DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Yoneyama (JP-H1048667-A, Note: The English language translation attached to the Office action will be referenced).
Regarding claims 9 and 11:
re claim 9, Yoneyama discloses a display panel, comprising:
a display part (one pixel in Figs. 3-4) and a non-display part 1 (all regions outside of one pixel, e.g., outside of Figs. 3-4) disposed on at least one side (e.g., all sides) of the display part;
a substrate 1 (Fig. 3);
a first thin film transistor (TFT, Fig. 3) disposed on the substrate 1 and located in the display part, wherein the first TFT comprises a first active portion 2 (Fig. 3 and [00013] of the English translation), a first source 8 (Fig. 3), a first gate 4 (Fig. 3), and a first drain 11 (Fig. 3), the first source 8 and the first drain 11 disposed on the first active portion 2, wherein the first source 8 is electrically connected to a first end of the first active portion 2 (Fig. 3), the first drain 11 is electrically connected to a second end of the first active portion 2 (Fig. 3), and the first gate 4 is disposed corresponding to the first active portion 2;
a pixel electrode layer 12 (Fig. 3) disposed on the first TFT and electrically connected to the first drain 11; and
a first planarization layer 13 (Fig. 3) disposed between the first drain 11 and the pixel electrode layer 12 and comprising a first opening (e.g., opening in layer 13 for the pixel electrode 12 that is directly above gate electrode 4), wherein the pixel electrode layer 12 is connected to the first drain 11 through the first opening,
wherein a material of the first drain 11 comprises a transparent conductive material (ITO, see bottom of pp. 3 of the English translation);
wherein the first opening is arranged corresponding to the first gate (e.g., in Fig. 3, the first opening is directly above the first gate 4), an orthographic projection of the first opening projected on the substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first gate 4 projected on the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first source 8 (Fig. 3) projected on the substrate 1 at least partially overlaps with the orthographic projection of the first gate 4 projected on the substrate 11; and
re claim 11, the display panel according to claim 9, further comprising: an insulating layer 6 (Fig. 3) disposed between the first source 8 and the first drain 11 which are arranged in different layers.
Therefore, claims 9 and 11 are anticipated by Yoneyama.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoneyama in view of Yun et al. (US 2016/0141349 A1; hereinafter, “Yun”, of record).
Regarding claim 1:
Yoneyama discloses a display panel, comprising:
a display part (one pixel in Figs. 3-4) and a non-display part 1 (all regions outside of one pixel, e.g., outside of Figs. 3-4) disposed on at least one side (e.g., all sides) of the display part;
a substrate 1 (Fig. 3);
a first thin film transistor (TFT, Fig. 3) disposed on the substrate 1 and located in the display part, wherein the first TFT comprises a first active portion 2 (Fig. 3 and [00013] of the English translation), a first source 8 (Fig. 3), a first gate 4 (Fig. 3), and a first drain 11 (Fig. 3), the first source 8 and the first drain 11 disposed on the first active portion 2, wherein the first source 8 is electrically connected to a first end of the first active portion 2 (Fig. 3), the first drain 11 is electrically connected to a second end of the first active portion 2 (Fig. 3), and the first gate 4 is disposed corresponding to the first active portion 2;
a pixel electrode layer 12 (Fig. 3) disposed on the first TFT and electrically connected to the first drain 11; and
a first planarization layer 13 (Fig. 3) disposed between the first drain 11 and the pixel electrode layer 12 and comprising a first opening (e.g., opening in layer 13 for the pixel electrode 12 that is directly above gate electrode 4), wherein the pixel electrode layer 12 is connected to the first drain 11 through the first opening,
wherein a material of the first drain 11 comprises a transparent conductive material (ITO, see bottom of pp. 3 of the English translation);
wherein the first opening is arranged corresponding to the first gate (e.g., in Fig. 3, the first opening is directly above the first gate 4), an orthographic projection of the first opening projected on the substrate at least partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of the first gate 4 projected on the substrate, and an orthographic projection of the first source 8 (Fig. 3) projected on the substrate 1 at least partially overlaps with the orthographic projection of the first gate 4 projected on the substrate 11; and
Yoneyama is silent with regard to a material for the first source 8; however, Yoneyama discloses the first drain 11 is made of ITO.
Yun teaches, in a display panel, it was very well known in the art o incorporate ITO for a source and drain of a TFT (e.g., see Yun, [0054]).
Since Yoneyama is silent as to a material for the first source, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically incorporate ITO for the first source in Yoneyama because Yun teaches/shows it was very well known in the art to incorporated ITO for both a source and drain of a TFT.
Regarding claims 2 and 21:
re claim 2, Yoneyama discloses an insulating layer 6 (Fig. 3) disposed between the first source 8 and the first drain 11 which are arranged in different layers; and
re claim 21, Yoneyama discloses the first source 8 and the first drain 11 are disposed on a same layer 2 (Fig. 3).
Therefore, Yoneyama (in view of Yun) renders claims 2 and 21 obvious.
Regarding claim 12:
Yoneyama anticipates claim 9 and further discloses the first source 8 (Fig. 3) and the first drain 11 are disposed in a same layer 11. However, Yoneyama is silent with regard to a material for the first source 8; however, Yoneyama discloses the first drain 11 is made of ITO.
Yun teaches, in a display panel, it was very well known in the art to incorporate ITO for a source and drain of a TFT (e.g., see Yun, [0054]).
Since Yoneyama is silent as to a material for the first source, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specifically incorporate ITO for the first source in Yoneyama because Yun teaches/shows it was very well known in the art to incorporated ITO for both a source and drain of a TFT.
Regarding claim 20:
Initially, the current claim is directed to an electronic terminal comprising the display panel of claim 12, wherein all limitations recited in the current claims are recited in claim 12 except for an electronic terminal. The display panels in both Yoneyama and Yun are well suited and commonly incorporated into an electronic terminal; accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporated the display panel of Yoneyama (in view of Yun) into an electronic terminal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 13-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 3 is allowed because the prior art of record cannot anticipated or render obvious the limitations in this claim (when combined with claim 1);
Claims 4-8 are allowed because the prior art of record cannot anticipated or render obvious the limitations in claim 4 (when combined with claim 1), and claims 5-8 depend from claim 4;
Claim 13 is allowed because the prior art of record cannot anticipated or render obvious the limitations in this claim (when combined with claims 9 and 12); and
Claims 14-19 are allowed because the prior art of record cannot anticipated or render obvious the limitations in claim 14 (when combined with claim 9), and claims 15-19 depend from claim 14.
Remarks
The objection to the title is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
The rejections of claims 7 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant’s remarks have been fully considered, however, they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendment to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892