DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Zhang does not disclose the claimed special technical feature as now amended to include a mixing chamber having a lower wall oriented at a non-perpendicular angle relative to the ground. This is not found persuasive because as explained below Zhang discloses all the limitations of the technical feature, including a mixing chamber having a lower wall oriented at a non-perpendicular angle relative to the ground (figure 3, #126), and therefore the technical feature is not a special technical feature because it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Zhang as explained in the 102 rejection of claim 1 below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 15 and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/1/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
separation mechanism in claims 3 and 7;
blowback device in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN206484801U) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. discloses an homogenizer for homogenously blending a feedstock (abstract; figures 1-3), comprising:
a separator configured to receive a material feed in the form of a fluid medium carrying a composite feedstock, and to separate the composite feedstock from the fluid medium (#2 with suction chamber 21 and filter screen 214; [0039] (air is considered a fluid medium) (“configured to receive a material feed in the form of a fluid medium carrying a composite feedstock, and to separate the composite feedstock from the fluid medium” is directed to a manner of operating disclosed separator, and it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”);
an agitator configured to receive the separated composite feedstock from the separator, and to mix the composite feedstock to yield the homogenously blended feedstock (stirring device 3 and stirring chamber 12; [0038]-[0040]) (“configured to receive the separated composite feedstock from the separator, and to mix the composite feedstock to yield the homogenously blended feedstock” is directed to a manner of operating disclosed separator, and it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.”),
the agitator comprising a mixing chamber having a lower wall oriented at a non-perpendicular angle relative to the ground (see figure 3, mixing chamber 12 with partition plate 126 being a horizontal (i.e. non-perpendicular angle) wall with respect to the ground); and
a hopper configured to receive a homogenously blended feedstock from the agitator, and to hold the homogenously blended feedstock for release to either a processing machine or a storage container (funnel 13; [0038] (“configured to receive a homogenously blended feedstock from the agitator, and to hold the homogenously blended feedstock for release to either a processing machine or a storage container” is directed to a manner of operating disclosed separator, and it is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. See MPEP § 2114 and 2115. Further, it has been held that process limitations do not have patentable weight in an apparatus claim. See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969) that states “Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and to an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” As such, the processing machine and/or storage container are intended uses of the hopper and are not positively recited structural limitations),
wherein the separator, agitator and hopper are integrated within a common housing (see figures 1-3 with common wall/housing encompassing #2, 3, 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang et al. discloses wherein the separator comprises a reception chamber (suction chamber 21; [0039]) having a vacuum outlet (suction pipe 212; [0039]) and a feed inlet (suction pipe 211; [0039]), the vacuum outlet being configured to communicate with a vacuum device for generation of a negative vacuum pressure within the reception chamber ([0039] suction pipe 212 is connected to a vacuum pump), and the feed inlet being configured to communicate with a feed supply for delivery of a material feed into the reception chamber under force of a negative pressure generated through the vacuum outlet (suction pipe 211; [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang et al. discloses wherein the separator comprises a separation mechanism within the reception chamber, the separation mechanism being positioned within a fluid flow path between the feed inlet and the vacuum outlet and configured to separate a material feed received through the feed inlet into substantially separate components of a fluid medium and a composite feedstock (figure 3, filter 214; [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang et al. discloses wherein the separation mechanism is a filter adapted to permit passage of a fluid medium therethrough while blocking passage of a composite feedstock therethrough (figure 3, filter 214; [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang et al. discloses wherein an unobstructed opening is provided in a bottom region of the reception chamber for passage of composite feedstock from the separator to the agitator (figure 2, feed port 112; see figure 3, bottom of chamber 21; [0039]), and the separation mechanism is positioned in an upper region of the reception chamber such that composite feedstock separated from a fluid medium in a material feed falls by gravity to the bottom region of the separator, through the unobstructed opening, and into the agitator (figure 3, filter 214; [0039]).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang et al. discloses wherein the mixing chamber comprises a mixing mechanism for mixing a composite feedstock to yield a homogenously blended feedstock, the mixing mechanism comprising at least one of: a stirrer; a screw; an auger; a shaker; and a rotating drum (figure 3, stirring device 3 with stirring blade 35; [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN206484801U) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation) in view of Maguire (WO2017/136074A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. While Zhang et al. discloses controlling the vacuum pump to reduce the air pressure to eject the particles from the filter by letting them fall by gravity ([0039]), Zhang et al. does not explicitly disclose a blowback device for achieving this.
Maguire teaches another separator for granular plastic resin material (figure 9; [0004]-[0022]), wherein the separator comprises a blowback device configured to generate a blowback fluid flow through the filter for ejecting particles that have attached to the filter during separation of a composite feedstock from a fluid medium (figure 9, blowback device 60; [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the blowback device of Maguire in the separator of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach separators for granular plastic resin material. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a blowback device because it keeps the filter clean, blows the dust from the filter to the bottom of the housing, and ensure no dust or fine are carried with the air stream that passes through the filter on to the vacuum pump (Maguire [0059]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN206484801U) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation) in view of Avery, Jr. (U.S. Patent No. 4,159,941).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above; however, does not explicitly disclose the separation mechanism is a deflector baffle.
Avery, Jr. teaches another separator wherein the separation mechanism is a deflector baffle sized and dimensioned to obstruct and deflect a flow of material feed through the reception chamber, such that there is induced a turbulent flow in the material feed that separates the composite feedstock from the fluid medium (abstract; baffles 24 and 28; column 1, lines 21-29; columns 3-4, lines 61-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the separation mechanism of Zhang et al. to be a deflector baffle as taught by Avery, Jr. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach separators for granular plastic material (abstract; column 1, lines 33-40). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the separation mechanism to be a deflector baffle because it is a simple design, inexpensive to manufacture and maintain and can operate at relatively high rates (Avery, Jr. column 1, lines 36-40; column 3, lines 61-66).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN206484801U) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation) in view of Weidemann (DE3803418C2) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation).
Regarding claims 9-11, Zhang et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above; however does not explicitly disclose a release gate and an ejection device.
Weidemann teaches another agitator for mixing and dispensing resin ([0001]) wherein the agitator/mixing chamber comprises a release gate provided at a lower region of the mixing chamber for releasing feedstock to the hopper (figure 1, piston 31, valve 33, in lower region of mixing chamber 12; [0005]; [0013]; [0019]; [0021]; [0032]; [0037]) and the angled wall of the mixing chamber is configured to urge feedstock within the mixing chamber toward the release gate under force of gravity (figures 1-3, bottom angled wall of chamber 12); and an ejection device configured to urge feedstock through the release gate (figure 2, screw conveyor 71; [0037]); and wherein the lower wall of the mixing chamber is oriented at an angle between about 15° to about 45° (figures 1-3, bottom angled wall of chamber 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the release gate and ejection device of Weidemann in the agitator of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach processors and mixers for resin material. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a release gate and ejection device because it allows a metered control of the amount of material dispensed from the container for accurate mixing ratio and permits continuous flow and operation of the material and processor (Weidemann [0013]; [0022])
While, Zhang et al. does not disclose the specific shape of the mixing chamber to have a lower wall oriented at an angle between about 15° to about 45°, as taught by Weidemann in order to ensure the proper flow of material out of the container so the material does not stick to the sides of the walls, the modification to the shape of the mixing chamber would involve a mere change in configuration of shape. It has been held that a change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious, absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. as modified by Weidemann further discloses wherein the mixing chamber comprises a lower wall that is oriented at an angle relative to ground, the angle being between about 20° and about 0° (Zhang et al. see figure 3, mixing chamber 12 with partition plate 126 being a horizontal (i.e. 0 degree angle) wall with respect to the ground; Weidemann reference #12 bottom wall).
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN206484801U) (with paragraph numbers referring to machine translation) in view of Maguire et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0264684) (hereinafter “Maguire ‘684).
Regarding claim 13 and 14, Zhang et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. While Zhang et al. discloses the hopper comprises a storage chamber (figure 1, chamber 5; [0038]); Zhang et al. fails to explicitly disclose a batch sensor within the storage chamber.
Maguire ‘684 teaches another device for drying for resin material (abstract) wherein the hopper comprises a storage chamber (hopper 12) and a batch sensor within the storage chamber (material level sensor 42 in hopper 12; [0091]), the batch sensor being configured to generate signals informing on the presence of a predetermined quantity of feedstock within the storage chamber; and the batch sensor comprises at least one of: a volumetric sensor; a height sensor; and a weight sensor (material level sensor 42 in hopper 12; [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to provide the batch sensor of Maguire ‘684 in the storage chamber of Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that both references teach dryers for granular resin material. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a batch sensor comprising a volumetric sensor, height sensor or weight sensor in the hopper storage chamber because it ensures enough material is available for operation and relays information about more material being needed (Maguire ‘684 [0091]).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774