DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 and 13-21 are under consideration
Claims 11-12 are canceled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the first surface". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the sake of examination, the examiner will interpret “the first surface” as “a surface of the surface layer region”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto (US20180252995A1, published 2018).
Regarding claims 1-7, 9-10, 13-19, and 21,
Matsumoto teaches a mask blank and a phase shift mask [0001] comprising of a transparent substrate with an overlying phase shift film and a further overlying light-shielding film [0095, fig 1].
Matsumoto teaches an example where the phase shift film is formed of molybdenum (transition metal), silicon, oxygen, and nitrogen (MoSiON film, Mo: 3.2 atom %, Si: 49.1 atom %, O: 8.9 atom%, N: 38.8 atom %) with a thickness of 71 nm [0189]. Matsumoto teaches an oxide layer is formed on the surface of the phase shift film [0191], wherein a top portion of the phase shift film including the oxide layer (surface layer region, where the oxygen content would be greater than an internal region due to the oxidized layer) may be at least 5 nm thick, and a lower portion of the phase shift film (neighboring region) may be at least 5 nm thick, reading on instant claims 3-5 and 15-17.
In the above example, the ratio of a total content of nitrogen and oxygen to a content of the transition metal is 14.9, the phase shift film has a total content of the transition metal, silicon, nitrogen, and oxygen of 100 atom %, the ratio of a content of oxygen to a content of the transition metal is about 2.8, and the ratio of a content of the transition metal to a total content of the transition metal and silicon is about 0.06, reading on instant claims 1-2, 6-7, 10, 13-14, and 18-19.
Matsumoto teaches the phase shift film was measured for a transmittance and a phase difference at the wavelength (193 nm) of ArF excimer laser light with a phase shift amount measurement apparatus. The result was that the transmittance was 6.2%, and the phase difference was 177.3° [0191], reading on instant claims 9 and 21.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Matsumoto (US20180252995A1, published 2018).
Regarding claims 8 and 20,
Matsumoto teaches the above limitations set forth.
Matsumoto is silent to a Mo3d narrow spectrum in the internal region acquired by performing analysis by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy on the internal region, where a ratio of a maximum peak in a range where binding energy of the Mo3d narrow spectrum is 226 eV or more and 229 eV or less to a maximum peak in a range where the binding energy of the Mo3d narrow spectrum is 230 eV or more and 233 eV or less is less than 1.2.
However, as the composition of the phase shift film of Matsumoto aligns with that of the instant claims, the properties of the phase shift film of Matsumoto would be expected to be inherently the same, where the ratio of a maximum peak in a range where binding energy of the Mo3d narrow spectrum is 226 eV or more and 229 eV or less to a maximum peak in a range where the binding energy of the Mo3d narrow spectrum is 230 eV or more and 233 eV or less would be expected to be similarly and inherently less than 1.2, reading on instant claims 8 and 20.
Alternatively, as the composition of the phase shift film of Matsumoto aligns with that of the instant claims, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the ratio of a maximum peak in a range where binding energy of the Mo3d narrow spectrum is 226 eV or more and 229 eV or less to a maximum peak in a range where the binding energy of the Mo3d narrow spectrum is 230 eV or more and 233 eV or less may be less than 1.2, reading on instant claims 8 and 20.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20180031963A1, US20200117077A1, and US20050186485A1 each teach similar phase shift mask blanks comprising of Molybdenum.
/Alexander N. Lee/Examiner, Art Unit 1737