DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The invention is directed to an ion mirror. Carney (WO 2019229457) is the closest prior art. Carney teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, except for “the mirror ring sub-assembly and the grid sub-assembly float relative to one another by being mechanically engaged only at one of the first plate unit, the second plate unit, or the third plate unit. Such a mechanical engagement in an ion mirror in neither taught nor suggested in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19, 20, 24, 26, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 discloses “wherein the at least one mirror ring comprises a plurality of mirror rings disposed in series”. It is not clear how one mirror ring could comprise a plurality of mirror rings. For the purposes of examination this will be interpreted as “the ion mirror” from claim 7 comprises a plurality of mirror rings.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "each pair of adjacent electrodes" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites “the opening of the mirror rings is in substantial register.” It is not clear what limitations “substantial register” imposes. For the purposes of examination this will be interpreted to mean the openings are aligned when the mirror rings are disposed in series relative to one another.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "mirror ring sub-assembly" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 2 and line 4. It is unclear whether “the opening” refers to the “at least one opening” or an additional opening. For the purposes of examination “the opening” will be interpreted as to be the same as “the at least one opening.”
Claim 28 recites the limitations "the upper post" in line 6, “the lower post” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the “upper post” will be interpreted to be the portion of the post above the middle grid plate and the “lower post” will be interpreted to be the portion of the post below the middle grid plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8, 10, 12-14, 17, 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verenchikov (US 20200373142), and in further view of Booy et al. (WO2019167026), hereinafter referred to as Booy, and Garside et al. (US 20150060655 A1), hereinafter referred to as Garside.
Regarding claim 7, Verenchikov teaches an ion mirror for use in a time-of-flight mass spectrometer (Embodiments of the invention propose to arrange wedge electrostatic fields with diverging equipotential lines in the ion retarding region of electrostatic gridless ion mirrors of either MRTOF (para. [0197])), comprising: at least one mirror ring comprising: a frame that is electrically non-conducing (The ion mirror may comprise a first PCB arranged in the plane defined by the first and second dimensions (X-Z plane) (para. [0023])), having a window configured to allow passage of ions therethrough (The ion mirror may comprise a window in the PCB for allowing ions to travel therethrough (para. [0032]));
a first electrode disposed around at least a portion of a circumference of the window (wherein the conductive strip surrounds said window (para. [0032])) (Alternatively, the first electrode may be a frame electrode of the ion mirror (para. [0059])) and being configured for application of a DC voltage (The different voltages may be DC voltages…The ion mirror may be configured to apply different voltages to different ones of the first electrodes (para. [0063]-[0065])) thereto for generating a field within the window for affecting trajectory of ions passing through the window (electrodes of said ion mirrors are substantially elongated in the Z-direction to form a two-dimensional electrostatic field in an orthogonal XY-plane; said field provides for an isochronous repetitive multi-pass ion motion and spatial ion confinement along a zigzag mean ion trajectory lying within the XY symmetry plane (para. [0165]));
a second electrode disposed on a top surface of the frame (The ion mirror may comprise one or more first electrode arranged on a first side of the ion mirror (para. [0062])) and in electrical contact with the first electrode (The first electrodes may be connected by a resistive chain such that a voltage supply connected to the resistive chain applies different electrical potentials to the first electrodes (para. [0065]));
and at least one electrical resistive element disposed between the first and second electrode (The first electrodes may be connected by a resistive chain such that a voltage supply connected to the resistive chain applies different electrical potentials to the first electrodes (para. [0065])).
Verenchikov does not teach an electrical contact pad disposed on a bottom surface of the frame and in electrical contact with the first electrode.
However, Booy teaches an electrical contact pad disposed on a bottom surface of the frame and in electrical contact with the first electrode (fig. 2A as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Booy by incorporating an electrical contact pad on the bottom surface of the frame (PCB) disclosed in Verenchikov. Doing so would allow for adjacent frames to be electrically interconnected with each other, as taught by Garside (Garside; para. [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Booy such that the contact pad is in electrical contact with the first electrode. By electrically connecting the metal coatings disposed on the front surface, to the metal coatings on the back surface, “these coatings can be maintained at a single electrical potential via application of a voltage thereto (Booy; page 3, para. [0002])”
Regarding claim 8, Verenchikov teaches the ion mirror of Claim 7, wherein the frame comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB ion mirror 24 (para. [0192])),
However, Verninchikov fails to teach and wherein optionally said PCB is made of Rogers material, and wherein, optionally, the at least one electrical resistive element is integrated in the PCB.
Booy teaches, and wherein optionally said PCB is made of Rogers material (the PCB employed to fabricate any of the curtain plate or the orifice plate can be made of suitable polymeric materials, such as RO4350B laminate material marketed by Rogers Corporation, U.S.A (page 16, para [0001])), and wherein, optionally, the at least one electrical resistive element is integrated in the PCB (The PCB lens can be a multi-layer PCB where an internal circuit can be created with the required resistance to be used as a heater (page 10, para [0002]))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Booy such that the PCB is made of Rogers material. Doing so allows for improved mechanical stability, thermal management, and moisture resistance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Booy such that the PCB is integrated with an electrical resistive element. Doing so is a common technique, known to one of ordinary skill in the art, to reduce electromagnetic interference and increase the routing area on the circuit board.
Regarding claim 10, Verenchikov teaches the ion mirror of claim 7, wherein the at least one mirror ring comprises a plurality of mirror rings disposed in series relative to one another such that their respective windows are substantially aligned (mutual alignment of windows 14 (para. [0184])) to allow passage of ions therethrough (a plurality of electrodes and voltage supplies connected thereto that are configured to generate an electric field region that reflects ions in a first dimension (X-dimension) (para. [0011])) (fig. 1 as annotated below),
Verenchikov fails to teach and wherein, optionally, for each pair of adjacent mirror rings, the second electrode of a lower mirror ring of the pair is configured to make electrical contact with the electrical contact pad of an adjacent upper mirror ring such that a portion of a DC voltage applied to the first electrode of the lower mirror ring is applied to the electric contact pad of the upper mirror ring.
However, Garside teaches and wherein, optionally, for each pair of adjacent mirror rings, the second electrode of a lower mirror ring of the pair is configured to make electrical contact with the electrical contact pad of an adjacent upper mirror ring (the sprung connectors 10 on one printed circuit board 2 are preferably brought into contact with one or more conductive pads 9 on a neighboring printed circuit board 2. The sprung connectors 10 preferably enable electrical connection between the two printed circuit boards 2 to be made and it will be apparent that all the printed circuit boards 2 forming the array of inner electrodes 1 mounted on the core member 4 may effectively be maintained in electrical connection with each other (para. [0111]) (fig. 1 as annotated below)) such that a portion of a DC voltage applied to the first electrode of the lower mirror ring is applied to the electric contact pad of the upper mirror ring (various DC voltage drops may be applied to or maintained along the electrodes (para. [0104])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov, in view of Booy to include the teachings of Garside such that for each pair of adjacent mirror rings (Verenchikov; PCB electrodes 11), a second electrode of the pair is configured to make electrical contact with an electrical pad of an adjacent upper mirror ring. Doing so eliminates the need for side stands 28 of Verenchikov, simplifying the manner in which voltage is carried and manipulated throughout the ion mirror.
Regarding claim 12, Verenchikov teaches the ion mirror of claim 10, wherein the electrical resistive element forms a voltage divider between the first electrodes of the pair of adjacent mirror rings (The first electrodes may be connected by a resistive chain such that a voltage supply connected to the resistive chain applies different electrical potentials to the first electrodes (para. [0065])).
Regarding claim 13, Vernchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 10, wherein the second electrode of the lower mirror ring comprises at least one spring for providing a compression contact with the electrical contact pad of the upper mirror ring.
However, Garside teaches the ion mirror of claim 10, wherein the second electrode of the lower mirror ring comprises at least one spring for providing a compression contact with the electrical contact pad of the upper mirror ring (According to an embodiment the printed circuit boards have conductive pads designed so that, during assembly, sprung contacts on a printed circuit board contact the conductive pad of a neighbouring printed circuit board (or vice versa) (para. [0085])) (according to an embodiment electrical connections between adjacent printed circuit boards may be made using sprung or spring contacts or connections. The spring contacts preferably avoid the electrical connections between printed circuit boards influencing or being influenced by the precise physical position of the printed circuit boards (para. [0082]).)
Garside and Vernchikov both teach ion mirrors coaxially arranged. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov, in view of Booy, to include the teachings of Garside such that the second electrode of the lower mirror ring (one of the “one or more first electrode in a first plane” (Verenchikov para. [0057])) disclosed in Verenchikov, is connected to the contact pad of an upper mirror ring (conductive pad of neighboring printed circuit boards (Garside, para [0085])), as taught by Garside. Doing so “avoid[s] the electrical connections between printed circuit boards influencing o being influenced by the precise physical position of the printed circuit boards” (Garside; para. [0082]).
Regarding claim 14, Vernchikov teaches the ion mirror of claim 10, wherein each of the mirror rings comprises a plurality of holes for aligning the plurality of mirror rings (Yet preferably, simultaneously machined aligning holes 13 may serve for better alignment of the windows in the electrodes 11 windows (para. [0191])).
Regarding claim 17, Vernchikov teaches the ion mirror of claim 7, wherein the frame a thickness in a range of about 0.5 mm to about 4 mm ((At least two types of standard PCB materials are considered herein: an epoxy based and glass filled material, like FR4 with a thickness from 0.3 to 10 mm, or thin (0.5-1.5 mm) ceramic PCB materials like alumina oxide or alumina nitride (para. [0181])), and wherein, optionally, the spacers have a thickness in a range of about 4mm, and wherein, optionally, the spacers have a thickness in a range of about 0.5 mm to about 2mm.
Regarding claim 21, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 7, wherein any of the first electrode, the second electrode, and the electrical contact pad comprises at least one metal layer
Garside teaches, wherein any of the first electrode, the second electrode, and the electrical contact pad comprises at least one metal layer (The first electrodes or first substrates preferably comprise one or more metallic or conductive surfaces on at least a portion of the first electrodes or first substrates (para. [0058]))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Garside such that the first electrodes comprise at least one metal layer. A metal layer on electrodes is known to one of ordinary skill in the art to be highly conductive, durable, and cost effective.
However, Verenchikov fails to teach and wherein, optionally, the at least one metal layer has a thickness in a range of about 35 um to about 70 um.
Booy teaches and wherein, optionally, the at least one metal layer has a thickness in a range of about 35 um to about 70 um (Similar to the metal coatings of the curtain plate, the metal coatings of the orifice plate can be formed of a variety of metals. By way of example, the metal coatings of the orifice and the curtain plates can be formed of gold-plated copper, gold, tin, silver or other suitable metals. For example, in one embodiment, copper can be coated with nickel and the nickel can then be coated with gold (e.g., via electrochemical deposition). Further, the metal coatings of the orifice and curtain plates can have a thickness, for example, in a range of about 20 to about 40 microns, though other suitable thicknesses can also be employed. For example, in one embodiment in which the metal coatings are formed by depositing a layer of nickel on copper and coating the nickel with gold, the copper layer can have, for example, a thickness of about 35 microns (page 4, para. [0001])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Booy such that the conductive coating of nickel on the electrical contact pad (conductive pad), disclosed in Verenchikov, is about 20 to 40 microns thick, as taught by the metal layer (metal coatings) of Booy. Doing so is substituting an art-recognized equivalent electrode structure which functions as a contact pad.
Claims 15, 16, 19, and 20, 24, 26, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verenchikov, Booy, and Garside, and in further view of Carney (WO 2019229457), hereinafter referred to as Carney.
US 12027359 B2 is a 371 national stage application to WO 2019229457 and is used for the convenience of citing columns and lines.
Regarding claim 15, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 14, further comprising a plurality of spacers disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of holes.
However, Carney teaches the ion mirror of claim 14, further comprising a plurality of spacers disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of holes (The Time of Flight analyser may further comprise a plurality of spacers (e.g. electrically insulating spacers) in between each of the electrodes in the stack of electrodes (col. 2, lines 33-35)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Vernichikov, to incorporate the teachings of Carney such that the ion mirror comprises the spacers disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of holes (alignement holes 13), disclosed in Verenchikov. Doing so provides electrical insulation to the various electrodes, allows the electrodes to maintain a defined separation distance (col. 2, lines 40-41), and assists in keeping the electrodes in parallel with a high level of precision (col. 30, lines 16-17).
Regarding claim 16, Vernichikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 15, wherein the spacers are substantially formed as washers exhibiting electrically insulating property, wherein the washers optionally comprise ceramic or PEEK.
However, Carney teaches wherein the spacers are substantially formed as washers exhibiting electrically insulating property, wherein the washers optionally comprise ceramic or PEEK (The spacers 188 may be constructed of any suitable electrically insulating material, for example a ceramic or plastic such as polyether ether ketone (“PEEK”) (col. 41, lines 40-42)).
.
Regarding claim 19, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror claim 15, wherein each of the spacers includes an inner hole at a center thereof.
However, Carney teaches teach the ion mirror claim 15, wherein each of the spacers includes an inner hole at a center thereof (one or more electrically insulating spacers 188 may be positioned around the rods 178 (col. 41, lines 34-35)).
Regarding claim 20, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 19, further comprising a first set of rods configured to align and mechanically join the plurality of mirror rings while passing through the inner hole in the spacers disposed at the plurality of mirror rings.
However, Carney teaches the ion mirror of claim 19, further comprising a first set of rods configured to align and mechanically join the plurality of mirror rings (fig. 20 as annotated below) while passing through the inner hole in the spacers disposed at the plurality of mirror rings (fig. 20 as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of carney such that a first set of rods (Carney; 814) is configured to align and mechanically join the plurality of mirror rings (Verenchikov; PCB electrodes 11) while passing though the inner hole in the spacers (Carney; 188) disposed at the plurality of mirror rings (Verenchikov; PCB electrodes 11). The motivation for using the first set of rods is clearly described in Carney as follows: “This may be seen as an improvement over conventional arrangements that mount the reflectron to portions of the housing, for example, or require screw threads and bolts in order to secure the stack of electrodes together. These embodiments also mean that any thermal and electrical isolation of the flight tube 160 remains intact, since no further support structure is required to mount or support the reflectron 170 to the flight tube 160 or within the analyser 110” (col. 41, lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 24, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 10, further comprising: an entrance grid plate disposed at an upstream end of the ion mirror; a middle grid plate disposed between the plurality of mirror rings; a mirror plate disposed at [[an]] a downstream end of the ion mirror, and optionally, wherein at least one post is disposed between the entrance grid plate and the middle grid plate, and between the middle grid plate and the mirror plate, wherein the at least one post maintains relative distances between the entrance grid plate, the middle grid plate, and the mirror plate, and wherein the at least one post comprises a non-conducting material.
However, Carney teaches the ion mirror of claim 10, further comprising: an entrance grid plate disposed at an upstream end of the ion mirror (A first grid electrode 174A (col 40, lines 44-45));
a middle grid plate disposed between the plurality of mirror rings (A second grid electrode 174B may be located between the first set of ring electrodes (col. 40, lines 48-49)) (fig. 20 as annotated below);
a mirror plate disposed at [[an]] a downstream end of the ion mirror (lower plate 176) (fig. 20 as annotated below),,
and optionally, wherein at least one post is disposed between the entrance grid plate and the middle grid plate, and between the middle grid plate and the mirror plate, wherein the at least one post maintains relative distances between the entrance grid plate, the middle grid plate, and the mirror plate (fig. 20 as annotated below),
and wherein the at least one post comprises a non-conducting material (optional limitation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Carney such by incorporating an entrance grid plate at an upstream end of the ion mirror, a middle grid plate disposed between the plurality of mirror rings, and a mirror plate disposed at a downstream end of the ion mirror. Incorporating an entrance grid and a middle grid and a mirror plate allows for the creation of different field regions throughout the reflectron.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Carney such that posts maintain the relative distances between the entrance grid plate, the middle grid plate, and the mirror plate. The rods disclosed in Carney assists in keeping the electrodes in parallel with a high level of precision (col. 30, lines 16-17), and the non-conductive material allows for electrical and thermal isolation of the flight tube. Further motivation includes: “This may be seen as an improvement over conventional arrangements that mount the reflectron to portions of the housing, for example, or require screw threads and bolts in order to secure the stack of electrodes together. These embodiments also mean that any thermal and electrical isolation of the flight tube 160 remains intact, since no further support structure is required to mount or support the reflectron 170 to the flight tube 160 or within the analyser 110” (col. 41, lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 26, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 20, wherein each of the plurality of mirror rings comprises at least one opening such that the opening of the mirror rings is in substantial register when the mirror rings are disposed in series relative to one another, and wherein the opening allows the at least one post to be inserted through the mirror ring sub-assembly without engaging with the mirror ring sub-assembly.
However, Carney teaches wherein each of the plurality of mirror rings comprises at least one opening such that the opening of the mirror rings is in substantial register when the mirror rings are disposed in series relative to one another, and wherein the opening allows the at least one post to be inserted through the mirror ring sub-assembly (Carney, fig. 20) without engaging with the mirror ring sub-assembly (In order to provide electrical isolation of the various electrodes 172 of the reflectron 170, one or more electrically insulating spacers 188 may be positioned around the rods 178 and between each of the electrodes 172, and between the topmost ring electrode 172 and the annular member 168 of the reflectron 170, as well as between the bottommost ring electrode 172 and the lower plate 176 of the reflectron 170 (col. 41, lines 33-39)).
Spacers 188 prevent the rods from engaging with the mirror ring assembly.
I would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Carney such that the mirror rings comprises at least one opening such that the opening of the mirror rings is in substantial register when the mirror rings are disposed in series relative to one another, and wherein the opening allows the at least one post to be inserted through the mirror ring sub-assembly without engaging with the mirror ring assembly. The motivation for doing so is as follows: “This may be seen as an improvement over conventional arrangements that mount the reflectron to portions of the housing, for example, or require screw threads and bolts in order to secure the stack of electrodes together. These embodiments also mean that any thermal and electrical isolation of the flight tube 160 remains intact, since no further support structure is required to mount or support the reflectron 170 to the flight tube 160 or within the analyser 110” (col. 41, lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 28, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 24, further comprising a second set of rods, wherein the at least one post comprises a hollow channel that extends along a longitudinal direction thereof, and wherein the second set of rods are inserted through the hollow in the at least one post, thereby fastening the upper post, the middle grid plate, and the lower post.
However, Carney teaches the ion mirror claim 24, further comprising a second set of rods, wherein the at least one post comprises a hollow channel that extends along a longitudinal direction thereof (protrusions 186), and wherein the second set of rods are inserted through the hollow in the at least one post, thereby fastening the upper post, the middle grid plate, and the lower post ( In the illustrated embodiment there are three protrusions 186, each configured to receive a respective one of the rods 178, although more or fewer could be provided, wherein the number of radially extending protrusions may correspond to the number of rods 178 that are used in a particular application (col. 40, line 59-67)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Carney such that a set of rods extends through a post with a hollow channel, fastening the upper post, middle grid plate, and lower post. The motivation for doing so is as follows: “This may be seen as an improvement over conventional arrangements that mount the reflectron to portions of the housing, for example, or require screw threads and bolts in order to secure the stack of electrodes together. These embodiments also mean that any thermal and electrical isolation of the flight tube 160 remains intact, since no further support structure is required to mount or support the reflectron 170 to the flight tube 160 or within the analyser 110” (col. 41, lines 21-29).
Regarding claim 29, Verenchikov fails to teach the ion mirror of claim 24,wherein the middle grid plate comprises: two plates, each having a window; and a grid interposed between the two plates in the window1 wherein the ion mirror optionally further comprises one or more middle grid washers that include an inner hole at a center thereof, wherein the middle grid plate comprises at least one hole, and wherein the middle grid washers are accommodated in the at least one hole formed in the middle grid plate, and the first set of rods are inserted through the inner hole of the middle grid washers.
Carney teaches the ion mirror of claim 24, wherein the middle grid plate comprises: two plates, each having a window; and a grid interposed between the two plates in the window1 window1 (A second grid electrode 174B may be located between the first set of ring electrodes 170A and the second set of ring electrodes 170B and may be supported by a suitable annular member (para. [0327 or col. 40, lines 48-51])) wherein the ion mirror optionally further comprises one or more middle grid washers that include an inner hole at a center thereof (spacers 188), wherein the middle grid plate comprises at least one hole, and wherein the middle grid washers are accommodated in the at least one hole formed in the middle grid plate, and the first set of rods are inserted through the inner hole of the middle grid washers (In order to provide electrical isolation of the various electrodes 172 of the reflectron 170, one or more electrically insulating spacers 188 may be positioned around the rods 178 and between each of the electrodes 172, and between the topmost ring electrode 172 and the annular member 168 of the reflectron 170, as well as between the bottommost ring electrode 172 and the lower plate 176 of the reflectron 170 (col. 41, lines 33-39)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to include the teachings of Carney such that the middle grid plate comprises: two plates, each having a window; and a grid interposed between the two plates in the window. Incorporating a middle grid allows for the creation of different field regions throughout the reflectron. Having such grid interposed between two plates, each having a window, produces the predictable result of allowing for the entrance of ions through the grid.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Verenchikov to incorporate the teachings of Carney such that the ion mirror optionally further comprises one or more middle grid washers that include an inner hole at a center thereof wherein the middle grid plate comprises at least one hole, and wherein the middle grid washers are accommodated in the at least one hole formed in the middle grid plate, and the first set of rods are inserted through the inner hole of the middle grid washers. Doing so maintains the middle grid in a precise parallel position with the plurality of the mirror rings.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Mica Einhorn whose telephone number is (571) 272-4641. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from Mon-Fri. 7:30am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert Kim can be reached on (571) 272-2293. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881