DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/561,224 filed on 11/15/2023. The preliminary amendment presented on 11/15/2023, which cancels claims 1-63 and adds new claims 64-84, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 64-84 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/15/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 73-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 73, the limitations of “a method performed by an edge node… receiving from an edge node… transmitting to the edge node” are not clear to define claimed limitations. It appears that the edge node performs receiving from the same edge node and transmitting to the same edge node. It is not clear to interpret claim limitations. Similar rejection is made for claim 84. Therefore claims 74-83 are rejected for a dependency on the rejected claim 73.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 64-65 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu)(US 2020/0304958) in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2018/0146362).
Regarding claims 64 and 72, Xu teaches as follows:
An edge orchestrator (interpreted as the broadcast multicast service center (hereinafter BM-SC) apparatus 30 may be a service center, such as BM-SC 114 in figures 2-4, see, ¶ [0093] and figure 6c) configured to operate in an edge computing system, the edge orchestrator comprising:
a processor (apparatus 30 includes a processor 42 for processing information and executing instructions or operations. Processor 42 may be any type of general or specific purpose processor, see, ¶ [0094] and figure 6c);
a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the edge orchestrator to (apparatus 30 may further include or be coupled to a memory 44, which may be coupled to processor 42, for storing information and instructions that may be executed by processor 42… The instructions stored in memory 44 may include program instructions or computer program code that, when executed by processor 42, enable the apparatus 30 to perform tasks as described herein, see, ¶ [0095] and figure 6c):
receive, from an application server (interpreted as the intelligent transport system station (ITS-S/RSU) 120 in figure 4)(an application server (e.g., ITS-S/RSU 120) may initiate an activate MBMS bearer procedure including the use of a local MBMS distribution path, see, ¶ [0060]) that hosts a central application (the application server may send the downlink data to the LME 105, which is then sent to the eNB 101 as MBMS data, see, ¶ [0062]), a first request for performing an Multimedia Broadcast/Multicast Service (MBMS) service management procedure for the central application (at 5, the ITS-S/RSU 120 may initiate an activation MBMS bearer request procedure that includes sending an activate MBMS bearer request message (equivalent to applicant’s first request) to the BM-SC 114, see, ¶ [0068] and figure 4);
process the first request; and transmit, to the application server, a first response indicating whether the MBMS service management procedure was successfully performed, wherein the first response is at least partially based on a result of the processing (the BM-SC 114 may reply, at 6, with an activate MBMS bearer response message, see, ¶ [0068] and figure 4)(the activate MBMS bearer request message is inherently processed and succeeded before the activate MBMS bearer response message was sent back).
Xu does not explicitly teach the edge computing system.
Hou teaches as follows:
With development of distributed cloud computing technologies, a mobile network edge is capable of providing a cloud computing service. In this context, a low-latency feature of an edge multimedia service (equivalent to applicant’s edge computing system) is to bring users brand new Internet use experience (see, ¶ [0024]); and
in an MBMS service data transmission system in this example, an edge BM-SC and an MBMS GW are deployed on a network edge (equivalent to applicant’s edge computing system), and a central BM-SC is deployed on a core network (see, ¶ [0027] and figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu with Hou to include the edge multimedia service as taught by Hou in order to efficiently provide low-latency feature of the edge multimedia service.
Regarding claim 65, Xu teaches as follows:
Before receiving the first request:
transmitting, to each of one or more edge nodes that host an MBMS support service, a second request (interpreted as the local distribution request message) for provisioning a configuration at the corresponding edge node for localized MBMS (at 3, the ITS-S/RSU 120 may initiate a local distribution request procedure that includes sending a local distribution request message to the Local MBMS Entity (LME) 105, see, ¶ [0066] and figure 4); and
receiving, from each of the one or more edge nodes, a second response (interpreted as the local distribution response message) indicating whether the configuration is successfully provisioned at the corresponding edge node (at 4, the LME 105 may reply with a local distribution response message that includes a list of the IP address(es)/port(s) in the LME 105 for receiving data, and the associated information of local MBMS distribution, such as IP Source Address, and IP Multicast Address in the LME 105 for IP multicast distribution, see, ¶ [0067] and figure 4).
Claims 66-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (hereinafter Xu)(US 2020/0304958) in view of Hou et al. (hereinafter Hou)(US 2018/0146362), and further in view of Zhu (US 2021/0029775).
Regarding claim 66, Xu in view of Hou teaches all limitations as presented above except for the xMB interface.
Zhu teaches as follows:
The BM-SC provides a service and a capability supported by the BM-SC for the SCEF by using an xMB interface. The BM-SC 240 supports provision and delivery of an MBMS user service, and is configured to serve as an entry point for a content provider MBMS to perform transmission, to authorize and initiate an MBMS bearer service, and arrange and transmit MBMS data (see, ¶ [0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu in view of Hou with Zhu to include the well-known xMB interface as taught by Zhu in order to efficiently provide a MBMS bearer service and transmit MBMS data.
Regarding claim 67, Xu teaches as follows:
Wherein the first request is a request for creating an MBMS user service (the MBMS feature is divided into the MBMS bearer service and the MBMS user service… The MBMS user service is the MBMS service layer and may provide a streaming and a download delivery method, see, ¶ [0044]) and comprises an identifier of the central application (interpreted as the IP source address)(at 4, the LME 105 may reply with a local distribution response message that includes a list of the IP address(es)/port(s) in the LME 105 for receiving data, and the associated information of local MBMS distribution, such as IP Source Address, and IP Multicast Address in the LME 105 for IP multicast distribution, see, [0067]); and
the first response comprises an identifier of a resource assigned to the MBMS user service (at 7, the BM-SC 114 may initiate a MBMS session start procedure that includes sending a MBMS session start request message, which includes the information of local MBMS distribution, see, ¶ [0069]).
Regarding claim 68, Xu teaches as follows:
Next, at 7, the BM-SC 114 may initiate a MBMS session start procedure (equivalent to applicant’s third request creating the MBMS user service) that includes sending a MBMS session start request message, which includes the information of local MBMS distribution, to the MME/MBMS-GW 111... The MBMS-GW 111 may use the received local MBMS distribution information in the MBMS session start request message, and send it to the MME, which at 8 is forwarded to eNB/MCE 101. At 9, the eNB may join the IP Multicast group, which is one of the groups in the LME. The BM-SC 114 may initiate a MBMS service announcement at 10. In an embodiment, at 11, the ITS-S/RSU 120 may send the data to the LME 105 based on the LME's IP address/port received in step 4. Once the LME 105 receive the data in the specific IP address/port, the LME 105 may then forward the data to the associated IP multicast distribution path (see, ¶ [0069]-[0070] and figure 4).
Xu in view of Hou teaches all limitations as presented above except for the xMB interface.
Zhu teaches as follows:
The BM-SC provides a service and a capability supported by the BM-SC for the SCEF by using an xMB interface. The BM-SC 240 supports provision and delivery of an MBMS user service, and is configured to serve as an entry point for a content provider MBMS to perform transmission, to authorize and initiate an MBMS bearer service, and arrange and transmit MBMS data (see, ¶ [0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu in view of Hou with Zhu to include the well-known xMB interface as taught by Zhu in order to efficiently provide a MBMS bearer service and transmit MBMS data.
Regarding claim 69, Xu in view of Hou and Zhu teaches similar limitations as presented above and Xu further teaches the service name as follows:
The ITS-S/RSU 120 may be preconfigured with LME information, such as fully qualified domain name (FQDN)(equivalent to applicant’s service name) or an IP address for each location (see, ¶ [0066]).
Therefore, the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) is inherently exchanged during the communications.
Regarding claim 70, Xu teaches as follows:
Selecting at least one of the one or more edge nodes (interpreted as LME 105 in figure 4) that host the MBMS support service, based at least partially on the respective serving areas of the one or more edge nodes (the activate MBMS bearer request message may comprise at least one of information on local MBMS distribution received from a local MBMS entity (LME), or a destination area, or a destination area and an indication that preferred delivery is via local distribution, see, ¶ [0018]);
transmitting, to each of the selected edge nodes, a fourth request for notifying information for the MBMS user service; and receiving, from each of the selected edge nodes, a fourth response acknowledging the fourth request (at 3, the ITS-S/RSU 120 may initiate a local distribution request procedure that includes sending a local distribution request message to the LME 105. In an embodiment, the local distribution request message may include the TMGI(s) as an identifier. According to an embodiment, at 4, the LME 105 may reply with a local distribution response message that includes a list of the IP address(es)/port(s) in the LME 105 for receiving data, and the associated information of local MBMS distribution, such as IP Source Address, and IP Multicast Address in the LME 105 for IP multicast distribution, see, ¶ [0066]-[0067] and figure 4).
Regarding claim 71, Xu in view of Hou and Zhu teaches similar limitations as presented in the rejections for claims 67 and 69-70.
Therefore, it is rejected for similar reason as presented above.
Conclusion
/JEONG S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454
April 16, 2026