DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/17/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) in view of Iwamoto (JP 2011176076 A).
Pertaining to claim 1, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, A degradable substrate for an electronic device, the degradable substrate comprising: a substrate base material which is a polymer material (see paragraph [0006] and [0073]).
But, Sungkyunkwan University does not explicitly teach a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam by reacting with water.
However, Iwamoto teaches a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam by reacting with water. (Iwamoto teaches wherein a wiring board includes an insulating material, a wiring formed on the insulating material, and a release layer formed between the insulating material and the wiring and containing metal carbonate or metal hydrogen carbonate, and the metal carbonates or metal bicarbonates are thermally decomposed and produce carbon dioxide (see chapter [0007]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam by reacting with water in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of
Iwamoto in order to offers significant advantages in environmental sustainability, processing efficiency, and functional customization.
Pertaining to claim 2, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, wherein the substrate base material is one of gelatin, polyvinyl alcohol (PVA), (see paragraph [0018]).
Pertaining to claim 6, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the degradable foam- generating material has a molar ratio of the organic acid and the hydrogen carbonate in a range of 1:1 to 1:3.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the degradable foam- generating material has a molar ratio of the organic acid and the hydrogen carbonate in a range of 1:1 to 1:3, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 7, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the substrate base material and the degradable foam-generating material have a weight ratio in a range of 4:1 to 1:2.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the substrate base material and the degradable foam-generating material have a weight ratio in a range of 4:1 to 1:2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Pertaining to claim 8, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, further comprising a plasticizer, wherein the substrate base material is gelatin (see paragraph [0018]).
Claims 9, 10, 12 and19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) in view of Jovanovich (US 20100165784 A1).
Pertaining to claim 9, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, the degradable substrate assembly comprising: a degradable substrate for the electronic device, which includes a substrate base material which is a polymer material; and a fluid path formation module attached to a bottom surface of the degradable substrate for the electronic device to control a supply state of water, wherein the fluid path formation module includes: a fluid path formation layer formed inside thereof with an inlet-side fluid path and an operation-side fluid path; and a pneumatic valve control layer located below the fluid path formation layer to allow the inlet- side fluid path and the operation-side fluid path to be connected to or separated from each other.
But, Sungkyunkwan University does not explicitly teach a fluid path formation module attached to a bottom surface of the degradable substrate for the electronic device to control a supply state of water, wherein the fluid path formation module includes: a fluid path formation layer formed inside thereof with an inlet-side fluid path and an operation-side fluid path; and a pneumatic valve control layer located below the fluid path formation layer to allow the inlet- side fluid path and the operation-side fluid path to be connected to or separated from each other.
However, Jovanovich teaches a fluid path formation module attached to a bottom surface of the degradable substrate for the electronic device to control a supply state of water, wherein the fluid path formation module includes: a fluid path formation layer formed inside thereof with an inlet-side fluid path and an operation-side fluid path; and a pneumatic valve control layer located below the fluid path formation layer to allow the inlet- side fluid path and the operation-side fluid path to be connected to or separated from each other, (see paragraph [0047 and 0050] and see figs. 13, 30, 31, 32A-B, 33A-B).
Pertaining to claim 10, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, wherein the fluid path formation layer is formed with an accommodation region at a location opposite to a region of the operation-side fluid path adjacent to the inlet-side fluid path, and the accommodation region is open upward so as to make contact with the degradable substrate for the electronic device, (see paragraph [0047 and 0050] and see figs. 13, 30, 31, 32A-B, 33A-B).
Pertaining to claim 12, Sungkyunkwan University as modified by Iwamoto furth discloses, wherein the degradable substrate for the electronic device further includes a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam by reacting with water, (see paragraph [0007]).
Pertaining to claim 19, Sungkyunkwan University as modified by Odaka further discloses wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate (see claim 3).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) in view of Iwamoto (JP 2011176076 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okada (JP 2019183008 A).
Pertaining to claim 3, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitation except, wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate.
However, Okada teaches wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate (claim 3).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the degradable foam- generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of Okada in order to offer significant advantages in environmental sustainability, safety, and production efficiency compared to traditional petroleum-based foams.
Pertaining to claim 4, Sungkyunkwan University as modified by Okada further discloses, wherein the organic acid is one of citric acid, malic acid, succinic acid, malonic acid, tartaric acid, and acetic acid, or a mixture thereof, (see paragraph [0018 of Okada]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) in view of Iwamoto (JP 2011176076 A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Okada (JP 2019183008 A) and Han et al. (US 7,842,305 B2).
Pertaining to claim 5, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the hydrogen carbonate is one of sodium hydrogen carbonate and potassium hydrogen carbonate, or a mixture thereof.
However, wherein the hydrogen carbonate is one of sodium hydrogen carbonate and potassium hydrogen carbonate, or a mixture thereof, (see claim 7).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide wherein the hydrogen carbonate is one of sodium hydrogen carbonate and potassium hydrogen carbonate, or a mixture thereof in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of Okada in order to effective pH buffering, rapid neutralization of acids, safety (non-toxic/eco-friendly), and, in potassium compounds, superior solubility and reduced sodium intake.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) in view of Iwamoto (JP 2011176076 A).
Pertaining to claim 14, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, A degradable substrate for an electronic device, the degradable substrate comprising: a substrate base material which is a polymer material (see paragraph [0006] and [0073]).
But, Sungkyunkwan University does not explicitly teach a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam-genarating material are mixed
However, Iwamoto teaches a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam-generating material are mixed. (Iwamoto teaches wherein a wiring board includes an insulating material, a wiring formed on the insulating material, and a release layer formed between the insulating material and the wiring and containing metal carbonate or metal hydrogen carbonate, and the metal carbonates or metal bicarbonates are thermally decomposed and produce carbon dioxide (see chapter [0007]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam by reacting with water in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of
Iwamoto in order to offers significant advantages in environmental sustainability, processing efficiency, and functional customization.
Pertaining to claim 15, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, wherein the substrate base material is a polymer material, (see paragraph [0006] and [0073]).
Pertaining to claim 16, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitation except, wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate.
However, Okada teaches wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate (claim 3).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the degradable foam- generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of Okada in order to offer significant advantages in environmental sustainability, safety, and production efficiency compared to traditional petroleum-based foams.
Pertaining to claim 17, Sungkyunkwan University discloses, wherein the degradable foam-generating material is pulverized, and is mixed with the organic solvent (see paragraph [0025]).
Pertaining to claim 18, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the degradable foam-generating material is pulverized through ball-milling.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the degradable foam-generating material is pulverized through ball-milling, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for intended use for the purpose for creating eco-friendly, high-performance, and cost-effective foams. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
11. Claim 11 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) in view of Jovanovich (US 20100165784 A1) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Iwamoto (JP 2011176076 A).
Pertaining to claim 11, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitations except, wherein the accommodation region is filled with a degradable foam-generating material that generates foam by reacting with water.
However, (Iwamoto teaches wherein a wiring board includes an insulating material, a wiring formed on the insulating material, and a release layer formed between the insulating material and the wiring and containing metal carbonate or metal hydrogen carbonate, and the metal carbonates or metal bicarbonates are thermally decomposed and produce carbon dioxide (see chapter [0007]).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a degradable foam-generating material which is provided in a form of particles while being uniformly mixed with the substrate base material and generates foam by reacting with water in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of
Iwamoto in order to offers significant advantages in environmental sustainability, processing efficiency, and functional customization.
12. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sungkyunkwan University (KR 10-2325518 B1) and Jovanovich (US 20100165784 A1) in view of Iwamoto (JP 2011176076 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okada (JP 2019183008 A).
Pertaining to claim 13, Sungkyunkwan University discloses all claimed limitation except, wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate.
However, Okada teaches wherein the degradable foam-generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate (claim 3).
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the degradable foam- generating material is formed of organic acid and hydrogen carbonate in the device of Sungkyunkwan University based on the teachings of Okada in order to offer significant advantages in environmental sustainability, safety, and production efficiency compared to traditional petroleum-based foams.
Conclusion
13. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Louis (US-20160083523-A1) and Kishioka (US-20150267159-A1).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847