DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s 01/13/2026 Amendments/Arguments, which directly amended claims 39-42, 46-48; add new claims 49-56; and traversed the rejections of the claims of the 09/30/2025 Office Action are acknowledged.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 37-48 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-12 of copending Application No. 19/252,046 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Application 18/560,851
37. A terminal device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program code;
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to:
determine a first configuration of a measurement window for satellite positioning;
transmit, to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating the first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning;
measure a satellite positioning signal within the window, and
transmit a measurement report for satellite positioning to the network device, wherein the terminal device and the network device communicate avoiding performing data transmissions during the measurement window.
38. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine, from a set of candidate configurations of the window, the first configuration, the set of candidate configurations received from the network device or predefined at the terminal device.
39. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine, from a set of candidate configurations of the window, the first configuration, the set of candidate configurations received from the network device or predefined at the terminal device, and wherein the set of candidate configurations comprises at least one of a candidate window size, a candidate periodicity, a candidate offset, a candidate starting time of the window.
40. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the first configuration is determined based on at least one of:
a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information, a channel status of a channel experienced by the terminal device, a moving speed of the terminal device, a system frame number received from the network device, a time for last transmission of the first message, a starting or end position of a last window for satellite positioning.
41. The terminal device of Claim 40, wherein the first configuration is determined based on at least one of: a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information, a channel status of a channel experienced by the terminal device, moving speed of the terminal device, a system frame number received from the network device, a time for last transmission of the first message, a starting or end position of a last window for satellite positioning, the terminal device further being caused to:
in accordance with a determination that a changing rate of the channel characteristics exceeds a changing rate threshold or the channel characteristics exceeds a threshold of channel characteristics, determine the first configuration of the window, the changing rate threshold and the threshold of channel characteristics configured by the network device or predefined at the terminal device.
42. The terminal device of Claim 40, the first configuration is determined based on at least one of: a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information, a channel status of a channel experienced by the terminal device, moving speed of the terminal device, a system frame number received from the network device, a time for last transmission of the first message, a starting or end position of a last window for satellite positioning, the terminal device further being caused to:
in accordance with a determination that a moving speed of the terminal device exceeds a speed threshold, determine the first configuration of the window, the speed threshold configured by the network device or predefined at the terminal device.
43. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of a window size, an offset, a periodicity or a starting time of the window required by the terminal device for acquiring position information.
44. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the first configuration comprises at least one
of a window size, an offset, a periodicity or a starting time of the window required by the terminal device for acquiring position information, and wherein the window size is a maximum window size requested by the terminal device and/or the periodicity is the requested minimum periodicity.
45. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the first message comprises one of the first configuration, or an indicator of the first configuration.
46. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein a frequency for the terminal device to transmit the first message is based on a change of a channel characteristics of a channel between the terminal device and a satellite providing positioning information, or configured by the network device or predefined at the terminal device and the network device.
47. The terminal device of Claim 37, wherein the avoiding performing data transmissions during the measurement window comprises:
transmitting data to another terminal device at a first time duration not overlapping with the window; or
receiving data from the another terminal device at a second time duration not overlapping with the window.
48. A method comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a first configuration for a measurement window for satellite positioning;
transmitting, by the terminal device to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating a first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning;
measuring, by the terminal device, a satellite positioning signal within the window, and transmitting a measurement report for satellite positioning to the network device, wherein the terminal device and the network device communicate avoiding performing data transmission during the measurement window.
Copending Application 19/252,046
1. A terminal device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program code;
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to,
with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to:
determine a first configuration of a measurement window for satellite
positioning;
transmit, to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating the first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning;
measure a satellite positioning signal within the window, and
transmit a measurement report for satellite positioning to the network device, wherein the terminal device and the network device communicate avoiding performing data
transmissions during the measurement window.
2. The terminal device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the terminal device to:
determine, from a set of candidate configurations of the window, the first
configuration, the set of candidate configurations received from the network device or predefined at the terminal device.
3. The first device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer
program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the terminal
device to:
determine, from a set of candidate configurations of the window, the first configuration, the set of candidate configurations received from the network device or predefined at the terminal device, and wherein the set of candidate configurations comprises at least one of a candidate window size, a candidate periodicity, a candidate offset, a candidate starting time of the window.
4. The first device of Claim 1, wherein the first configuration is determined based
on at least one of:
a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information, a channel status of a channel experienced by the terminal device, a moving speed of the terminal device, a system frame number received from the network device, a time for last transmission of the first message, a starting or end position of a last window for satellite positioning.
5. The first device of Claim 4, wherein the first configuration is determined based on at least one of: a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information, a
channel status of a channel experienced by the terminal device, moving speed of the terminal
device, a system frame number received from the network device, a time for last transmission of the first message, a starting or end position of a last window for satellite positioning, the terminal device further being caused to:
in accordance with a determination that a changing rate of the channel characteristics exceeds a changing rate threshold or the channel characteristics exceeds a threshold of channel characteristics, determine the first configuration of the window, the changing rate threshold and the threshold of channel characteristics configured by the network device or predefined at the terminal device.
6. The first device of Claim 4, the first configuration is determined based on at least
one of: a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information, a channel status of a channel experienced by the terminal device, moving speed of the terminal device, a system frame number received from the network device, a time for last transmission of the first message, a starting or end position of a last window for satellite positioning, the terminal device further being caused to:
in accordance with a determination that a moving speed of the terminal device exceeds a speed threshold, determine the first configuration of the window, the speed
threshold configured by the network device or predefined at the terminal device.
7. The terminal device of Claim 1, wherein the first configuration comprises at least
one of a window size, an offset, a periodicity or a starting time of the window required by the terminal device for acquiring position information.
8. The terminal device of Claim 1, wherein the first configuration comprises at least one of a window size, an offset, a periodicity or a starting time of the window required by the
terminal device for acquiring position information, and wherein the window size is a maximum window size requested by the terminal device and/or the periodicity is the
requested minimum periodicity.
9. The terminal device of Claim 1, wherein the first message comprises one of the first configuration, or an indicator of the first configuration.
10. The first device of Claim 1, wherein a frequency for the terminal device to transmit the first message is based on a change of a channel characteristics of a channel between the terminal device and a satellite providing positioning information, or configured by the network device or predefined at the terminal device and the network device.
11. The first device of Claim 1, wherein the avoiding performing data transmissions
during the measurement window comprises::
transmitting data to the second device at a first time duration not overlapping with
the window; or
receiving data from the second device at a second time duration not overlapping
with the window.
12. A method comprising:
determining a first configuration for a measurement window for satellite
positioning;
transmitting, by a terminal device to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating a first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning;
measuring a satellite positioning signal within the window, and
transmitting a measurement report for satellite positioning to the network device, wherein the terminal device and the network device communicate avoiding performing data
transmission during the measurement window.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 37-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Initially, the following is noted.
“Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (discussing recent cases wherein the court expressly rejected the contention that if a patent describes only a single embodiment, the claims of the patent must be construed as being limited to that embodiment); E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“Interpretation of descriptive statements in a patent’s written description is a difficult task, as an inherent tension exists as to whether a statement is a clear lexicographic definition or a description of a preferred embodiment. The problem is to interpret claims ‘in view of the specification’ without unnecessarily importing limitations from the specification into the claims.”); Altiris Inc. v. Symantec Corp., 318 F.3d 1363, 1371, 65 USPQ2d 1865, 1869-70 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (Although the specification discussed only a single embodiment, the court held that it was improper to read a specific order of steps into method claims where, as a matter of logic or grammar, the language of the method claims did not impose a specific order on the performance of the method steps, and the specification did not directly or implicitly require a particular order). When an element is claimed using language falling under the scope of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 6th paragraph (often broadly referred to as means- (or step-) plus- function language), the specification must be consulted to determine the structure, material, or acts corresponding to the function recited in the claim, and the claimed element is construed as limited to the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. In re Donaldson, 16 F.3d 1189, 29 USPQ2d 1845 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (see MPEP § 2181- MPEP § 2186).
Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1323 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (referring to “the danger” of importing claim limitations from the specification). See also Varco, L.P. v. Pason Sys. USA Corp., 436 F.3d 1368, 1373 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (stating how the Federal Circuit “will not at any time” bring in claim limitations from the specification); Comark Commc'ns, Inc. v. Harris Corp., 156 F.3d 1182, 1186-67 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (following that limitations from the specification are not to be read into the claims).
The claim fails to clearly and distinctly define the metes and bound of the inventive subject matter.
Regarding claims 37 and 48, the claims are rejected as being incomplete for omitting essential step(s) or an end result. The omitted step(s) is the step(s) wherein the claimed limitation is actually doing something tangible with the end result, i.e. the measurement report of satellite positioning is put to use or output a concrete result.
Other claims are also rejected based on their dependency of the defected parent claim(s).
It is Applicant’s responsibility to draft a clear and concise set of claims defining the metes and bounds of Applicant’s invention. Applicant should review all of the outstanding claims in response hereto. All of the claims should be reviewed for issues related to clarity and scope as the errors/issues are not constrained to those listed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 37-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the terminal device and method of enhancements on satellite positioning measurement that is accomplished through a series of mental processes. The claims also require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities (i.e. generic computer/processor disclosed throughout Applicant’s disclosure). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because all claims elements, both individually and in combination, are directed to the manipulation of data by a general purpose computer and/or performing by a person. Thus, it does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
An invention is patent-eligible if it claims a “new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.” 35 U.S.C. § 101. However, the Supreme Court has long interpreted 35 U.S.C. § 101 to include implicit exceptions: “[l]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas” are not patentable. E.g., Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 216 (2014).
In determining whether a claim falls within an excluded category, we are guided by the Supreme Court’s two-step framework, described in Mayo and Alice. Id. at 217—18 (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 75—77 (2012)). In accordance with that framework, we first determine what concept the claim is “directed to.” See Alice, 573 U.S. at 219 (“On their face, the claims before us are drawn to the concept of intermediated settlement, i.e., the use of a third party to mitigate settlement risk.”); see also Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611 (2010) (“Claims 1 and 4 in petitioners’ application explain the basic concept of hedging, or protecting against risk.”).
Concepts determined to be abstract ideas, and thus patent ineligible, include certain methods of organizing human activity, such as fundamental economic practices {Alice, 573 U.S. at 219—20, Bilski, 561 U.S. at 611); mathematical formulas {Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 594—95 (1978)); and mental processes {Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 69 (1972)). Concepts determined to be patent eligible include physical and chemical processes, such as “molding rubber products” {Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 (1981)); “tanning, dyeing, making waterproof cloth, vulcanizing India rubber, smelting ores” {id. at 184 n.7 (quoting Corning v. Burden, 56 U.S. 252, 267—68 (1854))); and manufacturing flour {Benson, 409 U.S. at 69 (citing Cochrane v. Deener, 94 U.S. 780, 785 (1876))).
In Diehr, the claim at issue recited a mathematical formula, but the Supreme Court held that “[a] claim drawn to subject matter otherwise statutory does not become nonstatutory simply because it uses a mathematical formula.” Diehr, 450 U.S. at 176; see also id. at 192 (“We view respondents’ claims as nothing more than a process for molding rubber products and not as an attempt to patent a mathematical formula.”). Having said that, the Supreme Court also indicated that a claim “seeking patent protection for that formula in the abstract...is not accorded the protection of our patent laws,…and this principle cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment.” Id. (citing Benson and Flook); see, e.g., id. at 187 (“It is now commonplace that an application of a law of nature or mathematical formula to a known structure or process may well be deserving of patent protection.”).
If the claim is “directed to” an abstract idea, we turn to the second step of the Alice and Mayo framework, where “we must examine the elements of the claim to determine whether it contains an ‘inventive concept’ sufficient to ‘transform’ the claimed abstract idea into a patent- eligible application.” Alice, 573 U.S. at 221 (quotation marks omitted). “A claim that recites an abstract idea must include ‘additional features’ to ensure ‘that the [claim] is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the [abstract idea].”” Id. ((alteration in the original) quoting Mayo, 566 U.S. at 77). “[M]erely requiring] generic computer implementation fail[s] to transform that abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.” Id.
The PTO recently published revised guidance on the application of § 101. USPTO’s January 7, 2019 Memorandum, 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“Memorandum”). Under Step 2A of that guidance, we first look to whether the claim recites:
(1) any judicial exceptions, including certain groupings of abstract ideas (i.e., mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity such as a fundamental economic practice, or mental processes); and
(2) additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h)).
Only if a claim (1) recites a judicial exception and (2) does not integrate that exception into a practical application, do we then look to whether the claim:
(3) adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not “well-understood, routine, conventional” in the field (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)); or
(4) simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Analysis
Step 1 – Statutory Category
Claim 37 (and its dependents) recites a terminal device. Thus, the claim is a machine and/or manufacture, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 48 (and its dependents) recites a method. Thus, the claim is a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One – Recitation of Judicial Exception
Step 2A of the 2019 Guidance is a two-prong inquiry. In Prong One, we evaluate whether the claims recites a judicial exception. For abstract ideas, Prong One represents a change as compared to prior guidance because we here determine whether the claim recites mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes.
Claim 48, and similarly claim 37, recites the steps of:
determining, by a terminal device, a first configuration for a measurement window for satellite positioning;
measuring, by the terminal device, a satellite positioning signal within the window
The “determining” step may be performed in the human mind using observation and evaluation.
The “measuring” step may be practically performed in the human mind observation and evaluation.
Therefore, such steps of as claimed in claims 37 and 48 encompass processes that can be performed mentally; thus, fall within “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
In addition, dependent claims 38-47 and 49-56 further claiming information gleaned from the mental processes and/or mathematical calculations.
Regarding claims 38-47 and 49-56, the further steps of determining the first configuration as claimed may be practically performed in the human mind observation, evaluation, opinion, and judgment.
Therefore, dependent claims 38-47 and 49-56 also falls within the “mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Since the claims recite an abstract idea, the analysis proceeds to Prong Two to determine whether the claim is “directed to” the judicial exception.
Step 2A, Prong Two – Practical Application
If a claim recites a judicial exception, in Prong Two we next determine whether the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application of that exception by: (a) identifying whether there are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception(s); and (b) evaluating those additional elements individually and in combination to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application.
If the recited judicial exception is integrated into a practical application, the claim is not directed to the judicial exception. This evaluation requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The only additional elements of claim 48, and similarly claim 37, are “transmitting, by a terminal device to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating a first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning; transmitting a measurement report for satellite positioning to the network device, wherein the terminal device and the network device communicate avoiding performing data transmission during the measurement window”. These limitations, at a high-level of generality, merely recites data communication and gathering steps for further analyzing/determining steps. As such, it amounts to no more than insignificant extra--solution activity to the judicial exception. Further, claims 37-56 require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities (i.e. generic computer/processor disclosed throughout Applicant’s disclosure). The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because all claims elements, both individually and in combination, are directed to the manipulation of data by a general purpose computer and/or performing by a person. Accordingly, it does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application of the exception.
Step 2B – Inventive Concept
For Step 2B of the analysis, it is determined whether the claim adds a specific limitation beyond the judicial exception that is not “well-understood, routine, convention” in the field.
As stated above, claims 37-56 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Since this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements amount to no more than data gathering steps and mental processes. Merely adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception does not provide an inventive concept.
The courts have considered the following examples to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity: i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network).
As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claims are patent ineligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37, 40, 43, 45, 48, 51, 54, and 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi et al (WO 2021/037645 which is equivalent to US 2022/0279404 wherein the citations are incorporated herein).
Regarding claims 37 and 45, and similarly claims 48 and 56, Wakabayashi et al disclose a terminal device (i.e. communication device / UE 208) (Fig 4; Fig 10 above; [0075]) comprising:
at least one processor (i.e. “processor circuitry 208b (which may also be referred to as a processor/processor unit/controller)”) (Fig 4; [0075]); and
at least one memory including computer program code (i.e. “a microprocessor, a CPU, or a dedicated chipset, etc., configured to carry out instructions which are stored on a computer readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory. The processing steps described herein may be carried out by, for example, a microprocessor in conjunction with a random access memory, operating according to instructions stored on a computer readable medium”) ([0076]);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the terminal device to:
determine a first configuration of a measurement window for satellite positioning (i.e. determine measurement gap parameter) (Fig 10 above – S1208; [0164]; [0168]-[0172]);
measure a satellite positioning signal within the window (i.e. perform measurement) (Fig 10 above – S1210; [0165]; [0167]), and
transmit a measurement report for satellite positioning to the network device (i.e. measurement report) (Fig 10 above – S1254; [0166]), wherein the terminal device and the network device communicate avoiding performing data transmissions during the measurement window (i.e. refrain from transmitting downlink data to UE / scheduling uplink data) (Fig 10 above – S1214; [0169]).
Wakabayashi et al do not explicitly disclose transmit, to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating the first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning, wherein the first message comprises one of the first configuration, or an indicator of the first configuration as claimed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, to a network device serving the terminal device, a first message for indicating the first configuration of the measurement window for satellite positioning, wherein the first message comprises one of the first configuration, or an indicator of the first configuration, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claims 40, and similarly claim 51, Wakabayashi et al disclose the first configuration is determined based on a capability of the terminal device to acquire position information (i.e. perform measurement) (Fig 10 above – S1210; [0165]; [0167]). While patent drawings are not drawn to scale, relationships clearly shown in the drawings of a reference patent cannot be disregarded in determining the patentability of claims. See In re Mraz, 59 CCPA 866, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (1972).
Regarding claim 43, and similarly claim 54, Wakabayashi et al disclose the first configuration comprises a periodicity of the window required by the terminal device for acquiring position information ([0167]-[0168]).
For applicant’s benefit portions of the cited reference(s) have been cited to aid in the review of the rejection(s). While every attempt has been made to be thorough and consistent within the rejection it is noted that the PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS. See MPEP 2141.02 VI.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 37, 40, 43, 45, 48, 51, 54, and 56 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference to Wakabayashi et al. Rejections based on the newly cited reference is stated above.
Claims 38-39, 41-42, 44, 46-47, 49-50, 52-53, and 55 are rejected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if overcome 35 USC 112(b), 35 USC 101, and double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0380237 discloses a method for performing wireless communication by a first device and a device supporting the method. The method may comprise the steps of: obtaining a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration; obtaining an SL positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration; transmitting a first SL PRS to a second device on the basis of the SL PRS configuration; and transmitting a third SL PRS to the second device on the basis of the SL PRS configuration. For example, a time interval from the time associated with the first SL PRS to the time associated with the third SL PRS may be an active time of the first device associated with the SL DRX configuration.
US 12,389,447 discloses an information processing method, comprising: a terminal device receives position indication information sent from a network device, at least one bit of the position indication information indicating a first set comprising at least one synchronization signal block (SSB) position index, and the position indication information indicating the position where SSB measurement needs to be performed in a measurement window. Also disclosed are an information processing method, a terminal device, a network device, and a storage medium.
WO 2024/140823 discloses an information transmission method and a communication device, which can improve the sensing performance of sensing applications and/or ISP applications in WPANs. The method comprises: a first device measuring a first signal according to first configuration information so as to obtain a first pre-measurement result, and sending the first pre-measurement result to a second device, wherein the first signal is used for sensing information of an object, and the first pre-measurement result comprises time deviation information between the first device and the second device, channel response information, and the positioning result of the first device.
/CHUONG P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646