 0020], apparatus for wireless communications at a UE is described. The apparatus may include means for receiving an indication) configured to: perform channel measurements on each of a plurality of channel measurement resources, CMR, associated with each of at least one transmission-and-reception point, TRP ([Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP. [Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports); and transmit to the network node an indication of at least one of reporting single-TRP channel state information, CSI, and reporting joint-TRP CSI ([Para. 0021], UE transmits, to a base station, the UCI. [Para. 0042], a base station, receiving, from the UE, UCI including the first CSI report, the second CSI report, and the third CSI report with either single transmission or joint transmission hypotheses); the CSI reporting being based at least in part on channel measurements on the CMR associated with at least one TRP for which CSI is reported ([Para. 0065], the UE may perform measurements of signals transmitted by transmission reception points (TRPs), and may include these measurements in channel state information (CSI) reports. [Para. 0142], the base station may transmit, and the UE may receive, an indication of a first CMR and a second CMR, each configured for measuring CSI-RSs, the first CMR associated with a first TCI state and the second CMR associated with a second TCI state. [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
Although teaching receiving from WD single-TRP and joint-TRP CSI report, Khoshnevisan does not explicitly disclose and determine when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI.
Fraunhofer teaches and determine when to omit non-coherent joint transmission, NCJT, reporting based at least in part on the indication, the indication being one of a rank indicator and a codepoint mapping of a CSI reference signal resource indicator, CRI ([Page 2, Agreement], For a CSI report associated with a Multi-TRP/panel NCJT measurement hypothesis configured by single CSI reporting setting: Option 2: the UE can be configured to report one CSI associated with the best one among NCJT and single-TRP measurement hypotheses [Examiner’s Note: When single-TRP measurement hypothesis is the best, NCJT CSI is omitted]. [Page 7, first paragraph], the UE can be configured with a single CSI for the selected hypothesis among the single-TRP and NCJT measurement hypotheses (option 2). The selected CSI hypotheses are indicated in the CSI report by CRI(s), where for option 2 the CSI report comprises one CRI [Examiner’s Note: When the CRI of the single-TRP hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report, the network node is indicated that the NCJT is omitted]. [Page 7, first paragraph], To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses, a one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is needed. The CRI mapping can be higher-layer configured. Proposal: A one-to-one mapping between CRI codepoints and CMRs/CMR pairs is used. Each CRI codepoint is associated with a single-TRP or NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: To uniquely determine the selected single-TRP and/or NCJT hypotheses by CRI codepoint indicates that the CRI codepoint is indicated in CSI report. Since the selected CSI hypothesis is indicated in the CSI report by CRI codepoint, when the WD does not include CRI codepoint of NCJT in the CSI report, the WD determines the NCJT is omitted]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan, so that NCJT is omitted when the single TRP hypothesis is the best, as taught by Fraunhofer. The modification would have allowed to adaptation of CSI for various payload size of CSI (Fraunhofer [Page 7, second paragraph]).
Claim 22 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claim 22 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2
For claims 24-26 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claims 14-16. Therefore, claims 24-26 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 14-16.
Claims 3, 8, 13 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Fraunhofer (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-bis-e R1-2102810, hereinafter Fraunhofer), and further in view of Intel Corporation (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-e R1-2103020, hereinafter Intel).
For claim 3, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach wherein the CRI field is configured to indicate omission of joint CSI reporting for at least one of a plurality of TRPs (Khoshnevisan [Para. 0139], the UE identify a first CRI associated with the first CMR and a second CRI associated with the second CMR [Examiner’s Note: CRI in the first part indicates the CMR for which CSI is reported]. Khoshnevisan [Para. 0111] Each CMR in a CMR resource set may be associated with a respective transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state, which may also be referred to as a transmission reception point (TRP). Thus, each CMR may be associated with a TRP).
Although teaching joint CSI reporting for multiple TRPs, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer do not explicitly disclose wherein the CRI field is configured to indicate omission of joint CSI reporting for at least one of a plurality of TRPs.
Intel teaches wherein the CRI field is configured to indicate omission of joint CSI reporting for at least one of a plurality of TRPs ([Page 1, Agreement], the UE can be configured with NZP CSI-RS resources in a CSI-RS resource set for CMR and N ≥ 1 NZP CSI-RS resource pairs whereas each pair is used for a NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: CMR pair is for joint CSI]. [Page 2, paragraph above Proposal 1], The selection of CMR pairs at the UE can be indicated by using CRI. [Page 2, paragraph above Proposal 2], option 2 corresponds to the category 1 NCJT CSI, where one CSI report is transmitted with content for both TRPs [Examiner’s Note: NCJT is for both TRPs]. [Page 4, first paragraph and Proposal 3], we propose to support NCJT CSI omission in part 2 with indication of omission in part 1. For the indication of NCJT CSI omission any bitfield in CSI part 1 can be used, for example CRI. Proposal 3: Omission of NCJT measurement hypothesis is indicated in CSI part 1 by using CRI field).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer, so that omission of NCJT CSI report is indicated in CRI field, as taught by Intel. The modification would have improved reporting efficiency (Intel [Page 3, [Last paragraph]).
For claim 8 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 8 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
For claim 13 is directed to method claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
For claim 23 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 3. Therefore, claim 23 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4, 9, 18-19 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Fraunhofer (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-bis-e R1-2102810, hereinafter Fraunhofer), and further in view of Yuan et al. (US20240007166A1, hereinafter Yuan).
For claim 4, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching single and joint CSI reporting, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications, and wherein configuring the WD includes indicating a first rank for single CSI reporting and a second rank for joint CSI reporting.
Yuan is directed to providing CSI feedback method and apparatus, device, and readable storage medium. More specifically, Yuan teaches wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications ([0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three rank indicator (RI)-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: CMR0 and CMR1 individually, and CMR0 and CMR1 paired are associated with the TRPs as Khoshnevisan teaches]. [Para. 0081], the terminal indicates, to the network-side device by using the first field in the CSI report, that a type of the first measurement hypothesis is an STRP measurement hypothesis or a joint transmission measurement hypothesis. [Para. 0083 and 0086], The first field is an RI Field. [Examiner’s Note: The first field in the CSI report includes a first RI field, a second RI field and a third RI field]. [Para. 0463 and 0470], in a case that the first field is an RI field and that the first measurement hypothesis is one of all the STRP measurement hypotheses and joint transmission measurement hypotheses, a bitwidth of the RI field is determined based on. A third value, where the third value includes 0 or ┌log2 NRI┐, where NRI represents the total quantity of supported rank indicators or rank indicator combinations. [Para. 0484 and 0487], in a case that the first measurement hypothesis includes the X STRP measurement hypotheses and the one joint transmission measurement hypothesis, a quantity of RI fields in the CSI report is: 1, where one RI field corresponds to the X STRP measurement hypotheses and the one joint transmission measurement hypothesis), and wherein configuring the WD includes indicating a first rank for single CSI reporting and a second rank for joint CSI reporting ([Para. 0460], Referring to FIG. 5 , apparatus 500, a network-side device. [Para. 0523], apparatus 500 configured to send higher layer signaling, where the higher layer signaling is used to limit the first field in the CSI report. [Para. 0252 and 0255], The first field is an RI Field. [Para. 0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three RI-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: The individual CMRs to which the ranks correspond are the indication of the first rank and CMR pair to which the rank correspond is the indication of the second rank]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer, so that rank indicators are in reserved bits indicating single and joint measurement hypotheses corresponding to the CMRs and the terminal is configured with the rank indicator fields for the single and joint measurement hypotheses, as taught by Yuan. The modification would have provided CSI that well supports multiple measurement hypotheses (Yuan [Para. 0009]).
For claim 9 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 4. Therefore, claim 9 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 4.
For claim 18, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 11. Although teaching single and joint CSI reporting, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for reporting rank indications for single-TRP CSI reporting and joint-TRP CSI reporting.
Yuan is directed to providing CSI feedback method and apparatus, device, and readable storage medium. More specifically, Yuan teaches wherein the indication is included in a rank indicator field including bits reserved for single and joint CSI reporting rank indications ([0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three rank indicator (RI)-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: CMR0 and CMR1 individually, and CMR0 and CMR1 paired are associated with the TRPs as Khoshnevisan teaches]. [Para. 0081], the terminal indicates, to the network-side device by using the first field in the CSI report, that a type of the first measurement hypothesis is an STRP measurement hypothesis or a joint transmission measurement hypothesis. [Para. 0083 and 0086], The first field is an RI Field. [Examiner’s Note: The first field in the CSI report includes a first RI field, a second RI field and a third RI field]. [Para. 0463 and 0470], in a case that the first field is an RI field and that the first measurement hypothesis is one of all the STRP measurement hypotheses and joint transmission measurement hypotheses, a bitwidth of the RI field is determined based on. A third value, where the third value includes 0 or ┌log2 NRI┐, where NRI represents the total quantity of supported rank indicators or rank indicator combinations. [Para. 0484 and 0487], in a case that the first measurement hypothesis includes the X STRP measurement hypotheses and the one joint transmission measurement hypothesis, a quantity of RI fields in the CSI report is: 1, where one RI field corresponds to the X STRP measurement hypotheses and the one joint transmission measurement hypothesis).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer, so that rank indicators are in reserved bits indicating single and joint measurement hypotheses corresponding to the CMRs, as taught by Yuan. The modification would have provided CSI that well supports multiple measurement hypotheses (Yuan [Para. 0009]).
For claim 19, Khoshnevisan, Fraunhofer and Yuan teach the method of claim 18. The references further teach wherein a first rank is indicated for single-TRP CSI reporting and a second rank is indicated for joint-TRP CSI reporting (Yuan [Para. 0349] When higher layer signaling configures UE to report two STRP measurement hypotheses and one NCJT measurement hypothesis, and CMR0 and CMR1 are configured in a CSI reporting setting, there are three RI-related fields of a CSI report, where a first RI field corresponds to CMR0 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a second RI field corresponds to CMR1 associated with an STRP measurement hypothesis, a third RI field corresponds to CMR0 and CMR1 corresponding to one NCJT measurement hypothesis [Examiner’s Note: The individual CMRs to which the ranks correspond are the indication of the first rank and CMR pair to which the rank correspond is the indication of the second rank]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer, so that rank indicators indicate ranks for single and joint measurement hypotheses corresponding to the CMRs, as taught by Yuan. The modification would have provided CSI that well supports multiple measurement hypotheses (Yuan [Para. 0009]).
For claims 28-29 are directed to apparatus claims and they do not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claims 18-19. Therefore, claims 28-29 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 18-19.
Claims 20 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan in view of Fraunhofer (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104-bis-e R1-2102810, hereinafter Fraunhofer), and further in view of Li et al. (US20200127721A1, hereinafter Li) and Intel Corporation (3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-e R1-2103020, hereinafter Intel).
For claim 20, Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer teach the method of claim 11. Although teaching single TRP and joint TRP CSI reporting, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold.
Li is directed to providing transmission method, terminal device, and network device. More specifically, Li teaches wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold ([Para. 0049], if the RI is greater than the threshold of the RI, the second CSI includes some parameters in the first CSI; or if the RI is less than or equal to the threshold of the RI, the second CSI includes all parameters in the first CSI [Examiner’s Note: Portion of CSI is omitted in the second CSI when RI exceeds a threshold]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Fraunhofer, so that portion of the CSI is omission when RI exceeds a threshold, as taught by Li. The modification would have allowed terminal device can properly use a limited uplink channel resource allocated by the network device to the terminal device, thereby improving transmission performance of the CSI (Li [Para. 0123]).
Although teaching omission of a portion of CSI, Khoshnevisan, Fraunhofer and Li do not explicitly disclose wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold
Intel teaches wherein joint-TRP CSI reporting is omitted when a rank indication exceeds a rank threshold ([Page 2, paragraph above Proposal 2], option 2 corresponds to the category 1 NCJT CSI, where one CSI report is transmitted with content for both TRPs. [Page 4, first paragraph and Proposal 3], we propose to support NCJT CSI omission in part 2 with indication of omission in part 1. For the indication of NCJT CSI omission any bitfield in CSI part 1 can be used, for example rank indicator (RI). Proposal 3: Omission of NCJT measurement hypothesis is indicated in CSI part 1 by using RI [Examiner’s Note: The indication of omission using RI can be that RI exceeds a threshold as Li teaches]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Khoshnevisan and Li, so that omission of NCJT CSI report is indicated by RI, as taught by Intel. The modification would have improved reporting efficiency (Intel [Page 3, [Last paragraph]).
For claim 30 is directed to apparatus claim and it does not disclose or further define over the limitations recited in claim 20. Therefore, claim 30 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417