DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priorities and Examiner Remarks
This application is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2022/062823 (international filing date: 05/11/2022) that claims priority from provisional application 63187184 (filed
05/11/2021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG et al. (US 20210329546 A1, hereinafter WANG_546), in view of Takeda et al. (US 20220131669 A1, hereinafter Takeda).
Regarding claim 1,
WANG_546 teaches a network node configured to communicate with a wireless device (WD) the network node comprising processing circuitry and a radio interface in communication with the processing circuitry (WANG_546, see at least fig. 14, e.g. apparatus components):
the processing circuitry configured to (WANG_546, in general, see fig. 8 and corresponding paragraphs at least 199-227 along with fig. 9, 10, or 11; see also fig. 4 along with fig. 5, 6, or 7 for additional embodiments that could also be applied for rejections):
determine a reference signal presence message including:
a bitmap a structure associated with presence information of at least one reference signal for activation of at least one secondary cell (WANG_546, see at least para. 205 and 209, in view of at least para. 168 and fig. 5, “...S830: The network device generates activation signaling of the secondary cell, ... The activation signaling may be sent to the terminal device by the network device by using a MAC CE. FIG. 9 to FIG. 11 are formats of activation signaling of a MAC CE secondary cell according to an embodiment of this application. A difference between FIG. 9 to FIG. 11 and FIG. 5 to FIG. 7 lies in that in this embodiment of this application, the first quasi co-location indication information carried in the activation signaling is an RS resource set ID...”, note that para. 168 describes bitmap format),
the presence information indicated by a respective bit of the bitmap structure (WANG_546, see at least para. 168-169 in view of para. 154, “...the activation signaling further includes indication information Ci of a plurality of component carriers CCs, and the at least one TCI state ID has a specific correspondence with the plurality of CCs...”);
and
at least one index identifying a specific trigger state from a list of trigger states (WANG_546, see at least para. 210, in view of at least para. 168 and fig. 9, “...There is also a correspondence between the at least one RS resource set ID and the plurality of CCs included in the activation signaling. The correspondence is consistent with the correspondence between the TCI state ID and the plurality of CCs...”),
and
the radio interface configured to:
transmit the reference signal presence message including the bitmap structure (WANG_546, see at least para. 208-210, “...S840: The network device sends the activation signaling of the secondary cell to the terminal device...”).
and
receive a report from the WD, indicating completion of the activation of the at least one secondary cell associated with the at least one reference signal, the report being associated with a respective trigger state of the list of trigger states (WANG_546, see at least para. 218, in view of para. 190-191, “...S850: The terminal device activates the secondary cell based on the activation signaling...”, note that para. 190-191 disclose that “...the terminal device performs channel state information (CSI) measurement in the secondary cell based on a configuration of a base station, and reports a CSI measurement result to the network device, to notify the network device that the secondary cell is successfully activated,...”).
WANG_546 does not specifically teach the specific trigger state identifying at least one reference signal resource associated with the activation of at least one secondary cell.
Takeda teaches the specific trigger state identifying at least one reference signal resource associated with the activation of at least one secondary cell (Takeda, see at least para. 147 in view of para. 131-132, e.g. “...At 1015, the UE 115-b may receive, from the base station via the first serving cell 205-c, an indication to activate the SCell 205-d. In some aspects, the indication to activate the SCell 205-d may be indicated via a MAC-CE message...”, note that para. 131 discloses that “...a MAC-CE in the PDSCH transmission 730 may be used to provide one or more parameters associated with the temporary reference signal 755. For example, such a MAC-CE may provide an indication of one or more of a carrier where the temporary reference signal 755 is transmitted, a slot where the temporary reference signal 755 is transmitted, a configuration of the temporary reference signal 755 (e.g., resource mapping or power offset to data/SSB), or a QCL assumption or TCI-state for the temporary reference signal. In some cases, the PDSCH transmission 730 carrying the MAC-CE for the SCell 710 activation also carries the MAC-CE for the temporary reference signal 755 trigger...”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Takeda into WANG_546 may enable more reliable, efficient wireless communications and improve overall user experience (para. 53).
Regarding claim 2, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 1.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein at least one of:
the WD is configured with a first set of secondary cells (WANG_546, see at least fig. 9 or 10 in view of para. 157, e.g. C1-C7, note that “...where CC 0 corresponding to C0 is a primary cell, and CC 1 to CC 31 corresponding to C1 to C31 represent 31 secondary cells...”);
and
the radio interface is further configured to: transmit an activation message indicating at least a secondary cell activation of a second set of secondary cells, the at least one reference signal, the transmitted reference signal including the bitmap message, and the transmitted activation message being usable by the WD, in part, to activate the at least one secondary cell.
Regarding claim 3, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 2.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein each index of the at least one index corresponds to one secondary cell of the first set of secondary cells. (WANG_546, see at least fig. 9 or 10 in view of para. 157, e.g. C1-C7, note that “...where CC 0 corresponding to C0 is a primary cell, and CC 1 to CC 31 corresponding to C1 to C31 represent 31 secondary cells...”).
Regarding claim 4, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 1.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein each trigger state of the trigger state list is associated with at least one non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP CSI RS) resource set. (WANG_546, see at least para. 209-211 of fig. 9, “...It should be noted that a reference signal associated with the RS resource set ID may be an SSB or RS (NZP CSI-RS, ZP CSI-RS, TRS, DMRS, SRS) resource...”).
Regarding claim 5, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 4.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein each trigger state of the trigger state list is associated with at least one transmission configuration information (TCI) state providing a quasi-location source at least for one corresponding NZP resource set. (WANG_546, see at least para. 189-190 along with para. 234, “...For example, if currently the primary cell is a low-frequency cell and the secondary cell is a high-frequency cell, “TCI-state--->QCL-Info--->referenceSignal” that is in a TCI state list and that corresponds to the TCI state ID carried in the activation signaling of the secondary cell may be a low-frequency SSB or RS resource...”, note that for one nonlimiting example, “...the network device defines a QCL indication of the SSB by using TCI-StateId, where “TCI-state--->QCL-Info--->referenceSignal” indicated by using the TCI-StateId may be an SSB or RS (NZP CSI-RS, ZP CSI-RS, TRS, DMRS, SRS) signal of a low-frequency cell...”).
Regarding claim 6, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 5.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein the at least one TCI state is indicated by a TCI state identifier. (WANG_546, see at least para. 234, “...the network device defines a QCL indication of the SSB by using TCI-StateId, where “TCI-state--->QCL-Info--->referenceSignal” indicated by using the TCI-StateId may be an SSB or RS (NZP CSI-RS, ZP CSI-RS, TRS, DMRS, SRS) signal of a low-frequency cell...”).
Regarding claim 7, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 1.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein at least one trigger state of the trigger state list triggers one reference signal on at least one cell. (WANG_546, see at least fig. 9 or 10 in light of fig. 5 and 6 and at least para. 171, for one nonlimiting example, “...The TCI state IDs sequentially correspond one-to-one to the CCs. In the format of the activation signaling of the MAC CE secondary cell shown in FIG. 5, it is configured, based on a number sequence, that CC 1 corresponds to the TCI state ID 0, CC 2 corresponds to the TCI state ID 1, . . . , and CC 7 corresponds to TCI state ID 6...”, note that fig. 9 or 10 is using RS resource set IDs)
Regarding claim 8, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 1.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein the trigger state list includes a first trigger state list and a second trigger state list (WANG_546, see at least fig. 4 and fig. 8),
the first trigger state list corresponding to at least one trigger state associated with latency of the activation of the at least one secondary cell (WANG_546, see at least fig. 4 in view of para. 197, e.g. TCI state IDs, note that “...the terminal device completes activation of the secondary cell based on the first quasi co-location indication information, thereby reducing the activation delay of the secondary cell...”),
the second trigger state list corresponding to at least one type of channel state information reference signal (CSI RS) (WANG_546, see at least fig. 8 in view of para. 206, e.g. RS resource set IDs, note that “...the first quasi co-location indication information may be a pilot resource set identifier (RS resource set ID), and an RS may be a zero power (ZP) CSI-RS, an NZP CSI-RS, a tracking reference signal TRS,...”).
Regarding claim 9, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 1.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein the at least one reference signal is a tracking reference signal (TRS) (WANG_546, see at least para. 206 and 211, “...the first quasi co-location indication information may be a pilot resource set identifier (RS resource set ID), and an RS may be a zero power (ZP) CSI-RS, an NZP CSI-RS, a tracking reference signal TRS...”)
and
the report is a completion channel state information reference signal (CSI) report (WANG_546, see at least para. 218, in view of para. 190-191, “...S850: The terminal device activates the secondary cell based on the activation signaling...”, note that para. 190-191 disclose that “...the terminal device performs channel state information (CSI) measurement in the secondary cell based on a configuration of a base station, and reports a CSI measurement result to the network device, to notify the network device that the secondary cell is successfully activated,...”).
Regarding claim 10, WANG_546 in view of Takeda teaches claim 1.
WANG_546 further teaches wherein the network node is configured to communicate with the WD using at least a primary cell. (WANG_546, see at least para. 208 in view of para. 184-185, e.g. step 840 in view of step 420, note that “...The activation signaling may be implemented by the network device by sending the MAC CE to the terminal device by using a primary cell...”)
Regarding claim 11, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1, except this claim is in method claim format.
Regarding claim 21, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1. To be more specific, although reciting subject matters slightly different, one skilled in the art would have known claim 21 performs reverse (or corresponding) procedures of claim 1. For example, it would be a WD of claim 21 that performs the reverse (or corresponding) receiving from and transmitting to the network node of claim 1. Hence, the examiner applies the same rejection reasoning as set forth in claim 1.
In addition, WANG_546 in view of Takeda also teaches a same or similar apparatus comprising processor, transceiver, and memory (WANG_546, see at least fig. 16), which are well known in the art and commonly used for providing and enabling robust and reliable data communication hardware and software.
Regarding claims 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30, in view of claim 21 above, these claims are rejected for the same reasoning as claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10, respectively.
Regarding claim 31, this claim is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 21 except this claim is in method claim format.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding independent claims 1, 11, 21, and 31, since applicant's amendment necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action, previous Office action's rejections are moot. Accordingly, corresponding dependent claims have also been rejected in this Office action.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YEE F LAM whose telephone number is (571)270-7577. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/YEE F LAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465