DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1 and 15 have been amended.
Claims: 3-8, 11-13, 17, 19-20, 22-23, 25-26 and 28 have not
been amended.
Claims: 2, 9-10, 14, 16, 18, 21, 24, 27 and 29-68 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTES:
The examiner notes that the applicant’s amendment filed on 02/19/26 has changed the scope of the claims for claims 1, 3-8, 11-13, 15, 17, 19-20, 22-23 and 25-26 and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, 11-13, 15, 17, 19-20, 22-23 and 25-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/19/26 with regards to claims 28 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS:
The applicant argues that Applicant respectfully submits that the cited references fail to disclose a third device that receives a first message from a first device indicating a requirement of power supply and then transmits a grant to both the first device and a second device for the power supply to the first device by the second device. In Keyes, as cited by the Examiner at paragraph [0074], the acknowledgment comes directly from the wireless base unit to the wireless field unit. The wireless base unit in Keyes is the entity that supplies the power, which corresponds to the second device in the claim. There is no separate third device in Keyes that receives the power request and then transmits a grant to both the first device and a distinct second device. Similarly, in Yahagi at paragraph [0176], the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization to the wide-area base station through the narrow-area base station. However, the wireless power transmitter is the entity that supplies the power, not a separate third device that grants permission to both a requesting device and a power-supplying device. Neither Keyes nor Yahagi discloses the three-device architecture recited in claim 28, wherein a third device acts as an intermediary that receives a power requirement message from a first device and then transmits a grant to both the first device and a separate second device that will supply the power. Applicant respectfully submits that independent claim 28 is patentable over the cited references, and the rejection should be withdrawn (See Pages 11-12 of Applicant’s Arguments filed on 02/19/26).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Contrary to the applicant’s arguments, the combination of the teachings of Keyes in view of Yahagi together as a whole does
disclose the applicant’s argued limitations of a third device that receives a first message from a first device indicating a requirement of power supply and then transmits a grant to both the first device and a second device for the power supply to the first device by the second device as will be apparent in the following explanations provided below.
To begin with, the examiner would like to note that the applicant’s arguments against the cited references Keyes (i.e. arguments reciting “The wireless base unit in Keyes is the entity that supplies the power, which corresponds to the second device in the claim. There is no separate third device in Keyes that receives the power request and then transmits a grant to both the first device and a distinct second device”) and Yahagi (i.e. arguments reciting “in Yahagi at paragraph [0176], the wireless power transmitter is the entity that supplies the power, not a separate third device that grants permission to both a requesting device and a power-supplying device”) are made against each of the references alone without considering what the combination of the cited references together as a whole would teach and appears to be arguing that a single reference is required to show the entire claimed invention (i.e. arguments reciting “Neither Keyes nor Yahagi discloses the three-device architecture recited in claim 28, wherein a third device acts as an intermediary that receives a power requirement message from a first device and then transmits a grant to both the first device and a separate second device that will supply the power”) and as such, the applicant’s arguments are against the references individually and are not therefore not based on the combination of the references as a whole.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually (see MPEP 2145, Section lV).
In addition, the examiner directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of MPEP 2143, Section A, Example 2 that recites “Example 2: The claimed invention in Ruiz v. A.B. Chance Co., 357 F.3d 1270, 69 USPQ2d 1686 (Fed. Cir. 2004) was directed to a system which employs a screw anchor for underpinning existing foundations and a metal bracket to transfer the building load onto the screw anchor. The prior art (Fuller) used screw anchors for underpinning existing structural foundations. Fuller used a concrete haunch to transfer the load of the foundation to the screw anchor. The prior art (Gregory) used a push pier for underpinning existing structural foundations. Gregory taught a method of transferring load using a bracket, wherein a metal bracket transfers the foundation load to the push pier. The pier is driven into the ground to support the load. Neither reference showed the two elements of the claimed invention – screw anchor and metal bracket – used together. The court found that “artisans knew that a foundation underpinning system requires a means of connecting the foundation to the load-bearing member” … The nature of the problem to be solved – underpinning unstable foundations – as well as the need to connect the member to the foundation to accomplish this goal, would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to choose an appropriate load bearing member and a compatible attachment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use a metal bracket (as shown in Gregory) in combination with the screw anchor (as shown in Fuller) to underpin unstable foundations”.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of the MPEP seen above, the guidelines for obviousness indicated by the MPEP does not require any of the cited prior art alone to disclose each and every limitation of the claimed limitation in order to render a teaching as obvious and as such the applicant’s arguments that requires both Keyes and Yahagi to disclose all of the claimed limitations is incorrect and is therefore moot as the combination of the teachings of Keyes in view of Yahagi together as a whole does disclose the applicant’s claimed invention as is indicated by the rejection provided below.
Furthermore, In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a separate third device that grants permission to both a requesting device and a power-supplying device”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant’s arguments appears to indicate that the second device is the device that supplies the power which do not appear to be explicitly recited in the applicant’s claimed invention as the claims only recite “A third device … transmit, to the first device and a second device, a grant for the power supply to the first device by the second device” without clearly reciting as to which device supplies the power and as such said arguments are rendered moot as the examiner is only able to examine and interpret the claims in light of specification but cannot examine and interpret limitations in the specification that are not explicitly recited in the claimed invention.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention reciting “A third device … receive, from a first device, a first message indicating a requirement of power supply to the first device; and transmit … a grant for the power supply to the first device by the second device” would include an interpretation where a third device provides the power as said first message of a requirement of power supply is received by the third device from the first device and wherein the third device would then send an acknowledgement to provide power to the first device being relayed by the second device which is clearly disclosed by the cited combination as indicated below.
The examiner now directs the applicant to the highlighted portions of Keyes, [0048] & [0073]-[0074] seen below:
[0073] The wireless power and data transmitter 426 then broadcasts a power request message (block 706). The power request indicates to wireless base units (e.g., the wireless base unit 402) that the wireless field unit 404 seeks to establish a wireless communication link and a wireless power link and to receive wirelessly transmitted power in an amount sufficient to fulfill or satisfy or that is equivalent to the power requirement of the field device 420 determined at block 704. The power request at block 706 may include an identification code or address of the wireless field unit 404. The power request may also include the amount of power requested by the wireless field unit 404 that corresponds to the amount of power required for full operation of the field device 420 and/or for powering other portions of the wireless field unit 404 such as, for example, the power signal conditioner 424.
[0074] The wireless power and data receiver 422 then obtains an acknowledgment from a wireless base unit (e.g., the wireless base unit 402 of FIG. 4) that received the power request (block 708). For example, the wireless power and data receiver 422 may receive the acknowledgment from the wireless base unit 402 via a wireless data link. The acknowledgment may indicate that the wireless base unit 402 is capable of supplying the requested amount of power to the wireless field unit 404.
[0048] Each of the wireless field units 104a-g is configured to operate as a repeater to retransmit power and information received from one of the wireless base units 102a-c to another one of the wireless field units 104a-g. In this manner, if one of the wireless field units 104a-g is too far away from a nearest one of the wireless base units 102a-c or if an RF-impermeable or RF-attenuating object (e.g., a wall, a holding vessel, a mixer, etc.) is disposed or located between one of the wireless field units 104a-g and a nearest one of the wireless base units 102a-c, the nearest one of the wireless base units 102a-c may transmit power to and exchange data with the too-distant or obstructed one of the wireless field units 104a-g via another one of the wireless field units 104a-g. In the illustrated example of FIG. 3, the wireless base unit 102a may transmit power and data to the wireless field unit 104g via the wireless field unit 104a as depicted by dashed line 328.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Keyes seen above, Keyes, [0073] discloses the wireless power and data transmitter 426 then broadcasts a power request message (i.e. reads on receive a first message) at block 706 and the power request indicates to wireless base units (i.e. reads on to a third device) that the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on first device) seeks to establish a wireless communication link and a wireless power link and to receive wirelessly transmitted power in an amount sufficient to fulfill or satisfy or that is equivalent to the power requirement of the field device and the power request may also include the amount of power requested by the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on indicating a requirement of power supply to the first device) and Keyes, [0048] discloses that each of the wireless field units is configured to operate as a repeater (i.e. reads on by the second device) to retransmit power (i.e. reads on power supply) and information received from one of the wireless base units to another one of the wireless field units (i.e. reads on to the first device) which clearly indicates that the wireless base units provides both information and power to the repeater wireless field units.
While Keyes discloses that the wireless field units acts as repeaters to retransmit information to another wireless field units from the wireless base unit, Keyes fails to explicitly disclose that said retransmitted information includes the grant or acknowledgement to provide power.
However, this missing aspect is remedied by the disclosure of Yahagi, [0176] seen below:
[0176] At S23, the wide-area base station 1 receives and grasps the wireless power transfer request with the terminal information JT, and also transmits the corresponding wireless power transfer request to the wireless power transmitter 3 through the narrow-area base station 2. At S24, in a case where execution of wireless power transfer regarding the received wireless power transfer request is to be authorized, the wireless power transmitter 3 transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the wide-area base station I through the narrow-area base station 2. Information on wireless resources available for wireless power transfer of the wireless power transmitter 3 (such as time, frequency, or antennas) may be contained in information on authorization of wireless power transfer.
[0165] FIG. 16 illustrates a processing flow related to a control of the wireless power transfer n the wireless power transmitter 3. The flow illustrated in FIG. 16 includes Steps S301 to S303. Hereinafter, the processing flow will be described in the order of Steps. At S301, the wireless power transmitter 3 confirms whether a wireless power transfer request from the wireless terminal apparatus 4, the narrow-area base station 2 or the wide-area base station 1 is received or not. In a case where it is confirmed that the wireless power transfer request is received (Y), the processing flow proceeds to S302. At S302, the wireless power transmitter 3 obtains the terminal information JT regarding the wireless terminal apparatus 4, which becomes a target by the wireless power transfer request. Alternatively, the wireless power transmitter 3 refers to the terminal information JT that has already been obtained in the memory 302. At S303, the wireless power transmitter 3 determines whether wireless power transfer to the wireless power transmitter 3 as a target can be executed or not on the basis of the wireless power transfer request and the terminal information JT. In a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station 2 or the wide-area base station 1. At S304, the wireless power transmitter 3 receives schedule notification (the schedule information J3) from the narrow-area base station 2 or the wide-area base station 1. The wireless power transmitter 3 stores the obtained schedule information J3 in the memory 302. At S305, the wireless power transmitter 3 transmits the schedule receipt notification to the narrow-area base station 2 or the wide-area base station 1. At S306, the wireless power transmitter 3 controls a state of each of the power transmitters as preparation for wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information J3, and transmits wireless power transfer start notification to the narrow-area base station 2 or the wide-area base station 1. At S307, the wireless power transmitter 3 starts wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus 4. At S308, the wireless power transmitter 3 stops the wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus 4, and transmits wireless power transfer end notification to the narrow-area base station 2 or the wide-area base station 1.
As can be seen from the highlighted portions of Yahagi seen above, Yahagi, [0176] discloses the wide-area base station 1 transmits the corresponding wireless power transfer request to the wireless power transmitter 3 through the narrow-area base station 2 and the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer (i.e. reads on transmit, a grant for the power supply to the first device) to the wide-area base station (i.e. reads on to the first device) through the narrow-area base station (i.e. reads on and a second device and reads on by the second device) and Yahagi, [0165] discloses in a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station or the wide-area base station which clearly shows that the request for wireless power from a first device to a third device and the grant or authorization to provide wireless power from the third device to the first device may be transmitted via relay of a second device and as such, the combination of Keyes in view of Yahagi together as a whole does disclose the applicant’s argued limitations.
Therefore, the argued limitations read upon the cited references or are written broad such that they read upon the cited references, as follows:
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7, 17, 20 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims 3-5, 7, 17, 20 and 26 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in the dependent claims in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims in between.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 12-13, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyes, IV et al. (US Patent Publication 2007/0021140 herein after referenced as Keyes) in view of YAHAGI et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0167638 herein after referenced as Yahagi) and further in view of Elkotby et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0057994 herein after referenced as Elkotby).
Regarding claim 1, Keyes discloses:
A first device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program codes; the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to: transmit, to a second device, a first request to start power supply to the first device;
(Keyes, Fig. 7A & [0073] discloses the wireless power and data transmitter 426 then broadcasts a power request message (i.e. reads on transmit a first request) at block 706 and the power request indicates to wireless base units (i.e. reads on to a second device) that the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on first device) seeks to establish a wireless communication link and a wireless power link and to receive wirelessly transmitted power (i.e. reads on to start power supply to the first device) in an amount sufficient to fulfill or satisfy or that is equivalent to the power requirement of the field device and the power request may also include the amount of power requested by the wireless field unit; Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 then establishes a communication link and a power link with the wireless base unit at block 710 and begins to receive wirelessly transmitted power, at least some of which the wireless field unit transfers to the field device; Keyes, [0071] discloses the wireless field unit can receive the minimal power and power its communications circuitry such as the wireless power and data receiver, the wireless power and data transmitter 426, and the memory using the minimal power to establish a communication link with the wireless base unit; Keyes, [0069] discloses the example methods may be implemented in software that is executed via the example processor system and/or a hardware system configured according to the example wireless base unit 402 of FIG. 4 and/or the example wireless field unit 404 of FIG. 4; Keyes, Fig. 4 & [0064] discloses a memory 430 to store communication software or firmware, process control data, run-time variables, or any other type of data, machine-readable and executable instructions or code, etc.).
receive, from the second device, configuration information (Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 (i.e. reads on to the first device) then establishes a communication link and a power link with the wireless base unit (i.e. reads on from the second device) at block 710 and begins to receive wirelessly transmitted power (i.e. read on a power transfer signal from the second device, the power transfer signal used to provide power; and receive the power transfer signal), at least some of which the wireless field unit transfers to the field device and the wireless power and data receiver 422 may obtain configuration information (i.e. reads on receive, configuration information) from the wireless base unit (i.e. reads on from the second device); Keyes, [0071] discloses the wireless field unit can receive the minimal power and power its communications circuitry such as the wireless power and data receiver, the wireless power and data transmitter 426, and the memory using the minimal power to establish a communication link with the wireless base unit).
Keyes discloses that at wireless field unit that includes a wireless power and data receiver 422 receives configuration information from a control equipment server via a wireless base unit and also discloses the wireless field unit receiving wireless power from a wireless base unit but fails to explicitly disclose that said configuration information indicates a resource utilized in the receiving and sending of the wireless power and that said configuration information includes identification information or an indication of a control channel and therefore fails to disclose “configuration information concerning a resource allocated by the second device and dedicated for a power transfer signal from the second device,” and “wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, an identification of a Transmission and Reception Point via which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, or an indication of a control channel resource for transmitting a measurement result of the power transfer signal to the second device;” and “receive the power transfer signal from the second device based on the configuration information.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yahagi discloses:
configuration information concerning a resource allocated by the second device and dedicated for a power transfer signal from the second device; receive the power transfer signal from the second device based on the configuration information (Yahagi, [0103] discloses the wireless power transmitter executes (i.e. reads on allocated by the second device) the wireless power transfer (i.e. reads on and dedicated for a power transfer signal from the second device) for the wireless terminal apparatus with the first time T1 and the first frequency F1 (i.e. reads on concerning a resource) in accordance with the obtained schedule information (i.e. reads on configuration information) and the wireless terminal apparatus receives the wireless power transfer (i.e. reads on receive the power transfer signal from the second device) from the wireless power transmitter in accordance with the obtained schedule information (i.e. reads on based on the configuration information); Yahagi, [0165] discloses the wireless power transmitter controls a state of each of the power transmitters as preparation for wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information, and the wireless power transmitter starts wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus; Yahagi, [0053] discloses allocates wireless resources each including a time and a frequency to the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer thus requested so that interference is prevented or reduced and creates a schedule and each of the wireless terminal apparatus and the wireless power transmitter controls execution of the wireless power transfer and the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule information; Yahagi, [0088] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus switches the shared antenna between at the time of the wireless power transfer and at the time of the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule; Yahagi, [0201] discloses in a case where frequency or the like changes, the wireless terminal apparatus addresses the change in accordance with schedule information to switch the antenna switch so that the antenna is connected to the wireless power transfer side; Yahagi, [0126] discloses processor 401 and in particular, the schedule manager obtains the schedule information from the wireless power transmitter, and stores it in the memory and the schedule manager controls execution of the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information of the memory in cooperation with the antenna controller and the antenna controller gives a control signal to the antenna switch; Yahagi, [0106] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus includes a processor 401; Yahagi, [0176] discloses the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the wide-area base station through the narrow-area base station; Yahagi, [0165] discloses in a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes to incorporate the teachings of Yahagi for the purpose of providing the system with a means to allow the devices to know which resources are utilized when performing wireless power transfer where interference is prevented or reduced (Yahagi, [0053] & Yahagi, [0103]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer, wherein the configuration information indicates the resources to utilize in performing the wireless power transfer and utilizing a shared antenna and retransmitting authorization information as taught by Yahagi) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Yahagi) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Keyes in view of Yahagi fails to disclose “wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, an identification of a Transmission and Reception Point via which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, or an indication of a control channel resource for transmitting a measurement result of the power transfer signal to the second device;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Elkotby discloses:
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, (Elkotby, [0227] discloses In another embodiment, a WTRU equipped with an EH device/ZE receiver utilizes its main transceiver to receive beam detection configuration (i.e. reads on wherein the configuration information comprises) as well as beam identifier (i.e. reads on an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted) to semi-static default EH signal configuration mapping over the Uu air interface where the beam identifier might be unique within a single cell or across multiple cells. The semi-static default EH signal configuration may be optimized by the BS to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs based on the historical traffic and scheduling statistics of transmitted information signals per beam; Elkotby, [0267] discloses The WTRU then, in a step 2806, utilizes default semi-static/dynamic EH signaling for energy transfer (i.e. reads on the power transfer signal is to be transmitted) while receiving information on the same or different receive beams (i.e. reads on a beam on which). EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “an identification of a Transmission and Reception Point via which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, or an indication of a control channel resource for transmitting a measurement result of the power transfer signal to the second device;”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes in view of Yahagi to incorporate the teachings of Elkotby for the purpose of providing the system with a means to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs (Elkotby, [0227]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer, wherein the configuration information indicates the beam identifier to semi-static default EH signal configuration mapping as taught by Elkotby) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Elkotby) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 6, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The first device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: (see claim 1).
perform a measurement on the power transfer signal; and transmit, to the second device, a result of the measurement by using a control channel resource indicated in the configuration information (Keyes, [0057] discloses during power transmission the wireless field unit may continuously or periodically measure the signal strength and/or the signal to noise ratio of the power received via one of the power channels to generate link quality status information such as the signal strength, the signal to noise ratio, etc. and the wireless field unit may then transmit the link quality status information to the wireless base unit via the data channel to enable the wireless power unit to select a different channel or frequency if the link quality is less than a particular pre-determined threshold; Yahagi, [0103] discloses the wireless power transmitter executes the wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus with the first time T1 and the first frequency F1 in accordance with the obtained schedule information and the wireless terminal apparatus receives the wireless power transfer from the wireless power transmitter in accordance with the obtained schedule information; Yahagi, [0053] discloses allocates wireless resources each including a time and a frequency to the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer thus requested so that interference is prevented or reduced and creates a schedule and each of the wireless terminal apparatus and the wireless power transmitter controls execution of the wireless power transfer and the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule information).
Regarding claim 8, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The first device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause (i.e. see claim 1).
the first device to at least one of: transmit, to a third device associated with the second device, a first message indicating a requirement of the power supply to the first device and receive, from the third device, a grant for the power supply to the first device by the second device, (Keyes, Fig. 7A & [0073]-[0074] discloses the wireless power and data transmitter 426 then broadcasts a power request message at block 706 and the power request indicates to wireless base units that the wireless field unit seeks to establish a wireless communication link and a wireless power link and to receive wirelessly transmitted power in an amount sufficient to fulfill or satisfy or that is equivalent to the power requirement of the field device and the power request may also include the amount of power requested by the wireless field unit and discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 then obtains an acknowledgment from a wireless base unit that received the power request and the acknowledgment may indicate that the wireless base unit is capable of supplying the requested amount of power to the wireless field unit; Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 may obtain configuration information from the wireless base unit 402 and/or any other process control data that the control equipment needs to communicate to the wireless field unit; Keyes, [0048] discloses that each of the wireless field units is configured to operate as a repeater to retransmit power and information received from one of the wireless base units another one of the wireless field units; Yahagi, [0176] discloses the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the wide-area base station through the narrow-area base station; Yahagi, [0165] discloses in a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “in response to transmitting to the second device a second request to terminate the power supply to the first device, transmit to the third device a second message indicating that the power supply by the second device is terminated; or transmit, to the third device, an amount of power used by the first device.”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 12, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The first device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to receive the power transfer signal by: (see claim 1).
tuning a frequency circuit of the first device based on a frequency domain resource indicated in the configuration information; and receiving the power transfer signal by an antenna coupled to the tuned frequency circuit (Yahagi, [0201] discloses in a case where frequency or the like changes, the wireless terminal apparatus addresses the change in accordance with schedule information to switch the antenna switch so that the antenna is connected to the wireless power transfer side; Yahagi, [0088] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus switches the shared antenna between at the time of the wireless power transfer and at the time of the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule; Keyes, [0059] discloses the wireless field unit includes a wireless power and data receiver configured to receive power and data wirelessly transmitted by the wireless base units and/or other wireless field units and the wireless power and data receiver 422 may include RF circuitry to receive power and data transmitted via a plurality of frequencies and/or via spread spectrum).
Regarding claim 13, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The first device of Claim 12, (see claim 12).
wherein the antenna is shared by the power transfer signal and a communication signal, and the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: route the power transfer signal from the antenna to the frequency circuit by a switching circuit coupled between the antenna and the frequency circuit during a time period indicated in the configuration information (Yahagi, [0088] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus switches the shared antenna between at the time of the wireless power transfer and at the time of the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule; Yahagi, [0201] discloses in a case where frequency or the like changes, the wireless terminal apparatus addresses the change in accordance with schedule information to switch the antenna switch so that the antenna is connected to the wireless power transfer side; Keyes, [0059] discloses the wireless field unit includes a wireless power and data receiver configured to receive power and data wirelessly transmitted by the wireless base units and/or other wireless field units and the wireless power and data receiver 422 may include RF circuitry to receive power and data transmitted via a plurality of frequencies and/or via spread spectrum).
Regarding claim 15, Keyes discloses:
A second device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program codes; the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device at least to: receive, from a first device, a first request to start power supply to the first device; (Keyes, Fig. 7A & [0073] discloses the wireless power and data transmitter 426 then broadcasts a power request message (i.e. reads on receive a first request) at block 706 and the power request indicates to wireless base units (i.e. reads on to a second device) that the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on first device) seeks to establish a wireless communication link and a wireless power link and to receive wirelessly transmitted power (i.e. reads on to start power supply to the first device) in an amount sufficient to fulfill or satisfy or that is equivalent to the power requirement of the field device and the power request may also include the amount of power requested by the wireless field unit; Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 then establishes a communication link and a power link with the wireless base unit at block 710 and begins to receive wirelessly transmitted power, at least some of which the wireless field unit transfers to the field device; Keyes, [0071] discloses the wireless field unit can receive the minimal power and power its communications circuitry such as the wireless power and data receiver, the wireless power and data transmitter 426, and the memory using the minimal power to establish a communication link with the wireless base unit; Keyes, [0069] discloses the example methods may be implemented in software that is executed via the example processor system and/or a hardware system configured according to the example wireless base unit 402 of FIG. 4 and/or the example wireless field unit 404 of FIG. 4; Keyes, Fig. 4 & [0064] discloses a memory 430 to store communication software or firmware, process control data, run-time variables, or any other type of data, machine-readable and executable instructions or code, etc.).
transmit, to the first device, configuration information(Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 (i.e. reads on to the first device) then establishes a communication link and a power link with the wireless base unit (i.e. reads on from the second device) at block 710 and begins to receive wirelessly transmitted power (i.e. read on a power transfer signal from the second device, the power transfer signal used to provide power; and transmit the power transfer signal), at least some of which the wireless field unit transfers to the field device and the wireless power and data receiver 422 may obtain configuration information (i.e. reads on transmit, configuration information) from the wireless base unit (i.e. reads on from the second device); Keyes, [0071] discloses the wireless field unit can receive the minimal power and power its communications circuitry such as the wireless power and data receiver, the wireless power and data transmitter 426, and the memory using the minimal power to establish a communication link with the wireless base unit).
Keyes discloses that at wireless field unit that includes a wireless power and data receiver 422 receives configuration information from a control equipment server via a wireless base unit and also discloses the wireless field unit receiving wireless power from a wireless base unit but fails to explicitly disclose that said configuration information indicates a resource utilized in the receiving and sending of the wireless power and that said configuration information includes identification information or an indication of a control channel and therefore fails to disclose “configuration information concerning a resource allocated by the second device and dedicated for a power transfer signal from the second device,” and “wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, an identification of a Transmission and Reception Point via which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, or an indication of a control channel resource for transmitting a measurement result of the power transfer signal to the second device;” and “transmit the power transfer signal to the first device based on the configuration information.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yahagi discloses:
configuration information concerning a resource allocated by the second device and dedicated for a power transfer signal from the second device; transmit the power transfer signal to the first device based on the configuration information (Yahagi, [0103] discloses the wireless power transmitter executes (i.e. reads on allocated by the second device) the wireless power transfer (i.e. reads on and dedicated for a power transfer signal from the second device) for the wireless terminal apparatus with the first time T1 and the first frequency F1 (i.e. reads on concerning a resource) in accordance with the obtained schedule information (i.e. reads on configuration information) and the wireless terminal apparatus receives the wireless power transfer (i.e. reads on transmit the power transfer signal to the first device) from the wireless power transmitter in accordance with the obtained schedule information (i.e. reads on based on the configuration information); Yahagi, [0165] discloses the wireless power transmitter controls a state of each of the power transmitters as preparation for wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information, and the wireless power transmitter starts wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus; Yahagi, [0053] discloses allocates wireless resources each including a time and a frequency to the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer thus requested so that interference is prevented or reduced and creates a schedule and each of the wireless terminal apparatus and the wireless power transmitter controls execution of the wireless power transfer and the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule information; Yahagi, [0088] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus switches the shared antenna between at the time of the wireless power transfer and at the time of the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule; Yahagi, [0201] discloses in a case where frequency or the like changes, the wireless terminal apparatus addresses the change in accordance with schedule information to switch the antenna switch so that the antenna is connected to the wireless power transfer side; Yahagi, [0126] discloses processor 401 and in particular, the schedule manager obtains the schedule information from the wireless power transmitter, and stores it in the memory and the schedule manager controls execution of the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information of the memory in cooperation with the antenna controller and the antenna controller gives a control signal to the antenna switch; Yahagi, [0106] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus includes a processor 401; Yahagi, [0176] discloses the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the wide-area base station through the narrow-area base station; Yahagi, [0165] discloses in a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes to incorporate the teachings of Yahagi for the purpose of providing the system with a means to allow the devices to know which resources are utilized when performing wireless power transfer where interference is prevented or reduced (Yahagi, [0053] & Yahagi, [0103]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer, wherein the configuration information indicates the resources to utilize in performing the wireless power transfer and utilizing a shared antenna and retransmitting authorization information as taught by Yahagi) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Yahagi) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Keyes in view of Yahagi fails to disclose “wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, an identification of a Transmission and Reception Point via which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, or an indication of a control channel resource for transmitting a measurement result of the power transfer signal to the second device;”.
In a related field of endeavor, Elkotby discloses:
wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of: an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, (Elkotby, [0227] discloses In another embodiment, a WTRU equipped with an EH device/ZE receiver utilizes its main transceiver to receive beam detection configuration (i.e. reads on wherein the configuration information comprises) as well as beam identifier (i.e. reads on an identification of a beam on which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted) to semi-static default EH signal configuration mapping over the Uu air interface where the beam identifier might be unique within a single cell or across multiple cells. The semi-static default EH signal configuration may be optimized by the BS to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs based on the historical traffic and scheduling statistics of transmitted information signals per beam; Elkotby, [0267] discloses The WTRU then, in a step 2806, utilizes default semi-static/dynamic EH signaling for energy transfer (i.e. reads on the power transfer signal is to be transmitted) while receiving information on the same or different receive beams (i.e. reads on a beam on which). EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “an identification of a Transmission and Reception Point via which the power transfer signal is to be transmitted, or an indication of a control channel resource for transmitting a measurement result of the power transfer signal to the second device;”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes in view of Yahagi to incorporate the teachings of Elkotby for the purpose of providing the system with a means to provide efficient energy harvesting for the served WTRUs (Elkotby, [0227]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer, wherein the configuration information indicates the beam identifier to semi-static default EH signal configuration mapping as taught by Elkotby) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Elkotby) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 19, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The second device of Claim 15, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: (see claim 19).
receive, from a third device associated with the second device, at least one of a grant for the power supply to the first device by the second device (Yahagi, [0176] discloses the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the wide-area base station through the narrow-area base station; Yahagi, [0165] discloses in a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station; Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 may obtain configuration information from the wireless base unit 402 and/or any other process control data that the control equipment needs to communicate to the wireless field unit; Keyes, [0048] discloses that each of the wireless field units is configured to operate as a repeater to retransmit power and information received from one of the wireless base units another one of the wireless field units. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or an indication to release a bandwidth available for the power supply to the first device.”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Claim(s) 11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyes, IV et al. (US Patent Publication 2007/0021140 herein after referenced as Keyes) in view of YAHAGI et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0167638 herein after referenced as Yahagi) in view of Elkotby et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0057994 herein after referenced as Elkotby) and further in view of YAHAGI et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0060061 herein after referenced as Yaha2).
Regarding claim 11, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The first device of Claim 1, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: (see claim 1).
Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses a device receiving wireless power but fails to explicitly disclose that the device sends a completion notification to stop the wireless power transmission and therefore fails to disclose “transmit, to the second device, a second request to terminate the power supply to the first device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yaha2 discloses:
transmit, to the second device, a second request to terminate the power supply to the first device (Yaha2, [0060] discloses when A0 receives the charge completion notification from A1, A0 terminates the power transfer to A1 and completes the charging process; Yaha2, [0058]-[0059] discloses A0 starts transferring power and A1 receives the power and discloses a power control section of A1 periodically reads a battery terminal voltage during power transfer to determine whether the battery terminal voltage exceeds a required voltage value and after the battery terminal voltage exceeds the charge determination threshold, the power control section determines that charging is completed and transmits a charge completion notification to A0).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby to incorporate the teachings of Yaha2 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to determine when charging is completed and when to stop the charging process (Yaha2, [0058]-[0059]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer, wherein the wireless power transfer includes transmitting a charge completion notification to stop the charging process as taught by Yaha2) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Yaha2) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 22, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The second device of Claim 15, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: (see claim 15).
Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses a device receiving wireless power but fails to explicitly disclose that the device sends a completion notification to stop the wireless power transmission and therefore fails to disclose “receive, from the first device, a second request to terminate the power supply to the first device; and in response to receiving the second request, terminate transmission of the power transfer signal to the first device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yaha2 discloses:
receive, from the first device, a second request to terminate the power supply to the first device; and in response to receiving the second request, terminate transmission of the power transfer signal to the first device (Yaha2, [0060] discloses when A0 receives the charge completion notification from A1, A0 terminates the power transfer to A1 and completes the charging process; Yaha2, [0058]-[0059] discloses A0 starts transferring power and A1 receives the power and discloses a power control section of A1 periodically reads a battery terminal voltage during power transfer to determine whether the battery terminal voltage exceeds a required voltage value and after the battery terminal voltage exceeds the charge determination threshold, the power control section determines that charging is completed and transmits a charge completion notification to A0).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby to incorporate the teachings of Yaha2 for the purpose of providing the system with a means to determine when charging is completed and when to stop the charging process (Yaha2, [0058]-[0059]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer, wherein the wireless power transfer includes transmitting a charge completion notification to stop the charging process as taught by Yaha2) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Yaha2) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyes, IV et al. (US Patent Publication 2007/0021140 herein after referenced as Keyes) in view of YAHAGI et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0167638 herein after referenced as Yahagi) in view of Elkotby et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0057994 herein after referenced as Elkotby) and further in view of Bell et al. (US Patent Publication 2016/0020649 herein after referenced as Bell).
Regarding claim 23, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The second device of Claim 22, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device to: (see claim 23).
Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses a device receiving wireless power but fails to explicitly disclose that the amount of wireless power transmitted is reported and charged and therefore fails to disclose “determine an amount of power used by the first device at least based on the second request; and transmit the amount of power to a fourth device acting as a charging transfer function.”
In a related field of endeavor, Bell discloses:
determine an amount of power used by the first device at least based on the second request; and transmit the amount of power to a fourth device acting as a charging transfer function (Bell, [0080]-[0081] discloses if wireless power receiver is allowed to receive power from wireless power transmitter manager, energy domain service may send a message to wireless power transmitter manager authorizing the power transfer to wireless power receiver and discloses wireless power transmitter manager may report energy consumption statistics to energy domain service and energy consumption statistics may be stored in device database and also may be sent to energy domain service and saved in wireless power receiver's registry; Bell [0077] discloses wireless power transmitter manager may report energy consumption statistics to energy domain service for subsequent billing of wireless power receiver's owner).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby to incorporate the teachings of Bell for the purpose of providing the system with a means to determine energy consumption statistics for subsequent billing (Bell [0077]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer, wherein the wireless power transfer includes transmitting a report of the energy consumption statistics for billing as taught by Bell) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Bell) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyes, IV et al. (US Patent Publication 2007/0021140 herein after referenced as Keyes) in view of YAHAGI et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0167638 herein after referenced as Yahagi) in view of Elkotby et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0057994 herein after referenced as Elkotby) and further in view of Wanstedt et al. (US Patent Publication 2014/0194092 herein after referenced as Wanstedt).
Regarding claim 25, Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses:
The second device of Claim 15, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the second device: (see claim 15).
Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby discloses a device receiving wireless power and wherein neighboring base units are selected but fails to explicitly disclose that a neighbor information is transmitted to the mobile device and therefore fails to disclose “transmit, to the first device, capability information indicating a set of cells with the capability of power supply.”
In a related field of endeavor, Wanstedt discloses:
transmit, to the first device, capability information indicating a set of cells with the capability of power supply (Wanstedt, [0030] discloses assume a requesting radio is running low on battery power and the requesting radio sends a charging request to the eNB, which may include a list of possible donor UEs power whose presence the requesting radio is aware of either by detecting them directly or being notified of them by the eNB and the possible donor UEs may be ranked in the order of the signal strength by UE and upon receiving the charging request from the requesting radio, the eNB negotiates with one or more registered donor UEs, and selects an available one and the eNB provides the identity of the selected donor UE to the requesting radio, and wireless charging is performed between the selected donor UE and the requesting radio).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes in view of Yahagi and further in view of Elkotby to incorporate the teachings of Wanstedt for the purpose of providing the system with a means to indicate to the network the ranking of the neighboring base stations for selection (Wanstedt, [0030]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing wireless power transfer, wherein the wireless power transfer includes transmitting a list of possible donor UEs to provide wireless power as taught by Wanstedt) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Wanstedt) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keyes, IV et al. (US Patent Publication 2007/0021140 herein after referenced as Keyes) in view of YAHAGI et al. (US Patent Publication 2021/0167638 herein after referenced as Yahagi).
Regarding claim 28, Keyes discloses:
A third device comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program codes; the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the third device at least to: receive, from a first device, a first message indicating a requirement of power supply to the first device; (Keyes, Fig. 7A & [0073] discloses the wireless power and data transmitter 426 then broadcasts a power request message (i.e. reads on receive a first message) at block 706 and the power request indicates to wireless base units (i.e. reads on to a third device) that the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on first device) seeks to establish a wireless communication link and a wireless power link and to receive wirelessly transmitted power in an amount sufficient to fulfill or satisfy or that is equivalent to the power requirement of the field device and the power request may also include the amount of power requested by the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on indicating a requirement of power supply to the first device); Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 then establishes a communication link and a power link with the wireless base unit at block 710 and begins to receive wirelessly transmitted power, at least some of which the wireless field unit transfers to the field device; Keyes, [0071] discloses the wireless field unit can receive the minimal power and power its communications circuitry such as the wireless power and data receiver, the wireless power and data transmitter 426, and the memory using the minimal power to establish a communication link with the wireless base unit; Keyes, [0069] discloses the example methods may be implemented in software that is executed via the example processor system and/or a hardware system configured according to the example wireless base unit 402 of FIG. 4 and/or the example wireless field unit 404 of FIG. 4; Keyes, Fig. 4 & [0064] discloses the wireless field unit 404 also includes a memory 430 to store communication software or firmware, process control data, run-time variables, or any other type of data, machine-readable and executable instructions or code, etc. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for complex devices such as the wireless base unit to include processor, memory and software instruction in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
and transmit, to the first device (Keyes, Fig. 7A & [0074] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 then obtains an acknowledgment (i.e. reads on transmit to the first device) from a wireless base unit that received the power request and the acknowledgment may indicate that the wireless base unit is capable of supplying the requested amount of power to the wireless field unit (i.e. reads on grant for the power supply to the first device)).
(Keyes, [0048] discloses that each of the wireless field units is configured to operate as a repeater (i.e. reads on second device) to retransmit power and information received from one of the wireless base units another one of the wireless field units; Keyes, [0075] discloses the wireless power and data receiver 422 may obtain configuration information from the wireless base unit 402 and/or any other process control data that the control equipment needs to communicate to the wireless field unit)
Keyes discloses the wireless base unit transmits an acknowledgment to the wireless field unit comprising the wireless power and data receiver and also discloses the use of a repeater or relay to retransmit power and information but fails to explicitly disclose that the acknowledgment or authorization is transmitted to the wireless field unit via a retransmission and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “transmit, to the first device and a second device, a grant for the power supply to the first device by the second device.”
In a related field of endeavor, Yahagi discloses:
transmit, to the first device and a second device, a grant for the power supply to the first device by the second device (Yahagi, [0176] discloses the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer (i.e. reads on transmit, a grant for the power supply to the first device) to the wide-area base station (i.e. reads on to the first device) through the narrow-area base station (i.e. reads on and a second device and reads on by the second device); Yahagi, [0165] discloses in a case where the wireless power transfer request is authorized, the wireless power transmitter transmits authorization of wireless power transfer to the narrow-area base station; Yahagi, [0103] discloses the wireless power transmitter executes the wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus with the first time T1 and the first frequency F1 in accordance with the obtained schedule information and the wireless terminal apparatus receives the wireless power transfer from the wireless power transmitter in accordance with the obtained schedule information; Yahagi, [0165] discloses the wireless power transmitter controls a state of each of the power transmitters as preparation for wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information, and the wireless power transmitter starts wireless power transfer for the wireless terminal apparatus; Yahagi, [0053] discloses allocates wireless resources each including a time and a frequency to the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer thus requested so that interference is prevented or reduced and creates a schedule and each of the wireless terminal apparatus and the wireless power transmitter controls execution of the wireless power transfer and the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule information; Yahagi, [0088] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus switches the shared antenna between at the time of the wireless power transfer and at the time of the wireless data communication in accordance with the schedule; Yahagi, [0201] discloses in a case where frequency or the like changes, the wireless terminal apparatus addresses the change in accordance with schedule information to switch the antenna switch so that the antenna is connected to the wireless power transfer side; Yahagi, [0126] discloses processor 401 and in particular, the schedule manager obtains the schedule information from the wireless power transmitter, and stores it in the memory and the schedule manager controls execution of the wireless data communication and the wireless power transfer in accordance with the schedule information of the memory in cooperation with the antenna controller and the antenna controller gives a control signal to the antenna switch; Yahagi, [0106] discloses the wireless terminal apparatus includes a processor 401).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Keyes to incorporate the teachings of Yahagi for the purpose of providing the system with a means to allow the devices to know which resources are utilized when performing wireless power transfer where interference is prevented or reduced (Yahagi, [0053] & Yahagi, [0103]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer as taught by Keyes) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer, wherein the configuration information indicates the resources to utilize in performing the wireless power transfer and utilizing a shared antenna and retransmitting authorization information as taught by Yahagi) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of receiving configuration information and performing wireless power transfer (i.e. as taught by Keyes & Yahagi) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645