DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responded to the Preliminary Amendment which filed on 11/16/23.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 05/02/25 and 11/16/23 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreishan et al. (U.S. 20210067902) in view of Macmullan et al. (U.S. 20210144724) and further in view of Ergen (U.S. 20210409976).
For claim 1, Kreishan et al. disclose a method performed by a spectrum access system, SAS, service provider database that maintains records of SAS service providers and/or SAS systems, the method comprising:
receiving, from a network node associated with at least one of an SAS service provider or an SAS operator, a request about the SAS service provider and/or an SAS system of the SAS service provider (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103. After a defined time interval 914, the geolocation server 102 in step 902′ generates and sends another request signal 904′, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific PLMNs. The process continues with the SAS receiving, processing and responding to the request and with the geolocation server receiving and processing the response. Thus, the geolocation server 102 updates its database 103 on an ongoing basis.); and
performing an action responsive to the request (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102.)
However, Kreishan et al. do not disclose a spectrum access system, SAS, may be an Automatic Frequency Coordination, AFC; and a request to add, modify, delete, or view information.
In the same field of endeavor, Macmullan et al. disclose a spectrum access system, SAS, may be an Automatic Frequency Coordination, AFC (at least [0011]. A shared spectrum controller (e.g., SAS) is referred to herein as an Automatic Frequency Coordinator (AFC) system. the AFC system may be a shared spectrum controller, such as an SAS, for managing access to frequency channels in the 6 GHz spectrum.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kreishan et al.as taught by Macmullan et al. for purpose of managing access to frequency channels and protecting incumbent receivers from interference.
In the same field of endeavor, Ergen discloses a request to add, modify, delete, or view information (at least [0011]. AFC allows incumbent services to add sites or modify their networks, since FCC databases continue to be updated by incumbents.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kreishan et al. as taught by Ergen for purpose of adding sites or modifying their networks.
For claim 2, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 1. Kreishan et al. disclose receiving, from an authorized entity, a query for AFC service providers; and responsive to receiving the query, sending, to the authorized entity, a query response that comprises a list of AFC service providers that satisfy the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.)
For claim 3, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 2. Kreishan et al. disclose the query comprises criteria, and the list of AFC service providers comprises one or more AFC service providers that satisfy the criteria comprised in the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.)
For claim 4, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 3. Kreishan et al. disclose the criteria comprised in the query comprises at least one of a geographic location, a geographic region, a time range, a frequency, a frequency range, and/or a Federal Communication Commission Identifier, FCC-ID (at least Fig. 9, [0073] and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). The SAS supports an API for pulling/pushing CBSD records that belong to specific carrier's based on the carrier ID.)
For claim 6, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 1. Kreishan et al. disclose receiving, from a geolocation server, a query for the AFC service providers; and responsive to receiving the query, sending, to the geolocation server, a query response that comprises a list of AFC service providers that satisfy the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.) However, Ergen discloses an incumbent operator (at least [0011]. AFC allows incumbent services to add sites or modify their networks, since FCC databases continue to be updated by incumbents.)
For claim 7, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 6. Kreishan et al. disclose wherein the query comprises criteria, and the list of AFC service providers comprises one or more AFC service providers that satisfy the criteria comprised in the query (at least Fig. 9 and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). In step 906 SAS 104 receives the request for active CBSDs for specific PLMNs and recovers the communicated information. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103.)
For claim 8, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 7. Kreishan et al. disclose the criteria comprised in the query comprises at least one of a geographic location, a geographic region, a time range, a frequency, a frequency range, and/or a Federal Communication Commission Identifier, FCC-ID (at least Fig. 9, [0073] and [0112]. In step 902 geolocation server 102 generates and send request signal 904, e.g., a request message, to SAS 104 requesting active CBSDs for specific Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMNs). The SAS supports an API for pulling/pushing CBSD records that belong to specific carrier's based on the carrier ID.)
For claims 10-12, the claims have features similar to claims 1-4. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 1-4.
For claim 13, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen disclose the method of claim 10. Kreishan et al. disclose method of claim 10, wherein the other entity is at least one of an authorized entity or an incumbent system operated by an incumbent operator (at Fig. 9 and [0112]-[0116]. In step 908 SAS 104 processes the received request, accesses its SAS database 105, uses the accessed information to generate a response signal 910, e.g., a response message, said response including a list of attributes for active CBSDs broadcasting required PLMNs, and sends the generated response signal to the geolocation server 102. In step 910 the geolocation server 102 receives the response signal 910, recovers the communicated information and updates its database 103, e.g., storing some or all of the received communicated information in its geolocation database 103. In step 916 user device 901 generates and sends a request signal 918, e.g., request message, to geolocation server 918 requesting active CBSDs for a specific coverage area. In step 924 the geolocation server 102 generates a response message 926 including a code (e.g., value=1) indicating coverage area contains active CBSD(s), e.g., the UE is located in the coverage area of an active CBSD, and further including a set of information corresponding to the closest active CBSD.)
For claims 14-17, the claims have features similar to claims 1-4. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 1-4.
For claims 19-20, the claims have features similar to claims 6-7. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reasons in claims 6-7.
Claims 5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kreishan et al. (U.S. 20210067902) in view of Macmullan et al. (U.S. 20210144724) and further in view of Ergen (U.S. 20210409976) and further in view of Mukherjee et al. (U.S. 20190327765).
For claim 5, the combination of Kreishan et al., Macmullan et al. and Ergen do not disclose the method of claim 1 further comprising: communicating with an incumbent operator to update an authorized user access list for the AFC service provider database.
In the same field of endeavor, Mukherjee et al. disclose communicating with an incumbent operator to update an authorized user access list for the AFC service provider database (at least [0090]. The system 10 may optionally include Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Databases, which are system-wide accessible databases that allow the look-up of a PAL boundary and PAL ownership based upon the PAL-ID.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Kreishan et al.as taught by Mukherjee et al. for purpose of allowing access to the system.
For claim 18, the claim has features similar to claim 5. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reasons in claim 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644