DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 13-25 and 27 and Species (i) claims 8 and 22 in the reply filed on 11/10/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the national stage application has a unity of invention if it only drawn to one of the following combination of categories, 1) a product and a process of said product. This is not found persuasive because the previous mailed restriction requirement indicate a lack of special technical feature which is taught by Joonson (see mailed action on 09/10/25). Furthermore, the following rejection provides further evidence that applicant’s claims lack a special technical feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 13-15, 17-18, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Poteet [US 20210115568].
Claim 13: Poteet teaches a method for protecting a substrate [abstract] from corrosion such as in saline environments [abstract, 0018] by coating the substrate [abstract] with a nano-laminate [0007; Fig. 2; 0019] using chemical vapor deposition (atomic layer deposition) to produce a plurality of deposition layers [0014; 0019; Fig. 2], where the deposition layers have a first composition alternate with the deposition layers having a second composition different from the first composition [0019-0023; 0030-0031; Fig. 2]. Poteet teaches this method produces corrosion barrier coatings [0001-0002] that further protects the substrate from corrosion in saline environments [0028; 0052]. Poteet also teaches exposing the coated substrate to a saline fog for testing [0052]. In the event that Poteet does not meet the limitation “essentially saline environments” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a saline fog would provide similar or the same corrosive species that originate from essentially saline environment.
Claim 14: Poteet does not explicitly teach blocking diffusion of the corrosive species by the barrier coatings, Poteet does teaches that the barrier coatings are used to prevent the substrate from corroding to increase longevity of components [abstract, 0002] it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the barrier coating would be capable of at least partially blocking diffusion of the corrosion species to the substrate.
Claim 15: Poteet teaches one of the deposited layer of the nanolaminate can be of HfO2 [0022], where in light of the applicant’s disclosure is considered as a conductive layer that enables selective diffusion of corrosive species from saline environments [Specification pg 20, line 19].
Claim 17: although Poteet does not explicitly the formation of the diffusion barrier involves chemical interactions between the deposition layers and diffusion corrosive species, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the prior art uses the same materials (hafnium oxide and titanium oxide) and exposed in the same environment (saline), then the same results (chemical reaction between deposition layers and corrosive species) would be yielded as well in absence of unexpected results.
Claim 18: again, Poteet also teaches exposing the coated substrate to a saline fog for testing [0052]. In the event that Poteet does not meet the limitation “essentially saline environments” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a saline fog would provide similar or the same corrosive species that originate from essentially saline environment.
Claim 20-21: although Poteet does not explicitly teach an additional layer formed by exposing the laminate to a saline environment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that if the prior art uses the same materials (hafnium oxide and titanium oxide) and exposed in the same environment (saline), then the same results (additional interface layer between the ion conductive layer and reactive layer to diffusing corrosive species) would be yielded as well in absence of unexpected results.
Claim 22: Poteet teaches the plurality of deposition layers can be of hafnium oxide and titanium oxide [0019-0022].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poteet as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Ueda [US 20030089906].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 16. Ueda is provided.
Claim 16: Ueda teaches Silicon dioxide and Titanium dioxide are both capable of be etched by reactive ion [0144]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that titanium dioxide is ion reactive since the material can be etched by reactive ion.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poteet as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Savage [US 20170095358].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned, but does not appear to teach the limitations of claim 19. Savage is provided.
Claim 19: Savage teaches saline environments such as medical implantable devices need to be protected from corrosion [0005], would generally require multiple barrier layers [0009]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the nano-laminate barrier system of Poteet to a implantable medical devices to provide the same corrosion benefits as taught.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 13-22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 18/697992. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the instant application fully encompass the subject matter of the claims of copending application or alternatively the claims of copending anticipates the claim in the instant application.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1715