DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, which was necessitated by the amendments to the claims, including the cancellation of numerous limitations and the introduction of other limitations into the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-9, 11, 17-19, 21-23 and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 112022238 A – machine translation was provided on March 11, 2026 and all references refer to pages and paragraph from that document)
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Liu discloses an “invention [that] belongs to the technical field of medical appliance, especially relates to a surgical instrument for minimally invasive surgery robot” (see Abstract). Specifically, Liu teaches a robotic surgical system, comprising:
A drive unit (note that Liu makes reference to a “power device” at numerous places in its disclosure (see the four quotes in the next few lines relating to “removably connected to the drive unit”), thereby teaching that the surgical instrument of Liu is connected with a “power device”, aka “drive unit”); and
A surgical instrument (see the entire device shown in Figures 1-2) removably connected to the drive unit (note that Liu states the following, “abutting plate 501 is set on the end of the screw rod 504, for connecting with the abutting plate of the power device” – see paragraph spanning pages 5-6; “when the minimally invasive surgical instrument is in butt joint with the power device” – see line 7 of page 6; “finishing the butt-joint of the instrument and the power device” – see line 11 of page 6; “after the surgical instrument and the power device after abutting, each sliding block 603 with its independent butt joint driving block, driving each sliding block 603 to finish the forward and backward action” – see page 6, paragraph beginning “the flexible section deflection driving mechanism 6…”; therefore it is clear that a “power device” is removably connected with the surgical instrument), the surgical instrument having a proximal end portion (see annotated Figure 1) and a distal end portion (see annotated Figure 1), the surgical instrument further including:
an elongated shaft assembly (see numerals 2 and 3 in Figure 1) that extends between the proximal and distal end portions of the surgical instrument (see Figure 1, illustrating the shaft extending from a distal most end to the proximal end of the instrument), the elongated shaft assembly having a distal end portion defining a shaft longitudinal axis and a proximal end portion (see annotated Figure 1), wherein the distal end portion supports an end effector of the surgical instrument (see forceps 1 at distal end of shaft 2,3 in Figure 1); and
an instrument cassette assembly supported on the proximal end portion of the elongated shaft assembly (see annotated Figure 1), the instrument cassette assembly including:
a cassette housing positioned on the proximal end portion of the elongated shaft assembly (see annotated Figure 1), the cassette housing having an inner side separated from the shaft longitudinal axis by a first distance and an outer side separated from the shaft longitudinal axis by a second distance greater than the first distance (see annotated Figure 1) to define a divergent form factor of the surgical instrument (it is noted that this limitation of “to define a divergent form factor of the surgical instrument” does not provide any further structural limitations beyond what is previously recited in this paragraph, therefore Liu meets this limitation);
an actuator system supported in the cassette housing (see numerals 5, 6, and 7 in Figure 1) and operably coupled to the end effector for operating the end effector (see Figure 2, where connections between numerals 5, 6 and 7 pass through curved grooves 402 of the sleeve 403, and pass through shaft 2,3 to control end effector 1 – “the remote actuator opening and closing driving tendon passes through the rotating wheel b704 and the rotating shaft b705 and then is connected with the far end executing mechanism 1” – see page 7, lines 12-13), the actuator system having a plurality of actuator assemblies each having a proximal end supported on a proximal surface of the cassette housing for connection with the drive unit (see numerals 6 in Figure 1, and numerals 603 in Figure 5), and a distal end operably coupled to the end effector for operating the end effector (see Figure 2, where connections between numerals 5, 6 and 7 pass through curved grooves 402 of the sleeve 403, and pass through shaft 2,3 to control end effector 1 – “the remote actuator opening and closing driving tendon passes through the rotating wheel b704 and the rotating shaft b705 and then is connected with the far end executing mechanism 1” – see page 7, lines 12-13), wherein the proximal surface of the cassette housing is oriented orthogonal to the shaft longitudinal axis of the elongated shaft assembly (see Figures 1 and 2, which illustrate the proximal surface of the cassette housing as oriented orthogonal to the shaft longitudinal axis of the shaft); and
a transition block assembly coupling the cassette housing to the proximal end portion of the elongated shaft assembly (see annotated Figure 1, particularly portions labeled as “tubular portion” and “transition block”), the transition block assembly including:
a tubular portion having a first end portion coupled to the elongated shaft assembly, a second end portion coupled to the cassette housing (see annotated Figure 1, specifically portion labeled “tubular portion”; additionally see Figure 6 illustrating just this component in isolation), and a curved portion connecting the first and second end portions (see numeral 101 in Figure 6, which is a central hole that follows the top curve of the component) and including first and second bends disposed at axially spaced-apart locations (see annotated Figure 7, which illustrates the shaft assembly without the presence of the tubular portion 10, note that the shaft as shown in Figure 7 passes through the central hole 101 of the tubular portion making it clear that there are two bends that need to be maneuvered via the central hole); and
a transition block extending from the tubular portion and supported within the cassette housing between the tubular portion and the actuator system (see annotated Figure 1, specifically the portion labeled “transition block”), the transition block defining at least one bent passage disposed in communication with the elongated shaft assembly for receiving and routing at least one cable from the actuator system into the elongated shaft assembly (see Figures 2 and 3, which clearly illustrate at least one bend passage (i.e., curved grooves 402) – “a plurality of curved grooves (402); each curved groove (402) is provided with a sleeve (403); a plurality of the flexible section deflection driving tendon respectively passes through each sleeve (403)” – see claim 3 of Liu).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, it is noted that there is a portion of the proximal end portion of the elongated shaft assembly that is disposed at an angle relative to the distal end portion of the elongated shaft assembly (i.e., see the portion between the labeled “1st Bend” and “2nd Bend” in the annotated version of Figure 7 above). This portion provides for the limitation “to position a rotation axis of at least one of the plurality of actuator assemblies supported in the cassette housing parallel with the shaft longitudinal axis of the elongated shaft assembly (i.e., rotating wheel 705 has an axis that is parallel with the longitudinal axis of the distal end of the elongated shaft assembly, as illustrated in Figure 7).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, it is clearly illustrated in Figure 2 that there are four curved grooves that connect four actuators 6. These actuators are arranged one atop the other, and they are three-dimensional, meaning they take up space into/out of the page as shown in Figure 2. Therefore, they are in the cassette housing and take up a rectilinear space therein. Additionally, they are connected to the end effector via the curved grooves 402 shown in Figures 2 and 3.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, it is noted that Figure 2 illustrates numeral 7 being located “between the cable actuator assemblies”. Figure 7 illustrates that numeral 7 comprises multiple components, which are used to drive the rotating wheel 704 via a “transmission rope” 703 via rotating wheel 702 and rotating shaft 701. Therefore, this teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claims 21 and 25, Figure 2 illustrates a one-to-one pairing of curved grooves 402 to actuators 602. This is also shown in Figure 5 where it illustrates the lines from the curved grooves aligned with each actuator.
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Liu teaches that “limiting block 401 is provided with a plurality of curved groove 402, each curved groove 402 is provided with a sleeve 403, a plurality of flexible section deflection driving tendon respectively passes through each sleeve 403” (see page 5, paragraph beginning “As shown in FIG. 3,…”).
Regarding claims 23 and 27, the annotated Figure 1 provided above in the rejection of claims 1 and 11 illustrates that the inner side of the cassette housing extends parallel to the shaft longitudinal axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zitnick et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2018/0049770).
Liu is described above with respect to claims 1, 9 and 11. While Liu illustrates numerous actuators (e.g., numerals 6 and 7 in Figure 1), there is no explicitly teaching of an axial actuator amongst the plural actuators.
Zitnick teaches a “surgical apparatus 150 includes an actuator interface 152, a bulkhead 154, and an elongate shaft 156 extending from the bulkhead” (see paragraph 45 and Figure 4). “The actuator interface 152 includes actuators (not shown) for actuating the linkages 164 and 166 to deploy the camera 162 after insertion through the opening 134 in the access port 112” (see paragraph 46). “Axial translation of the surgical apparatus 150 in either direction along the axis 172 may be provided manually by an attendant or the surgeon or may be provided by a drive actuator (not shown) attached to the actuator interface 152 or bulkhead 154” (see paragraph 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize an axial translation drive actuator amongst a plurality of other actuators on an actuator interface of a robotically controlled surgical instrument/apparatus, as taught by Zitnick, and to include this in the system and methods of Liu, thereby allowing the robotic controller to move the end effector in either axial direction, which will increase the degrees of freedom of the system without requiring physical motion of the robotic arm to which the end effector is attached.
Claim 24 and 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Zitnick, in view of either one of Li et al. (CN 112370167 A) and Wang et al. (CN 108814713).
Liu is described above with respect to claims 1, 9 and 11. While Liu illustrates numerous actuators (e.g., numerals 6 and 7 in Figure 1), there is no explicitly teaching of an axial actuator amongst the plural actuators.
Zitnick teaches a “surgical apparatus 150 includes an actuator interface 152, a bulkhead 154, and an elongate shaft 156 extending from the bulkhead” (see paragraph 45 and Figure 4). “The actuator interface 152 includes actuators (not shown) for actuating the linkages 164 and 166 to deploy the camera 162 after insertion through the opening 134 in the access port 112” (see paragraph 46). “Axial translation of the surgical apparatus 150 in either direction along the axis 172 may be provided manually by an attendant or the surgeon or may be provided by a drive actuator (not shown) attached to the actuator interface 152 or bulkhead 154” (see paragraph 54).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize an axial translation drive actuator amongst a plurality of other actuators on an actuator interface of a robotically controlled surgical instrument/apparatus, as taught by Zitnick, and to include this in the system and methods of Liu, thereby allowing the robotic controller to move the end effector in either axial direction, which will increase the degrees of freedom of the system without requiring physical motion of the robotic arm to which the end effector is attached.
However, Liu does not teach the plurality of actuator assemblies includes four cable actuator assemblies disposed in a two-by-two arrangement, nor the axial and rotation actuator assemblies in vertical alignment between the four cable actuator assemblies.
Li teaches a robot surgical instrument arm and micro-invasive surgical robot (see Title). Figure 1 illustrates the surgical instrument with a housing at the proximal end. The figures on page 8/20 (see reproduction below) illustrates the actuators within the housing at the proximal end, from which there are two, vertical columns of actuators, with a single rotational actuator at the very bottom, located in a space between the columns.
Wang teaches an operation device for minimally invasive surgery (see Abstract). It is noted initially that Figure 4 of Wang illustrates a surgical instrument similar to Figure 1 of Li. It is also noted that Wang teaches an actuator system supported on the cassette housing (see numeral 120 in Figures 6 and 7), the actuator system having a plurality of actuator assemblies which are illustrated in Figures 6 and 7 as being in two, vertical columns of actuators, and since there are only four actuators shown in total these are in a two-by-two arrangement.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to move the actuators of Liu to any desired position within the housing of Liu, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPC 70 (see MPEP 2144(VI)(C)). The specification does not appear to disclose any criticality to any actuator being located as claimed, and instead illustrates the multiple actuators in the various figures and embodiments in multiple different locations with no clear reason or benefits to the various positions. Additionally, Li and Wang each illustrate and teach providing two columns of actuators, with Wang explicitly showing a two-by-two arrangement. Liu in combination with Li would obviously result in the same two-by-two arrangement since Liu only has four actuators in total (not counting the rotation actuator), therefore arranging the four actuators into two, vertical columns as illustrated by Li would result in the two-by-two arrangement as claimed. And the court decision of In re Japikse mentioned above leads to the obviousness of placing the rotational actuator and the incorporated axial actuator at any location, as “rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art” and the specification of the instant application lacks criticality for their specifically claimed location(s).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES KISH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792