Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Liu does not show or suggest “each detector cassette is configured to replaceably receive the gamma detector elements.” Applicant’s argument is not commensurate with the scope of claim 1.
During examination, claim terms are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. Under that standard, the phrase “replaceably receive” is not limited to tool-less replacement, hot-swapping, field replacement, replacement without disassembly, replacement without removing a cover, replacement without recalibration, or replacement using any particular drawer, latch, rail, socket, plug, or quick-release mechanism. Claim 1 does not recite any such requirements.
The Examiner is not interpreting “replaceably receive” to encompass destructive removal or reconstruction. Rather, the Examiner interprets the phrase to require that the detector cassette is structurally configured to receive detector elements or detector-element subassemblies such that those components may be substituted during manufacture, repair, maintenance, or reconfiguration.
This interpretation is consistent with Applicant’s own disclosure. Applicant’s publication describes detector cassettes that “replaceably receive” gamma detector elements and a mounting frame that “replaceably receive[s]” detector cassettes. The disclosure states that replaceability permits construction with a desired number of detector cassettes/elements, adapts axial field of view, adapts image resolution, and facilitates maintenance. Applicant’s disclosure also identifies ordinary mechanical/electrical couplings, including screws, bolts, latches, clips, catches, magnets, connectors, DIN connectors, backplane connectors, mezzanine connectors, D-sub connectors, POGO connectors, PCI card connectors, and similar couplings. US 2024/0277305 A1, [0023]-[0025], Fig. 2.
Liu discloses a PET scanner 110 having a supporting assembly 111, detector assembly 112, detection region 113, table 114, electronics module 115, and cooling assembly 116. Liu further discloses that the detector assembly 112 detects gamma photons emitted from the detection region 113. Liu, [0080], [0090]-[0092], Figs. 1-3.
Liu further discloses that one or more detector units may be packaged to form a detector block, one or more detector blocks may be packaged to form a detector cassette, one or more detector cassettes may be arranged to form a detector ring, and one or more detector rings may be arranged to form a detector module. Liu, [0092], Figs. 3-5D. Liu also discloses detector block 306 including scintillator array 410 coupled to photosensor array 420. Liu, [0096]-[0100], Figs. 3, 4A-4C.
Liu additionally discloses that the number and size of detector blocks, detector units, and detector cassettes in different detector modules may be the same or different, showing a modular detector/cassette architecture rather than a single inseparable structure. Liu, [0108]-[0109], Figs. 6A-6D.
Accordingly, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Liu’s detector cassette 304, which receives detector blocks/gamma detector elements in a modular detector assembly, is configured to replaceably receive a plurality of gamma detector elements. The claim does not require Liu to use the word “replaceably,” and it does not require Liu to disclose any special replacement mechanism that Applicant chose not to claim.
Claim 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102 as anticipated by Liu et al. Liu discloses PET scanner 110 including supporting assembly 111, detector assembly 112, detection region 113, table 114, electronics module 115, and cooling assembly 116. Liu, [0080], [0090]-[0092], Figs. 1-3. Liu discloses detector cassettes 304 arranged around detection region 113 and detector blocks 306 each including scintillator array 410 coupled to photosensor array 420. Liu, [0096]-[0100], Figs. 3, 4A-4C. Liu further discloses that one or more detector blocks may be packaged to form a detector cassette, and that detector blocks/units/cassettes in detector modules may have the same or different numbers and sizes. Liu, [0092], [0108]-[0109]. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, “replaceably receive” does not require tool-less, hot-swappable, field-serviceable, or specially-latched replacement. It is enough that the cassette is structurally configured to receive plural detector blocks/gamma detector elements such that the components may be substituted during assembly, repair, maintenance, or reconfiguration.
As per the examiners understanding, applicant’s argument is therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3 and 5 – 10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US Pub. 2021/0259651 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Liu discloses a positron emission tomography (PET) imaging system 110 (Figures 1, 3, 4A,4B, 4C, 6a and 6b) comprising:
a bore 113 for receiving a subject 308, the bore 113 comprising an axis (; a plurality of gamma detector elements 112 [0092];
a plurality of detector cassettes 304 [0080] [0096] [0092] and
mounting frame (not displayed in the figures); notice that the main gantry may include one or more supporting frames to contain the detector assembly 112 and/or the electronic module 115 [0091].
wherein each gamma detector element 112 comprises a scintillator array 410 coupled to a photodetector array 420; notice, see FIGS. 4A-4C, how the detector block 306 may include one or more crystal elements (e.g., the scintillator crystal array 410) and one or more photosensor arrays 420 [0097] – [0100].
wherein each detector cassette 304 is configured to replaceably receive a plurality of gamma detector elements 112 [0108] - [0110]
wherein the mounting frame (not labeled) [0091] is configured to replaceably receive the detector cassettes 304 at a plurality of angular positions around the axis of the bore 113 such that at each angular position a plurality of detector cassettes 304 are receivable along a direction parallel to the axis of the bore 113 (See figures), and a plurality of gamma detector elements 112 are receivable within a cassette 304 in a transaxial direction with respect to the axis of the bore 113 for detecting gamma quanta received from within the bore 113 [0103] - [0112].
With regards to claim 2, Liu discloses wherein the mounting frame (not labeled; paragraph 91) comprises a backplane at each angular position and wherein the backplane at each angular position comprises a plurality of mechanical couplings configured to replaceably receive the plurality of detector cassettes 304 at discrete axial positions along the direction parallel to the axis of the bore 113 (i.e., there’s a lot of unlabeled and not displayed structure, base, backcovers, supporting frames, frontcovers, backplane…etc.) [0076] [0080] [0090] – [0093], [0110], [0118].
With regards to claim 3, Liu discloses wherein the backplane (not in figures) is further configured to provide a power supply for the one or more detector cassettes 304received at each angular position [0087] [0091] [0094].
With regards to claim 5, Liu discloses wherein each backplane [0091] comprises a transceiver configured to control a communication [0094] [0145] [0150] [0151] of event data generated by the gamma detector elements 112 between different cassettes 304 [0089] – [0112], [0103], [0125], [0151].
With regards to claim 6, Liu discloses wherein each detector cassette 304 comprises a processor (115, 140), configured to receive event data generated by the one or more gamma detector elements 112 received in the detector cassette in response to received gamma quanta, the event data representing detection times of the received gamma quanta and/or a light distribution generated in the scintillator arrays of the one or more gamma detector elements 112 in response to the received gamma quanta [0083] [0089] [0094]; and
wherein the processor (115, 140) is further configured to:
cluster the event data by assigning the light distribution generated in one or more scintillator arrays 410 to a common received gamma quant [0097] – [0100]; and/or
identify coincident pairs of received gamma quanta having detection times within a predetermined time interval of one another [0105] [0106] [0123] – [01025]; [0163] – [0135].
With regards to claim 7, Liu discloses wherein the processor is configured to cluster the event data by assigning the light distribution generated in the one or more scintillator arrays 410 to a common received gamma quantum [0097] – [0100], [0162]; and/or wherein the processor (115, 140), is further configured to compute a total energy of the received gamma quant based on the cluster [0149] – [0166]; and/or
wherein the processor is (115, 140), further configured to determine a position of the received gamma quant based on the cluster quant [0097] – [0100], [0105] [0106] [0123] – [0125]; [0149] – [0166].
With regards to claim 8, Liu discloses wherein the processor (115, 140) is configured to identify coincident pairs of received gamma quanta having detection times within a predetermined time interval of one another by [0094] [0123] [0124].
comparing the detection time of a gamma quant detected by gamma detector element 112 of the detector cassette 304, with the detection times of one or more other gamma quanta detected by other gamma detector elements 112 of other detector cassettes 304 to identify a corresponding gamma quant having a detection time within the predetermined time interval [0094] [0123] [0124].
With regards to claim 9, Liu discloses wherein the processor (115, 140) is further configured to identify, based on the comparing, a corresponding processor (115, 140) of the gamma detector element 112 detecting the corresponding gamma quant; and to transmit the event data of the detected gamma quant to the corresponding processor (115, 140) and/or receive the event data of the corresponding gamma quant from the corresponding processor (115, 140) [0080] [0092]. Notice that the electronics module 115 may compare a plurality of digital signals, analyze the plurality of digital signals, and determine an interaction position and/or an interaction time of the received radiation rays in the detector assembly 112 [0093] – [0094].
With regards to claim 10, Liu discloses wherein each processor (115, 140) comprises a first communication path coupling the processor (115, 140) to a processor (115, 140) at an adjacent angular position, and a second communication path coupling the processor (115, 140) to a processor (115, 140) at a non-adjacent angular position; and wherein each processor (115, 140) is configured to transmit the event data generated by the gamma detector elements 112 at its angular position to the processor (115, 140) at the adjacent angular position, and to the processor at a non-adjacent angular position, via the first communication path, and the second communication path, respectively; and/or wherein each processor (115, 140) is configured to receive from the processor (115, 140) at the adjacent angular position, the event data generated by the gamma detector elements 112 at the adjacent angular position, and to receive from the processor at the non-adjacent angular position the event data generated by the gamma detector elements 112 at the non-adjacent angular position, via the first communication path, and via the second communication path, respectively [0092] – [0094], ]0113], [0116], [0149] – [0166].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. 2021/0259651 A1) in view of Badawi et al. (US Patent 9,632,187 B2).
With regards to claim 4, Liu discloses the claimed invention according to claim 1, but fails to expressly disclose the mounting frame comprises a translation mechanism at each angular position around the axis of the bore; and wherein the translation mechanism at each angular position is configured to position the plurality of detector cassettes 304 along the direction parallel to the axis of the bore.
Badawi teaches, see FIG. 1, a gantry 104 is a table. Gantry 104 is shown mounted to a lab bench 106, however it will be recognized that gantry 104 may be a self-supporting structure. The table may include opening 108 through which specimen table 110 may pass. Specimen 112 may be placed on specimen table 110. In some embodiments, specimen table 110 may be motorized such that specimen table 110 is caused to rotate and/or translate by one or more motors. Specimen 112 may be caused to move by the movement of specimen table 110. In various embodiments, PET detector modules 102 may rotate and/or translate relative to a static specimen. For example, PET detector modules may be mounted on an element of gantry 104 that is motorized such that the element is caused to rotate and/or translate by a motor (Col. 5, Line 1 – 15).
Also, FIG. 12 shows an illustrative PET scanner system 1200. PET scanner system 1200 may include two detector plates 1206. An array of PET detector modules 102 may be mounted to each detector plate 1206. E.g., two arrays, each array including 3×4 PET detector modules, may be used. Detector plates 1206 of gantries 1202,1204 may be located across from one another with respect to a specimen. Detector plates 1206 can translate horizontally along rails 1208 (e.g., to image a larger area along a horizontal axis) and/or vertically along rails 1210 (e.g., to image a larger area along a vertical axis). Detector plates 1206 can move in tandem (e.g., to change the center of the field of view) or individually (e.g., in opposite directions to increase angular sampling.) Gantries 1202, 1204 may include motors for moving detector plates 1206 (Col. 16, Line 63 to Col. 17, Line 15).
In view of the utility, to improve translation and positioning as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Liu to include the teachings such as that taught by Badawi to improve translation and positioning as needed.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US Pub. 2021/0259651 A1) in view of Ueno et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0057191 A1).
With regards to claim 11, Liu discloses the claimed invention according to claim 10 and further, a plurality of mechanical couplings configured to replaceably receive the plurality of detector cassettes 304 at discrete axial positions along the direction parallel to the axis of the bore 113 (i.e., there’s a lot of unlabeled and not displayed structure, base, backcovers, supporting frames, frontcovers, backplane…etc.) [0076] [0080] [0090] – [0093], [0110], [0118].
Liu fails to expressly disclose wherein the mounting frame comprises a backplane at each angular position; wherein the backplane at each angular position comprises one or more optical or electrical connectors configured to couple to one or more corresponding optical or electrical connectors disposed on the one or more detector cassettes received at the angular position; and wherein the optical or electrical connectors comprise one or more optical or electrically conductive paths configured to provide the first communication path and the second communication path for each processor.
Ueno discloses a radiological imaging system, as shown in FIGS. 11 and 12, the combined substrates 20 are housed in the housing 30, arranged in three rows in the depth direction (longitudinal direction of the bed 14) without overlapping with one another and in four rows in the width direction (circumferential direction of the PET imaging apparatus 1). That is, one housing 30 houses 12 combined substrates 20.
To realize such housing, a guide member 39 is disposed in the housing 30 and is attached to the upper end of the housing (cover) 30. The guide member 39 consists of four rows of guide grooves (guide rails) G1 which extend in the depth direction and are arranged at appropriate intervals in the circumferential direction. The guide member 39 has an opening 40 opposed to each connector C3 of a ceiling plate 30a in the portion of each guide groove G1. Further, a bottom surface 30b of the housing 30 is provided with four guide members 41 each of which has one guide groove (guide rail) G2 extending in the depth direction and are arranged at appropriate intervals in the circumferential direction (FIG. 12). The guide grooves G1 and G2 have a depth corresponding to a capacity of housing three combined substrates 20. An end of the combined substrate 20 on the ASIC substrate 20B side is housed in the guide groove G1 and an end of the combined substrate 20 on the detector substrate 20A side is housed in the guide groove G2. Three combined substrates 20 are held in the depth direction of the guide grooves G1, G2. Since the end of the combined substrate 20 on the ASIC substrate 20B side and the other end on the detector substrate 20A side slide in the guide grooves G1 and G2, the combined substrates 20 can be readily positioned at predetermined points by sliding the combined substrates 20 in the guide grooves G1 and G2 with fingers. In this case, each substrate connector C2 is disposed in the portion of each opening 40. After a predetermined number of combined substrates 20 are arranged in the housing 30, the ceiling plate 30a is attached at the top end of the housing 30 in a detachable/attachable manner using screws, etc. Each connector C3 provided on the ceiling plate 30a is inserted in the corresponding opening 40 and is connected to the corresponding substrate connector C2. The terms "upper" and "lower" parts of the housing 30 are applicable when the housing 30 is removed from the PET imaging apparatus 1, and when the housing 30 is mounted in the PET imaging apparatus 1 as shown in FIGS. 13A and 13B, the upper and lower parts may be inverted or turned 90 degrees to be "right" and "left" parts or located diagonally [0100].
In view of the utility, to improve the placement in the housing and spacing as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu to include the teachings such as that taught by Ueno
With regards to claim 12, Liu discloses the claimed invention according to claim 10 and further, a plurality of mechanical couplings configured to replaceably receive the plurality of detector cassettes 304 at discrete axial positions along the direction parallel to the axis of the bore 113 (i.e., there’s a lot of unlabeled and not displayed structure, base, backcovers, supporting frames, frontcovers, backplane…etc.) [0076] [0080] [0090] – [0093], [0110], [0118].
Liu fails to expressly disclose wherein the mounting frame comprises a backplane at each angular position; wherein the backplane at each angular position comprises one or more inter-backplane optical or electrical connectors configured to couple to one or more corresponding inter-backplane optical or electrical connectors disposed on the mounting frame at the angular position; wherein the one or more inter-backplane optical or electrical connectors at each angular position (are configured to couple to the one or more corresponding inter-backplane optical or electrical connectors at the angular position along a direction parallel to the axis; and wherein the one or more corresponding inter-backplane optical or electrical connectors disposed on the mounting frame at the angular positions are coupled to one another via one or more optical or electrically conductive paths for providing the first communication path and the second communication path between the processors on different backplanes.
Ueno discloses a radiological imaging system, as shown in FIGS. 11 and 12, the combined substrates 20 are housed in the housing 30, arranged in three rows in the depth direction (longitudinal direction of the bed 14) without overlapping with one another and in four rows in the width direction (circumferential direction of the PET imaging apparatus 1). That is, one housing 30 houses 12 combined substrates 20.
Ueno further discloses as shown in FIG. 13A, the detector unit 2 is mounted via a unit support member 2A. Furthermore, as shown in FIG. 13B, the detector unit 2 is mounted in the PET imaging apparatus 1 with one end supported by the unit support member 2A. The unit support member 2A has a hollow disk (doughnut) shape and comprises many windows (as many as the detector units 2 to be mounted) in the circumferential direction of the PET imaging apparatus 1. In order to support the detector units 2 at one end, a flange portion serving as a stopper is provided on the front side in the axial direction of the housing 30 of the detector unit 2. The flange portions inside in the circumferential direction become obtrusive when the detector units 2 are arranged as dense as possible in the circumferential direction. Therefore, the obtrusive flange portions may be removed from the housing 30 to allow the flange portions outside in the circumferential direction to remain. Another unit support member 2A may be provided and both ends of the detector unit 2 may be supported by the two-unit support members 2A [0103].
When the detector units 2 is mounted in the PET imaging apparatus 1, a cover 11a is removed to make the unit support member 2A exposed and the detector units 2 are inserted from the exposed portion until the detector units 2 touch the flange portions. When the detector units 2 are inserted and mounted, the PET imaging apparatus 1 and the connectors of the detector units 2 are connected to each other, and signals and power supply are connected between the PET imaging apparatus 1 and the detector units 2 [0104].
In view of the utility, to improve the placement in the housing and spacing as needed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Liu to include the teachings such as that taught by Ueno
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DJURA MALEVIC/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884