DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The proposed reply filed on July 1st, 2026 has been entered. Claims 49-68 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49, 64, 67 and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1).
Regarding claim 49, Sang et al. teach a method of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: a wireless communication device maintaining a first wireless link and a second wireless link to a further wireless communication device , the first wireless link and the second wireless link being based on different frequency channels (Fig. 5, [0085, 0087], an AP multi-link device 501 communicates with a STA multi-link device 502. The AP multi-link device 501 includes an affiliated AP 501-1 and an affiliated AP 501-2, the STA multi-link device 502 includes an affiliated STA 502-1 and an affiliated STA 502-2, and the AP multi-link device 501 communicate with the STA multi-link device 502 in parallel over a link 1 and a link 2. The multi-link device may allow services of a same access type to be transmitted over different links),
Sang et al. teach the wireless communication device communicating, between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device , an announcement of replicated transmissions of data on the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 9, [0009, 041], the second multi-link device determines, based on the first message that is sent by the first multi-link device and that indicates the transmission modes for the second multi-link device to send different types of data, to send the data to the first multi-link device in the duplication transmission mode or the non-duplication transmission mode. The duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode),
Sang et al. teach the wireless communication device sending the replicated transmissions of the data on the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 9, [0041], the duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode. The synchronous duplication transmission mode may be simultaneously transmitting same data over the at least two links),
Sang et al. teach and based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions the wireless communication device expecting an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 17, [0126, 0273], a binary 1 represents a duplication transmission mode, and a binary 0 represents a non-duplication transmission mode. For example, the first message is binary 00001111, indicating that a transmission mode of TS0 data to TS3 data is the non-duplication transmission mode, and a transmission mode of TS4 data to TS7 data is the duplication transmission mode. In this case, data corresponding to TS0 to TS3 can be transmitted in the non-duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3, and data corresponding to TS4 to TS7 can be transmitted in the duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3. The receiving unit is configured to receive data and/or signaling from the second multi-link device. The sending unit is configured to send data and/or signaling to the second multi-link device).
Sang et al. is teaching a controlled wireless transmission between the two devices. Sang et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that that the acknowledgement is received either on the first link or the second link. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 49, Song et al. teach and based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions, the wireless communication device expecting an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 1, 36, 49, [0054, 0265, 0378], the STAs 110 and 120 may serve as an AP or a non-AP. One STA supporting two links may be expressed as one Multi Link Device (MLD) including a first STA for the first link and a second STA for the second link. For example, one AP supporting two links may be expressed as one AP MLD including a first AP for a first link and a second AP for a second link. receive first data through a first link and receive second data through a second link, from a transmitting device; receive a first block acknowledgment request (BAR) frame through the first link and receive a second BAR frame through the second link, from the transmitting device, wherein the first BAR frame and the second BAR frame include information related to a link for which an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested; and transmit a first block acknowledgment (BA) frame through the first link and transmit a second BA frame through the second link. In the case of synchronous transmission. Ack policy indicated in the data frame may be Ack Policy Indicator=“00”, which means Normal Ack or implicit BAR).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Song et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of expecting an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link. The motivation is to support an improved method of transmitting an acknowledgment (ACK) signal using a multi-link in a wireless local area network system (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 64, Sang et al. teach a method of controlling wireless transmissions in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: a wireless communication device maintaining a first wireless link and a second wireless link to a further wireless communication device, the first wireless link and the second wireless link being based on different frequency channels (Fig. 5, [0085, 0087], an AP multi-link device 501 communicates with a STA multi-link device 502. The AP multi-link device 501 includes an affiliated AP 501-1 and an affiliated AP 501-2, the STA multi-link device 502 includes an affiliated STA 502-1 and an affiliated STA 502-2, and the AP multi-link device 501 communicate with the STA multi-link device 502 in parallel over a link 1 and a link 2. The multi-link device may allow services of a same access type to be transmitted over different links),
Sang et al. teach the wireless communication device communicating, between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device, an announcement of replicated transmissions of data on the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 9, [0009, 041], the second multi-link device determines, based on the first message that is sent by the first multi-link device and that indicates the transmission modes for the second multi-link device to send different types of data, to send the data to the first multi-link device in the duplication transmission mode or the non-duplication transmission mode. The duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode),
Sang et al. teach the wireless communication device receiving at least one of the replicated transmissions of the data (Figs. 5 and 9, [0041], the duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode. The synchronous duplication transmission mode may be simultaneously transmitting same data over the at least two links),
Sang et al. teach and based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions of the data the wireless communication device sending an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link or the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 17, [0126, 0273], a binary 1 represents a duplication transmission mode, and a binary 0 represents a non-duplication transmission mode. For example, the first message is binary 00001111, indicating that a transmission mode of TS0 data to TS3 data is the non-duplication transmission mode, and a transmission mode of TS4 data to TS7 data is the duplication transmission mode. In this case, data corresponding to TS0 to TS3 can be transmitted in the non-duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3, and data corresponding to TS4 to TS7 can be transmitted in the duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3. The receiving unit is configured to receive data and/or signaling from the second multi-link device. The sending unit is configured to send data and/or signaling to the second multi-link device).
Sang et al. is teaching a controlled wireless transmission between the two devices. Sang et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that that the acknowledgement is received either on the first link or the second link. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 64, Song et al. teach the wireless communication device sending an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link or the second wireless link (Figs. 1, 36, 49, [0054, 0265, 0378], the STAs 110 and 120 may serve as an AP or a non-AP. One STA supporting two links may be expressed as one Multi Link Device (MLD) including a first STA for the first link and a second STA for the second link. For example, one AP supporting two links may be expressed as one AP MLD including a first AP for a first link and a second AP for a second link. receive first data through a first link and receive second data through a second link, from a transmitting device; receive a first block acknowledgment request (BAR) frame through the first link and receive a second BAR frame through the second link, from the transmitting device, wherein the first BAR frame and the second BAR frame include information related to a link for which an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested; and transmit a first block acknowledgment (BA) frame through the first link and transmit a second BA frame through the second link. In the case of synchronous transmission. Ack policy indicated in the data frame may be Ack Policy Indicator=“00”, which means Normal Ack or implicit BAR).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Song et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of expecting an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link. The motivation is to support an improved method of transmitting an acknowledgment (ACK) signal using a multi-link in a wireless local area network system (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 67, Sang et al. teach a wireless communication device for operation in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication device comprising: interface circuitry configured to maintain a first wireless link and a second wireless link to a further wireless communication device , the first wireless link and the second wireless link being based on different frequency channels (Fig. 5, [0085, 0087], an AP multi-link device 501 communicates with a STA multi-link device 502. The AP multi-link device 501 includes an affiliated AP 501-1 and an affiliated AP 501-2, the STA multi-link device 502 includes an affiliated STA 502-1 and an affiliated STA 502-2, and the AP multi-link device 501 communicate with the STA multi-link device 502 in parallel over a link 1 and a link 2. The multi-link device may allow services of a same access type to be transmitted over different links),
Sang et al. teach and processing circuitry configured to use the interface circuitry to: communicate, between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device, an announcement of replicated transmissions of data on the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 9, [0009, 041], the second multi-link device determines, based on the first message that is sent by the first multi-link device and that indicates the transmission modes for the second multi-link device to send different types of data, to send the data to the first multi-link device in the duplication transmission mode or the non-duplication transmission mode. The duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode),
Sang et al. teach send the replicated transmissions of data on the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 9, [0041], the duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode. The synchronous duplication transmission mode may be simultaneously transmitting same data over the at least two links),
Sang et al. teach and based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions, expect an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 17, [0126, 0273], a binary 1 represents a duplication transmission mode, and a binary 0 represents a non-duplication transmission mode. For example, the first message is binary 00001111, indicating that a transmission mode of TS0 data to TS3 data is the non-duplication transmission mode, and a transmission mode of TS4 data to TS7 data is the duplication transmission mode. In this case, data corresponding to TS0 to TS3 can be transmitted in the non-duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3, and data corresponding to TS4 to TS7 can be transmitted in the duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3. The receiving unit is configured to receive data and/or signaling from the second multi-link device. The sending unit is configured to send data and/or signaling to the second multi-link device).
Sang et al. is teaching a controlled wireless transmission between the two devices. Sang et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that that the acknowledgement is received either on the first link or the second link. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 67, Song et al. teach based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions, expect an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 1, 36, 49, [0054, 0265, 0378], the STAs 110 and 120 may serve as an AP or a non-AP. One STA supporting two links may be expressed as one Multi Link Device (MLD) including a first STA for the first link and a second STA for the second link. For example, one AP supporting two links may be expressed as one AP MLD including a first AP for a first link and a second AP for a second link. receive first data through a first link and receive second data through a second link, from a transmitting device; receive a first block acknowledgment request (BAR) frame through the first link and receive a second BAR frame through the second link, from the transmitting device, wherein the first BAR frame and the second BAR frame include information related to a link for which an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested; and transmit a first block acknowledgment (BA) frame through the first link and transmit a second BA frame through the second link. In the case of synchronous transmission. Ack policy indicated in the data frame may be Ack Policy Indicator=“00”, which means Normal Ack or implicit BAR).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Song et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of expecting an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link. The motivation is to support an improved method of transmitting an acknowledgment (ACK) signal using a multi-link in a wireless local area network system (see [0002]).
Regarding claim 68, Sang et al. teach a wireless communication device for operation in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication device comprising: interface circuitry configured to maintain a first wireless link and a second wireless link to a further wireless communication device (Fig. 5, [0085, 0087], an AP multi-link device 501 communicates with a STA multi-link device 502. The AP multi-link device 501 includes an affiliated AP 501-1 and an affiliated AP 501-2, the STA multi-link device 502 includes an affiliated STA 502-1 and an affiliated STA 502-2, and the AP multi-link device 501 communicate with the STA multi-link device 502 in parallel over a link 1 and a link 2. The multi-link device may allow services of a same access type to be transmitted over different links),
Sang et al. teach and processing circuitry configured to use the interface circuitry to: communicate, between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device, an announcement of replicated transmissions of data on the first wireless link and the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 9, [0009, 041], the second multi-link device determines, based on the first message that is sent by the first multi-link device and that indicates the transmission modes for the second multi-link device to send different types of data, to send the data to the first multi-link device in the duplication transmission mode or the non-duplication transmission mode. The duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode),
Sang et al. teach receive at least one of the replicated transmissions of the data (Figs. 5 and 9, [0041], the duplication transmission mode may be transmitting same data over at least two links. The duplication transmission mode may include a synchronous duplication transmission mode and an asynchronous duplication transmission mode. The synchronous duplication transmission mode may be simultaneously transmitting same data over the at least two links),
Sang et al. teach and based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions of the data, send an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link or the second wireless link (Figs. 5 and 17, [0126, 0273], a binary 1 represents a duplication transmission mode, and a binary 0 represents a non-duplication transmission mode. For example, the first message is binary 00001111, indicating that a transmission mode of TS0 data to TS3 data is the non-duplication transmission mode, and a transmission mode of TS4 data to TS7 data is the duplication transmission mode. In this case, data corresponding to TS0 to TS3 can be transmitted in the non-duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3, and data corresponding to TS4 to TS7 can be transmitted in the duplication transmission mode over each of the link 1, the link 2, and the link 3. The receiving unit is configured to receive data and/or signaling from the second multi-link device. The sending unit is configured to send data and/or signaling to the second multi-link device).
Sang et al. is teaching a controlled wireless transmission between the two devices. Sang et al., however, fail to expressly disclose that that the acknowledgement is received either on the first link or the second link. (Emphasis added).
Regarding claim 68, Song et al. teach based on the announcement of the replicated transmissions of the data, send an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link or the second wireless link (Figs. 1, 36, 49, [0054, 0265, 0378], the STAs 110 and 120 may serve as an AP or a non-AP. One STA supporting two links may be expressed as one Multi Link Device (MLD) including a first STA for the first link and a second STA for the second link. For example, one AP supporting two links may be expressed as one AP MLD including a first AP for a first link and a second AP for a second link. receive first data through a first link and receive second data through a second link, from a transmitting device; receive a first block acknowledgment request (BAR) frame through the first link and receive a second BAR frame through the second link, from the transmitting device, wherein the first BAR frame and the second BAR frame include information related to a link for which an acknowledgement (ACK) is requested; and transmit a first block acknowledgment (BA) frame through the first link and transmit a second BA frame through the second link. In the case of synchronous transmission. Ack policy indicated in the data frame may be Ack Policy Indicator=“00”, which means Normal Ack or implicit BAR).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Song et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of expecting an acknowledgement of successful reception of the data on only one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link. The motivation is to support an improved method of transmitting an acknowledgment (ACK) signal using a multi-link in a wireless local area network system (see [0002]).
Claim(s) 50, 54 and 65-66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1) as applied to claims 49 and 64 above, and further in view of Kishida et al. (US 2023/0413347 A1).
Sang et al. and Song et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Shon et al. and Song et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 50, comprising: the wireless communication device sending the announcement of the replicated transmissions to the further wireless communication device; regarding claim 54, comprising the wireless communication device receiving the announcement of the replicated transmissions from the further wireless communication device; regarding claim 65, comprising the wireless communication device receiving the announcement of the replicated transmissions from the further wireless communication device; regarding claim 66, comprising the wireless communication device sending the announcement of the replicated transmissions to the further wireless communication device.
Regarding claim 50, Kishida et al. teach comprising: the wireless communication device sending the announcement of the replicated transmissions to the further wireless communication device (Fig. 1, [0006, 0021], access point 10 is connected to a network NW and is used as an access point of a wireless LAN. For example, the access point 10 can wirelessly transmit data received from the network NW to the terminal 20. The access point 10 can also be connected to the terminal 20 using one channel or a plurality of different channels. In the present specification, wireless connection between the access point 10 and the terminal 20 using a plurality of different channels will be referred to as “multi-link”. Communication between the access point 10 and the terminal 20 is based on, for example, the IEEE 802.11 protocol. The first wireless signal processing unit is configured to transmit wireless signals using a first channel. The second wireless signal processing unit is configured to transmit wireless signals using a second channel different from the first channel. The link management unit is configured to manage a link state between the first wireless signal processing unit and a receiving station, and a link state between the second wireless signal processing unit and the receiving station. The link management unit is configured to: generate, when first data input is of a specific type, second data that is a duplicate of the first data; attach, first identification information indicating that the first data is original data, to the first data and attach, second identification information indicating that the second data is replicated data, to the second data; and output the first data with the first identification information attached to the first wireless signal processing unit and output the second data with the second identification information attached to the second wireless signal processing unit).
Regarding claim 54, Kishida et al. teach comprising the wireless communication device receiving the announcement of the replicated transmissions from the further wireless communication device (Fig. 1, [0101-0102], when the traffic type of the input data is a specific type, the input data is duplicated. The original data is transmitted using the STA function of one link, and the replicated data is transmitted as data for retransmission using the STA function of a link different from that for the original data. In the embodiment, the data for retransmission is transmitted prior to the retransmission request from the receiving station by link diversity. Thus, delay accompanying retransmission is avoided as compared with a case where retransmission is performed in response to the retransmission request from the receiving station. he original data and the replicated data for retransmission are transmitted in parallel at the same time, whereby the receiving station receives two pieces of the same data almost simultaneously. However, since the original data is given identification information indicating that it is the original and the replicated data is given identification information indicating that it is a duplicate, the receiving station can correctly identify and process the original data and the replicated data).
Regarding claim 65, Kishida et al. teach comprising the wireless communication device receiving the announcement of the replicated transmissions from the further wireless communication device (Fig. 1, [0101-0102], when the traffic type of the input data is a specific type, the input data is duplicated. The original data is transmitted using the STA function of one link, and the replicated data is transmitted as data for retransmission using the STA function of a link different from that for the original data. In the embodiment, the data for retransmission is transmitted prior to the retransmission request from the receiving station by link diversity. Thus, delay accompanying retransmission is avoided as compared with a case where retransmission is performed in response to the retransmission request from the receiving station. he original data and the replicated data for retransmission are transmitted in parallel at the same time, whereby the receiving station receives two pieces of the same data almost simultaneously. However, since the original data is given identification information indicating that it is the original and the replicated data is given identification information indicating that it is a duplicate, the receiving station can correctly identify and process the original data and the replicated data).
Regarding claim 66, Kishida et al. teach comprising the wireless communication device sending the announcement of the replicated transmissions to the further wireless communication device (Fig. 1, [0006, 0021], access point 10 is connected to a network NW and is used as an access point of a wireless LAN. For example, the access point 10 can wirelessly transmit data received from the network NW to the terminal 20. The access point 10 can also be connected to the terminal 20 using one channel or a plurality of different channels. In the present specification, wireless connection between the access point 10 and the terminal 20 using a plurality of different channels will be referred to as “multi-link”. Communication between the access point 10 and the terminal 20 is based on, for example, the IEEE 802.11 protocol. The first wireless signal processing unit is configured to transmit wireless signals using a first channel. The second wireless signal processing unit is configured to transmit wireless signals using a second channel different from the first channel. The link management unit is configured to manage a link state between the first wireless signal processing unit and a receiving station, and a link state between the second wireless signal processing unit and the receiving station. The link management unit is configured to: generate, when first data input is of a specific type, second data that is a duplicate of the first data; attach, first identification information indicating that the first data is original data, to the first data and attach, second identification information indicating that the second data is replicated data, to the second data; and output the first data with the first identification information attached to the first wireless signal processing unit and output the second data with the second identification information attached to the second wireless signal processing unit).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. with Song et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kishida et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending and receiving the announcement of the replicated transmissions to the further wireless communication device. The motivation is to support an improved method of using a plurality of different channels (multi-link) for communication between the access point and the terminal based on IEEE 802.11 protocol (see [0021]).
Claim(s) 51-53, 55, 60 and 62-63 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1) and Kishida et al. (US 2023/0413347 A1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2021/0337564 A1).
Sang et al., Song et al. and Kishida et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Sang et al., Song et al. and Kishida et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 51, comprising: the wireless communication device sending each of the replicated transmissions of the data in a respective payload section of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU); and the wireless communication device including the announcement of the replicated transmissions in a header section of the PPDU; regarding claim 52,. comprising: the wireless communication device sending each of the replicated transmissions of the data in a respective payload section of a Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (MPDU); and the wireless communication device including the announcement of the replicated transmissions in a header section of the MPDU; regarding claim 53, comprising: the wireless communication device sending a Request to Send (RTS) frame to the further wireless communication device ;in response to sending the RTS frame, the wireless communication device receiving a Clear to Send (CTS) frame from the further wireless communication device ; and the wireless communication device sending the replicated transmissions of the data in response to receiving the CTS frame, wherein the RTS frame includes the announcement of the replicated transmissions; regarding claim 55, comprising: the wireless communication device receiving a trigger frame from the further wireless communication device; and the wireless communication device sending the replicated transmissions of the data in response to receiving the trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame includes the announcement of the replicated transmissions; regarding claim 60, wherein the further wireless communication device is classified as non-simultaneous transmit and receive with respect to the first wireless link and the second wireless link and an end-time of a replicated transmissions on the first wireless link is not required to be aligned with an end-time of a replicated transmission on the second wireless link; regarding claim 62, wherein the announcement of the replicated transmissions comprises a second indicator indicating whether an upcoming replicated transmission corresponds to new data; regarding claim 63, wherein the wireless communication device is one of an access point of the wireless communication system and a wireless station, and wherein the further wireless communication device is the other one of the access point and the wireless station.
Regarding claim 51, Kwon et al. teach comprising: the wireless communication device sending each of the replicated transmissions of the data in a respective payload section of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU); and the wireless communication device including the announcement of the replicated transmissions in a header section of the PPDU (Fig. 2, [0045, 0054], each of the STAs 106-1 (fig. 1) or 106-2 of the AP MLD 104 may operate in a different channel. For example, STA1a 106-1 may operate in a first channel and STA1b 106-2 may operate in a second channel. Although the AP MLD 104 is shown in FIG. 1 as including two STAs, other embodiments of the AP MLD 104 may include more than two STAs. A PPDU 200, is shown as including three portions, implemented as a Preamble 202, a PHY Header 204, and a Payload 206. In particular, FIG. 2 shows the Payload 206 of the PPDU 200 as including multiple frames, implemented as a first frame, Frame-1 208-1, and a subsequent frame, Frame-N 208-2, followed by a MAC/PHY Padding frame, implemented as MAC/PHY Padding 210. In some embodiments, the PPDU 200 may be a first PPDU that includes a first frame (e.g., Frame-1 208-1) and may be transmitted by a first STA to a second STA. In some embodiments, Frame-1 208-1 of the PPDU 200 solicits a response frame (not shown) included as part of a second PPDU (not shown). In some embodiments, the first STA may then receive from the second STA, the second PPDU that includes the response frame).
Regarding claim 52, Kwon et al. teach comprising: the wireless communication device sending each of the replicated transmissions of the data in a respective payload section of a Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (MPDU); and the wireless communication device including the announcement of the replicated transmissions in a header section of the MPDU (Fig. 5C, [0045, 0050], summarized as “AP MLD 104 includes two radios, implemented as stations (STAs) 106-1 and 106-2. In such an embodiment, each radio may be operating on a different link. Additionally, in such an embodiment, the STAs may be STA1a 106-1 and STA1b 106-2. In some embodiments, the AP MLD 104 implements upper layer Media Access Control (MAC) functionalities (e.g., block acknowledgement establishment, reordering of frames, etc.) and the STAs 106-1 and 106-2 implement lower layer MAC functionalities (e.g., backoff, frame transmission, frame reception, etc.). Each of the STAs 106-1 or 106-2 of the AP MLD 104 may operate in a different channel. For example, STA1a 106-1 may operate in a first channel and STA1b 106-2 may operate in a second channel. Although the AP MLD 104 is shown in FIG. 1 as including two STAs, other embodiments of the AP MLD 104 may include more than two STAs. If the number of frames aggregated in an A-MPDU becomes large, then the length of an acknowledgement frame transmitted in response to the A-MPDU also becomes large, in which case use of a non-High Throughput (non-HT) (duplicate) PPDU format to carry the Ack frame may take an extended amount airtime. The PPDU that includes a first information indicating trigger information in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. With reference to FIG. 5C, the first PPDU (shown as 1.sup.st PPDU 500-1) may be implemented as the 1.sup.st PPDU 500-1 shown in FIG. 5A and/or FIG. 5B. In particular, FIG. 5C shows the 1.sup.st PPDU 500-1 as including three portions, implemented as Preamble 501, PHY Header 502, and Payload 503 which includes A-MPDU Subframe-1 504-1, A-MPDU Subframe-N 504-2, and MAC/PHY Padding 508. In some embodiments, A-MPDU Subframe-1 504-1 includes five portions, implemented as MAC Delimiter 504, MAC header 516 which includes a first subfield 506-1, MAC Service Data Unit (MSDU) 518, Frame Check Sequence (FCS) 520, and Padding 522. In some embodiments, A-MPDU Subframe-N 504-2 and/or other A-MPDU Subframes (not shown) may include the same or similar portions as those included in A-MPDU Subframe-1 504-1. In some embodiments, the first subfield 506-1 includes the first information that indicates a first duration and may be a variant of a control subfield in an A-Control subfield of the MAC Header 516. In such an embodiment, the 1.sup.st PPDU 500-1 may be transmitted by a first STA (not shown) to a second STA (not shown) to indicate the first duration via the first information included in the first subfield 506-1).
Regarding claim 53, Kwon et al. teach comprising: the wireless communication device sending a Request to Send (RTS) frame to the further wireless communication device ;in response to sending the RTS frame, the wireless communication device receiving a Clear to Send (CTS) frame from the further wireless communication device ; and the wireless communication device sending the replicated transmissions of the data in response to receiving the CTS frame, wherein the RTS frame includes the announcement of the replicated transmissions (Fig. 1, [0045, 0050], the AP MLD 104 includes two radios, implemented as stations (STAs) 106-1 and 106-2. In such an embodiment, each radio may be operating on a different link. Additionally, in such an embodiment, the STAs may be STA1a 106-1 and STA1b 106-2. In some embodiments, the AP MLD 104 implements upper layer Media Access Control (MAC) functionalities (e.g., block acknowledgement establishment, reordering of frames, etc.). The STA1a 106-1 may operate in a first channel and STA1b 106-2 may operate in a second channel. Although the AP MLD 104 is shown in FIG. 1 as including two STAs, other embodiments of the AP MLD 104 may include more than two STAs. When a STA transmits a series of frames to another STA in an Aggregated-MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) frame format, if the number of frames aggregated in an A-MPDU becomes large, then the length of an acknowledgement frame transmitted in response to the A-MPDU also becomes large, in which case use of a non-High Throughput (non-HT) (duplicate) PPDU format to carry the Ack frame may take an extended amount airtime. To prevent extended airtime, the STA that transmits data frames may decide how the response frames may be carried. In some embodiments, a first STA may include a Trigger frame when the first STA transmits a frame that solicits an immediate response frame to determine a duration of the immediate response frame. However, conventional Trigger frames are restricted to certain frames, frame formats, e.g., Trigger-Based (TB) PPDUs in response to Trigger frames (except for Multi-User Request-to-Send (MU-RTS) Trigger frames and Clear-to-Send (CTS) frames in response to MU-RTS Trigger frames), and/or large frame sizes).
Regarding claim 55, Kwon et al. teach comprising: the wireless communication device receiving a trigger frame from the further wireless communication device; and the wireless communication device sending the replicated transmissions of the data in response to receiving the trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame includes the announcement of the replicated transmissions (Fig. 1, [0050-0051], when a STA transmits a series of frames to another STA in an Aggregated-MAC Protocol Data Unit (A-MPDU) frame format, if the number of frames aggregated in an A-MPDU becomes large, then the length of an acknowledgement frame transmitted in response to the A-MPDU also becomes large, in which case use of a non-High Throughput (non-HT) (duplicate) PPDU format to carry the Ack frame may take an extended amount airtime. To prevent extended airtime, the STA that transmits data frames may decide how the response frames may be carried. In some embodiments, a first STA may include a Trigger frame when the first STA transmits a frame that solicits an immediate response frame to determine a duration of the immediate response frame. However, conventional Trigger frames are restricted to certain frames, frame formats, e.g., Trigger-Based (TB) PPDUs in response to Trigger frames (except for Multi-User Request-to-Send (MU-RTS) Trigger frames and Clear-to-Send (CTS) frames in response to MU-RTS Trigger frames), and/or large frame sizes. An A-Control subfield (sometimes referred to herein as an “A-Control field”) can be used when transmitting trigger information. Examples of trigger information may include a PPDU length, a PPDU format, transmission bandwidth of a PPDU, a Resource Unit (RU) allocation, AP transmission power, an UL Target Signal Strength Indicator (RSSI), an MCS, etc. Currently, a Triggered Response Scheduling (TRS) variant of the A-Control subfield triggers an immediate response frame using indications described herein. In some embodiments, a UL Data Symbols subfield indicates the number of Orthogonal Frequency-Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in a Data field of a High-Efficiency (HE) TB PPDU response. In some embodiments, an RU Allocation subfield indicates an RU assigned for transmitting the HE TB PPDU response. In some embodiments, an AP Tx Power subfield indicates an AP's combined transmission power at the antenna connectors of each transmit antenna used to transmit a triggering PPDU. In some embodiments, a UL Target RSSI subfield indicates the expected receive power at the AP (e.g., averaged RSSI over each AP's antennas) for an HE portion of the HE TB PPDU transmitted on an assigned RU. In some embodiments, the UL HE-MCS subfield indicates an HE-MCS (in an HE-MCS range of zero to three) to be used by a receiving STA for the HE TB PPDU. However, the fields described are not needed when triggering a PPDU from a single STA. Therefore, triggering a PPDU from a single STA may be performed more efficiently to enable improved wireless communications).
Regarding claim 60, Kwon et al. teach wherein the further wireless communication device is classified as non-simultaneous transmit and receive with respect to the first wireless link and the second wireless link and an end-time of a replicated transmissions on the first wireless link is not required to be aligned with an end-time of a replicated transmission on the second wireless link (Fig. 1, [0048, 0052, 0087], an MLD (e.g., AP MLD 104 and/or non-AP MLD 108) may have a simultaneous transmit and receive capability (STR), which may be referred to herein as an “STR MLD” and implies that the MLD may transmit on one link (e.g., link1) and receive on another link (e.g., link2) simultaneously. In another embodiment, an MLD (e.g., AP MLD 104 and/or non-AP MLD 108) may have a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR), which may be referred to herein as an “NSTR MLD” and implies that the MLD may not transmit on one link (e.g., link1) and receive on another link (e.g., link2) simultaneously. The MLD that supports multiple links (e.g., link1 and link2) may announce whether it can support transmission on one link (e.g., link1) concurrent with reception on another link (e.g., link2) for each pair of links. In such an embodiment, link1 and link2 may be on different channels. According to the 802.11be communication protocol, an NSTR MLD may be allowed to operate on such a pair of links. In some embodiments, the first frame may explicitly indicate and/or implicitly indicate the first duration of the second PPDU. Thus, techniques described herein may enable components of wireless communication systems to signal trigger information using PPDUs which align transmission end times of response frames from a single wireless device. Aligning transmission end times allows wireless devices (e.g., NSTR MLDs) to support simultaneous frame transmission on multiple links (even on an NSTR link pair) and further enable wireless communications to be performed more efficiently. However, because the second STA may determine a PPDU format, the PPDU format used for the second PPDU may not align with the PPDU format included in the trigger information).
Regarding claim 62, Kwon et al. teach wherein the announcement of the replicated transmissions comprises a second indicator indicating whether an upcoming replicated transmission corresponds to new data (Fig. 1, [0048,0060], in a first frame of a first PPDU transmitted by a first STA to a second STA may also indicate a PPDU format for a second PPDU, such that the second PPDU is transmitted by the second STA (with the indicated format) to the first STA in response to reception of the first PPDU at the second STA. For example, the trigger information included in the first PPDU may indicate whether or not the second PPDU transmitted by the second STA will be a non-HT (duplicate) PPDU format. The MLD that supports multiple links (e.g., link1 and link2) may announce whether it can support transmission on one link (e.g., link1) concurrent with reception on another link (e.g., link2) for each pair of links. In such an embodiment, link1 and link2 may be on different channels. According to the 802.11be communication protocol, an NSTR MLD may be allowed to operate on such a pair of links).
Regarding claim 63, Kwon et al. teach wherein the wireless communication device is one of an access point of the wireless communication system and a wireless station, and wherein the further wireless communication device is the other one of the access point and the wireless station (Fig. 1, [0046], the non-AP MLD, implemented as non-AP MLD 108, includes two radios which are implemented as STAs 110-1 and 110-2. In such an embodiment, the STAs may be STA2a 110-1 and STA2b 110-2. The STAs 110-1 and 110-2 may be implemented in hardware (e.g., circuits), software, firmware, or a combination thereof. The STAs 110-1 and 110-2 may be fully or partially implemented as an IC device. In some embodiments, the STAs 110-1 and 110-2 are part of the non-AP MLD 108, such that the non-AP MLD is a communications device that wirelessly connects to wireless STAs (e.g., STA1a 106-1 and/or STA1b 106-2). For example, the non-AP MLD 108 may be implemented in a laptop, a desktop personal computer (PC), a mobile phone, or other communications device that supports at least one WLAN communications protocol. In some embodiments, the non-AP MLD 108 is a communications device compatible with at least one IEEE 802.11 protocol (e.g., the IEEE 802.11be protocol). In some embodiments, the non-AP MLD 108 implements a common MAC data service interface and the STAs 110-1 and 110-2 implement a lower layer MAC data service interface. In some embodiments, the AP MLD 104 and/or the non-AP MLD 108 identifies which communication links support the multi-link operation during a multi-link operation setup phase and/or exchanges information regarding multi-link capabilities during the multi-link operation setup phase. In some embodiments, each of the STAs 110-1 and 110-2 of the non-AP MLD 108 may operate in a different frequency band).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. with Song et al. and Kishida et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kwon et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of sending each of the replicated transmissions of the data in a respective payload section of a PPDU; and the wireless communication device including the announcement of the replicated transmissions in a header section of the PPDU; sending each of the replicated transmissions of the data in a respective payload section of a Medium Access Control Protocol Data Unit (MPDU); the wireless communication device including the announcement of the replicated transmissions in a header section of the MPDU; sending a RTS frame to the further wireless communication device and in response receiving a CTS frame from the further wireless communication device; sending the replicated transmissions of the data in response to receiving the trigger frame, wherein the trigger frame includes the announcement of the replicated transmissions; and non-simultaneous transmit and receive with respect to the first wireless link and the second wireless link and an end-time of a replicated transmissions on the first wireless link is not required to be aligned with an end-time of a replicated transmission on the second wireless link. The motivation is to support an improved method to provide a wireless communication using a multi-link (see [0008]).
Claim(s) 56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Ko et al. (US 2023/0076285 A1).
Sang et al. and Song et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Sang et al. and Song et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 56, wherein the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on that one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link on which the data was successfully received by the further wireless communication device.
Regarding claim 56, Ko et al. teach wherein the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on that one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link on which the data was successfully received by the further wireless communication device (Fig. 17, [0164], first station STA1 of the multi-link device operates on the first link Link1, and the second station STA2 of the multi-link device operates on the second link Link2. The multi-link device may transmit an ACK for the data received through the first link Link1 together with an ACK for the data received through the second link Link2. For example, an AP multi-link device may receive the first data Data1 from the first station STA1 through the first link Link1 and may receive the second data Data2 from the second station STA2 through the second link Link2. In this case, the AP multi-link device may transmit the ACK for the first data Data1 together with the ACK for the second data Data2 through the first link Link1. In addition, the multi-link device may transmit the ACK for the first data Data1 together with the ACK for the second data Data2 through the second link Link2. For example, the multi-link device may transmit a BlockAck frame that includes the ACK for the first data Data1 and the ACK for the second data Data2 through the second link Link2. In this way, in order to transmit the ACKs for the data transmitted by the plurality of stations together, the identifiers of the station transmitting the data may need to be transmitted together. In this case, the values of the fields representing the identifiers of the station in the Block-Ack frame may be set as the identifier of the first station STA1 and the identifier of the second station STA2).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. with Song et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Ko et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving, receiving by the device, the acknowledgement on that one of the first wireless link and the second wireless link on which the data was successfully received by the further wireless communication device. The motivation is to support an improved method to provide a wireless communication using a multi-link (see [0008]).
Claim(s) 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0360528 A1).
Sohn et al. and Song et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Sohn et al. and Song et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 57, wherein the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on the other of the first wireless link and the second wireless link on which the data was successfully received by the further wireless communication device.
Regarding claim 57, Ko et al. teach wherein the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on the other of the first wireless link and the second wireless link on which the data was successfully received by the further wireless communication device (Fig. 4, [0085, 0087], the AP may transmit, using the PPDU format for DL MU OFDMA, downlink data 1 415 to STA 1 through the first channel (or sub-band 1) allocated for STA1, downlink data 2 425 to STA2 through the second channel (or sub-band 2) allocated for STA2, downlink data 3 435 to STA 3 through the third channel (or sub-band 3) allocated for STA3, and downlink data 4 445 to STA4 through the fourth channel (or sub-band 4) allocated for STA4. That is, downlink data 1 415, downlink data 2 425, downlink data 3 435, and downlink data 4 445 may be transmitted by the AP on an overlapping time resource to STA1, STA2, STA3, and STA4, respectively. The STA3 may transmit ACK frame 3 as a response to downlink data 3 435 through the third channel, and STA4 may transmit ACK frame 4 as a response to downlink data 4 445 through the fourth channel).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. with Song et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim et al. in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of receiving, receiving by the device, the acknowledgement on the other of the first wireless link and the second wireless link on which the data was successfully received by the further wireless communication device. The motivation is to support an improved method for transmitting a frame a wireless local area network (see [0021]).
Claim(s) 58 and 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0279375 A1) (Kim’375 hereinafter).
Sang et al. and Song et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Sang et al. and Song et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 58, wherein a wireless link between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device is configured to be used for transmission of acknowledgements for successful reception of data and the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on the configured wireless link; regarding claim 61, wherein the announcement of the replicated transmissions comprises a first indicator indicating usage of replication for transmission of data.
Regarding claim 58, Kim’375 teaches wherein a wireless link between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device is configured to be used for transmission of acknowledgements for successful reception of data and the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on the configured wireless link (Fig. 9, [0117, 0124, 0131], first multi-link device may establish a multi-link connection with the second multi-link device through a plurality of links. The first multi-link device may establish the multi-link connection with the second multi-link device based on TID(s) of PPDU(s) to be transmitted or received. Specifically, a first link mapped to a first TID and a second link mapped to a second TID may be configured with a second multi-link device. Each of the communication nodes of the second multi-link device may configure a response frame for the PPDU received on a different link. That is, each of the communication nodes of the second multi-link device may configure a PPDU including ACK for a different PPDU. The second multi-link device may transmit an ML PPDU including different ACKs to the first multi-link device on different links. Before transmitting the ML PPDU, the first multi-link device may negotiate with the second multi-link device whether to transmit ACK(s) and a link on which the PPDU including ACK(s) is to be transmitted. The first multi-link device may negotiate whether to transmit ACK(s) with the second multi-link device through an ADDBA request frame and an ADDBA response frame. Alternatively, the first multi-link device may negotiate whether to transmit ACK(s) with the second multi-link device during the association procedure).
Regarding claim 61, Kim’375 teaches wherein the announcement of the replicated transmissions comprises a first indicator indicating usage of replication for transmission of data (Fig. 9, [0117, 0122] the first multi-link device may establish a multi-link connection with the second multi-link device through a plurality of links. The first multi-link device may establish the multi-link connection with the second multi-link device based on TID(s) of PPDU(s) to be transmitted or received. When the ACK request frame (or ACK request field) indicates the ‘duplicate response frame transmission’ information, the communication nodes of the second multi-link device should transmit the same response frame. Accordingly, the second multi-link device may transmit the same response frame on each link by collecting reception states of the PPDUs in all the links. When the ACK request frame (or ACK request field) indicates the ‘All ACK transmission’ information, the second multi-link device may collect reception states of the PPDUs in all the links, and transmit one response frame by using one or more links).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. with Song et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim’375 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of configuring wireless link between the wireless communication device and the further wireless communication device for transmission of acknowledgements for successful reception of data and the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement on the configured wireless link, and the announcement first indicator indicating usage of replication for transmission of data. The motivation is to support an improved method for wideband data transmission in a wideband wireless LAN multi-link structure (see [0001]).
Claim(s) 59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang et al. (US 2023/0147734 A1) in view of Song et al. (US 20220385403 A1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20230179686 A1) (Kim’686 hereinafter).
Sang et al. and Song et al. disclose the claimed limitations as described in paragraph 6 above. Sang et al. and Song et al. do not expressly disclose the following features: regarding claim 59, wherein the further wireless communication device is classified as non-simultaneous transmit and receive with respect to the first wireless link and the second wireless link and the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement during one of the replicated transmissions.
Regarding claim 59, Kim’686 teaches wherein the further wireless communication device is classified as non-simultaneous transmit and receive with respect to the first wireless link and the second wireless link and the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement during one of the replicated transmissions (Fig. 10, [0024, 0147] operating an AP multi-link device according to an embodiment of the disclosure includes, when transmission to a non-AP multi-link device operating in a first link and a second link corresponding to non-simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) links in which reception of the non-AP multi-link device in one link and transmission of the non-AP multi-link device in another link are not simultaneously supported is performed in the second link, determining whether to perform transmission to the non-AP multi-link device in the second link, based on whether the non-AP multi-link device performs transmission in the first link. A first station (STA1) and a second station (STA2) is affiliated with one non-AP multi-link device. A first AP (AP1) and a second AP (AP2) may be affiliated with one non-AP multi-link device. A first link (link 1) is configured between the first AP (AP1) and the first station (STA1), and a second link (link 2) is configured between the second AP (AP2) and the second station (STA2). In FIG. 10, the non-AP multi-link device may restrictively perform STR. When the second station (STA2) performs transmission in the second link (link2), reception of the first station (STA1) in the first link (link1) may be disturbed by transmission performed in the second link (link2). For example, in the following case, reception of the first station (STA1) in the first link (link1) may be interrupted by transmission performed in the second link (link2). The second station (STA2) transmits first data (data 1) in the second link (link 2), and the first AP (AP1) transmits a response (ack for data1) to the first data (data1) to the first station (STA1). The second station (STA2) transmits second data (data2) in the second link (link2). At this time, a transmission time point of the second data (data2) may overlap a transmission time point of the response (ack for data1) to the first data (data1). The first link (link1) may be interfered by transmission to the second station (STA2) in the second link (link 2). Accordingly, the first station (STA1) may not receive the response (ack for data 1) to the first data (data1)).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sang et al. with Song et al. by incorporating the features as taught by Kim’686 in order to provide a more effective and efficient system that is capable of classifying as non-simultaneous transmit and receive with respect to the first wireless link and the second wireless link and the wireless communication device receives the acknowledgement during one of the replicated transmissions. The motivation is to support an improved method of operating an AP multi-link device when transmission to a non-AP multi-link device operating in a first link and a second link corresponding to non-simultaneous transmit and receive links (see [0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 49-68 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SYED M BOKHARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2473
7/20/2026
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473