DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/183618 A1 to Yamaguchi et al. (hereinafter “Yamaguchi” - using US 2022/0187517 A1 as the translation), in view of JP 2015-147705 A to Umayahara et al. (hereinafter “Umayahara”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamaguchi discloses a wavelength conversion member, which comprises a resin matrix; and phosphor powder and spherical silica filler powder dispersed in the resin matrix (cured resin wavelength conversion member comprising quantum dot phosphor material and spherical silica dispersed therein; abstract; paragraphs [0176]-[0177], [0182]), wherein, when the particle sizes representing 10%, 50%, and 90% of the cumulative volume (%) in a particle size distribution measured by laser diffraction are D10, D50, and D90, respectively, D50 of the spherical silica filler powder is 1.0 to 15.0 μm (laser diffraction used to determine particle size, where spherical silica filler may have average particle size of 0.2 microns or more; paragraphs [0011], [0046], [0130]), and the SPAN value of the following Equation 1 is 1.0 to 5.0: [Equation 1] Span = (D90 - D10)/D50 (D10/D90 value of filler materials may be 0.4 or less, which provides a D90/D10 value of 2.5 or more, which comprises a D90 value of e.g. 2.5 microns and a D10 value of e.g. 1 micron with a D50 value of e.g. 1.5, which yields a SPAN value of 1; paragraphs [0130]-[0131).
Yamaguchi fails to disclose a wavelength conversion member comprising a glass matrix.
However, Umayahara discloses a wavelength conversion member comprising a glass matrix (glass matrix wavelength conversion member; abstract; paragraph [0037]).
Yamaguchi and Umayahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Umayahara in order to potentially provide superior thermal stability and heat dissipation, enhanced chemical and environmental stability, and better optical and mechanical durability.
Regarding claim 2, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the spherical silica filler powder has a D90/D10 of 1.5 to 15 (D10/D90 value of filler materials may be 0.4 or less, which provides a D90/D10 value of 2.5 or more; paragraph [0131]).
Regarding claim 4, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the spherical silica filler powder has a D90/D10 of 1.5 to 15 (D10/D90 value of filler materials may be 0.4 or less, which provides a D90/D10 value of 2.5 or more; paragraph [0131]).
Regarding claim 5, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the glass matrix has a refractive index of 1.44 to 1.89 (glass materials known to have a refractive index in the range of 1.4 to 2 and the SiO2 and ZnO filler material may have a refractive index of 2.3 or lower; paragraph [0124]).
Yamaguchi fails to disclose the glass matrix having a softening point (Ts) of 550 to 850°C.
However, Umayahara discloses the glass matrix having a softening point (Ts) of 550 to 850°C (softening point of glass material is 850°C or less; paragraph [0026]).
Yamaguchi and Umayahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Umayahara in order to potentially provide minimal degradation of filler during fabrication and cost-effective facile processing using low-temperature sintering.
Regarding claim 6, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi fails to disclose wherein the phosphor powder has an average particle diameter (D50) of 3 to 30 μm.
However, Umayahara discloses wherein the phosphor powder has an average particle diameter (D50) of 3 to 30 μm (phosphor powder has D50 of 1 to 75 microns; paragraph [0033]).
Yamaguchi and Umayahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Umayahara in order to potentially provide optimal balance of light absorption, conversion efficiency, and scattering.
Regarding claim 7, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the content of the spherical silica filler powder is 0.5 to 50% by weight based on the total weight of the glass matrix, the spherical silica filler powder, and the phosphor powder (silica filler may be 3% or more of the total amount of wavelength conversion resin; paragraph [0123]).
Regarding claim 8, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses wherein the weight ratio of the phosphor powder and the spherical silica filler powder is 1:0.1 to 5 (quantum dot phosphor material may be 1% to 30% of the total amount of wavelength conversion resin, which provides ratio values with silica of between 1:0.1 and 1:5; paragraphs [0119], [0123]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi fails to disclose wherein the glass matrix is derived from glass powder having an average particle diameter (D50) of 2 to 15 μm, and the glass powder has the following composition based on the total number of moles of the glass powder: 2 to 10% by mole of P205, 30 to 50% by mole of ZnO, 10 to 25% by mole of SiO2, and 15 to 25% by mole of B2O3.
However, Umayahara discloses wherein the glass matrix is derived from glass powder having an average particle diameter (D50) of 2 to 15 μm (glass powder average particle size of 0.1 to 300 microns; paragraph [0030]), and the glass powder has the following composition based on the total number of moles of the glass powder: 2 to 10% by mole of P205, 30 to 50% by mole of ZnO, 10 to 25% by mole of SiO2, and 15 to 25% by mole of B2O3 (P2O5 may be included in an amount of 10%, ZnO may be included in an amount of 30% or more, SiO2 may be included in an amount of up to 30%, and B2O3 may be included in an amount of 15%; paragraphs [0027]-[0029]).
Yamaguchi and Umayahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Umayahara in order to potentially provide the ability to sinter at low temperatures of 500-700 Celsius, improved chemical durability, and long-term stability.
Regarding claim 10, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi fails to disclose wherein the glass powder further comprises at least one selected from the following components: 1 to 10% by mole of Al2O3, 0.1 to 7% by mole of SnO2, 1 to 5% by mole of BaO, 0.1 to 5% by mole of SrO, 1 to 5% by mole of CaO, 1 to 5% by mole of Li2O, 1 to 7% by mole of Na2O, and 1 to 5% by mole of K2O.
However, Umayahara discloses wherein the glass powder further comprises at least one selected from the following components: 1 to 10% by mole of Al2O3, 0.1 to 7% by mole of SnO2, 1 to 5% by mole of BaO, 0.1 to 5% by mole of SrO, 1 to 5% by mole of CaO, 1 to 5% by mole of Li2O, 1 to 7% by mole of Na2O, and 1 to 5% by mole of K2O (Al2O3 may be included in an amount of 0-10%; paragraph [0028]).
Yamaguchi and Umayahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Umayahara in order to potentially provide the ability to sinter at low temperatures of 500-700 Celsius, improved chemical durability, and long-term stability.
Regarding claim 11, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses a process for preparing the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses a first step of obtaining a composition for a wavelength conversion member comprising resin, phosphor powder, and spherical silica filler powder (preparing wavelength conversion member comprising quantum dot phosphor material and spherical silica dispersed therein; abstract; paragraphs [0176]-[0177], [0182]); a second step of applying the composition for a wavelength conversion member onto a substrate to obtain a green sheet for a wavelength conversion member (resin may include green quantum dot phosphor material before being cured into a planar flat shape; Fig. 2; paragraphs [0097], [0111]).
Yamaguchi fails to disclose a glass powder; and a third step of sintering for a wavelength conversion member.
However, Umayahara discloses a glass powder; and a third step of sintering for a wavelength conversion member (glass powder is sintered to form wavelength conversion member; paragraphs [0024]-[0025]).
Yamaguchi and Umayahara are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Umayahara in order to potentially provide superior thermal stability and heat dissipation, enhanced chemical and environmental stability, and better optical and mechanical durability.
Regarding claim 12, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses a light emitting device, which comprises the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi further discloses a light source that irradiates excitation light to the wavelength conversion member (light source 21 emitting light to the member 10; Fig. 2; paragraph [0097]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara and JP 2015-181140 A Haraguchi et al. (hereinafter “Haraguchi”).
Regarding claim 3, Yamaguchi in view of Umayahara discloses a process for preparing the wavelength conversion member of claim 1. Yamaguchi fails to disclose wherein the spherical silica filler powder has a specific surface area (Brunauer-Emmett-Teller; BET) of 1.0 to 6.5 m2/g.
However, Haraguchi discloses wherein the spherical silica filler powder has a specific surface area (Brunauer-Emmett-Teller; BET) of 1.0 to 6.5 m2/g (spherical silica having specific surface area 2.2 m^2/g; paragraph [0052]).
Yamaguchi and Haraguchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wavelength conversion members. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi to incorporate the teaching of Haraguchi in order to potentially provide superior flowability, packing density, and high filler loading.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: each of US 2019/0241456 A1 to Shimizu et al. and US 2011/0198539 A1 to Iwao et al. disclose wavelength conversion members having related structural and material relationships.
/IAN DEGRASSE/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/JEFF W NATALINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818