DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama (US 20130075761 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 20110043464 A1) and further in view of Koh et al. (US 20170117496 A1), in view of AI (US Pub No. 20210335902).
Regarding one interpretation of claim 1, Akiyama teaches a display apparatus (paragraph 0003) comprising:
a light-receiving device (300; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045);
a first light-emitting device (200; FIG. 3; paragraph 0044); and
an insulating layer (102, 202, 302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045; paragraph 0048),
wherein the light-receiving device comprises a first electrode (301; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048), a light-receiving layer (303, 305, 306; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050; paragraph 0052), and a common electrode (307; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052) that are stacked in this order,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a second electrode (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048), a first EL layer (203, 204, 205, 206; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051; paragraph 0052), and the common electrode (207; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052) that are stacked in this order,
wherein the light-receiving layer comprises a first functional layer (303; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050), a second functional layer (306; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052), and an active layer (305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) between the first functional layer and the second functional layer,
wherein the first EL layer comprises a third functional layer (203; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), a fourth functional layer (207; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052), and a first light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) between the third functional layer and the fourth functional layer, and
wherein the insulating layer comprises a region in contact (302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with a side surface of the light-receiving layer and a region in contact (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with a side surface of the first EL layer.
Akiyama does not teach the apparatus
wherein the first functional layer comprises a first substance having a hole-transport property,
wherein the second functional layer comprises a second substance having an electron-transport property,
wherein an end portion of the active layer, an end portion of the first functional layer, and an end portion of the second functional layer are aligned or substantially aligned with one another,
wherein the third functional layer comprises a third substance having a hole-transport property,
wherein the fourth functional layer comprises a fourth substance having an electron-transport property,
FIG. 4 of Lee et al. teaches a hole injection layer (33; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and a hole transport layer (34; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) disposed between the sensor first electrode (41; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and the organic light receiving layer (45; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and an electron transport layer (36; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and an electron injection layer (37; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) disposed between the organic light receiving layer and the sensor second electrode (48; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) while a hole transport layer (34; FIG. 4; paragraph 0049), an emission layer (35; FIG. 4; paragraph 0049) , and an electron transport layer (36; FIG. 4; paragraph 0049) are also stacked. Lee et al. does not teach the display apparatus wherein an end portion of the active layer, an end portion of the first functional layer, and an end portion of the second functional layer are aligned or substantially aligned with one another.
FIG. 1 of Koh et al. teaches a light-receiving device (paragraph 0028) with a rectangular active layer (150; FIG. 1; paragraph 0073) between a rectangular hole transport layer (120; FIG. 1; paragraph 0078) and a rectangular electron transport layer (170; FIG. 1; paragraph 0074), where all three layers are shown to be aligned with each other.
Akiyama, Lee et al., and Koh et al. are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve display apparatuses with light-receiving and light emitting devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have an active layer and a light-emitting layer between functional regions with hole transport and electron transport properties, where the layers are aligned. The hole-transport and electron-transport properties are known intermediate layers between the active layer/emission layer and the electrodes (Lee et al., paragraph 0029), and the alignment being the results of an embodiment using consistent rectangular shapes for the layers (Koh et al., paragraph 0068).
Regarding a second interpretation of claim 1, Akiyama teaches a display apparatus (paragraph 0003) comprising:
a light-receiving device (300; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045);
a first light-emitting device (200; FIG. 3; paragraph 0044); and
an insulating layer (102, 202, 302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045; paragraph 0048),
wherein the light-receiving device comprises a first electrode (301; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048), a light-receiving layer (303, 305, 306; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050; paragraph 0052), and a common electrode (307; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052) that are stacked in this order,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a second electrode (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048), a first EL layer (203, 204, 205, 206; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051; paragraph 0052), and the common electrode (207; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052) that are stacked in this order,
wherein the light-receiving layer comprises a first functional layer (306; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052), a second functional layer (303; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050), and an active layer (305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) between the first functional layer and the second functional layer,
wherein the first EL layer comprises a third functional layer (207; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052), a fourth functional layer (203; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), and a first light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) between the third functional layer and the fourth functional layer, and
wherein the insulating layer comprises a region in contact (302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with a side surface of the light-receiving layer and a region in contact (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with a side surface of the first EL layer.
Akiyama does not teach the apparatus
wherein the first functional layer comprises a first substance having a hole-transport property,
wherein the second functional layer comprises a second substance having an electron-transport property,
wherein an end portion of the active layer, an end portion of the first functional layer, and an end portion of the second functional layer are aligned or substantially aligned with one another,
wherein the third functional layer comprises a third substance having a hole-transport property,
wherein the fourth functional layer comprises a fourth substance having an electron-transport property,
FIG. 4 of Lee et al. teaches a hole injection layer (33; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and a hole transport layer (34; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) disposed between the sensor first electrode (41; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and the organic light receiving layer (45; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and an electron transport layer (36; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) and an electron injection layer (37; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) disposed between the organic light receiving layer and the sensor second electrode (48; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059) while a hole transport layer (34; FIG. 4; paragraph 0049), an emission layer (35; FIG. 4; paragraph 0049) , and an electron transport layer (36; FIG. 4; paragraph 0049) are also stacked. Lee et al. does not teach the display apparatus wherein an end portion of the active layer, an end portion of the first functional layer, and an end portion of the second functional layer are aligned or substantially aligned with one another.
FIG. 1 of Koh et al. teaches a light-receiving device (paragraph 0028) with a rectangular active layer (150; FIG. 1; paragraph 0073) between a rectangular hole transport layer (120; FIG. 1; paragraph 0078) and a rectangular electron transport layer (170; FIG. 1; paragraph 0074), where all three layers are shown to be aligned with each other.
Akiyama, Lee et al., and Koh et al. are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve apparatuses with light-receiving and light emitting devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have an active layer and a light-emitting layer between functional regions with hole transport and electron transport properties, where the layers are aligned. The hole-transport and electron-transport properties are known intermediate layers between the active layer/emission layer and the electrodes (Lee et al., paragraph 0029), and the alignment being the results of an embodiment using consistent rectangular shapes for the layers (Koh et al., paragraph 0068).
However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the first functional layer and the second functional layer are provided separately from the third functional layer and the fourth functional layer, respectively. On the other hand, AI discloses where in the first functional layer (107 for A1 or A2,Fig.3F) and the second functional layer (105 for A1 or A2) are provided separately from the third functional layer (107 for A3) and the fourth functional layer (105 for A3), respectively. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the arts cited above according to the teachings of the AI such that the first functional layer and the second functional layer are provided separately from the third functional layer and the fourth functional layer, in order to make effective display device and/or as design choice.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama does not teach the apparatus wherein the first substance is the same as the third substance.
FIG. 4 of Lee et al. teaches the equivalents of the first functional layer and the third functional layer, the hole transport layer (34; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059), are separate portions of a connected layer.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have the two functional layers made of the same substance. This allows both layers to function for hole-transport (paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama does not teach the apparatus wherein the second substance is the same as the fourth substance.
FIG. 4 of Lee et al. teaches the equivalents of the second functional layer and the fourth functional layer, the electron transport layer (36; FIG. 4; paragraph 0059), are separate portions of a connected layer.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have the two functional layers made of the same substance. This allows both layers to function for electron-transport (paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama further teaches the apparatus,
wherein the active layer (305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0078) comprises a fifth substance (paragraph 0080), and
wherein the first light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0082) comprises a sixth substance (paragraph 0082) different from the fifth substance.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the side surface of the light-receiving layer (303, 305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to a surface (301; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) where the light-receiving layer is formed.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the side surface of the first EL layer (203, 204, 205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) is perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to a surface (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) where the first EL layer is formed.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the first light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) has a smaller thickness in a region in contact with the insulating layer than a thickness in a region not in contact with the insulating layer (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama does not teach the apparatus wherein an end portion of the first light-emitting layer is positioned more inwardly than an end portion of the third functional layer and an end portion of the fourth functional layer.
FIG. 4 of Lee et al. shows the hole transport (34; FIG. 4; paragraph 0045) and electron transport (36; FIG. 4; paragraph 0045) layers extending past the end points of the emission layer (35; FIG. 4; paragraph 0045).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama so that an end portion of the first light-emitting layer is positioned more inwardly than an end portion of the third functional layer and an end portion of the fourth functional layer. This allows the intermediate layers to formed as common layers (paragraph 0069)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama further teaches the apparatus
wherein an end portion of the light-receiving layer (303, 305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) is positioned more inwardly than an end portion of the first electrode (301; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050), and
wherein the insulating layer (102, 202, 302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045; paragraph 0048) comprises a region in contact (302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with the side surface of the light-receiving layer and a region in contact (302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with a top surface and a side surface of the first electrode.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama further teaches the apparatus
wherein an end portion of the first EL layer (203, 204, 205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) is positioned more inwardly than an end portion of the first electrode (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), and
wherein the insulating layer (102, 202, 302; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045; paragraph 0048) comprises a region in contact (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with the side surface of the first EL and a region in contact (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048) with a top surface and a side surface of the second electrode.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the active layer (305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) comprises a region in contact with the first electrode (301; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) with the first functional layer (303; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) therebetween.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the second interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the active layer (305; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) comprises a region in contact with the first electrode (301; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) with the second functional layer (303; FIG. 3; paragraph 0050) therebetween.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the first light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) comprises a region overlapping with the second electrode (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) with the third functional layer (203; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) therebetween.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the display apparatus according to the second interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teaches the apparatus wherein the first light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) comprises a region overlapping with the second electrode (202; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) with the second functional layer (203; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) therebetween.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the claim apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 1 and FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teach the apparatus further comprising a second light-emitting device (20; FIG. 1; paragraph 0039),
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a third electrode (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048), a second EL layer (203, 204, 205, 206; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), and the common electrode (207; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052) that are stacked in this order, and
wherein the second EL layer comprises a fifth functional layer (203; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), a sixth functional layer (206; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052), and a second light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) between the fifth functional layer and the sixth functional layer.
Akiyama does not teach the apparatus, wherein the fifth functional layer comprises the third substance, and wherein the sixth functional layer comprises the fourth substance.
FIG. 3 of Lee et al. teaches a second emission area with the intermediate layer with the hole transport layer (34; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045) and the electron transport layer (36; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045) surrounding the emission layer (35; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045), being the same as in the first emission area.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have a second light-emitting layer between functional layers of the same material as the pair of functional layers surrounding the first emission layer. The hole-transport and electron-transport properties are known intermediate layers (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the claim apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. FIG. 1 and FIG. 3 of Akiyama further teach the apparatus further comprising a second light-emitting device (20; FIG. 1; paragraph 0039),
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a third electrode (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0048), a second EL layer (203, 204, 205, 206; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), and the common electrode (207; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052) that are stacked in this order, and
wherein the second EL layer comprises a fifth functional layer (203; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051), a sixth functional layer (206; FIG. 3; paragraph 0052), and a second light-emitting layer (205; FIG. 3; paragraph 0051) between the fifth functional layer and the sixth functional layer.
Akiyama does not teach the apparatus, wherein the fifth functional layer comprises the first substance, and wherein the sixth functional layer comprises the second substance.
FIG. 3 of Lee et al. teaches a second emission area with the intermediate layer with the hole transport layer (34; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045) and the electron transport layer (36; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045) surrounding the emission layer (35; FIG. 3; paragraph 0045), being the same as in the receiving area.
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have a second light-emitting layer between functional layers of the same material as the pair of functional layers surrounding the active layer. The hole-transport and electron-transport properties are known intermediate layers (paragraph 0029).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kahen et al. (US la20020171088 A1), in view of AI (US Pub No. 20210335902).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Akiyama in view of Lee et al. and further in view of Koh et al. teaches the claim apparatus according to the first interpretation of claim 1. Akiyama, Lee et al., and Koh et al. do not teach wherein an end portion of the first light-emitting layer, an end portion of the third functional layer, and an end portion of the fourth functional layer are aligned or substantially aligned with one another.
FIG. 3 of Kahen et al. teaches an electron transport layer (245; FIG. 3; paragraph 0030), an organic light emitting layer (250; FIG. 3; paragraph 0030), and an electron transport layer (55; FIG. 3; paragraph 0030) stacked and having aligned endings.
Akiyama, Lee et al., Koh et al., and Kahen et al. are analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve display apparatuses with light emitting devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Akiyama to have an end portion of the first light-emitting layer, an end portion of the third functional layer, and an end portion of the fourth functional layer are aligned or substantially aligned with one another. This is a result of depositing the materials uniformly (paragraph 0013).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817