DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-10, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the Request for Information have been fully considered and the Request for Information has been fulfilled upon Applicant’s submission of the Information Disclosure Statement filed 04/10/2026.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the objection to the specification have been fully considered. The objection to the specification has been withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered. The objections to the claims have been withdrawn in response to Applicant’s amendments.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that page 3 of the specification supports the claimed “wherein input samples are chosen that are similar to training inputs used to train the perception component under attack” at issue.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Page 3 of the specification contains a nominal repetition of claim language that “synthetic input (that are statistically similar to real inputs could also be used”, and the nominal recitation of “such input may be generated using sensor modelling techniques and the like”. These recitations do not rectify issues pertaining to possession of the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, Applicant’s admission that the limitation is “a well-understood concept” on page 11 of the remarks filed 04/13/2026 that “A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the cited portion of the Specification as disclosing selection of input samples from data having the same statistical distribution or a similar statistical distribution as the training data, which is a well-understood concept in machine learning” does not meet the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) written description. It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
The rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) will be maintained.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 11-12, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of 2, 4, 8-15 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) have been fully considered. The rejection of claim 2 has been withdrawn in response to the claimed “promising attack direction” in dependent claim 2 being limited to “wherein the promising attack direction is determined as a gradient of an attack loss function on the perception component or a proxy perception component” and no longer rendering the claim indefinite.
However, the rejection will be maintained for claims 10-12, and 14 as the claimed “promising attack condition” term remain indefinite. Applicant argues that the specification at page 7 lines 15-16 and page 30 lines 17-18 “expressly discloses an example of a technique for determining how a ‘promising attack condition’ is evaluated”, and that “the specification provides objective boundaries for those terms”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The specification only states “the promising attack condition may be satisfied if the numerical output indicates decreased confidence of the perception component”, however, the claim term is not limited to the particular decreased confidence of the perception component (as it is not recited in the claims until claim 15 “the promising attack condition is satisfied if the numerical output value indicates decreased classification confidence with respect to the known class, or a specific class other than a known class to which the original input belongs, and the promising attack condition is satisfied if the numerical output value indicates increased classification confidence with respect to the specific other class”) and is therefore still indefinite as the scope of the broadest reasonable interpretation remains not ascertainable.
The previous antecedent basis rejection have been fully reconsidered. The rejections of claims 8-10 over insufficient antecedent basis have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 13-14, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argues that “independent claim 1 is patentably distinguishes Wang” because the component perturbations as disclosed by Wang are not “selectively combined”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s own specification contradicts their arguments that the claim is novel because the perturbations are “selectively combined”. Applicant specification at page 6, “With SVD, the principal direction vectors may be ordered by decreasing singular value, and the perturbation vector may be selectively modified by applying the following steps, starting with the first principal direction vector, until the successful attack condition is satisfied: determining at least one modified perturbation vector, by adding or subtracting the principal direction vector to/from the perturbation vector, determining whether the modified perturbation vector satisfies a promising attack condition, and if so repeating the steps for the next principal direction with the modified perturbation vector, and if not, discarding the modified perturbation vector, and repeating the steps for the steps for the next principal direction without modifying the perturbation vector”. Therefore, Wang disclosing at least in Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t. In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “wherein the perturbation is determined by selectively combining component perturbations selected from a predetermined set of component perturbations”. Here, Wang discloses modifying the sample x to become x’; Applicant’s own specification determines a modified perturbation vector by addition or subtracting the principal direction vector to/from the perturbed vector (“selectively combined”), until the condition is satisfied. Here Wang discloses “In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” which is not distinct from the claimed “selectively combining component perturbations” achieved via the adding/subtracting process found consistent in Applicant’s own specification.
Applicant then argues that Claim 1 is not anticipated by Wang because “in particular, Wang does not disclose ‘the principal attack directions having been determined by an analysis of (i) a set of sample attack directions, or (ii) a set of input samples’”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim limitation at issue recites “an analysis of (i) … or (ii) … “. The broadest reasonable interpretation of at least the claimed “a set of input samples” is anticipated by Wang reciting at least in section 3 that “The inherent reason that one adversarial sample can fool a DNN is that it’s located the classification border in some feature space. However, the boundary of a DNN is built from its training samples. Then, can we generate adversarial samples just based existing data samples? From the results of our experiment, the answer is yes. To find the essential difference between different classes, we perform principal component analysis on training data, and express the difference between classes with PCA coefficients”. Wang clearly anticipates the claim limitation at issue by describing their method as generating adversarial samples (the claimed set) for the purposes of attacking the model.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 15-16, filed 04/13/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 4, 10-13, 14-15, 19-20, 23-25, and 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Each of Applicant’s corresponding arguments traversing the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 rely upon the alleged deficiencies of Wang argued by the Applicant and fully responded to above by the Examiner. Since applicant does not give any further explanation as to how the previously cited art differentiates from the claimed invention other than alleging dependence upon an allegedly allowable claim, the examiner defers to the rejection below as a response to this argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 5:
Claim 5 recites “wherein input samples are chosen that are statistically similar to training inputs used to train the perception component under attack”. There is no support in the disclosure regarding how the inventor intended to perform this claimed function. The algorithm or steps/procedures for these claimed functions is not explained at all or is not explained in sufficient detail (simply restating the function reciting in the claim is not necessarily sufficient) so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the applicant had possession of the claimed invention. There is no description in the originally filed disclosure regarding how the inventor intended to choose input samples that “are statistically similar to training inputs used to train the perception component under attack” other than restating the claim language, and a brief mention in originally filed page 3 “Synthetic inputs (that are statistically similar to real inputs) could also be used. Such input may be generated using sensor modelling techniques and the like”. In other words, the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function must be described with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function to be performed. See MPEP §§ 2163.02 and 2181, subsection IV.
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “promising attack condition” in claims 10 and 12 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “promising attack condition” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The originally filed disclosure does not define the term or provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, as the term “promising” is not a term of the art, while pages 2-3 give vague implication of that the term could mean and pages 7-8 gives some examples of what the promising attack condition could/may be, these do not make the relative term “promising” within claims 2 and 10 definite.
This is in contrast to claim 15, where the claimed “promising attack condition” is defined by the claim to mean “the promising attack condition is satisfied if the numerical output value indicates decreased confidence of the perception component”.
Respective dependent claims fall together accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang, ZM., Gu, MT. & Hou, JH. Sample Based Fast Adversarial Attack Method. Neural Process Lett 50, 2731-2744 (2019) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 1:
Wang discloses a computer-implemented method of generating black-box adversarial inputs to a perception component (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), the method comprising: computing an adversarial input by applying a perturbation to an original input, the adversarial input satisfying an attack objective when inputted to the perception component (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t” misclassification is an attack objective); wherein the perturbation is determined by selectively combining component perturbations selected from a predetermined set of component perturbations (Wang Section 3 “The inherent reason that one adversarial sample can fool a DNN is that it’s located the classification border in some feature space. However, the boundary of a DNN is built from its training samples. Then, can we generate adversarial samples just based existing data samples? From the results of our experiment, the answer is yes. To find the essential difference between different classes, we perform principal component analysis on training data, and express the difference between classes with PCA coefficients”; Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t. In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” the algorithm determines the set of component perturbations and combining/manipulating the vectors); and wherein said inputs correspond to respective points in an input vector space, and the component perturbations encode principal attack directions in the input vector space for satisfying said attack objective (Wang Section 3 and 3.2), the principal attack directions having been determined by an analysis of (i) a set of sample attack directions, or (ii) a set of input samples (Wang Section 3 and 3.2).
Regarding Claim 5:
Wang further discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein the principal attack directions are chosen by analysing the set of input samples (Wang Section 3 “To find the essential difference between different classes, we perform principal component analysis on training data, and express the difference between classes with PCA coefficients.”), wherein input samples are chosen that are statistically similar to training inputs used to train the perception component under attack (Wang Figs. 3-7 original samples are close to the misclassification adversarial examples).
Regarding Claim 6:
Wang further discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein said analysis is a singular value decomposition of (i) or (ii) or other decomposition of (i) or (ii) (Wang Section 3 SVD is simply a PCA of the known inputs; 3.1 PCA Model Building and 3.2).
Regarding Claim 8:
Wang further discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), comprising: selectively modifying the perturbation, by selectively adding or subtracting component perturbations, until a successful attack is observed (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”).
Regarding Claim 9:
Wang further discloses the method of claim 6 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), comprising: selectively modifying the perturbation, by selectively adding or subtracting component perturbations, until a successful attack is observed (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”); and wherein the component perturbations are principal direction vectors of a principal direction matrix computed via the singular value decomposition (Wang Section 3 SVD is simply a PCA of the known inputs; 3.1 PCA Model Building and 3.2).
Regarding Claim 21:
Wang further discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein each input comprises image data, lidar data or radar data (Wang Fig. 4-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Zhang et. al. (US Publication No. US 2021/0012188 A1) hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding Claim 2:
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein at least one of the sample attack directions is a direction along which a successful attack has been observed, or a promising attack direction (Wang at abstract “First, we find the key difference between different classes based on principle component analysis and calculate the difference vector. During attacking, we just drive a sample to the target class (for target adversarial) or the nearest other class (for misclassification adversarial).”; 3.3 and Fig 1 move towards the target class).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the promising attack direction is determined as a gradient of an attack loss function on the perception component or a proxy perception component.
Zhang teaches wherein the promising attack direction is determined as a gradient of an attack loss function on the perception component or a proxy perception component (Zhang Fig. 2 obtain a loss function based on the determined label probabilities and ground-truth labels corresponding to the clean batch for training the deep neural network; [0065] gradients of the perturbed image is calculated).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the method of generating black-box adversarial inputs disclosed by Wang with the attack loss function taught by Zhang. The motivation for this combination would be to improve the efficacy of and to update the adversarial inputs by providing a measure of their effectiveness.
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Jetley, S., Lord, N., & Torr, P. (2018). “With friends like these, who needs adversaries?”. Advances in neural information processing systems, 31 hereinafter Jetley.
Regarding Claim 10:
Wang discloses the method of claim 6 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), … and the perturbation is selectively modified by applying the following steps, starting with a first component perturbation, until a successful attack is observed (Wang Section 3 “The inherent reason that one adversarial sample can fool a DNN is that it’s located the classification border in some feature space. However, the boundary of a DNN is built from its training samples. Then, can we generate adversarial samples just based existing data samples? From the results of our experiment, the answer is yes. To find the essential difference between different classes, we perform principal component analysis on training data, and express the difference between classes with PCA coefficients”; Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t. In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” the algorithm determines the set of component perturbations and combining/manipulating the vectors): determining at least one modified perturbation, by adding or subtracting the component perturbation to/from the perturbation (Wang Section 3 and 3.2), determining whether the modified perturbation satisfies a promising attack condition (Wang Section 3 and 3.2 “given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t”), and if so, repeating the steps for a next principal direction with the modified perturbation, and if not, discarding the modified perturbation, and repeating the steps for the next principal direction without modifying the perturbation (Wang Section 3.2 “3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t. In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” the algorithm determines the set of component perturbations and combining/manipulating the vectors”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the component perturbations are assigned an order in performing said analysis.
Jetley teaches wherein the component perturbations are assigned an order in performing said analysis (Jetley Figure 4 and Section 4.3 “Classification accuracies on image sets projected onto subspaces of the spans of their corresponding DeepFool perturbations. For each net-dataset pair, DeepFool perturbations are computed over the image set and assembled into a matrix that is decomposed into its SVD. The singular vectors are ordered as per their singular values: Shi represents the high-to-low ordering, Slo the low-to-high, and d the number of vectors retained.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the method of generating black-box adversarial inputs disclosed by Wang with the ordering of the perturbations taught by Jetley. The motivation for this combination would be to improve the analysis of the perturbations as ordering the perturbations improves the clarity gleaned by the said analysis as seen by Jetley (Jetley Section 4.3 “Here, we implement this using a collection of DeepFool perturbations to provide the required gradient information, and repeat the analysis of Sec. 4.2, using singular values to order the vectors. The results, in Fig. 4, neatly replicate the previously seen classification accuracy trends for high-to-low and low-to-high curvature traversal of image-space directions. Henceforth, we use these directions directly, simplifying analysis and allowing us to analyse ImageNet networks”).
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Wang and Jetley further teaches the method of claim 10 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein said analysis is a singular value decomposition of (i) or (ii), the method comprising (Wang Section 3 SVD is simply a PCA of the known inputs; 3.1 PCA Model Building and 3.2): selectively modifying the perturbation, by selectively adding or subtracting component perturbations, until the successful attack is observed (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”); wherein the component perturbations are principal direction vectors of a principal direction matrix computed via the singular value decomposition (Wang Section 3 SVD is simply a PCA of the known inputs; 3.1 PCA Model Building and 3.2); and wherein the principal direction vectors are ordered by decreasing singular value (Jetley Figure 4 and Section 4.3 “The singular vectors are ordered as per their singular values: Shi represents the high-to-low ordering, Slo the low-to-high, and d the number of vectors retained.”).
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Wang and Jetley further teaches the method of claim 10 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein the perturbation is selectively modified by applying the following steps: determining a first modified perturbation, by doing one of: adding the component perturbation to the perturbation, and subtracting the component perturbation from the perturbation (Wang Section 3 “The inherent reason that one adversarial sample can fool a DNN is that it’s located the classification border in some feature space. However, the boundary of a DNN is built from its training samples. Then, can we generate adversarial samples just based existing data samples? From the results of our experiment, the answer is yes. To find the essential difference between different classes, we perform principal component analysis on training data, and express the difference between classes with PCA coefficients”; Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t. In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” the algorithm determines the set of component perturbations and combining/manipulating the vectors), determining whether the first modified perturbation satisfies a promising attack condition, and if so repeating the steps for the next principal direction with the first modified perturbation (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”), if not, discarding the first modified perturbation, and determining a second modified perturbation, by doing the other one of: adding the component perturbation to the perturbation, and subtracting the component perturbation from the perturbation (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”), determining whether the second modified perturbation satisfies the promising attack condition, and if so repeating the steps for the next principal direction with the second modified perturbation (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”), if not, discarding the second modified perturbation, and repeating the steps for the next principal direction without modifying the perturbation (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”), wherein the following operations are performed to determine whether a modified perturbation satisfies the promising attack condition: applying the modified perturbation to the original input vector, to compute a perturbed input vector (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t.”), providing the perturbed input vector to the perception component, to obtain at least one numerical output value (Wang Fig. 2, Fig 4, Fig. 6), in the case of the first component perturbation, comparing the numerical output value with a corresponding numerical output value obtained for the original input, in order to determine whether the promising attack condition is satisfied (Wang Fig. 2 numerical outputs compared; Section 4.1; Fig. 4 and 6 numerical outputs compared), in the case of each subsequent component perturbation, comparing the numerical output value with the numerical output value obtained for the previous component perturbation, in order to determine whether the promising attack condition is satisfied (Wang Fig. 2 numerical output compared; Section 4.1; Fig. 4 and 6 numerical outputs compared).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang and Jetley as applied to claims 10-12 above, and further in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Wang and Jetley teach the method of claim 12 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”).
The combination of Wang and Jetley does not explicitly teach wherein the comparing is performed to determine whether an attack loss has been increased or decreased relative to the original inputs, where the attack loss encodes the attack objective.
Zhang teaches wherein the comparing is performed to determine whether an attack loss has been increased or decreased relative to the original inputs, where the attack loss encodes the attack objective (Zhang Fig. 2 obtain a loss function based on the determined label probabilities and ground-truth labels corresponding to the clean batch for training the deep neural network; [0030] goal of minimizing the loss function and [0065] gradients of the perturbed image is calculated).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to further combine the attack loss determination taught by Zhang with the combination of Wang and Jetley. The motivation of this combination would be to actually see whether the ground truth of the model actually reflects whether or not the attack was successful (Zhang [0038] “In the meantime, many efforts have been devoted to defending against adversarial examples. Recently, some showed that many existing defense methods suffer from a false sense of robustness against adversarial attacks due to gradient masking, and adversarial training is one of the effective defense methods against adversarial attacks”).
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Wang, Jetley, and Zhang further teaches the method of claim 14 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), wherein each numerical output value is a confidence score, and the promising attack condition is satisfied if the numerical output value indicates decreased confidence of the perception component (Wang Section 4.1 “To test the performance of proposed sample based adversarial attack algorithm, we compared 4 different attack algorithms with 3 evaluation criterions: (1) the mean absolute difference (MAD) or L1-norm distance between original samples and adversarial sample; (2) the overall fool ratio (FR) or attack success ratio, which the ratio of the number of successful attacks to the number of targets attacked; (3) speed, the average process time to generate an adversarial sample, including all failed tries.”; Tables 1-5 fool ratio measured), wherein the confidence score pertains to: a known class to which the original input belongs, and the promising attack condition is satisfied if the numerical output value indicates decreased classification confidence with respect to the known class (Wang Section 4.1”; Tables 1-5 fool ratio measured), or a specific class other than a known class to which the original input belongs, and the promising attack condition is satisfied if the numerical output value indicates increased classification confidence with respect to the specific other class (Wang Section 4.1”; Tables 1-5 fool ratio measured).
Claim(s) 19-20, 23, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Liu et. al. (US Publication No. US 2020/0285952 A1) hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 19:
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”).
Wang does not disclose comprising: based on the adversarial input, identifying and mitigating a problem with the perception component.
Liu teaches comprising: based on the adversarial input, identifying and mitigating a problem with the perception component (Liu Fig. 10 hardening the computer model against adversarial attacks; [0088] the original model is hardened by providing the adversarial attack perturbations in conjunction with the true label for the images).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the method of generating black-box adversarial inputs disclosed by Wang with the problem identification and mitigation taught by Liu. The motivation for this combination would be to improve security by ensuring that a model placed in important software/hardware is not compromised by adversarial inputs as in Liu [0088-0089] “The hardened computing model 760 may be installed in the computing system that executes the hardened computing model 760 to perform classification operations either alone or in combination with other operations that are performed by the computing system. For example, the computing system may implement a cognitive computing mechanism that utilizes the classification operations of the hardened computing model 760 as one component to the overall cognitive operations performed by the cognitive computing mechanism, e.g., patient treatment recommendation, patient medical image analysis, vehicle navigation and/or obstacle avoidance or other vehicle safety system (e.g., automatic braking, automatic steering, warning notification output via a dashboard or audible warning mechanism, etc.), or the like”.
Regarding Claim 20:
The combination of Wang and Liu further teaches the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), comprising modifying the perception component so that the adversarial input no longer satisfies the attack objective (Liu Fig. 10 hardening the computer model against adversarial attacks; [0088] the original model is hardened by providing the adversarial attack perturbations in conjunction with the true label for the images).
Regarding Claim 23:
The combination of Wang and Liu further teaches the method of claim 20 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), comprising incorporating the modified perception component in a robotic system (Liu [0088] “For example, the computing system may implement a cognitive computing mechanism that utilizes the classification operations of the hardened computing model 760 as one component to the overall cognitive operations performed by the cognitive computing mechanism, e.g., patient treatment recommendation, patient medical image analysis, vehicle navigation and/or obstacle avoidance or other vehicle safety system (e.g., automatic braking, automatic steering, warning notification output via a dashboard or audible warning mechanism, etc.), or the like.”).
Regarding Claims 25 and 27:
Claim 25. Wang discloses generate black-box adversarial inputs to a perception component (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”), by: computing an adversarial input by applying a perturbation to an original input, the adversarial input satisfying an attack objective when inputted to the perception component (Wang Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t” misclassification is an attack objective); determining the perturbation by selectively combining component perturbations selected from a predetermined set of component perturbations (Wang Section 3 “The inherent reason that one adversarial sample can fool a DNN is that it’s located the classification border in some feature space. However, the boundary of a DNN is built from its training samples. Then, can we generate adversarial samples just based existing data samples? From the results of our experiment, the answer is yes. To find the essential difference between different classes, we perform principal component analysis on training data, and express the difference between classes with PCA coefficients”; Section 3.2 “Target adversarial attack means we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample. For example, given a sample x with label a, we slightly modify it to x’ which the attacked network will recognized as t. In PCA space we know the main difference between class a and class t is the difference vector yt − ya. So the fastest way to make the attacked network give answer t is to drive x to class t alone direction from ya to yt” the algorithm determines the set of component perturbations and combining/manipulating the vectors), wherein said inputs correspond to respective points in an input vector space, and the component perturbations encode principal attack directions in the input vector space for satisfying said attack objective (Wang Section 3 and 3.2); and determining the principal attack directions by analysing: (i) a set of sample attack directions, or (ii) a set of input samples (Wang Section 3 and 3.2).
Wang does not explicitly disclose A computer system comprising at least one memory configured to store computer-readable instructions; at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions, which upon execution cause the at least one hardware processor to.
Liu teaches A computer system comprising at least one memory configured to store computer-readable instructions; at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to execute the computer-readable instructions, which upon execution cause the at least one hardware processor to (Liu [0072-0074]; [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the method of generating black-box adversarial inputs disclosed by Wang within a computer system as taught by Liu. The motivation for this combination would be to apply the techniques of generating adversarial inputs explicitly disclosed by Wang within a computer system that is taught by Liu (Liu [0072-0074]; [0077]).
Claim 27 recites substantially the same content and is therefore rejected under the same rationales. Liu further teaches A non-transitory medium embodying computer-readable instructions configured, when executed on one or more hardware processors ((Liu [0072-0074]; [0077])).
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of N. Narodytska and S. Kasiviswanathan, "Simple Black-Box Adversarial Attacks on Deep Neural Networks," 2017 IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition Workshops (CVPRW), Honolulu, HI, USA, 2017, pp. 1310-1318 hereinafter Narodytska.
Regarding Claim 24:
Wang discloses the method of claim 1 (Wang Section 3 Sample Based Adversarial Attack “our method is black-box”, Section 3 a DNN is fooled, 3.2 “we intentionally make a network give a specific wrong answer for a given sample”).
Wang does not explicitly disclose wherein the analysis assigns a relative order to the component perturbations, reflecting relative dominance of the principal attack directions, and the component perturbations are selectively combined in the assigned relative order.
Narodytska teaches wherein the analysis assigns a relative order to the component perturbations, reflecting relative dominance of the principal attack directions, and the component perturbations are selectively combined in the assigned relative order (Narodytska 1314-1315 and Algorithm 2 LOCSEARCHADV (NN) sorts images in decreasing order of score, where the score indicates the effectiveness of the perturbation “Pixels whose perturbation lead to a larger decrease of f are more likely useful in constructing an adversarial candidate. From sorted(I), it records a set of pixel locations (P∗X, P∗Y )i based on the first t elements of sorted(I), where the parameter t regulates the number of pixels perturbed in each round”; “the algorithm takes an image as input, and in each round, finds some pixel locations to perturb using the above defined objective function and then applies the above defined transformation function to these selected pixels to construct a new (perturbed) image. It terminates if it succeeds to push the true label below the kth place in the confidence score vector at any round”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the method of generating black-box adversarial inputs disclosed by Wang with the statistical analysis taught by Narodytska. The motivation for this combination would be to improve the performance of the perturbations evidenced by Narodytska (Narodytska 1315 “The perturbation parameter p was adaptively adjusted during the search. Though not critical, doing so helps in faster determination of the most helpful pixels in generating the adversarial image” and 1316 “Another advantage with our approach is that it modifies a very tiny fraction of pixels as compared to all the pixels perturbed by FGSM, and also in many cases with far less average perturbation. Putting these points together demonstrates that Algorithm LOCSEARCHADV is successful in generating more adversarial images than FGSM, while modifying far fewer pixels and adding less noise per image. On the other side, FGSM takes lesser time in the generation process and generally seems to produce higher confidence scores for the adversarial (misclassified) images”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record in the submitted PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.A.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2496
/JORGE L ORTIZ CRIADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2496