DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 14 November 2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “61”.
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding Fig. 1, multiple reference characters have been used to designate the same structural element (“7” and “71”; “7” and “72”; “7” and “73”). Only one reference character and its associated lead line should be used to designate a particular structural element. Figs. 2 and 4 - 12 contain similar errors.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of paragraph 0025, it appears to Examiner that “Fig. 3” should be changed to “Fig. 2”.
In line 16 of paragraph 0026, it appears to Examiner that “Fig. 3” should be changed to “Fig. 2”.
In line 1 of paragraph 0027, it appears to Examiner that “Fig. 2” should be changed to “Fig. 3”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3 of claim 1, “a pipeline” should be changed to “the pipeline”.
In line 8 of claim 1, “an inside” should be changed to “the inside”.
In line 3 of claim 6, “a pipeline” should be changed to “the pipeline”.
In line 7 of claim 6, “an inside” should be changed to “the inside”.
In line 5 of claim 7, “an outside” should be changed to “the outside” and “an inside” should be changed to “the inside”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear whether “an opening” at the end portion recited in line 3 refers to “an opening” at an end portion as recited in line 3 of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends, or if it represents an additional structural limitation. For purposes of examination, the opening recited in claim 3 and the opening as recited in claim 2 have been interpreted as referring to the same structural limitation.
Regarding claim 12, the phrase “wire-shaped member” as recited in line 2 renders the claim vague and indefinite because “wire-shaped” does not clearly define the shape of the member. For example, wires can have a single linear strand or can be helical in shape. Therefore, it is not possible for Examiner to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. Claims 13 and 15 contain similar errors.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the claims:
Claim 1, line 5: “the inside”
Claim 6, line 4: “the inside”
Claim 6, line 6: “the cut pieces”
Claim 7, line 4: “the end portion”
Claim 9, line 2: “the extending direction”
Claim 13, line 2: “the cutting pieces”. Examiner has interpreted the aforementioned limitation as “the cut pieces”, as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 12, and 14 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakao et al. (JP 3-272381).
Regarding claim 1, Nakao discloses a method for removing an underground pipeline, comprising: an insertion process of inserting a cutting device (cutting tool) into the pipeline (1a) from a front side toward a back side of the pipeline; a cutting process of spirally cutting the pipeline (spiral body 11) from the inside with the cutting device to form cut pieces, wherein the cut pieces are in strip-like form; and a collection process of drawing out the cut pieces (spiral body 11 is drawn out and wound onto winder 4) from the front side to an outside through an inside of the pipeline (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 2, Nakao further discloses in the collection process, the cut pieces (11) are drawn into the pipeline (1a) from the back side of the pipeline, and the cut pieces are drawn (via winder 4) to the outside from an opening at an end portion of the pipeline on the front side through the inside (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 4, Nakao further discloses a heating process (gas cylinder 6; oxygen cylinder 3; torch 3a; flame ports 3c) of heating the pipeline (1a), wherein the collection process is performed after the heating process (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001). Examiner notes that Nakao teaches applying the heating process to the pipeline, then removing the heating tool, and then using the winder to collect the strip-like pieces (see page 2 of the translated description provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 6, Nakao discloses a device for removing an underground pipeline, comprising: a cutting device (cutting tool) that is inserted into the pipeline (1a) from a front side of the pipeline and cuts the pipeline spirally (spiral body 11) from the inside to form a strip-like cut piece; and a collection device (winder 4) that draws out the cut pieces from the front side to an outside through an inside of the pipeline (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 9, Nakao further discloses the cutting device includes a blade portion (blade portion, not shown), and the blade portion rotates inside the pipeline (1a) with the extending direction of the pipeline as a rotation axis for spirally cutting (11) the pipeline from inside the pipeline into the cut pieces (Figs. 1 and 2; page 2 of the translated description provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 11, Nakao further discloses in the collection process, the cutting device (3) moves toward the front side of the pipeline (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 12, Nakao further discloses the cutting device (3) attaches to a support shaft (unlabeled shaft attached to the end of torch 3a opposite flame port 3c, the unlabeled shaft having a reduced diameter relative to the diameter of the torch 3a), wherein the support shaft includes a wire-shaped member for supporting the cutting device inside the pipeline (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 14, Nakao further discloses the pipeline (1a) is embedded underground (Figs. 1 and 2; abstract; paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 15, Nakao further discloses the heating process uses a heating device (torch 3a) to heat the pipeline (1a), and wherein the heating device attaches to a support shaft (unlabeled shaft attached to the end of torch 3a opposite flame port 3c, the unlabeled shaft having a reduced diameter relative to the diameter of the torch 3a), wherein the support shaft includes a wire-shaped member for supporting the heating device inside the pipeline (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001).
Regarding claim 16, Nakao further discloses the heating process softens the pipeline (1a) for drawing out the cut pieces (11) from the front side of the pipeline (paragraph 0001).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao et al. in view of Goncalves (US 5,487,411). Nakao discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the pipeline is heated with water vapor. Goncalves teaches the pipeline is heated with water vapor (abstract; col. 4, lines 24 - 31). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted a pipeline heater comprising water vapor as taught by for the heating apparatus as disclosed by Nakao as a design consideration within the skill of the art. The substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 82 USPQ2d 1385(2007).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao et al. Nakao discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the cutting device moves from the front side of the pipeline toward the backside of the pipeline while spirally cutting the pipeline. Nakao discloses the cutting tool (3) moves from the back side of the pipeline toward the front side of the pipeline while spirally cutting the pipeline (Figs. 1 and 2; paragraph 0001). However, since Nakao teaches the cutting tool is removed before removing the cut pieces, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above such that the cutting device moves from the front side of the pipeline toward the backside of the pipeline while spirally cutting the pipeline as a design consideration within the skill of the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7, 8, and 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
9/26/2025