Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A (claims 1-3, 8, 9) in the reply filed on 8/18/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-7, 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/18/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “near the opening” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near the opening” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what distance from the opening is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (US20200135504).
Regarding claim 1, Hayashi et al. teaches a semiconductor wafer cleaning apparatus (see abstract, paragraph [0005]) comprising: a disk-shaped rotary table 45 having a circular opening 48 in the center and positioned horizontally (see figure 1, paragraphs [0063]-[0065]); a wafer holder 20-22 provided on the top surface of the rotary table 45 to hold a semiconductor wafer to be cleaned (see figure 1, paragraphs [0049]-[0053]); a cylindrical return portion (see downward extension at 48, as shown in figure 1) provided on the bottom surface of the rotary table 45 (see figure 1, paragraphs [0063]-[0065]); a nozzle head 32 having a centrally located inverted conical recess 30, and a horizontal portion disposed horizontally on the radially outer side of the recess 30, opposite to the bottom surface of the rotary table 45 (see figure 1, paragraphs [0056]-[0059]); a lower chemical supply nozzle 40/41 provided in the recess of the nozzle head 32 and capable of supplying a chemical solution toward the back surface of the semiconductor wafer through the opening 48 (see figures 1-5, 10, paragraphs [0057]-[0064]); and a wafer back surface rinse nozzle 34 provided in the recess 30 of the nozzle head 32 and capable of supplying pure water toward the back surface of the semiconductor wafer through the opening 48 (see figures 1-5, 10, paragraphs [0057]-[0064]); wherein, the return portion is disposed near the opening 48, and a return portion rinse nozzle 40/41/D3/D3c/D4/D4c is provided in the recess 30 of the nozzle head 32 capable of supplying pure water toward the return portion to rinse the return portion (see figures 1-5, 10, 11, 14, 15, 18-21, paragraphs [0057]-[0064], [0121]-[0139]). Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach that nozzles 40/41 supply pure water. However, the nozzles 40/41 are capable of supplying pure water and all of the structural requirements of the claim are taught by Hayashi et al., therefore, this is merely a matter of intended use, and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 2, Hayashi et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi et al. also teaches in figure 1 that the return portion (see radially outward wall of downward extension at 48, as shown in figure 1) is disposed at a position radially outward from an inner wall of the rotary table 45 defining the opening 48.
Regarding claim 8, Hayashi et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi et al. also teaches in figures 3, 14, 15, 18-21 and paragraphs [0057]-[0064], [0121]-[0139] a gas supply nozzle 33 provided in the recess 30 of the nozzle head 32 capable of supplying gas toward the back surface of the semiconductor wafer thorough the opening 48, the gas supply nozzle 33 is disposed at least 90 degrees away from the return portion rinse nozzle 40/41/D3/D3c/D4/D4c in the direction of rotation of the rotary table 45.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (US20200135504) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Hayashi et al. teaches the limitations of claim 2. Hayashi et al. teaches in paragraphs [0099]-[0111] and figures 7-9, 12-13 that the return portion, which is disposed radially outward from the inner wall of the rotary table 45 defining the opening 48, may be configured based on the desired direction of fluid flow. Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach that the return portion is disposed at a position of 1 mm or more to 20 mm or less radially outward from the inner wall of the rotary table defining the opening. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the distance from the inner wall of the rotary table defining the opening to the radially outward return portion may be chosen so as to optimize the fluid flow for the particular application. Furthermore, it has been determined that changes in shape and the rearrangement of parts constitute obvious design choices to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 9, Hayashi et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hayashi et al. teaches in figures 1, 3, 4, 10 and 11 and paragraphs [0057]-[0064], [0121]-[0139] that the return portion rinse nozzle 40/41/D3/D3c/D4/D4c is capable of spraying any desired liquid such as pure water (as discussed in the rejection of claim 1) toward the return portion at any desired angle (reads on an angle of 0 or more to the vertical direction). Hayashi et al. does not explicitly teach that the angle is 30 or less degrees to the vertical direction. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the particular angle may be chosen based on the desired spray area so as to optimize the treatment of the wafer. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice for one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Moreover, it has been determined that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711