DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/06/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s Note
The set of claims filed on 11/10/2023 are being considered for examination. A later set of claims was submitted on 01/06/2025 to comply with the notification of missing requirements, which were a mere translation of the original set of claims, and did not included the amendments presented in the submission of 11/10/2023.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: setting and testing module, adjustment module and continuous testing module in claims 9-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a setting and testing module”, “an adjustment module” and “a continuous testing module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0220486) in view of KANG (CN 111856273A).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, CHEN et al. teaches a device and a method for testing peak performance of a motor (160), the device and the method comprising: a setting and testing module (110), used for setting a maximum allowable power supply current (iqs) of the motor (160) (as shown in fig. 2 and disclosed in para. 0057, startup current signal iqs is set as a first preset value i1), and testing the peak performance of the motor (160) by using the set maximum allowable power supply current (as shown in fig. 2 and 5); an adjustment module (110), connected to the setting and testing module, and used for adjusting the set maximum allowable power supply current (iqs) when a rotational speed of the motor reaches a predetermined rotational speed in the process of testing the performance of the motor according to the set maximum allowable power supply current (as shown in fig. 2, at the end of T3 the rotational speed reaches a desired level), such that the current decreases with an increase of the rotational speed of the motor (as shown in fig. 2, iqs from i1 to i3 while the rotational speed increases); and a continuous testing module (110), connected to the adjustment module, and used for continuing to test the peak performance of the motor (160) by using the adjusted maximum allowable power supply current (as shown in fig. 2, iqs was continuously adjusted from i1-i3).
CHEN et al. fails to specifically teach a device and a method for testing peak performance of a motor applied to a flat wire motor of a new energy vehicle. However, KANG teaches a device and a method for testing peak performance of a motor applied to a flat wire motor of a new energy vehicle (KANG’s abstract and background).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the device and method for testing peak performance of a motor applied to a flat wire motor of a new energy vehicle by KANG with the invention of CHEN et al. in order to improve accuracy (KANG’s description).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter
Regarding claims 2-3 and 10-11, the prior art fails to specifically teach a device and a method for testing peak performance of a motor, applied to a flat wire motor of a new energy vehicle, comprising: wherein the adjustment step includes: calculating a ratio of a height of conductors in a stator slot of the motor to a skin depth; calculating a target maximum allowable power supply current based on the ratio, identification of the conductors, and the set maximum allowable power supply current; and adjusting the set maximum allowable power supply current to the calculated target maximum allowable power supply current, wherein the target maximum allowable power supply current is less than the set maximum allowable power supply current, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Regarding claims 4-8 and 12-16, the prior art fails to specifically teach a device and a method for testing peak performance of a motor, applied to a flat wire motor of a new energy vehicle, comprising: wherein the setting and testing step includes: setting the maximum allowable power supply current of the motor and a maximum allowable power supply voltage of the motor; calculating an electromagnetic torque and a phase voltage of the motor corresponding to each rotational speed of the motor according to a set lead angle and current test step size; and filtering out the electromagnetic torque and the phase voltage corresponding to the rotational speed at which the phase voltage exceeds the maximum allowable power supply voltage, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858