NON-FINAL REJECTION
This application is a 35 U.S.C. 371 (national stage) application of PCT/EP2022/063653, filed May 19, 2022, which claims benefit of foreign priority to EP application 21382455.0, filed May 19, 2021.
Claims 52-70, as amended, are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim to foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on Apr. 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 52-54, 60, and 62 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Marchante et al. (WO 2018/197663) and Saadh et al. (Sys. Rev. Pharm. 11(8):98-101 (2020)) (both cited on the IDS dated 4/12/2024).
Marchante et al. exemplify the compound of formula (I) as compound 4-S (Example 1, p. 82; a.k.a. ecubectedin or PM14), having the structural formula,
.
Marchante et al. further exemplify the administration of compound 4-S in the treatment of three xenograft mouse models of human prostate cancer, corresponding to cell lines PC-3, DU-145, and 22Rv1 (Example 39, p. 195).
In Example 39, compound 4-S was intravenously administered once per week for 3 consecutive weeks, on Days 0, 7, and 14 (p. 196, lines 6-7), at the following dosages:
Mouse Xenograft Cell line
4-S Dosage in mg/kg
4-S Dosage in mg/m2
PC-3
1.25
3.75
DU-145
1.00
3.00
22Rv1
0.75
2.25
As evidenced by, e.g., Saadh et al. (Table 1), a multiplier of 3 is used to convert a mouse dosage in mg/kg to dosage in mg/m2, as shown in the table above. At all dosages, compound 4-S is demonstrated to achieve significant reductions in mean tumor volume compared to placebo (Tables 73, 74, and 75, pp. 196-198).
Marchante et al. further disclose that the preferred route of administration is intravenous, most preferably with an infusion time of 1 to 6 hours. Infusion may be carried out at suitable intervals of, for example, 1 to 4 weeks (p. 73, line 24 to p. 74, line 2).
Marchante et al. differs from the claims in that the administration of compound 4-S at a dose of 4.5 mg/m2, with an infusion time of 3 hours, as recited by claim 52, is not exemplified.
However, Marchante et al. disclose that, for intravenous administration, suitable doses are from about 0.1 mg/kg to about 250 mg/kg of the animal's body weight, preferably from about 0.1 mg/kg and about 20 mg/kg of the animal's body weight, and more preferably from about 1 mg/kg to about 10 mg/kg of the animal's body weight (p. 75, lines 3-6).
Marchante et al. teach that an effective amount of the compound will depend on the nature of the disorder or condition, and can be determined by standard clinical techniques. In addition, in vitro or in vivo assays can optionally be employed to help identify optimal dosage ranges. The precise dose to be employed in the compositions will also depend on the seriousness of the disease or disorder, and should be decided according to the judgment of the practitioner and each patient's circumstances; for example, the type of tumor, age, body weight, sex, diet, time of administration, rate of excretion, condition of the host, drug combinations, reaction sensitivities, and severity of the disease should be taken into account (p. 74, lines 11-25).
Thus, Marchante et al. disclose, teach, and suggest methods of treating cancer comprising administering the compound of formula (I), wherein the compound is administered intravenously on day 1 once every three weeks – i.e., on Days 0, 7, and 14 – at a dose of 4.5 mg/m2, with an infusion time of three hours, as recited by claim 52.
The methods of Marchante et al. are disclosed in the treatment of various cancers, e.g., in a human, by administering a therapeutically effective amount of compound 4-S, preferably lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, colon cancer, breast cancer, pancreas cancer, sarcoma, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, and gastric cancer (p. 76, line 15 to p. 77, line 4; claims 118-119), as recited by claims 53 and 54.
Marchante et al. exemplify the administration of compound 4-S to mice with human fibrosarcoma xenografts (Example 29a), as recited by claim 60.
The compounds of Marchante et al. are also disclosed in the form of pharmaceutically acceptable salts, including hydrochloride, hydrobromide, hydroiodide, sulfate, nitrate, phosphate, acetate, trifluoroacetate, maleate, fumarate, citrate, oxalate, succinate, tartrate, malate, mandelate, methanesulfonate and p-toluenesulfonate sodium, potassium, calcium, ammonium, ethylenediamine, ethanolamine, N,N-dialkylenethanolamine, triethanolamine and basic amino acids (p. 16, line 21 to p. 17, line 6), as recited by claim 62.
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the filing date to modify the methods of treating cancer disclosed by Marchante et al. by optimizing the infusion time and dosage of compound 4-S with a reasonable expectation of success, because the reference itself teaches that adjusting drug administration, schedules, and dosages based on patient-specific variables are within the judgment of a skilled clinician.
As recognized by MPEP § 2144.05,
Generally, differences in concentration or tempera-ture will not support the patentability of subject mat-ter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Double Patenting
Claims 52-54 and 62 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 46 and 47 of U.S. Patent No. US 10,538,535 in view of Marchante et al. (WO 2018/197663) and Saadh et al. (Sys. Rev. Pharm. 11(8):98-101 (2020) (both cited on the IDS dated 4/12/2024).
Reference claims 46-47 are drawn to methods of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof, including lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, colon cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, pancreas cancer, sarcoma, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, and gastric cancer, comprising administering to said patient a therapeutically effective amount of the compound according to claim 18, having the structural formula,
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, e.g., hydrochloride, which is identical to the compound of formula (I) as recited by the examined claims (a.k.a. ecubectedin or PM14).
The reference claims differ from the examined claims in that the reference claims do not recite administering the compound intravenously on Day 1 once every three weeks at a dose of 4.5 mg/m2, with an infusion time of three hours, as recited by examined claim 52.
However, Marchante et al. exemplify the administration of compound 4-S (identical to the compound of reference claim 18, and to formula (I) of examined claim 52) in the treatment of three xenograft mouse models of human prostate cancer, corresponding to cell lines PC-3, DU-145, and 22Rv1 (Example 39, p. 195).
In Example 39, compound 4-S was intravenously administered once per week for 3 consecutive weeks, on Days 0, 7, and 14 (p. 196, lines 6-7), at the following dosages:
Mouse Xenograft Cell line
4-S Dosage in mg/kg
4-S Dosage in mg/m2
PC-3
1.25
3.75
DU-145
1.00
3.00
22Rv1
0.75
2.25
As evidenced by, e.g., Saadh et al. (Table 1), a multiplier of 3 is used to convert a mouse dosage in mg/kg to dosage in mg/m2, as shown in the table above. At all dosages, compound 4-S is demonstrated to achieve significant reductions in mean tumor volume compared to placebo (Tables 73, 74, and 75, pp. 196-198).
Marchante et al. further disclose that the preferred route of administration is intravenous, most preferably with an infusion time of 1 to 6 hours. Infusion may be carried out at suitable intervals of, for example, 1 to 4 weeks (p. 73, line 24 to p. 74, line 2).
Marchante et al. disclose that, for intravenous administration, suitable doses are from about 0.1 mg/kg to about 250 mg/kg of the animal's body weight, preferably from about 0.1 mg/kg and about 20 mg/kg of the animal's body weight, and more preferably from about 1 mg/kg to about 10 mg/kg of the animal's body weight (p. 75, lines 3-6).
Marchante et al. teach that an effective amount of the compound will depend on the nature of the disorder or condition, and can be determined by standard clinical techniques. In addition, in vitro or in vivo assays can optionally be employed to help identify optimal dosage ranges. The precise dose to be employed in the compositions will also depend on the seriousness of the disease or disorder, and should be decided according to the judgment of the practitioner and each patient's circumstances; for example, the type of tumor, age, body weight, sex, diet, time of administration, rate of excretion, condition of the host, drug combinations, reaction sensitivities, and severity of the disease should be taken into account (p. 74, lines 11-25).
Thus, Marchante et al. disclose, teach, and suggest methods of treating cancer comprising administering the compound of formula (I), wherein the compound is administered intravenously on day 1 once every three weeks – i.e., on Days 0, 7, and 14 – at a dose of 4.5 mg/m2, with an infusion time of three hours, as recited by examined claim 52.
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the filing date to modify the methods of treating cancer recited by the reference claims by optimizing the infusion time and dosage of the claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success, because Marchante et al. teach that adjusting drug administration, schedules, and dosages based on patient-specific variables are within the judgment of a skilled clinician.
As recognized by MPEP § 2144.05,
Generally, differences in concentration or tempera-ture will not support the patentability of subject mat-ter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 52-54 and 62 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-9 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,339,180 in view of Marchante et al. (WO 2018/197663) and Saadh et al. (Sys. Rev. Pharm. 11(8):98-101 (2020) (both cited on the IDS dated 4/12/2024).
Reference claims 6-9 are drawn to methods of treating cancer in a patient in need thereof, including lung cancer, non-small cell lung cancer, small cell lung cancer, colon cancer, colorectal cancer, breast cancer, pancreas cancer, sarcoma, ovarian cancer, prostate cancer, and gastric cancer, comprising administering to said patient a therapeutically effective amount of the compound according to claim 6, having the structural formula,
or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, e.g., hydrochloride, which is identical to the compound of formula (I) as recited by the examined claims (a.k.a. ecubectedin or PM14).
The reference claims differ from the examined claims in that the reference claims do not recite administering the compound intravenously on Day 1 once every three weeks at a dose of 4.5 mg/m2, with an infusion time of three hours, as recited by examined claim 52.
However, Marchante et al. exemplify the administration of compound 4-S (identical to the compound of reference claim 6, and to formula (I) of examined claim 52) in the treatment of three xenograft mouse models of human prostate cancer, corresponding to cell lines PC-3, DU-145, and 22Rv1 (Example 39, p. 195).
In Example 39, compound 4-S was intravenously administered once per week for 3 consecutive weeks, on Days 0, 7, and 14 (p. 196, lines 6-7), at the following dosages:
Mouse Xenograft Cell line
4-S Dosage in mg/kg
4-S Dosage in mg/m2
PC-3
1.25
3.75
DU-145
1.00
3.00
22Rv1
0.75
2.25
As evidenced by, e.g., Saadh et al. (Table 1), a multiplier of 3 is used to convert a mouse dosage in mg/kg to dosage in mg/m2, as shown in the table above. At all dosages, compound 4-S is demonstrated to achieve significant reductions in mean tumor volume compared to placebo (Tables 73, 74, and 75, pp. 196-198).
Marchante et al. further disclose that the preferred route of administration is intravenous, most preferably with an infusion time of 1 to 6 hours. Infusion may be carried out at suitable intervals of, for example, 1 to 4 weeks (p. 73, line 24 to p. 74, line 2).
Marchante et al. disclose that, for intravenous administration, suitable doses are from about 0.1 mg/kg to about 250 mg/kg of the animal's body weight, preferably from about 0.1 mg/kg and about 20 mg/kg of the animal's body weight, and more preferably from about 1 mg/kg to about 10 mg/kg of the animal's body weight (p. 75, lines 3-6).
Marchante et al. teach that an effective amount of the compound will depend on the nature of the disorder or condition, and can be determined by standard clinical techniques. In addition, in vitro or in vivo assays can optionally be employed to help identify optimal dosage ranges. The precise dose to be employed in the compositions will also depend on the seriousness of the disease or disorder, and should be decided according to the judgment of the practitioner and each patient's circumstances; for example, the type of tumor, age, body weight, sex, diet, time of administration, rate of excretion, condition of the host, drug combinations, reaction sensitivities, and severity of the disease should be taken into account (p. 74, lines 11-25).
Thus, Marchante et al. disclose, teach, and suggest methods of treating cancer comprising administering the compound of formula (I), wherein the compound is administered intravenously on day 1 once every three weeks – i.e., on Days 0, 7, and 14 – at a dose of 4.5 mg/m2, with an infusion time of three hours, as recited by examined claim 52.
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the filing date to modify the methods of treating cancer recited by the reference claims by optimizing the infusion time and dosage of the claimed compound with a reasonable expectation of success, because Marchante et al. teach that adjusting drug administration, schedules, and dosages based on patient-specific variables are within the judgment of a skilled clinician.
As recognized by MPEP § 2144.05,
Generally, differences in concentration or tempera-ture will not support the patentability of subject mat-ter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 55-59 and 61 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 63-70 are allowed.
Citation of Additional Prior Art
Additional references made of record are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
USPN 8,895,557 (cited on PTO-892).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARA E. TOWNSLEY whose telephone number is 571-270-7672. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff S. Lundgren, can be reached at 571-272-5541. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARA ELIZABETH TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629