DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 20180066855 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches an organic compound represented by formula (1) wherein two of Ar1, Ar2, and Ar3 are represented by formula (2) (Chemical Formula 1, [0011]-[0015]), reproduced below:
Regarding the limitation “for a photoelectric conversion element for imaging”, a preamble is generally not accorded patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02. Here, the prior art meets the structural limitations required by the claim and is suitable for use in an organic photosensitive device (Kim, [0110]). The prior art meets the limitation by being capable of the intended use.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 8, Kim does not explicitly teach the claimed properties. However, where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, regarding claimed properties or functions, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01(I).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein at least two groups of Ar1 to Ar3 has any one of the aromatic ring structure has any one of the aromatic ring structure represented by formula (2) (Chemical Formula 1) and formula (3) ([0033], L3 may be pyrene).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches wherein at least two groups of Ar1 to Ar3 has any one of the aromatic ring structure has any one of the aromatic ring structure represented by formula (2) (Chemical Formula 1) and formula (4) ([0016], Ar1 may be dibenzofuran).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches wherein at least one group of Ar1 to Ar3 is the aromatic ring structure represented by formula (2), and at least another group of Ar1 to Ar3 has any one of the aromatic ring structure represented by formula (2) or (4) (Chemical Formula 1; [0016], Ar1 may be dibenzofuran).
Regarding claim 9, regarding the limitation “wherein the material is used as a hole transport material”, a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114(II). The intended use of the material does not structurally distinguish it from the prior art, which teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. The prior art can meet this future limitation by merely being capable of such intended use. Kim teaches where the material may be used as a hole transport material ([0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20180066855 A) in view of Tokuhara (U.S. PGPub 2018/0219047).
Regarding claims 10-11, Kim teaches the material according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1). Kim teaches where the material can be used as an electron transport material ([0019]).
Tokuhara teaches a photoelectric conversion element for imaging ([0309]) comprising a photoelectric conversion layer and electron blocking layer between two electrodes (conversion layer 23B, electron blocking layer 20e, [0210]), where the photoelectric conversion layer may comprise a hole transport layer (230p, [0211], [0213]), wherein the hole transport/electron blocking compound is an organic compound ([0213], [0219]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Tokuhara with Kim such that at least one layer of the photoelectric conversion layer or the electron blocking layer contains the material according to claim 1 for the purpose of providing an appropriate organic compound with improved properties (Kim, [0019]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kim and Tokuhara teaches wherein the photoelectric conversion layer contains an electron transport material (Tokuhara, 230n, [0212], [0214]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Kim and Tokuhara for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 10.
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812