DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment filed November 15, 2023 has been entered and considered with the Office Action below.
Claims 15-20 have been added.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the figures are considered generally informal with uneven and unclear lines making up the figures; for example, the liner arrangement in Figures 2-6 is difficult to see and the features thereof differentiate from the rest of the figure. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 60. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 10, 18, and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 6 of claim 1, the comma after the second occurrence of “part” should be removed.
In lines 2 and 3 of claim 4, the quotation marks around “at least a fraction” should be removed.
In line 2 of claim 4, the comma after “for or more” should be removed.
In line 4 of claim 4, the comma after “deflation function” should be removed.
In line 2 of claim 10, the quotation marks should be removed from around “for inserting” and “for installing”.
In line 3 of claim 10, “the said” should be changed to --the-- or --said--.
In lines 1 and 3 of claim 18, the quotation marks around “at least a fraction” should be removed.
In lines 1 and 3 of claim 19, the quotation marks around “at least a fraction” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” and thus are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for deflation and inflation” and “fastening means” in claim 1 and “fluid injection means” and “fluid withdrawing means” in claim 7.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “sealing arrangement” in claims 6 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 10-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the deflation function” in line 4.
Regarding claim 5: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the leading end” in line 4.
Regarding claims 6 and 10: Claim element “sealing arrangement” is a means (or step) plus function limitation that invokes 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
Applicant is required to:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be a means (or step) plus function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant is required to clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Regarding claim 10: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the for inserting” in line 2.
Regarding claim 10: The phrase “wherein the ‘for inserting’ further also comprises ‘for installing’ in a pipe structure” is considered generally confusing. What is “for inserting” and “for installing” referring to? Correction and clarification are required.
Regarding claim 11: The phrase “the above mentioned ability” is considered generally confusing as it is unclear if it is referring to any mention in claims 1-10 or just a mention in claim 1. It is suggested that the “above mentioned” portion of the phrase is not needed.
Regarding claim 12: As claim 1 requires “an inserting hose”, it is unclear if the “inserting hose” of claim 12 is the same hose as that recited in claim 1 or a separate feature. For the purposes of examination, the hose of claim 1 and claim 12 are being treated as the same element.
Regarding claim 13: Claim 13 requires that “the inserting tool [be] integrated with the inserting hose” however claim 1 indicates that the inserting hose is part of the inserting tool. It is unclear how the tool can be integrated with an element that is part of the tool itself.
Regarding claims 18 and 19: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the deflation function” in line 3.
Regarding claim 20: There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the leading end” in line 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nilsson et al. (US 2012/021114, Nilsson).
Regarding claims 1 and 14: Nilsson discloses a liner arrangement Fig 5 for inserting in a pipe structure 120 – Fig 8, wherein the liner arrangement comprises at least one liner part 110, an inserting tool 1 comprising an inserting hose 2 and means for deflation and inflation 3, 25 – [0027], [0047], [0072], [0077], [0078], and fastening means 116, wherein the at least one liner part has a length and is adapted to cooperate with the means for deflation and inflation Fig 6, wherein a partitioning of said at least one liner part encloses a part, of said inserting hose Fig 6, and said partitioning has a length Fig 5, 6, wherein at least a fraction of the enclosing partitioning, together with the fastening means, enable fastening of the at least one liner part to said inserting hose Fig 6 during insertion of the liner arrangement in a pipe structure 120 – Fig 8, and wherein, while the at least one liner part is fastened to said inserting hose, and during said insertion, the liner arrangement has ability to bend and thereby demonstrating a minimum outside bend radius not greater than about the smallest inside bend radius of said pipe structure Fig 8, [0009], [0044], [0045], [0064], [0092], [0099].
Regarding claim 2: Wherein the at least one liner part, during said insertion, cooperates with the means for deflation and inflation, and thereby the at least one liner part obtains an inflated state Abstract, [0002].
Regarding claims 3 and 17: Wherein the liner arrangement has ability to bend and thereby demonstrating a minimum outside bend radius not greater than about 97 % of the smallest inside bend radius of said pipe structure Fig 8, [0009], [0044], [0045], [0064], [0092], [0099].
Regarding claims 4, 18, and 19: Wherein said at least a fraction comprises one, two, three, four or more fractions of the enclosing partitioning Fig 6, 8, and wherein the at least a fraction, the fastening means, and the deflation function, of the means for deflation and inflation, together enable fastening of the at least one liner part to said inserting hose during insertion of the liner arrangement in a pipe structure Fig 6, 8.
Regarding claims 5 and 20: Wherein the liner arrangement has ability to bend and ability to demonstrate said minimum outside bend radius, over, at least, a main stretch of the liner arrangement, wherein the main stretch stretches from the leading end of the liner arrangement over, and past, the length of the at least one liner part, to an area on the inserting hose Fig 8, [0009], [0044], [0045], [0064], [0092], [0099].
Regarding claim 7: Wherein the means for deflation and inflation comprises fluid injecting means [0047]; fluid withdrawing means [0027], [0096]; and a deflatable and inflatable bladder, and/or said at least one liner part also functioning itself as a deflatable and inflatable bladder Abstract.
Regarding claim 8: Wherein the fastening means comprises at least one of glue, tape [0087], and clamps [0087].
Regarding claim 9: Wherein the liner arrangement further comprises a tow rope 5.
Regarding claim 11: Wherein the liner arrangement has the ability to bend along a length which is greater than the distance between an intended position for the liner part along the pipe structure and a position upstream of the location of said smallest inside bend radius of said pipe structure Fig 8, [0009], [0044], [0045], [0064], [0092], [0099].
Regarding claim 12: Wherein the liner arrangement comprises an inserting hose 2 which is free from rigid and non-flexible elements along said length Fig 1.
Regarding claim 13: Wherein the inserting tool is integrated with the inserting hose Fig 1.
Regarding claim 14: Nilsson discloses a method for relining a pipe structure-Abstract involving:
providing the above described liner arrangement Fig 5,
inserting said liner arrangement into the interior of the pipe structure fig 6, 7, wherein said liner arrangement, together with said liner arrangement's its fastening means, has an outer diameter that is smaller than the inner diameter of said pipe structure Fig 6, 7,
locating the at least one liner part at a desired position in the pipe structure Fig 6, 7,
inflating with the inflating function, of the means for deflation and inflation, wherein the means for deflation and inflation cooperates with the at least one liner part-such that the at least one liner part conforms to the interior shape of the pipe structure Abstract, [0002], [0027], [0047], [0072], [0077], [0078], and
sealing the liner arrangement against the interior of the pipe structure by curing – [0040]-[0044], [0046], [0047], [0095],
wherein said method comprises:
that during said insertion, the liner arrangement has ability to bend and thereby demonstrating a minimum outside bend radius not greater than about the smallest inside bend radius of said pipe structure Fig 8, [0009], [0044], [0045], [0064], [0092], [0099].
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the area on the inserting hose is in proximity to the at least one liner part Fig 6.
Regarding claim 16: Wherein the fluid injected by the fluid injecting means is one of hot oil, hot water, and hot gas [0047], and wherein the fluid withdrawing means is a source for providing vacuum [0027], [0096].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson in view of Wood et al. (US 6,146,491).
Regarding claim 6: Wherein the at least one liner part comprises a curable composition [0040]-[0044], [0046], [0047], [0095].
Nilsson discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the liner arrangement further comprises a sealing arrangement extending along the circumference of the at least one liner part, and the scaling arrangement is pre-mounted on at least one end section of the least one liner part before inserting the liner arrangement in said pipe structure.
Wood discloses a liner arrangement similar to that of Nilsson. The liner arrangement includes a liner part 110 around which seals 29 – Fig 6 or 32 – Fig 2, 8 extend so that the seals are located on an end section of the liner part when inserted in a pipe structure 3:42-60, 6:5-10.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nilsson to include a sealing arrangement extending along the circumference of the at least one liner part, and the scaling arrangement is pre-mounted on at least one end section of the least one liner part before inserting the liner arrangement in said pipe structure, as taught by Wood, in order to have been able to seal against the pipe structure and prevent debris from entering the interface between the liner and pipe structure 3:42-60.
Regarding claim 10: Wherein the "for inserting" further also comprises "for installing" in a pipe structure Fig 8, wherein the said at least one liner part is adapted to be curable[0040]-[0044], [0046], [0047], [0095].
Nilsson discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the liner arrangement further comprises a sealing arrangement.
Wood discloses a liner arrangement similar to that of Nilsson. The liner arrangement includes a liner part 110 around which seals 29 – Fig 6 or 32 – Fig 2, 8 extend so that the seals are located on an end section of the liner part when inserted in a pipe structure 3:42-60, 6:5-10.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Nilsson so that the liner arrangement included a sealing arrangement, as taught by Wood, in order to have been able to seal against the pipe structure and prevent debris from entering the interface between the liner and pipe structure 3:42-60.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
2/11/2026