DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 4, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0192527 A1 (Yun).
Regarding claim 1, Yun discloses, A display device (FIG. 1) comprising:
a flexible display panel (flexible display panel (100); FIG. 1; [0031]) including:
a display region including:
a pair of flat portions (flat portions (N/F); FIG. 1; [0031]) held in a flat manner (annotated FIG. 1, above), and
a bendable portion (bendable portion (F/A); FIG. 1; [0031]) disposed between the pair of flat portions (N/F) and held in a bendable manner (annotated FIG. 1, above), and
a frame region (frame region (1000 and/or 1100); FIG. 1; [0031]) provided in a periphery of the display region (annotated FIG. 1, above);
a support substrate (support substrate (203); FIG. 1; [0044]) supporting the flexible display panel (100) in a flat manner (first annotated FIG. 3, below); and
a housing (housing (1000); FIGs. 1 and 3; [0031]) supporting the support substrate (203) (first annotated FIG. 3, above),
wherein, in the display region (first annotated FIG. 3, above), the flexible display panel (100) and the support substrate (203) are not fixed to each other (first annotated FIG. 3, above) and a gap (first annotated FIG. 3, above) is formed between the support substrate (203) and the housing (1000),
a metal film layer (metal film layer (202); FIG. 1; [0044]; [0037]) is provided between the flexible display panel (100) and the support substrate (203),
the metal film layer (202) and the support substrate (203) are not fixed to each other in a region overlapping the display region in a plan view (first annotated FIG. 3, above), and
between the metal film layer (202) and the support substrate (203), the display device (FIG. 1) has a cross-section (FIG. 3 is a cross-section of the display device) in which an adhesive layer (adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b); FIG. 3; [0069], [0070], [0085] and/or [0084] and [0077]) is provided in the frame region (1000 and/or 1100) and arranged on both sides of the display region (first annotated FIG. 3, above) in a direction crossing an extending direction (first annotated FIG. 3, above) of the bendable portion (F/A).
Regarding claim 2, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the flexible display panel (100) and the support substrate (203) are not fixed to each other in an entirety of the display region (second annotated FIG. 3, below, shows that flexible display panel (100) is only fixed to main frame ((201); FIG. 3; [0044]) in an entirety of display region).
Regarding claim 3, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b) is further provided between the flexible display panel (100) and the support substrate (203) along an entire periphery of the frame region (1000 and/or 1100) (second annotated FIG. 3, below), and
the flexible display panel (100) and the support substrate (203) are adhesively fixed to each other via the adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b).
Regarding claim 4, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 3,
wherein the adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b) includes a pair of openings formed in a portion where a bendable region (second annotated FIG. 3, above), extending along the bendable portion (F/A), and the frame region (1000 and/or 1100) overlap each other in the plan view (second annotated FIG. 3, above).
Regarding claim 5, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 4,
wherein the pair of openings (second annotated FIG. 3, above) is formed in a slit shape (second annotated FIG. 3, above) extending along a bending axis (annotated FIG. 1, above) of the bendable region (second annotated FIG. 3, above).
Regarding claim 6, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 3,
wherein the adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b) includes a pair of openings (third annotated FIG. 3, below) formed in portions closer to the bendable portion (F/A) than in the frame region and provided in respective peripheries of the pair of flat portions, and
the pair of openings (third annotated FIG. 3, below) is formed in a slit shape (third annotated FIG. 3, below) extending along a bending axis (annotated FIG. 1, above) of the bendable portion (F/A).
Regarding claim 8, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the metal film layer (202) includes a pair of openings (pair of openings (2012); FIG. 4; [0038] and (2012b); FIG. 3; [0048]) formed in portions closer to the bendable portion (F/A) than in the frame region and provided in respective peripheries of the pair of flat portions, and
the pair of openings (2012 and 2012b) is formed in a slit shape (annotated FIG. 4, below) extending along a bending axis (annotated FIG. 1, above) of the bendable portion (F/A).
Regarding claim 9, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b) is provided between the flexible display panel (100) and the metal film layer (202) (FIG. 3), and
the flexible display panel (100) and the metal film (202) layer are adhesively fixed to each other via the adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b).
Regarding claim 15, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1,
wherein a portion of the support substrate (203) overlapping the bendable portion (F/A) in the plan view is formed in a slotted shape (slotted shape (2012c); FIG.3; [0050]; annotated FIG. 4, above), a lattice shape, a chain shape, or a hinge shape.
Regarding claim 16, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the support substrate (203) includes at least one opening (opening (2012c); FIG. 3; [0050]; annotated FIG. 4, above) formed in a portion overlapping the bendable portion (F/A) in the plan view (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 16,
wherein the at least one opening (2012c) is formed in a slit shape extending along a bending axis (annotated FIG. 1, above) of the bendable portion (F/A) towards both ends of the support substrate in a bending axis direction (annotated FIG. 1, above).
Regarding claim 18, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 1,
wherein the support substrate (203) includes a flexible metal film ([0044] and [0037]).
Regarding claim 20, Yun discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 18,
wherein the support substrate (203) is formed of a layered body including a flexible resin film (first annotated FIG. 3, above; [0007]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
This Application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the Examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun in view of US 2021/0132662 A1 (Cavallaro).
Regarding claim 10, Yun does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the metal film layer is formed of a material containing at least one of stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, or copper.
However, in analogous art, Cavallaro discloses, that it is well-known that a bendable and foldable display device (display device (105); FIG. 1; [0054] and [0059]) may be predicably fabricated to include a flexible metal film layer ([0059]) containing stainless steel ([0059]). Cavallaro also discloses that stainless steel exhibits shape memory properties ([0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yun and Cavallaro before him/her, that the metal film layer (202) of Yun could be predicable fabricated from a material containing at least stainless steel, as taught by Cavallaro, so that metal film layer (202) of Yun exhibits shape memory properties, as also taught by Cavallaro.
Regarding claim 19, Yun does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the flexible metal film layer is formed of a material containing at least one of stainless steel, titanium, aluminum, or copper.
However, in analogous art, Cavallaro discloses, that it is well-known that a bendable and foldable display device (display device (105); FIG. 1; [0054] and [0059]) may be predicably fabricated to include a flexible metal film layer ([0059]) containing stainless steel ([0059]). Cavallaro also discloses that stainless steel exhibits shape memory properties ([0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yun and Cavallaro before him/her, that the flexible metal film layer (203) of Yun could be predicable fabricated from a material containing at least stainless steel, as taught by Cavallaro, so that metal film layer (203) of Yun exhibits shape memory properties, as also taught by Cavallaro.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun in view of US 2019/0073505 A1 (Kwon).
Regarding claim 11, Yun does not appear to explicitly disclose, further comprising:
a cushion layer provided between the metal film layer and the support substrate,
wherein the cushion layer and the support substrate are not fixed to each other in a region overlapping the display region in the plan view.
However, in analogous art, Kwon discloses that it is well-known that a display device (FIG. 8) having a (display region (30); FIG. 8; [0050]) may be predicably fabricated to include a cushion layer (cushion layer (41); FIG. 8; [0061]) between a metal film layer (metal film layer (43); FIG. 8; [0061] and [0071]) and a support substrate (support substrate (31); FIG. 4; [0061]). Kwon also discloses that display device (30) may be predicably fabrication so that cushion layer (41) and support substrate (31) are not fixed to each other in a region overlapping a display region (30) in a plan view (annotated FIG. 8, below). Kwon additionally discloses that cushion layer (41) may reduce external impacts applied to display region (30) ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yun and Kwon before him/her, that the display device (Fig. 1) of Yun include a cushion layer provided between metal film layer (202) and support substrate (203) of Yun, as taught by Kwon, and that the cushion layer and the support substrate (203) are not fixed to each other in a region overlapping the display region in the plan view (annotated FIG. 1 and/or first annotated FIG. 3, both above), as also taught by Kwon, so that the cushion layer may reduce external impacts applied to the display region (annotated FIG. 1 and/or first annotated FIG. 3, both above), as additionally taught by Kwon.
Regarding claim 12, Yun in view of Kwon discloses, The display device (FIG. 1) according to claim 11,
wherein the adhesive layer (adhesive layer (80); FIG. 8; [0113], all of Kwon) is provided between the metal film layer (202) and the cushion layer (41), and
the metal film layer (202) and the cushion layer (41) are adhesively fixed to each other via the adhesive layer (80).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun in view of Kwon, as applied to claim 11, above, and further in view of US 2021/0333934 A1 (Kishimoto).
Regarding claim 13, Yun in view of Kwon does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein the cushion layer includes at least one of a flexible resin film layer, a graphite layer, or a foam layer.
However, in analogous art, Kishimoto discloses, that a cushion layer (cushion layer (50); FIG. 4A; [0083]) of a flexible display device (display device (1); FIG. 4A; [0059]) may be predicably formed of a foam resin ([0118)). Kishimoto also discloses that cushion layer (50) provides a cushioning function ([0118]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yun, Kwon, and Kishimoto before him/her, that cushion layer (41) of Yun in view of Kwon includes at least one of a flexible resin film layer, a graphite sheet layer, or a foam layer, as taught by Kishimoto, to provide a cushioning function, as also taught by Kishimoto.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun in view of Kwon, as applied to claim 11, above, and further in view of US 2017/0263891 A1 (Oh).
Regarding claim 14, Yun in view of Kwon does not appear to explicitly disclose, wherein a Young’s modulus of the cushion layer is 1 GPa or less.
However, in analogous art, Oh discloses, that it is well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a flexible display device (flexible display device 710); FIG. 7; [0091]) may be predicably formed to include a cushion layer (cushion layer (723); FIG. 7; [0092]) having a Young’s modulus of about 10 MPa or less ([0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Yun, Kwon, and Oh before him/her, that a Young’s modulus of the cushion layer (41) of Yun in view of Kwon is 1 GPa or less, as taught by Oh, because the claimed range of a Young’s modulus of 1GPa or less overlaps with the range of about 10 MPa or less disclosed by Oh. See, MPEP 2144.05(I)—Overlapping, Approaching, And Similar Ranges, Amounts, And Proportions—"In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendment of FIG. 8 and paragraph [0043] have overcome the respective objections to the drawings and disclosure. Also, Applicant’s amendment of claims 3 and 8 has overcome the objection thereto. Additionally, Applicant’s amendment of claims 6, 8, 15, and 17 has overcome the rejection thereof under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Furthermore, Applicant’s amendment of claim 1 and remarks with respect thereto have been fully considered, but are not deemed persuasive for at least the reasons discussed below.
For example, page 13 of Applicant’s “Amendment And Response To Non-Final Office Action” states:
Yun, however, does not describe that, between the first sub frame 202 and the second sub frame 203, a display device has a cross-section in which a fourth adhesive layer 114 (which has allegedly been equated to the "adhesive layer," as recited in unamended claim 3, in page 10, item 17, of the Office Action) is arranged on both sides of a display region in a direction crossing an extending direction of the folding part F/A (which has allegedly been equated to the "bendable portion," as recited in unamended claim 1, in page 8 of the Office Action). Yun merely describes that the fourth adhesive layer 114 is provided on only one of both sides of the display region in a direction crossing an extending direction of the folding part F/A. Thus, Yun fails to disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, the above recited features of amended independent claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because, as detailed above in this Final Office Action, Yun discloses the adhesive layer recited in amended claim 1 as adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b), not just adhesive layer (114), as argued by Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114 and 2024b) of Yun is provided in the frame region (1000 and/or 1100) and arranged on both sides of the display region (first annotated FIG. 3, above) in a direction crossing an extending direction (first annotated FIG. 3, above) of the bendable portion (F/A), as also detailed above in this Final Office Action. Additionally, the original Office Action did not map the adhesive layer recited in claim 3 as only adhesive layer (114); rather, it mapped the adhesive layer of claim 3 as adhesive layer (111, 112, 113 and/or 114).
Notwithstanding the above, to advance prosecution, the Examiner respectfully requests that Applicant please consider a telephone interview with the Examiner to discuss proposed claim amendments to at least claim 1 to overcome rejection of the currently pending claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 prior to submitting a written response to this Final Office Action. For example, perhaps claim 1 could be amended to recite that the adhesive layer consists of only a single adhesive layer. Such an amendment to claim would appear to overcome the rejection thereof as being anticipated by Yun and require further search and/or consideration. The Examiner would welcome a discussion of such proposed claim amendments and is available at the number provided below.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, William B. Partridge, can be reached at (571) 270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/ERIK A. ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/William B Partridge/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812