Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the rejection below is now based on He et al., who teaches forming a cobalt-based layer and boron-based layer in the claimed order.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (WO 2022/088151, using US Pub 2023/0119115 as an English equivalent, both cited in IDS) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 112531158 A, a copy and machine translation of which are of record).
In regard to claim 9, 11, 12, 14-16, He et al. teach a lithium secondary battery including a negative electrode (paragraph [0097-0103]) and positive electrode (paragraph [0076-0096) which includes a positive electrode active material for a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
a lithium composite transition metal oxide which overlaps the claimed general formula in paragraph [0056]: “The positive-electrode active material matrix is Li1+a[NixCoyMnzMb]O2, where 0 < x < 1, 0 ≤ y < 0.3, 0 ≤ z < 0.3, 0 < a < 0.2, 0 < b < 0.2, x + y + z + b = 1, and preferably, 0.8 ≤ x < 1. The element M is selected from more than one of Mg, Ca, Sb, Ce, Ti, Zr, Al, Zn, and B, and the coating layer contains a cobalt-containing compound, an aluminum-containing compound, and a boron-containing compound” which establishes a prima face case of obviousness over the claimed range as substantially overlapping the claimed range (MPEP 2144.05) and a cobalt-based coating layer formed on the lithium composite transition metal oxide (see step S2, paragraph [0078]), and a boron-based coating layer formed on the cobalt coating layer (step S3, paragraph [0079]).
While He et al. appears to show small agglomerations of single particles in figure 1, the instant claims differ from the prior art in calling for a single or pseudo single particle structure. However, Zhang et al. teach a similar lithium secondary battery with a negative and positive electrode with a high nickel ternary lithium oxide such as LiNi0.7Co0.1Mn0.2O2 and the desirability to form the positive electrode material into a single crystal with relatively small bonding groups (i.e. pseudo single) or single particles (see SEM images, page 6 of machine translation) such as target (primary and/or secondary) particle sizes D50 around 3 or 5 microns (see embodiments 1-3 on pages 7-9 of translation) because single crystal particles have higher compaction strength and excellent cycle performance compared to polycrystalline materials (see page 2 of machine translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to form the positive electrode active material as large micron sized single crystal primary particles that may agglomerated into small groups of particles for the positive electrode material of He et al. as such enhances the mechanical and electrochemical properties as taught by Zhang et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Holman et al. (US Pub 2020/0203706) teaches similar single particle cathode materials.
Ouki et al. (US Pub 2021/0367230 newly cited) teaches a coated cathode material.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723