DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are pending.
This communication is in response to the communication filed November 13, 2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because Claims 14 and 15 are dependent on claim 13 and in combination with claims 11 or 12, which are improper multiple dependent claims. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 14 and 15 are not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim limitation “alert module” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use generic placeholders “module” coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claims 1-15 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitations: a sound emitter, a light emitter or a screen (p. 6).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweikard et al. US20030125622 in view of Nikou US20220183762 in further view of Auerbach US20190133499.
As per claim 1, Schweikard teaches
system for identifying a risk during surgery, the system comprising (Schweikard par. 57, fig. 8)
a patient tracker attached to a patient… (Schweikard par. 57, fig. 8)
a localization system coupled to the patient tracker, (Schweikard fig. 1-3)
a memory in which a set of expected motions of the patient tracker is recorded, (Schweikard par. 57)
a control unit connected to the memory and the localization system, (Schweikard par. 57-61)
the control unit being configured to monitor a motion of the patient tracker during surgery, determine a difference between the motion of the patient tracker and the set of expected motions of the patient tracker, and compare the difference to a predetermined threshold, (Schweikard par. 57-61)
Schweikard does not specifically teach the following limitations met by Nikou, and a tracked bone of the patient, (Nikou par. 63 teaches trackers attached to patient bones).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the systems and methods as taught by Schweikard to attach trackers to patient bones as taught by Nikou with the motivation to provide a solution where proper line of sight is obtained while not inhibiting the movement or positioning of operating room staff (par. 7).
Schweikard and Nikou do not specifically teach the following limitations met by Auerbach, an alert module connected to the control unit, the alert module being configured to emit an alert of a risk of modification of the geometric relationship, when the difference exceeds the predetermined threshold (Auerbach par. 152 teaches marker movement exceeds a predetermined threshold, an alert may be issued).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the systems and methods as taught by Schweikard and Nikou to use an alert module emitting an alert of a risk of a modication as taught by Auerbach with the motivation to continuously monitor patients for risk (par. 2-7).
As per claim 3, Schweikard, Nikou, and Auerbach teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach wherein the set of expected motions is produced based on a model (Schweikard par. 57-62).
As per claim 5, Schweikard, Nikou, and Auerbach teach all the limitations of claim 3 and further teach wherein the model includes a breathing model of the patient (Schweikard par. 47).
Conclusion
/JAY M. PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3686