DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 28, the occurrence of “the registration accept message” in line 1 has no antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 1-4, 25, 26, 28, 29, 31-35 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari et al(US 2024/0187968 A1) in view of Lee et al(US 2022/0338000 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tiwari ‘968 teaches, a wireless device configured to communicate with an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, node, and a Unified Data Management, UDM, node ([0238]- [0240] and Figs. 1-2, ME(UE) 3 communicating with AMF 10 and UDM 3 as shown in Fig.2), the wireless device comprising: processing circuitry configured to ([0351] and Fig. 6, UE3 comprising controller and transceiver circuitry):
determine to initiate a switch from a first profile associated with a first profile identifier, PID, to a target profile associated with a target PID ([0224], [0231]-[0231], [0350] new SUPI is associated with new user profile[0224], UE determines SUPI association change( second USIM SUPI to first USIM SUPI) and determining to initiate the switching from user profile associated with second SUPI to first SUPI by sending a change request to the network); cause transmission of a switch request message indicating the switch, ([0232]-[0236],[0240], [0244], and Figs. 1-2, the UE sending request to change from profile associated with second USIM SUPI to profile associated with first USIM SUPI, by sending registration request with indicators reflecting the change to AMF and to UDM via the AMF); and at least one of cause transmission of and receive signaling in accordance with the activated target profile associated with the target PID([0003], [0238], [0248] and Figs. 1-2. UE transmit and receive based on the activation of profile associated with first USIM SUPI).
Tiwari ‘968 does not explicitly teach, the switch request message being configured to initiate the UDM node to activate the target profile.
Lee ‘000 teaches, the switch request message being configured to initiate the UDM node to activate the target profile ([0083]-[0085],[0092]-[0093] and Figs. 3-4, registration request transmitted from the UE triggering a profile associated with user identified to be activated by the UDM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Tiwari ‘968, by incorporating the teaching of Lee ‘000, since such modification would enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator, as suggested by Lee ‘000([0016]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: receive a mobility registration message([0545], [0566], UE receiving mobility registration message from AMF); and perform mobility registration based on the mobility registration message, the mobility registration being configured to re-register with the AMF node before using the target profile( [0545], [0566], UE receiving mobility registration before using the updated profile).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Lee ‘000 further teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: store a mapping of users of the wireless device to PIDs([0047]- [0049] and Figs. 2-3, the UE maintains different service configurations (profiles) for each user identifier); and receive a login credential associated with a user of the wireless device, the determining of the switch from the first profile to the target profile being based on the user being mapped to the target PID ([0047]- [0049] and Figs. 2-3, the UE initiates a switch based on a user’s request via the user interface, such as login or unlocking the tablet using a fingerprint sensor to select a specific user account).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: cause transmission of a registration request message to the AMF node([0232]-[0236],[0240], [0244], and Figs. 1-2, the UE sending request to change from profile associated with second USIM SUPI to profile associated with first USIM SUPI, by sending registration request with indicators reflecting the change to AMF); in response to the transmission of the registration request message, receive a registration accept message([0247], [0248], and Fig. 1-2, the UE receiving registration accept message from AMF).
Tiwari ‘968 does not explicitly teach, determine, based on the registration accept message, the first PID and an allowed first single-network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, associated with the first PID; and at least one of cause transmission of and receive signaling in accordance with the allowed S-NSSAI.
Lee ‘000 teaches, determine, based on the registration accept message, the first PID and an allowed first single-network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, associated with the first PID([0063], [0090], [0110] and Fig.3, UE receiving registration accept message, that includes subscription profile information indicating a session management related subscription information such as user subscribed S-NSSAI); and at least one of cause transmission of and receive signaling in accordance with the allowed S-NSSAI[0153], [0154] and Fig. 6, AMF transmitting configuration update that enables the UE to apply data/policy related to S-NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Tiwari ‘968, by incorporating the teaching of Lee ‘000, since such modification would enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator, as suggested by Lee ‘000([0016]).
Regarding claim 25, Tiwari ‘968 teaches, a method implemented in an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, node ([0236]-[0239] and Fig. 1-2, AMF 10) configured to communicate with a wireless device and a Unified Data Management, UDM, node ( [0236]-[0239] and Fig. 1-2, AMF 10 communicating with UE 3 and UDM 15)) , the method comprising:
receiving a switch request message indicating the wireless device is initiating a switch from a first profile associated with a first profile identifier, PID, to a target profile associated with a target PID ([0232]- [0236], [0240], [0244], and Figs. 1-2, the AMF receiving from the UE, a request to change from profile associated with second USIM SUPI to profile associated with first USIM SUPI, by sending registration request with indicators reflecting the change).
Tiwari ‘968 does not explicit teach, receiving an activation message indicating that the target profile associated with the target PID has been activated by the UDM node; determining a target single-network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, associated with the wireless device based on the target profile; and causing transmission of a configuration update to the wireless device enabling the wireless device to use the target S-NSSAI for signaling.
Lee ‘000 teaches, receiving an activation message indicating that the target profile associated with the target PID has been activated by the UDM node ([0026], [0090], [0091] and Figs. 3-4, the AMF receiving information from the UDM that confirms activation of a profile associated with user identifier); determining a target single-network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, associated with the wireless device based on the target profile([0063], [0090], [0110] and Fig.3, subscription profile information for each user includes a session management related subscription information such as user subscribed S-NSSAI); and causing transmission of a configuration update to the wireless device enabling the wireless device to use the target S-NSSAI for signaling([0153], [0154] and Fig. 6, AMF transmitting configuration update that enables the UE to apply data/policy related to S-NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Tiwari ‘968, by incorporating the teaching of Lee ‘000, since such modification would enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator, as suggested by Lee ‘000([0016]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, further comprising: causing the wireless device to perform mobility registration before the target PID is applied for the target profile ([0543], [0545], [0692], AMF initiating mobility registration before performing profile update).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the registration accept message further indicates the plurality of PIDs and associated S-NSSAIs ([0153], [0154], [0275], [0284]and Fig. 6, the UE receiving registration accept message with first and second SUPI)).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the switch request message is an uplink non-access-stratum (NAS) transport message including the target PID ([0208], [0240]. [0269] UE using NAS message for changing in profile indication).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Lee ‘000 further teaches, wherein the receiving of the switch request message is based on a login credential associated with the target PID being received by the wireless device([0047]- [0049] and Figs. 2-3, the UE initiates a switch based on a user’s request via the user interface, such as login or unlocking the tablet using a fingerprint sensor to select a specific user account).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Tiwari ‘968, by incorporating the teaching of Lee ‘000, since such modification would enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator, as suggested by Lee ‘000([0016]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the receiving of the switch request message is based on at least one of: a financial cost associated with the target S-NSSAI; a network performance parameter associated with the target S-NSSAI; a time of day associated with the switch; and a user setting configured by a user of the wireless device, the user setting being at least one of: a work setting, a personal setting, and a streaming setting( [0224], [0231]-[0231], [0350] when UE insert the new USIM to the ME instead of the original USIM or activating the new USIM instead of the original USIM, initiate the switching from user profile associated with second SUPI to first SUPI by sending a change request to the network, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 33, Tiwari ‘968 teaches, a Unified Data Management, UDM, node([0236]-[0239] and Figs. 1-2, UDM 15), configured to communicate with an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, node, and a wireless device, the UDM node comprising([0236]-[0239] and Figs. 1-2, UDM 15 communicating with AMF 10 and UE 3): processing circuitry configured to([0236]-[0239] and Fig. 9 UDM 15 comprising transceiver 151 and controller 153): receive a switch request message indicating that the wireless device is initiating a switch from a first profile associated with a first profile identifier, PID, to a target profile associated with a target PID([0232]-[0236],[0240], [0244], and Figs. 1-2, the UDM receiving via the AMF from the UE a request to change from profile associated with second USIM SUPI to profile associated with first USIM SUPI, by sending registration request with indicators reflecting the change); switch the wireless device to the target profile ([0232]-[0236],[0240], [0244], and Figs. 1-2, UDM activating profile associated with first USIM SUPI).
Tiwari ‘968 does not explicitly teach, the switching including activating the target profile associated with the target PID, cause transmission, to the AMF node, of an activation message, the activation message: indicating that the target profile has been activated, and being configured to cause the AMF node to determine a target single- network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, associated with the wireless device to allow the target PID to be applied for the target profile.
Lee ‘000 teaches, the switching including activating the target profile associated with the target PID( [0026], [0090], [0091] and Figs. 3-4, the UDM activating profiles associated with User identifier), cause transmission, to the AMF node, of an activation message, the activation message: indicating that the target profile has been activated( [0026], [0090], [0091] and Figs. 3-4, the UDM transmitting information to AMF that confirms activation of a profile associated with user identifier), and being configured to cause the AMF node to determine a target single- network slice selection assistance information, S-NSSAI, associated with the wireless device to allow the target PID to be applied for the target profile ([0153], [0154] and Fig. 6, UDM communicating with the AMF, activated user profile that enables the AMF to transmit configuration update that enables the UE to apply data/policy related to S-NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Tiwari ‘968, by incorporating the teaching of Lee ‘000, since such modification would enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator, as suggested by Lee ‘000([0016]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Lee ‘000 further teaches, wherein the receiving of the switch request message is based on a login credential associated with the target PID being received by the wireless device ([0047]- [0049] and Figs. 2-3, the UE initiates a switch based on a user’s request via the user interface, such as login or unlocking the tablet using a fingerprint sensor to select a specific user account).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Tiwari ‘968, by incorporating the teaching of Lee ‘000, since such modification would enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator, as suggested by Lee ‘000([0016]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the receiving of the switch request message is based on at least one of: a financial cost associated with the target S-NSSAI; a network performance parameter associated with the target S-NSSAI; a time of day associated with the switch; and a user setting configured by a user of the wireless device, the user setting being at least one of: a work setting, a personal setting, and a streaming setting( [0224], [0231]-[0231], [0350] when UE insert the new USIM to the ME instead of the original USIM or activating the new USIM instead of the original USIM, initiate the switching from user profile associated with second SUPI to first SUPI by sending a change request to the network, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the switch request message is an uplink non-access-stratum (NAS) transport message including the target PID([0208], [0240]. [0269] UE using NAS message for changing in profile indication).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Velev et al(US 2023/0189187 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the determining of the first PID is based on the first PID being a default PID.
Velev ‘187 teaches, wherein the determining of the first PID is based on the first PID being a default PID ([0039], [0041], [0075], AMF determining default USIM and S-NSSAI).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000, by incorporating the teaching of Velev ‘187, since such modification would provide a method for provisioning a UE with information to access a specific service, as suggested by Velev ‘187([0005]).
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Tamura et al(US 2023/0337122 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, determine, based on the registration accept message, a plurality of supported PIDs, the plurality of supported PIDs including the first PID and the target PID ([0153], [0154], [0275], [0284]and Fig. 6, the UE receiving registration accept message with first and second SUPI)).
Tiwari ‘968 does not explicitly teach, the target PID being associated with a target S-NSSAI.
Lee ‘000 teaches, the target PID being associated with a target S-NSSAI ([0153], [0154] and Fig. 6, UE storing S-NSSAI); and
The combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 does not explicitly teach, store the target PID and the target S-NSSAI.
Tamura ‘122 teaches, store the target PID and the target S-NSSAI ([0057], [0058], [0071] and Fig. 5, UE storing updated S-NSSAI associated with UE identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000, by incorporating the teaching of Tamura ‘122, since such modification would provide apparatus/method for enabling an AMF and a UE to properly perform notification of information about a Mapped S-NSSAI(s) available to the UE that does not support NSSAA when multiple Mapped S-NSSAIs are associated with a single Serving PLMN S-NSSAI, as suggested by Tamura ‘122([0032]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations, Tiwari ‘968 further teaches, wherein the determining of the switch from the first profile to the target profile is further based on at least one of: a financial cost associated with the target S-NSSAI; a network performance parameter associated with the target S-NSSAI;
a time of day associated with the switch; and a user setting configured by a user of the wireless device, the user setting being at least one of: a work setting, a personal setting, and a streaming setting( [0224], [0231]-[0231], [0350] when UE insert the new USIM to the ME instead of the original USIM or activating the new USIM instead of the original USIM, initiate the switching from user profile associated with second SUPI to first SUPI by sending a change request to the network, notice the claim limitation is written in alternative form thus examiner is required to show only one of the alternative claim limitations).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 as applied to claims above, and further in view of Kim et al(US 2023/0345333 A1).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000 teaches all of the claim limitations except, wherein the first PID is associated with a first S-NSSAI, the first S-NSSAI being associated with a packet data unit, PDU, session, the method further comprising: in response to the receiving of the switch request message, deactivating the PDU session based on the first S-NSSAI not being associated with the target PID
Kim ‘333 teaches, wherein the first PID is associated with a first S-NSSAI, the first S-NSSAI being associated with a packet data unit, PDU, session, the method further ( [0344] , [0347], [0353], PDU associated with S-NSSA-1 )comprising: in response to the receiving of the switch request message, deactivating the PDU session based on the first S-NSSAI not being associated with the target PID( [0344] , [0347], [0353], AMF deactivating PDU associated with S-NSSA-1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined communication system of Tiwari ‘968 and Lee ‘000, by incorporating the teaching of Kim ‘333, since such modification would avoid unnecessary signaling that may occur when a UE needs to perform a PDU session establishment procedure for creating a first PDPU session after moving to the first NG-RAN, as suggested by Kim ‘333 ([0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27 and 38 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474