DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the process claims (claims 1-13, 16, & 17) in the reply filed on 7/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-15 & 18, directed towards a product, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 4: Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The” in line 3 of the claim is capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karakane et al. (US Patent 4,871,461; hereafter ‘461).
Claim 1: ‘461 is directed towards a method of manufacturing a thin film composite membrane (title & abstract), comprising:
forming a crosslinked quaternary ammonium polymer selective layer on a porous support or inside the pores of a porous support through Menshutkin polymerization (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
The Examiner acknowledges that ‘461 does not teach that the composite membrane is for alkaline water electrolysis.
However, it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause, Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478. Moreover, when the preamble states a purpose or intended use for the invention, it is not limiting; it merely indicates the environment in which the claimed invention operates, Loctite Corp. V. Ultraseal Ltd., 228 USPQ 90, 94.
Claim 2: The porous support is a polyethersulfone membrane (col. 8, lines 12-15).
Claim 3: The porous support is hydrophilized before forming the crosslinked quaternary ammonium polymer selective layer (the membrane is first coated with polyammonium acrylate or melamine-crosslinked polyacrylic acid composite; see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 4: The hydrophilization is performed by organic coating (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 5: The organic coating comprises a polyacrylic acid component (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 6: The organic coating treatment includes coating an organic material and then crosslinking the coated organic material (Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25).
Claim 7: The Menshutkin polymerization is performed by dip coating (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 8: The selective layer is formed by impregnating or applying a first solution including tertiary amine-based monomers and a second solution including alkyl halide-based monomers into or on the porous support and performing a polymerization reactive between the monomers of the first solution and the second solution (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 9: The alkyl halide-based monomer includes two or more alkyl halide groups (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 10: The tertiary amine-based monomer is polyethyleneimine (Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 11: The solvent of the first solution is water (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
Claim 12: The alkyl halide-based monomer is an alkyl with 1-3 carbons and two halide ions with the structure X-R-X wherein X represents halides and R represents an alkyl with 1-3 carbons (col. 3, line 50 – col. 4, line 5).
Applicant is advised the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named (Ex parte A 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990)).
Claims 16 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitadori et al. (US Patent 5,084,173; hereafter ‘173).
Claims 16 & 17: ‘173 is directed towards a thin film composite membrane (title) formed by depositing ethylene vinyl alcohol on a polyolefin porous support (see abstract and claims 1, 2, & 13).
The Examiner acknowledges that ‘173 does not teach that the composite membrane is for alkaline water electrolysis.
However, it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause, Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478. Moreover, when the preamble states a purpose or intended use for the invention, it is not limiting; it merely indicates the environment in which the claimed invention operates, Loctite Corp. V. Ultraseal Ltd., 228 USPQ 90, 94.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘461, as applied above, and further in view of Chinn et al. (US PG Pub 2006/0105012; hereafter ‘012).
Claim 13: ‘461 teaches that the first and second solvents are aqueous systems (see Example 1, col. 8, lines 4-30, col. 5, line 40 – col. 6, line 40, Example 5, col. 9, line 55 – col. 10, line 25, and Example 9, col. 12, lines 55-65).
‘461 does not teach using one of the enumerated solvents for the halide source.
However, ‘012, which is towards a process comprising forming an amine by the Menshutkin reaction (¶ 87) teaches that both the amine and halide sources can be dissolved in a chloroform based solvent systems (¶ 130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use chloroform as the solvent because it is a recognized solvent for Menshutkin reactions solutions and would have predictably produced the desired results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/868,486 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are combinations and subcombinations of each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/James M Mellott/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759