DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 5/14/2026.
Claims 1-8 and 14-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 5/14/2026 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 14, 17-19, 21-22, and 24are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (USPAN 2020/0396568) in view of Rantala (WO 2019/122515 A1).
Consider claims 1, 22, and 24, Huang discloses an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (see figure 10, wherein disclosed is said apparatus comprising said processor 1006 and memory 1008), and a corresponding method (see figure 9, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions that, when executed, cause the apparatus to perform (see computer-readable memory 1008 in figure 10):
configure a link to receive groupcast frames among multiple links between the apparatus and an access node apparatus; and send an indication to the access node apparatus indicating the link configured to receive the groupcast frames (see step 902 of figure 9: determining a plurality of links between one or more APs in an AP MLD and one or more non-AP stations; see step 904 in figure 9: determine one or more group addressed frames to be sent from the one or more APs of the AP MLD to the one or more non-AP stations; see step 906 of figure 9: generate a delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) associated with each link to be used by the one or more non-AP stations of the non-AP MLD to receive group addressed frames; and see step 908 of figure 9: perform an action based on whether the non-AP MLD sent an indication that a first link of the plurality of links is selected by the non-AP MLD for receiving a first group addressed frame).
Huang does not specifically disclose that the apparatus is a non-access node.
Rantala discloses that the apparatus is a non-access node (see paragraph 42: the caller device 102 may be a non-access node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Rantala. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for a lower-power wake-up radio to receiving wake-up frames from an access point at a desired distance (see paragraph 1 of Rantala).
Consider claims 2 and 17, Huang discloses that the link configured to receive the groupcast frames is between a station of the apparatus and an access node of the access node apparatus (see figures 1 and 2, wherein disclosed is said link to receive the groupcast between a station of the apparatus and an access node of the access node apparatus; also, see figures 2 and 3A and 3B), wherein the station is in power active mode (see figure 9 and paragraphs 178-182: the station is in a power active mode).
Consider claims 3 and 19, Huang discloses to configure one or more other links to receive the groupcast frames or to abstain from receiving the groupcast frames among the multiple links between the apparatus and the access node apparatus (see figures 3A, 3B, and 9, wherein disclosed is said configuring of the link to receive the groupcast frames).
Consider claim 5, Huang discloses that the indication is sent on the link configured to receive the groupcast frames (see paragraph 181, where it is implicit that the DTIM is sent on the link configured to receive the groupcast frames).
Consider claims 14 and 21, Huang discloses to receive an indication from the access node apparatus indicating a suggested link to receive groupcast frames among the multiple links between the apparatus and the access node apparatus; and configure the suggested link to receive the groupcast frames (see paragraph 182: At block 908, the device may perform an action based on whether the non-AP MLD sent an indication that a first link of the plurality of links is selected by the non-AP MLD for receiving a first group addressed frame from the one or more group addressed frames).
Consider claim 18, Huang discloses to configure the access node of the access node apparatus to send the groupcast frames (see figures 3A, 3B, and 9, wherein disclosed is said configuring of the access node to send the groupcast frames).
Claims 4, 6-8, 16, 20, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (USPAN 2020/0396568) in view of Rantala (WO 2019/122515 A1) and Asterjadhi (USPAN 2016/0219522).
Consider claims 4 and 20, although Huang discloses the one or more other links configured to receive the groupcast frames or to abstain from receiving the groupcast frames are between other stations of the apparatus and other access nodes of the access node apparatus (see figures 3A, 3B, and 9, wherein disclosed is said configuring of the link to receive the groupcast frames), Huang does not specifically disclose that the station is in power save mode.
Asterjadhi discloses that the station is in power save mode (see paragraphs 68, 143, and 146: the station is in power save mode and is a station of a non-access node apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Asterjadhi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for triggered target wake time operation, to thereby save energy (see paragraph 3 of Asterjadhi).
Consider claim 6, although Huang discloses the indication (see above), Huang does not specifically disclose that the indication is comprised in a control field of a medium access control header.
Asterjadhi discloses that the indication is comprised in a control field of a medium access control header (see paragraph 65: “a subfield in the MAC header (e.g., within the high efficiency (HE) variant of the high throughput (HT) Control field) of a frame transmitted to the TWT responder may indicate a suspension of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 1 and may indicate a resumption of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 0, or vice versa”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Asterjadhi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for triggered target wake time operation, to thereby save energy (see paragraph 3 of Asterjadhi).
Consider claim 7, although Huang discloses the indication (see above), Huang does not specifically disclose that the indication is comprised in a high throughput control field of a medium access control header.
Asterjadhi discloses that the indication is comprised in a high throughput control field of a medium access control header (see paragraph 65: “a subfield in the MAC header (e.g., within the high efficiency (HE) variant of the high throughput (HT) Control field) of a frame transmitted to the TWT responder may indicate a suspension of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 1 and may indicate a resumption of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 0, or vice versa”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Asterjadhi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for triggered target wake time operation, to thereby save energy (see paragraph 3 of Asterjadhi).
Consider claim 8, although Huang discloses the indication (see above), Huang does not specifically disclose that the indication is comprised in a high efficiency variant of a high throughput control field of a medium access control header.
Asterjadhi discloses that the indication is comprised in a high efficiency variant of a high throughput control field of a medium access control header (see paragraph 65: “a subfield in the MAC header (e.g., within the high efficiency (HE) variant of the high throughput (HT) Control field) of a frame transmitted to the TWT responder may indicate a suspension of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 1 and may indicate a resumption of the TWT agreement(s) if set to 0, or vice versa”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Asterjadhi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for triggered target wake time operation, to thereby save energy (see paragraph 3 of Asterjadhi).
Consider claims 16, 23, and 25, Huang discloses an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus (see figure 1, wherein disclosed is said apparatus), and a corresponding method (see figure 9, reproduced below for convenience, wherein disclosed is said method), and a corresponding non-transitory computer readable medium comprising program instructions that, when executed with the apparatus, cause the apparatus to perform the method (see computer-readable memory 1008 in figure 10) to:
receive an indication from a non-access node apparatus indicating a link configured to receive groupcast frames among multiple links between the non-access node apparatus and the apparatus; transmit the groupcast frames at least on the link configured to receive the groupcast frames among the multiple links between the non-access node apparatus and the apparatus; and buffer the groupcast frames for transmission on another link among the multiple links between the non-access node apparatus and the apparatus when there is at least one link between a station and an access node of the apparatus (see step 902 of figure 9: determining a plurality of links between one or more APs in an AP MLD and one or more non-AP stations; see step 904 in figure 9: determine one or more group addressed frames to be sent from the one or more APs of the AP MLD to the one or more non-AP stations; see step 906 of figure 9: generate a delivery traffic indication map (DTIM) associated with each link to be used by the one or more non-AP stations of the non-AP MLD to receive group addressed frames; and see step 908 of figure 9: perform an action based on whether the non-AP MLD sent an indication that a first link of the plurality of links is selected by the non-AP MLD for receiving a first group addressed frame; see paragraphs 54, 99, and 124: said buffering of the groupcast frames).
Although Huang discloses the at least one link is configured to receive groupcast frames (see above), Huang does not specifically disclose that the station is in power save mode, wherein the station is a station of the non-access node apparatus or a station of another non-access node apparatus.
Asterjadhi discloses that the station is in power save mode, wherein the station is a station of the non-access node apparatus or a station of another non-access node apparatus (see paragraphs 68, 143, and 146: the station is in power save mode and is a station of a non-access node apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Asterjadhi. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for triggered target wake time operation, to thereby save energy (see paragraph 3 of Asterjadhi).
Huang does not specifically disclose that the apparatus is a non-access node.
Rantala discloses that the apparatus is a non-access node (see paragraph 42: the caller device 102 may be a non-access node).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Rantala. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for a lower-power wake-up radio to receiving wake-up frames from an access point at a desired distance (see paragraph 1 of Rantala).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (USPAN 2020/0396568) in view of Rantala (WO 2019/122515 A1), Asterjadhi (USPAN 2016/0219522), and Ikeda (USPAN 2007/0230471).
Consider claim 15, Huang does not specifically disclose that the groupcast frames provide an internet protocol television service.
Ikeda discloses that the groupcast frames provide an internet protocol television service (see paragraph 61: groupcast IPTV data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang and combine it with the noted teachings of Ikeda. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method to avoid duplicate transfers of data and to reduce the congestion of information flow and data delays (see paragraph 12 of Ikeda).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412