Specification
2. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the submitted abstract was in PCT format. The new abstract should be limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length, and without a drawing. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nuvvula (US 11,252,672).
Regarding claim 18, Nuvvula teaches radio access network (RAN) baseband unit comprising: a controller wherein the controller is configured to (see column 9 lines 8 – 20): receive a plurality of power measurements for one or more RAN radio units for configuration utilized by the one or more RAN radio units (see figure 6 and column 7 lines 43-55; a channel quality report is received from one or more of the APs at the AP manager of the hub. The channel quality report is generated by each AP that sends such a report by scanning transmissions from any of the other APs that are within range. APs within range may be denoted as neighbor APs. The report may be in any suitable configuration that is aggregated for transmission to the AP manager including as a scan list. The AP receives signals from each other AP and measures the quality of each signal. Quality may be indicated by any one or more of a variety of different measures as described above, for example SNR, SINR, BER, RSSI or other measures. The measurements are compiled by the measuring AP and sent to the AP manager in one or more MP-BGP messages, for example in the NLRI of an Update Message); aggregate the plurality of power measurements into an aggregated power measurement report (see figure 6 and column 7 lines 48 – 55; The report may be in any suitable configuration that is aggregated for transmission to the AP manager including as a scan list. The AP receives signals from each other AP and measures the quality of each signal. Quality may be indicated by any one or more of a variety of different measures as described above, for example SNR, SINR, BER, RSSI or other measures. The measurements are compiled by the measuring AP and sent to the AP manager in one or more MP-BGP messages and see column 7 lines 62 -63; each received report is aggregated with the other reports from the other APs); and transmit the aggregated power measurement report to a RAN radio control unit (see figure 6 and column 7 lines 55-57; The measurements are compiled by the measuring AP and sent to the AP manager in one or more MP-BGP messages).
6. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ramamurthi et al. (US 11, 595,286), hereinafter referred to as Ramamurthi.
Regarding claim 19, Ramamurthi discloses: (1) RAN Energy Efficiency System (REES) 101-fig.1&2 (equivalent to A radio access network (RAN) radio unit); (2) a Network Element Controller 201-fig.2, see col. 5, lines 20-46 (equivalent to a RAN baseband unit); (3) REES 101 determines granular energy efficiency metric 203, par. 26, and being provided with energy consumption information that includes an amount of energy consumption over a given time period, see col. 3, lines 27-47 (equivalent to measuring a plurality of characteristic of the RAN radio unit during a time period); (4) REES 101 may output, at 206, the modified (measured) network configuration parameters in terms or energy efficiency to network element controller 201, see col. 6, lines 37-56 (equivalent to transmitting the plurality of power characteristics of the RAN radio unit as a measured power characteristics to a RAN baseband unit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
11. Claims 1-2, 8-9, 15-17 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthi et al. (11,595,286), hereinafter referred to as Ramamurthi, in view of Sullivan et al. (US 2006/0123807), hereinafter referred to as Sullivan.
Regarding claim 1, Ramamurthi discloses: (1) RAN Energy Efficiency System (REES)101-fig.1 (equivalent to a computing unit) comprising a controller/memory (not shown); (2) CU 103-fig.1 and DU 105/1-N (equivalent to RAN radio units); (3) network configuration parameters, see col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 4, Granular energy efficiency metrics 203-fig.2, see par. 26, energy consumption metrics and an amount of energy consumed by CU/DU are measured and reported to REES 101, see col. 7, line 54 to col. 8, line 16 (equivalent to receive a power measurement report, wherein the power measurement report indicates indicating one configuration out of the one or more configurations and a corresponding measured power characteristics for a Radio Access Network radio access network (RAN) radio unit); (4) information indicating particular traffic attributes to which such energy usage metrics are applicable (expected), see par.17; measure of energy efficiency based on the granular (e.g., per-slice) traffic throughput and energy consumption metrics, see col. 4, lines 8-22; network configuration parameters, see col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 4. In other words, at least all the components and functionalities discussed above enabling the REES 101-fig.1 to determine energy efficiency of one or more network elements as a function of one or more traffic attributes measure of energy efficiency, see col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 12, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6, line 4, see col. 8, lines 3-16, see col. 11, line 24 to col. 12, line 25 (equivalent to determine whether the measured power characteristics corresponds to the to an expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration).
Ramamurthi, however, fails to teach issue a warning in response to determining that the measured power characteristics does not correspond to the expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration.
Sullivan discloses embodiments of the present invention are described in terms of wireless communication systems such as defined in IEEE 802.11, and networks such as Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), Wireless Wide Area Networks (WWAN), and other networks utilizing data packet communication such as the Internet. However, It is understood the present invention is not limited to any particular communication system or network environment, see 0028. An apparatus 150-fig.2 is electrically coupled to a power source receptacle 102 though a power sensor 110B via power connection 105. Power sensor 110B is configured to detect electrical power (power) consumed by apparatus 150 and wirelessly transmit data to power monitoring system 100 which may be integrated into a data processing system 203 such as a computer (computing device) placed for example on a table top 204, see 0032. A user may configure power monitoring system 100 to use power ratings of new equipment when establishing such a baseline to compare current operation to new operation. At 708-fig.7, power consumption is monitored. At 710, method 700 determines a range of acceptable power consumption values about such power consumption base line. If at 712, power consumption measured (equivalent to measured power characteristics) exceeds such range of acceptable power consumption values (equivalent to expected power characteristics), then method 700 provides an alert indicative thereof at 714, see 0060.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Sullivan into the system of Ramamurthi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system to monitor and determine energy consumption and energy efficiency of how much power is being consumed by various configurations of a given type of wireless equipments in order to restore normal functionality in wireless network, which may include radio access networks that may provide wireless service to User Equipment (“UEs”), such as mobile telephones, Internet of Things (“IoT”) devices, Machine-to-Machine (“M2M”) devices, or other devices with wireless communication capability, wherein RANs may include wireless communication hardware, such as base stations, that serve as a wireless interface between UEs and a core networks that provides traffic routing and/or other services. The routing, forwarding, handling, etc. of traffic via the RAN (e.g., between UEs and the core network) may consume energy (e.g., electrical energy).
Regarding claim 2, Ramamurthi teaches: (1) measurement of energy efficiency based on the granular (e.g., per-slice) traffic throughput and energy consumption metrics, see par. 19; and network configuration parameters, see col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 4. REES 101-fig.1 determines energy efficiency of one or more network elements as a function of one or more traffic attributes measure of energy efficiency, see col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 12, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6, line 4, see col. 8, lines 3-16, see col. 11, line 24 to col. 12, line 25; (2) REES 101 may utilize one or more artificial intelligence/machine learning (equivalent to neural network) techniques to identify and implement optimal (e.g., in terms or energy efficiency) network configuration parameter, see par. 27. In other words, (1) & (2) teaches the claimed limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, in Ramamurthi, REES 101 is configured to utilize one or more artificial intelligence/machine (AI/ML) learning by identifying and implementing network configuration parameters (at 202) and modified network configuration parameters (at 206) for optimal energy efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, in Ramamurthi, the AM/ML is trained based on the power measurement in terms of energy efficiency in the environment.
Regarding claim 15, Ramamurthi discloses: (1) a network element controller 201-fig.2 (equivalent to a radio access network radio control unit comprising a second controller) may be or may include a particular network function of a RAN or Core network, see col. 5, lines 20-46, is connected to REES 101-fig.2 (equivalent to a computing device), where REES 101 may receive (at 202-fig.2) network configuration parameters from network element controller 201, wherein the network configuration parameters associated with coverage areas of CU 103-fig.1 and Dus 105-fig.1, see col. 5, line 20 to col. 6, line 4 (equivalent to a radio access network (RAN) radio control unit comprising a second controller, the RAN radio control unit being connected to or comprising the computing device of claim 1, and wherein the second controller is configured to receive the power measurement report and forward it to the computing device); (2) RAN Energy Efficiency System (REES)101-fig.1 (equivalent to a computing unit) comprising a controller/memory (not shown); (3) CU 103-fig.1 and DU 105/1-N (equivalent to RAN radio units); (4) network configuration parameters, see par.25, Granular energy efficiency metrics 203-fig.2, see col. 6, lines 5-36, energy consumption metrics and an amount of energy consumed by CU/DU are measured and reported to REES 101, see col. 7, line 54 to col. 8, line 16 (equivalent to receive a power measurement report, wherein the power measurement report indicates indicating one configuration out of the one or more configurations and a corresponding measured power characteristics for a Radio Access Network radio access network (RAN) radio unit); (5) information indicating particular traffic attributes to which such energy usage metrics are applicable (expected), see col. 3, lines 27-47; measure of energy efficiency based on the granular (e.g., per-slice) traffic throughput and energy consumption metrics, see col. 4, lines 8-22; network configuration parameters, see col. 5, line 46 to col. 6, line 4; In other words, at least all the components and functionalities discussed above enabling the REES 101-fig.1 to determine energy efficiency of one or more network elements as a function of one or more traffic attributes measure of energy efficiency, see col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 12, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6, line 4, see col. 8, lines 3-16, see col. 11, line 24 to col. 12, line 25 (equivalent to determine whether the measured power characteristics corresponds to the to an expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration).
Ramamurthi, however, fails to teach issue a warning in response to determining that the measured power characteristics does not correspond to the expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration.
Sullivan discloses embodiments of the present invention are described in terms of wireless communication systems such as defined in IEEE 802.11, and networks such as Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), Wireless Wide Area Networks (WWAN), and other networks utilizing data packet communication such as the Internet. However, It is understood the present invention is not limited to any particular communication system or network environment, see 0028. An apparatus 150-fig.2 is electrically coupled to a power source receptacle 102 though a power sensor 110B via power connection 105. Power sensor 110B is configured to detect electrical power (power) consumed by apparatus 150 and wirelessly transmit data to power monitoring system 100 which may be integrated into a data processing system 203 such as a computer (computing device) placed for example on a table top 204, see 0032. A user may configure power monitoring system 100 to use power ratings of new equipment when establishing such a baseline to compare current operation to new operation. At 708-fig.7, power consumption is monitored. At 710, method 700 determines a range of acceptable power consumption values about such power consumption base line. If at 712, power consumption measured (equivalent to measured power characteristics) exceeds such range of acceptable power consumption values (equivalent to expected power characteristics), then method 700 provides an alert indicative thereof at 714, see 0060.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Sullivan into the system of Ramamurthi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system to monitor and determine energy consumption and energy efficiency of how much power is being consumed by various configurations of a given type of wireless equipment in order to restore normal functionality in wireless network, which may include radio access networks that may provide wireless service to User Equipment (“UEs”), such as mobile telephones, Internet of Things (“IoT”) devices, Machine-to-Machine (“M2M”) devices, or other devices with wireless communication capability, wherein RANs may include wireless communication hardware, such as base stations, that serve as a wireless interface between UEs and a core networks that provides traffic routing and/or other services. The routing, forwarding, handling, etc. of traffic via the RAN (e.g., between UEs and the core network) may consume energy (e.g., electrical energy).
Regarding claim 16, in Ramamurthi, the REES 101 receives the network configuration parameters (power management report) at 202-fig.2 from the NEC 201.
Regarding claim 17, in Ramamurthi, the controller of REES 101-fig.2 is the second controller.
Regarding claim 21, Ramamurthi discloses: (1) RAN Energy Efficiency System (REES)101-fig.1 (equivalent to a computing unit) comprising a controller/memory (not shown); (2) CU 103-fig.1 and DU 105/1-N (equivalent to RAN radio units); (3) network configuration parameters, see col. 5, lines 46 to col. 6, line 4, Granular energy efficiency metrics 203-fig.2, see col. 6, lines 5-36, energy consumption metrics and an amount of energy consumed by CU/DU are measured and reported to REES 101, see col. 7-line 54 to col. 8-line 16 (equivalent to receive a power measurement report, wherein the power measurement report indicates indicating one configuration out of the one or more configurations and a corresponding measured power characteristics for a Radio Access Network radio access network (RAN) radio unit); (4) information indicating particular traffic attributes to which such energy usage metrics are applicable (expected), see col. 3, lines 27-47; measure of energy efficiency based on the granular (e.g., per-slice) traffic throughput and energy consumption metrics, see par. 19; network configuration parameters, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6, line 4. In other words, at least all the components and functionalities discussed above enabling the REES 101-fig.1 to determine energy efficiency of one or more network elements as a function of one or more traffic attributes measure of energy efficiency, see col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 12, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6, line 4, see col. 8, lines 3-16, see col. 11, line 24 to col. 12, line 25 (equivalent to determine whether the measured power characteristics corresponds to the to an expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration).
Ramamurthi, however, fails to teach issue a warning in response to determining that the measured power characteristics does not correspond to the expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration.
Sullivan discloses embodiments of the present invention are described in terms of wireless communication systems such as defined in IEEE 802.11, and networks such as Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), Wireless Wide Area Networks (WWAN), and other networks utilizing data packet communication such as the Internet. However, It is understood the present invention is not limited to any particular communication system or network environment, see 0028. An apparatus 150-fig.2 is electrically coupled to a power source receptacle 102 though a power sensor 110B via power connection 105. Power sensor 110B is configured to detect electrical power (power) consumed by apparatus 150 and wirelessly transmit data to power monitoring system 100 which may be integrated into a data processing system 203 such as a computer (computing device) placed for example on a table top 204, see 0032. A user may configure power monitoring system 100 to use power ratings of new equipment when establishing such a baseline to compare current operation to new operation. At 708-fig.7, power consumption is monitored. At 710, method 700 determines a range of acceptable power consumption values about such power consumption base line. If at 712, power consumption measured (equivalent to measured power characteristics) exceeds such range of acceptable power consumption values (equivalent to expected power characteristics), then method 700 provides an alert indicative thereof at 714, see 0060.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Sullivan into the system of Ramamurthi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system to monitor and determine energy consumption and energy efficiency of how much power is being consumed by various configurations of a given type of wireless equipment in order to restore normal functionality in wireless network, which may include radio access networks that may provide wireless service to User Equipment (“UEs”), such as mobile telephones, Internet of Things (“IoT”) devices, Machine-to-Machine (“M2M”) devices, or other devices with wireless communication capability, wherein RANs may include wireless communication hardware, such as base stations, that serve as a wireless interface between UEs and a core networks that provides traffic routing and/or other services. The routing, forwarding, handling, etc. of traffic via the RAN (e.g., between UEs and the core network) may consume energy (e.g., electrical energy).
Regarding claim 22, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 21. Therefore, it is rejected under Ramamurthi-Sullivan for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 21. The REES 101-fig.1 includes a memory 1230 storing executable instructions, when executed by a processor 1220-fig.12 enabling the REES 101 to perform the claimed steps.
12 Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramamurthi, in view of Sullivan and further in view of shih et al. (US 2019/0202414), hereinafter referred to as Shih.
Regarding claim 11, Ramamurthi discloses: (1) RAN Energy Efficiency System (REES)101-fig.1 (equivalent to a computing unit) comprising a controller/memory (not shown); (2) CU 103-fig.1 and DU 105/1-N (equivalent to RAN radio units); (3) network configuration parameters, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6-line 4, Granular energy efficiency metrics 203-fig.2, see col. 6, lines 5-36, energy consumption metrics and an amount of energy consumed by CU/DU are measured and reported to REES 101, see col. 7-line 54 col.8-line 16 (equivalent to receive a power measurement report, wherein the power measurement report indicates indicating one configuration out of the one or more configurations and a corresponding measured power characteristics for a Radio Access Network radio access network (RAN) radio unit); (4) information indicating particular traffic attributes to which such energy usage metrics are applicable (expected), see col. 3, lines 27-47; measure of energy efficiency based on the granular (e.g., per-slice) traffic throughput and energy consumption metrics, see col. 4, lines 8-22; network configuration parameters, see col. 5-line 46 to col. 6-line 4. In other words, at least all the components and functionalities discussed above enabling the REES 101-fig.1 to determine energy efficiency of one or more network elements as a function of one or more traffic attributes measure of energy efficiency, see col. 4, line 59 to col. 5, line 12, see col. 5, line 46 to col.6, line 4, see col. 8, lines 3-16, see col. 11, line 24 to col. 12, line 25 (equivalent to determine whether the measured power characteristics corresponds to the to an expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration).
Ramamurthi, however, fails to teach issue a warning in response to determining that the measured power characteristics does not correspond to the expected power characteristics of the indicated configuration.
Sullivan discloses embodiments of the present invention are described in terms of wireless communication systems such as defined in IEEE 802.11, and networks such as Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN), Wireless Wide Area Networks (WWAN), and other networks utilizing data packet communication such as the Internet. However, It is understood the present invention is not limited to any particular communication system or network environment, see 0028. An apparatus 150-fig.2 is electrically coupled to a power source receptacle 102 though a power sensor 110B via power connection 105. Power sensor 110B is configured to detect electrical power (power) consumed by apparatus 150 and wirelessly transmit data to power monitoring system 100 which may be integrated into a data processing system 203 such as a computer (computing device) placed for example on a table top 204, see 0032. A user may configure power monitoring system 100 to use power ratings of new equipment when establishing such a baseline to compare current operation to new operation. At 708-fig.7, power consumption is monitored. At 710, method 700 determines a range of acceptable power consumption values about such power consumption base line. If at 712, power consumption measured (equivalent to measured power characteristics) exceeds such range of acceptable power consumption values (equivalent to expected power characteristics), then method 700 provides an alert indicative thereof at 714, see 0060.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Sullivan into the system of Ramamurthi. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide a system to monitor and determine energy consumption and energy efficiency of how much power is being consumed by various configurations of a given type of wireless equipments in order to restore normal functionality in wireless network, which may include radio access networks that may provide wireless service to User Equipment (“UEs”), such as mobile telephones, Internet of Things (“IoT”) devices, Machine-to-Machine (“M2M”) devices, or other devices with wireless communication capability, wherein RANs may include wireless communication hardware, such as base stations, that serve as a wireless interface between UEs and a core networks that provides traffic routing and/or other services. The routing, forwarding, handling, etc. of traffic via the RAN (e.g., between UEs and the core network) may consume energy (e.g., electrical energy).
Ramamurthi and Sullivan, however, fail mention specifically a limitation of “A server comprising the computing device [of claim 1].
Shih teaches the main server 103-fig.1 can be an edge server that receives client requests and coordinates fulfillment of those requests through other servers, such as servers 109A-C. The servers 109A-C are further coupled to databases 111A-C. Although each of the main sever 103 and the servers 109A-C is displayed logically as a single server, these servers can each be a distributed computing environment encompassing multiple computing devices located at the same or at geographically disparate physical locations, see 0054.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Shih into the combined system of Ramamurthi-Sullivan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to store/manage/receive energy consumption or reports regarding energy efficiency of multiple elements of a RAN of a wireless network.
Regarding claim 12, Ramamurthi and Sullivan disclose all claimed limitations, except the server is comprised in a cloud service.
Shih discloses a cloud system 400-fig.4 that includes a server 401, a cloud server 403-fig.4. The server 401 is configured to collect information from multiple stations 405, analyze the collected information, and generate a power demand prediction, see par. 0092. The server 401 can have functions similar to those of the server system 200-fig.1, see par. 0061 (As a result, the server 401-fig.4 is assumed to have functions similar to the main server 103-fig.1), and the server 401 can communicate with station 405A2 and station 405B1 via the cloud server 403, see par. 0093. In other word, the server 401-fig.4 or the main server 103-fig.1 may be comprised in a cloud service.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching of Shih into the combined system of Ramamurthi-Sullivan. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to provide effective communication in real-time or near real-time manner, thereby eliminating, or at least reducing, inconvenience or delay cause by possible network interruption.
Allowable subject matter
13. Claims 3-7, 10 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Robinson et al. (US 2011/0007491); Deng et al. (US 8774792)
are cited, and considered pertinent to the instant specification.
/DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465