DETAILED ACTION
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments, filed02/16/26, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant, on pages 3-4 of the remark, argues that The Office Action argues that this discloses the recited limitations of claim 1 above. In Kreishan, the geolocation server 102 sends requests to the SAS 104, but the geolocation server is not described as being associated with an SAS/AFC service provider or operator. Second, the claim requires a request 'to add, modify, delete, or view information about the AFC service provider and/or an AFC system.' Kreishan's request is for 'active CBSDs for specific PLMNs' - this is a request for device information, not information about the SAS service provider or system itself. The Office Action cites Ergen for 'add, modify, delete, or view' functionality, and particularly to paragraph [0011], but Ergen discusses incumbent services adding sites or modifying their networks in FCC databases, not requests to an AFC service provider database about AFC service providers/systems. The combination also does not appear to teach a request to modify information about the AFC service provider itself. In view of this, Kreishan and Ergen do not teach or suggest receiving, from a network node associated with at least one of an AFC service provider or an AFC operator, a request to add, modify, delete, or view information about the AFC service provider and/or an AFC system of the AFC service provider and Macmullan fails to cure the deficiencies of Kreishan and Ergen. Accordingly, withdrawal of this rejection is respectfully requested. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Kreishan et al. disclose at least in paragraph 33 that each CBSD is, e.g. a fixed location base station supporting Citizens Broadband Radio Services (CBRS). The SAS 104 assigns authorized CBSDs to specific frequencies. A geolocation server, e.g., geolocation server 102 is a service provider which maintains a list of active CBSDs. Kreishan et al. disclose at least in paragraphs 75-77 that CBSD 502 generates and sends registration request signal 506 to SAS 104. After the CBSD 502 is registered and authorized by the SAS 104, a data record of the authorized CBSD 502 and its attributes is stored in the SAS records or database 105. But it does not explicitly request to add itself into the SAS’s database. Furthermore, Kreishan et al. disclose at least in paragraph 112 that geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs. SAS 104 processes the received request and transmits a response message which includes a list of attributes for active CBSDs. The geolocation server 102 receives the response and updates its database. But, Kreishan et al. do not explicitly disclose to add or modify its database. Therefore, the Examiner relies on Ergen for disclosing request to add, modify, delete, or view information. For the reason above, the Examiner contends that the combination of the references shows all limitations in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreishan et al. (U.S. 20210067902) in view of Macmullan et al. (U.S. 20210144724) and further in view of Ergen (U.S. 20210409976).
For claim 1, Kreishan et al. disclose a method performed by a spectrum access system, SAS, service provider database that maintains records of SAS service providers and/or SAS systems, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node associated with at least one of an SAS service provider or an SAS operator, a request about the SAS service provider and/or an SAS system of the SAS service provider (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103. After a defined time interval 914, the geolocation server 102 in step 902′ generates and sends another request signal 904′, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific PLMNs. The process continues with the SAS receiving, processing and responding to the request and with the geolocation server receiving and processing the response. Thus, the geolocation server 102 updates its database 103 on an ongoing basis.); and
performing an action responsive to the request (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102.)
However, Kreishan et al. do not disclose a spectrum access system, SAS, may be an Automatic Frequency Coordination, AFC; and a request to add, modify, delete, or view information.
In the same field of endeavor, Macmullan et al. disclose a spectrum access system, SAS, may be an Automatic Frequency Coordination, AFC (at least [0011]. A shared spectrum controller (e.g., SAS) is referred to herein as an Automatic Frequency Coordinator (AFC) system. the AFC system may be a shared spectrum controller, such as an SAS, for managing access to frequency channels in the 6 GHz spectrum.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kreishan et al.as taught by Macmullan et al. for purpose of managing access to frequency channels and protecting incumbent receivers from interference.
In the same field of endeavor, Ergen discloses a request to add, modify, delete, or view information (at least [0011]. AFC allows incumbent services to add sites or modify their networks, since FCC databases continue to be updated by incumbents.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kreishan et al. as taught by Ergen for purpose of adding sites or modifying their networks.
For claim 2, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 1. Kreishan et al. disclose receiving, from an authorized entity, a query for AFC service providers; and responsive to receiving the query, sending, to the authorized entity, a query response that comprises a list of AFC service providers that satisfy the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.)
For claim 3, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 2. Kreishan et al. disclose the query comprises criteria, and the list of AFC service providers comprises one or more AFC service providers that satisfy the criteria comprised in the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.)
For claim 4, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 3. Kreishan et al. disclose the criteria comprised in the query comprises at least one of a geographic location, a geographic region, a time range, a frequency, a frequency range, and/or a Federal Communication Commission Identifier, FCC-ID (at least Fig. 9, [0073] and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). The SAS supports an API for pulling/pushing CBSD records that belong to specific carrier's based on the carrier ID.)
For claim 6, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 1. Kreishan et al. disclose receiving, from a geolocation server, a query for the AFC service providers; and responsive to receiving the query, sending, to the geolocation server, a query response that comprises a list of AFC service providers that satisfy the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.) However, Ergen discloses an incumbent operator (at least [0011]. AFC allows incumbent services to add sites or modify their networks, since FCC databases continue to be updated by incumbents.)
For claim 7, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 6. Kreishan et al. disclose wherein the query comprises criteria, and the list of AFC service providers comprises one or more AFC service providers that satisfy the criteria comprised in the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.)
For claim 8, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 7. Kreishan et al. disclose the criteria comprised in the query comprises at least one of a geographic location, a geographic region, a time range, a frequency, a frequency range, and/or a Federal Communication Commission Identifier, FCC-ID (at least Fig. 9, [0073] and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). The SAS supports an API for pulling/pushing CBSD records that belong to specific carrier's based on the carrier ID.)
For claims 10-12, the claims have features similar to claims 1-4. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 1-4.
For claim 13, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 10. Kreishan et al. disclose method of claim 10, wherein the other entity is at least one of an authorized entity or an incumbent system operated by an incumbent operator (at Fig. 9 and [0112]-[0116]. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103. In step 916 user device 901 generates and sends a request signal 918, e.g., request message, to geolocation server 918 requesting active CBSDs for a specific coverage area. In step 924 the geolocation server 102 generates a response message 926 including a code (e.g., value=1) indicating coverage area contains active CBSD(s), e.g., the UE is located in the coverage area of an active CBSD, and further including a set of information corresponding to the closest active CBSD.)
For claims 14-17, the claims have features similar to claims 1-4. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 1-4.
For claims 19-20, the claims have features similar to claims 6-7. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 6-7.
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreishan et al. (U.S. 20210067902) in view of Macmullan et al. (U.S. 20210144724) and further in view of Ergen (U.S. 20210409976) and further in view of Mukherjee et al. (U.S. 20190327765).
For claim 5, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen do not disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising: communicating with an incumbent operator to update an authorized user access list for the AFC service provider database.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee et al. disclose communicating with an incumbent operator to update an authorized user access list for the AFC service provider database (at least [0090]. The system 10 may optionally include Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Databases, which are system-wide accessible databases that allow the look-up of a PAL boundary and PAL ownership based upon the PAL-ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kreishan et al.as taught by Mukherjee et al. for purpose of allowing access to the system.
For claim 18, the claim has features similar to claim 5. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644