Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021/027530, filed on 07/26/2021.
Drawings
The objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Claims 1, 7-8, 11 and 14.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter in the limitations of Claims 1 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claims 1 and 14 recites “spacers that determine gaps between the metallic plates and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulators are filled between the gaps that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plates and the heat sink”, no Figures or Drawings depict the embodiment of Claim1, wherein the embodiment containing a plurality of “gaps”, “metallic plates” and “thermal conductive insulators”, Figures 1-3 is the closest to depicting the embodiment mentioned above but in a single form, not a plurality of, Figure 4A-5B depict a plurality of subject matter but fails to depict all the subject matter of Claims 1 or 14 and as per the limitations of Claims 1 or 14. Examiner recommends changing Claims 1 and 14 to singular form, the particular limitation of Claims 1 and 14 should be changed to read “spacers that determine gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink”.
Claim 7 recites “a plurality of the heating elements disposed on the substrate, each having their respective upper surface heat dissipating portions located on a side opposite to the substrate, and a plurality of the metallic plates each disposed on the top of a corresponding one of thermal conductive members, disposed so as to face an arrangement direction of the plurality of the heating elements, and that are mutually apart, wherein the upper surface heat dissipating portions are connected to each of the plurality of metallic plates via the thermal conductive members”, no Figures or Drawings depict the embodiment of Claim 7, wherein the embodiment containing a “plurality of the metallic plates” each disposed on top of a “corresponding one of thermal conductive members” disposed on a “plurality of heating elements”, no Figure or Drawing depict each one of the metallic plates is disposed on top of each one of the thermal conductive members disposed on each one of the plurality of heating elements, Figure 4A depict a plurality of first metallic plates is disposed on top of the thermal conductive members disposed on each one of the plurality of heating elements and a second metallic plate disposed on top of a plurality of thermal conductive members disposed on a plurality of second set of heating elements and a third metallic plate disposed in indirect contact with a plurality of third set of heating elements.
Claim 8 recites “a plurality of the heating elements disposed on the substrate, each having their respective upper surface heat dissipating portions located on a side opposite side to the substrate, and the metallic plate that is disposed on the top of the thermal conductive members, that also extends in the arrangement direction of the plurality of heating elements, and that causes each of the plurality of heating elements to be conductive with one another, wherein the upper surface heat dissipating portions are connected to the metallic plate via the thermal conductive members”, no Figures or Drawings depict the embodiment of Claim 8, wherein the embodiment containing a singular “metallic plates” disposed on top of “thermal conductive members” disposed on a “plurality of heating elements”, no Figure or Drawing depict a singular “metallic plate” is disposed and covers all of the tops of the thermal conductive members on all of the plurality of heating elements, Figure 4A depict a plurality of first metallic plates is disposed on top of the thermal conductive members disposed on each one of the plurality of heating elements and a second metallic plate disposed on top of a plurality of thermal conductive members disposed on a plurality of second set of heating elements and a third metallic plate disposed in indirect contact with a plurality of third set of heating elements.
Claim 11 recites “wherein a single part has: a plurality of the heating elements; a plurality of the metallic plates disposed on the top of each of thermal conductive members corresponding to each of plurality of heating elements; a second metallic plate that is disposed on the top of the thermal conductive members, and is electrically independent from the first metallic plate, a plurality of the third metallic plates; and thermal insulation members that insulate the first metallic plates, the second metallic plate, and the third metallic plates, and wherein the single part is configured of the first metallic plates, the second metallic plate, the third metallic plates, and the thermal insulation members” no Figures or Drawings depict the embodiment of Claim 11, wherein the embodiment a “plurality of the metallic plates” each disposed on top of a “corresponding one of thermal conductive members” disposed on a “plurality of heating elements”, no Figure or Drawing depict each one of the metallic plates is disposed on top of each one of the thermal conductive members disposed on each one of the plurality of heating elements and then a second metallic that is disposed on top of the same thermal conductive members that has a plurality of metallic plates and be electrically independent from the plurality of metallic plate (examiner notes “first metallic plate” is not introduced in the claims previously and is an antecedent issue), Figure 4A depict a plurality of first metallic plates is disposed on top of the thermal conductive members disposed on each one of the plurality of heating elements and a second metallic plate disposed on top of a plurality of thermal conductive members disposed on a plurality of second set of heating elements and a third metallic plate disposed in indirect contact with a plurality of third set of heating elements.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The objections to the Specification are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Title.
Claim Objections
The objections to the Claims 2-5 and 9 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to the Claims 2-5 and 9.
Claims 1-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 14 recites “spacers that determine gaps between the metallic plates and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulators are filled between the gaps that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plates and the heat sink”, for clarity and consistency and to avoid antecedent issue, the limitations should be changed to read ““spacers that determine gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink”.
Claim 2-5, 7-13 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 1 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 14 recite “wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers”, the term “strength” and “thickness” renders Claims 1 and 14 indefinite, the term “strength” and “thickness” not defined by the Claims, the Specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There are no parameter, quantitative information or specification information in the Claims or Specifications to provide what the “strength” or “thickness” may be, the Specification lacks quantitative or specification information as to what material the “spacers” are which would provide some insight as to what “strength” may be and what the “thickness” may be as spacers could be elastic and ductile and the thickness can be compressed or the spacers could be rigid and solid, where the “thickness” is approximately matching the “thickness” of the “spacers”.
Claim 11 recite “a plurality of the heating elements; a plurality of the metallic plates disposed on the top of each of thermal conductive members corresponding to each of plurality of heating elements; a second metallic plate that is disposed on the top of the thermal conductive members, and is electrically independent from the first metallic plate”, it is unclear how the “second metallic plate” is electrically independent from the “plurality of the metallic plates” (Examiner notes “first metallic plate” is not introduced in the claims previously and is an antecedent issue and is reviewing the claims “first metallic plate” is to be “plurality of the metallic plates”) disposed on the top of each of “thermal conductive members” corresponding to each of plurality of “heating elements”, as the “second metallic plate” is also disposed on the top of the same “thermal conductive members” that the “plurality of the metallic plates” is disposed on and it is unclear how the “second metallic plate” can be disposed on the same “thermal conductive members” that the “plurality of the metallic plates” is disposed on, Claim 11 is rendered indefinite due to the claim limitations being unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba et al. (US 2020/0006187 - hereinafter, "Otremba") in view of WU et al. (US 2019/0221498 - hereinafter, "Wu").
With respect to Claim 1, Otremba teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
An electronic device (electronic apparatus or 230, see Figure 6) comprising:
a substrate (132 or 332, in paragraph [0102], “In accordance with an embodiment, at least two packages 434 (e.g. three packages, as shown in FIG. 10) each of which comprises a semiconductor chip 142 which is electrically connected by leads 136 (e.g. outlead terminals as shown in FIG. 10) to a support 332, e.g. a printed circuit board as shown in FIG. 10 having a circuit pattern (electrically conductive structure, in paragraph [0027], “In the context of the present application, the term “carrier” may particularly denote an electrically conductive structure, such as a leadframe, which serves as a support for one or more of the electronic chips, and which may also contribute to the electric interconnection between the chip(s) and one or more further components (e.g. outlead terminals). In other words, the carrier may fulfil a mechanical support function and an electric connection function”);
a heating element (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434)) disposed on a top (above) of the substrate (132 or 332, see Figure 10), and the heating element has an upper surface heat dissipating portion (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], “According to an embodiment, the package 234 comprises a heat transfer surface 146 which may be formed for example by a metal layer 236, e.g. a copper layer. According to an embodiment, the metal layer 234 is an exposed portion of a lead frame to which the semiconductor chip is mounted” and in paragraph [0102], “Thermally coupled to the semiconductor chip 142 is a metal element, e.g. a metal layer 326, which forms a heat transfer surface 446 to which an interface 450 is attached e.g. by an attachment material 422, e.g. a solder”) located on a side (top surface of (234 or 434)) of the heating element (234 or 434) opposite of the substrate (132 or 332);
a thermal conductive member (122 or 422, in paragraph [0084], “The heat dissipation device 300 is similar to the heat dissipation device 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 and further comprises an attachment material 122, e.g. a solder, on the second part 110”, see Figure 8) disposed on a top (above) of the upper surface heat dissipating portion (146 or 446);
a metallic plate (116 within heat dissipation device (200, 300, 600), see Figure 2-3, in paragraph [0080] to paragraph [0081], “FIG. 2 illustrates a cross-sectional view of a further heat dissipation device 200 according to embodiments of the herein disclosed subject matter… According to an embodiment, the first part 104 comprises the body 102 and a barrier layer 116, e.g. a nickel layer. According to an embodiment, the surface portion 108 is formed by the barrier layer 116. According to a further embodiment, the second part is located on the surface portion 108”) disposed on a top (above) of the thermal conductive member (122 or 422);
a thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450, in paragraph [0097], “According to an embodiment, the heat dissipation device 600 comprises an interface layer 150 on a surface 148 which is located opposite the attachment material 122, e.g. as shown in FIG. 8. According to an embodiment, the interface layer 150 provides a further surface portion 218 to which a further heat dissipation device 120, e.g. a customer heat dissipation device is attached (or is attachable). According to an embodiment, the interface layer 150 is an interface layer with defined characteristics, e.g. an ISO interface”) disposed on a top (above) of the metallic plate (116 within heat dissipation device (200, 300, 600)), and
a heat sink (120 or 900, in paragraph [0082], “According to a further embodiment, the first part 104 comprises a further surface portion 118 opposite the surface portion 108. According to an embodiment, the further surface portion is provided for (e.g. configured to) receiving a further heat dissipation device 120… For example, the first part may be provided at a premises of a manufacturer of the heat dissipation device or a manufacturer of an package, to which the heat dissipation device is mounted in an embodiment, while the further heat dissipation device 120 may be mounted to the heat dissipation device 200 at a premises of a customer” and in paragraph [0105], “In accordance with a further embodiment, a heat dissipation device 900 (e.g. a heatsink as shown in FIG. 10) is attached to the interface 450, e.g. by an attachment material (not shown in FIG. 10)”) that is disposed on a top (above) of the thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450).
Otremba fails to specifically teach or suggest spacers that determine a gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink.
Wu, however, teaches (in Figure 3A-3B)
spacers (308) that determine a gap (see Figure 3A-3B) between the metallic plate (314) and the heat sink (304) are provided,
wherein
each spacer (308) has a strength (in paragraph [0022], “Example adhesive sealant 308 may be made up of at least one material selected from the group consisting of neoprene, ethylene-propylene-diene, silicone, natural rubber, carboxylated nitrile, hydrogenated nitrile, fluoro-silicone, urethane, hexafluoropropylene-vinylidene fluoride, isoprene, isobutene-isoprene, styrene-butadiene, polysiloxane, nitrile-butadiene, and rubber-based adhesives. Further, adhesive sealant 308 may include at least one thermally conductive material selected from the group of graphene, carbon nanotube, graphite, aluminium, copper, silver, silicon, gold, diamond, and synthetic thermal conductive materials”) which is required to retain the gap (see Figure 3A-3B),
the gap (see Figure 3A-3B) is determined by a thickness (see Figure 3A-3B) of the spacers (308), and
the thermal conductive insulator (306) are filled between the gap (see Figure 3A-3B) that are determined by the spacers (308) between the metallic plate (314) and the heat sink (304).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Wu with Otremba, such that spacers that determine a gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink as taught by Wu since doing so would improve heat dissipation between Otremba’s heating element and Otremba’s heat sink by sealing in Otremba’s thermal conductive insulator and forming an interface between Otremba’s heating element and Otremba’s heat sink. (in paragraph [0018])
With respect to Claim 2, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Otremba further teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
wherein: a thermal conductivity (thermal conductivity of solder) of the thermal conductive member (122 or 422, in paragraph [0072], “According to an embodiment, the solder comprises at least one of a lead-tin solder (Pb—Sn), nickel-gold solder (Ni—Au), palladium-gold solder (Pd—Au), nickel-palladium-gold-silver solder (Ni—Pd—Au—Ag)”) is greater than the thermal conductivity (2.3 watt per meter and kelvin (W/mK), in paragraph [0047], “According to a further embodiment, the further surface portion is provided by an iso interface, e.g. an interface with a thickness of 152 μm and a thermal conductivity of 2.3 watt per meter and kelvin (W/mK) (also referred to as K10 interface)) of the thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450, in paragraph [0047], “According to a further embodiment, the further surface portion is provided by an iso interface, e.g. an interface with a thickness of 152 μm and a thermal conductivity of 2.3 watt per meter and kelvin (W/mK) (also referred to as K10 interface)”)
With respect to Claim 3, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Otremba further teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
wherein: an area of contact (see Figure 8) between the metallic plate (116) and the thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450) is greater than the area of contact (see Figure 8) between the heating element (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434)) and the thermal conductive member (122 or 422).
With respect to Claim 4, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Otremba further teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
wherein: the thermal conductive member (122 or 422, in paragraph [0084], “The heat dissipation device 300 is similar to the heat dissipation device 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 and further comprises an attachment material 122, e.g. a solder, on the second part 110”, see Figure 8) is provided between the upper surface heat dissipating portion (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], “According to an embodiment, the package 234 comprises a heat transfer surface 146 which may be formed for example by a metal layer 236, e.g. a copper layer. According to an embodiment, the metal layer 234 is an exposed portion of a lead frame to which the semiconductor chip is mounted”) and the metallic plate (116 within heat dissipation device (200, 300, 600), see Figure 2-3), and
solder is a material of the thermal conductive member (122 or 422, in paragraph [0084], “The heat dissipation device 300 is similar to the heat dissipation device 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 and further comprises an attachment material 122, e.g. a solder, on the second part 110”).
With respect to Claim 5, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Otremba further teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
wherein: the thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450, in paragraph [0097], see Figure 8) is provided between the metallic plate (116 within heat dissipation device (200, 300, 600)) and the heat sink (120 or 900), and
a material of the thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450) is a heat conductive grease or a heat conductive adhesive (in paragraph [0048], “According to an embodiment, an interface (e.g. an iso interface) is provided between two or more packages and the heat dissipation device. According to a further embodiment, the interface may be configured to contact the two or more packages electrically isolated (or, in another embodiment electrically connected) and thermally coupled to a common heat dissipation device according to embodiments of the herein disclosed subject matter”, thus thermal conductive insulator (150) is heat conductive and in paragraph [0097], “According to an embodiment, the heat dissipation device 600 comprises an interface layer 150 on a surface 148 which is located opposite the attachment material 122, e.g. as shown in FIG. 8. According to an embodiment, the interface layer 150 provides a further surface portion 218 to which a further heat dissipation device 120, e.g. a customer heat dissipation device is attached (or is attachable). According to an embodiment, the interface layer 150 is an interface layer with defined characteristics, e.g. an ISO interface” thermal conductive insulator (150) is used to attach heat sink (120), thus thermal conductive insulator (150) is an adhesive).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba in view of Wu in view of KAWASE et al. (US 2016/0111345 - hereinafter, "Kawase").
With respect to Claim 7, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Otremba further teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
further comprising: a plurality of the heating elements (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434), see Figure 10) disposed on the substrate (132 or 332, in paragraph [0102]), each having their respective upper surface heat dissipating portions (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], see Figure 10) located on a side opposite to the substrate (132 or 332, in paragraph [0102]), and
the metallic plate (116) each disposed on the top (above) of a corresponding one of thermal conductive members (122 or 422), disposed so as to face an arrangement direction (see Figure 10, in the vertical stacking direction) of the plurality of the heating elements (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434), see Figure 10), and that are mutually apart (see Figure 10),
wherein the upper surface heat dissipating portions (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], see Figure 10) are connected to the metallic plates (116) via the thermal conductive members (122 or 422).
Otremba fails to specifically teach or suggest a plurality of metallic plates
Kawase, however, teaches (in Figure 2 and 13) a plurality of metallic plates (21A-C, see Figure 13).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Kawase with Otremba, such that a plurality of metallic plates as taught by Kawase since doing so would improve the life of Otremba’s heating elements by increasing the heat transfer area and the amount of heat dissipation through the electrodes. (in paragraph [0055])
With respect to Claim 8, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above and Otremba further teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
further comprising: a plurality of the heating elements (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434), see Figure 10) disposed on the substrate (132 or 332, in paragraph [0102]), each having their respective upper surface heat dissipating portions (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], see Figure 10) located on a side opposite to the substrate (132 or 332, in paragraph [0102]), and
the metallic plate (116) that is disposed on the top of the thermal conductive members (122 or 422), that also extends in the arrangement direction (see Figure 10, in the vertical stacking direction) of the plurality of heating elements (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434), see Figure 10), wherein the upper surface heat dissipating portions (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], see Figure 10) are connected to the metallic plate (116) via the thermal conductive members (122 or 422).
Otremba fails to specifically teach or suggest the metallic plate and causes each of the plurality of heating elements to be conductive with one another.
Kawase, however, teaches (in Figure 2 and 13) the metallic plate (21e, see Figure 13) and that (21e) causes each of the plurality of heating elements (9a-c+10a-c) to be conductive with one another (in paragraph [0054], “FIG. 13 is a top view illustrating the interior of the semiconductor module according to Embodiment 2 of the present invention. Metal frames 21a to 21c correspond to the Cu frame 40 and a metal frame 21e corresponds to the Cu frame 41… A metal frame 21e is connected to top surfaces of diodes 9a to 9c and top surfaces of switching elements 10a to 10c”, see Figure 13)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Kawase with Otremba, such that the metallic plate and that causes each of the plurality of heating elements to be conductive with one another as taught by Kawase since doing so would improve the life of Otremba’s heating elements by increasing the heat transfer area and the amount of heat dissipation through the electrodes. (in paragraph [0055])
With respect to Claim 9, Otremba as modified by Wu teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 9.
Kawase, however, teaches (in Figure 2 and 13)
heating parts (8c) that have electrodes (electrodes, in paragraph [0032], “Switching elements 7a to 7c correspond to the semiconductor chip 7, diodes 8a to 8c correspond to the semiconductor chip 8, diodes 9a to 9c correspond to the semiconductor chip 9, and switching elements 10a to 10c correspond to the semiconductor chip 10. Metal frames 21a to e correspond to a U electrode, a V electrode, a W electrode, a P electrode and an N electrode respectively”) that are joined to the circuit pattern (4, in paragraph [0033], “Undersurfaces of the switching elements 7a to 7c and the diodes 8a to 8c are connected to the conductive pattern 4”) by soldering, and a third metallic plate (21d, see Figure 13) provided between a location where the electrodes (electrodes) and the circuit pattern (4) are joined, and a thermal conductive insulator (16, see Figure 12, in paragraph [0054], “FIG. 13 is a top view illustrating the interior of the semiconductor module according to Embodiment 2 of the present invention. Metal frames 21a to 21c correspond to the Cu frame 40 and a metal frame 21e corresponds to the Cu frame 41”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Kawase with Otremba, such that heating parts that have electrodes that are joined to the circuit pattern by soldering, and a third metallic plate provided between a location where the electrodes and the circuit pattern are joined, and a thermal conductive insulator as taught by Kawase since doing so would improve the life of Otremba’s heating elements by increasing the heat transfer area and the amount of heat dissipation through the electrodes. (in paragraph [0055])
With respect to Claim 10, Otremba as modified by Wu as modified by Kawase teaches the limitations of Claim 9 as per above and Kawase further teaches (in Figure 2 and 13)
Wherein the third metallic plate (21d) is joined to the circuit pattern (in paragraph [0036], “An Al wire 25 connects the conductive pattern 4 and the metal frame 21d” and in paragraph [0054], “A metal frame 21d is connected to the conductive pattern 5a”) by soldering.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, such that the third metallic plate is joined to the circuit pattern by soldering as taught by Kawase since doing so would improve the current capacity of Otremba’s heating elements and the bonding strength between the circuit pattern and Otremba’s heating elements. (in paragraph [0055])
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba in view of Oota et al. (US 2013/0003306 - hereinafter, "Oota") in view of Wu.
With respect to Claim 14, Otremba teaches (in Figure 6, 8, 10)
An electronic device (electronic apparatus or 230, see Figure 6) comprising:
a substrate (132 or 332, in paragraph [0102], “In accordance with an embodiment, at least two packages 434 (e.g. three packages, as shown in FIG. 10) each of which comprises a semiconductor chip 142 which is electrically connected by leads 136 (e.g. outlead terminals as shown in FIG. 10) to a support 332, e.g. a printed circuit board as shown in FIG. 10”) having a circuit pattern (electrically conductive structure, in paragraph [0027], “In the context of the present application, the term “carrier” may particularly denote an electrically conductive structure, such as a leadframe, which serves as a support for one or more of the electronic chips, and which may also contribute to the electric interconnection between the chip(s) and one or more further components (e.g. outlead terminals). In other words, the carrier may fulfil a mechanical support function and an electric connection function”);
a heating element (semiconductor chip or 142 within package (234 or 434)) disposed on a top (above) of the substrate (132 or 332, see Figure 10), and the heating element that has an upper surface heat dissipating portion (146 or 446, in paragraph [0093], “According to an embodiment, the package 234 comprises a heat transfer surface 146 which may be formed for example by a metal layer 236, e.g. a copper layer. According to an embodiment, the metal layer 234 is an exposed portion of a lead frame to which the semiconductor chip is mounted” and in paragraph [0102], “Thermally coupled to the semiconductor chip 142 is a metal element, e.g. a metal layer 326, which forms a heat transfer surface 446 to which an interface 450 is attached e.g. by an attachment material 422, e.g. a solder”) located on a side (top surface of (234 or 434)) of the heating element (234 or 434) opposite of the substrate (132 or 332);
a thermal conductive member (122 or 422, in paragraph [0084], “The heat dissipation device 300 is similar to the heat dissipation device 200 illustrated in FIG. 2 and further comprises an attachment material 122, e.g. a solder, on the second part 110”, see Figure 8) disposed on a top (above) of the upper surface heat dissipating portion (146 or 446);
a metallic plate (116 within heat dissipation device (200, 300, 600), see Figure 2-3, in paragraph [0080] to paragraph [0081], “FIG. 2 illustrates a cross-sectional view of a further heat dissipation device 200 according to embodiments of the herein disclosed subject matter… According to an embodiment, the first part 104 comprises the body 102 and a barrier layer 116, e.g. a nickel layer. According to an embodiment, the surface portion 108 is formed by the barrier layer 116. According to a further embodiment, the second part is located on the surface portion 108”) disposed on a top (above) of the thermal conductive member (122 or 422);
a thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450, in paragraph [0097], “According to an embodiment, the heat dissipation device 600 comprises an interface layer 150 on a surface 148 which is located opposite the attachment material 122, e.g. as shown in FIG. 8. According to an embodiment, the interface layer 150 provides a further surface portion 218 to which a further heat dissipation device 120, e.g. a customer heat dissipation device is attached (or is attachable). According to an embodiment, the interface layer 150 is an interface layer with defined characteristics, e.g. an ISO interface”) disposed on a top (above) of the metallic plate (116 within heat dissipation device (200, 300, 600)), and
a heat sink (120 or 900, in paragraph [0082], “According to a further embodiment, the first part 104 comprises a further surface portion 118 opposite the surface portion 108. According to an embodiment, the further surface portion is provided for (e.g. configured to) receiving a further heat dissipation device 120… For example, the first part may be provided at a premises of a manufacturer of the heat dissipation device or a manufacturer of an package, to which the heat dissipation device is mounted in an embodiment, while the further heat dissipation device 120 may be mounted to the heat dissipation device 200 at a premises of a customer” and in paragraph [0105], “In accordance with a further embodiment, a heat dissipation device 900 (e.g. a heatsink as shown in FIG. 10) is attached to the interface 450, e.g. by an attachment material (not shown in FIG. 10)”) that is disposed on a top (above) of the thermal conductive insulator (150 or 450).
Otremba fails to specifically teach or suggest an electric power steering device, and spacers that determine a gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink.
Oota, however, teaches (in paragraph [0040]) an electric power steering device (1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Oota with Otremba, such that an electric power steering device as taught by Oota since doing so would allow Otremba’s electronic device could be an electric power steering device and can remove thermal energy generated by Oota’s an electric power steering device. (in Otremba’s paragraph [0002])
Examiner notes “an electric power steering device” appears to be “intended use” and notes MPEP 2111.02 (II)1.
With respect to the limitation requiring spacers that determine a gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink.
Wu, however, teaches (in Figure 3A-3B)
spacers (308) that determine a gap (see Figure 3A-3B) between the metallic plate (314) and the heat sink (304) are provided,
wherein
each spacer (308) has a strength (in paragraph [0022], “Example adhesive sealant 308 may be made up of at least one material selected from the group consisting of neoprene, ethylene-propylene-diene, silicone, natural rubber, carboxylated nitrile, hydrogenated nitrile, fluoro-silicone, urethane, hexafluoropropylene-vinylidene fluoride, isoprene, isobutene-isoprene, styrene-butadiene, polysiloxane, nitrile-butadiene, and rubber-based adhesives. Further, adhesive sealant 308 may include at least one thermally conductive material selected from the group of graphene, carbon nanotube, graphite, aluminium, copper, silver, silicon, gold, diamond, and synthetic thermal conductive materials”) which is required to retain the gap (see Figure 3A-3B),
the gap (see Figure 3A-3B) is determined by a thickness (see Figure 3A-3B) of the spacers (308), and
the thermal conductive insulator (306) are filled between the gap (see Figure 3A-3B) that are determined by the spacers (308) between the metallic plate (314) and the heat sink (304).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Wu with Otremba, such that spacers that determine a gap between the metallic plate and the heat sink are provided, wherein each spacer has a strength which is required to retain the gap, the gap is determined by a thickness of the spacers, and the thermal conductive insulator are filled between the gap that are determined by the spacers between the metallic plate and the heat sink as taught by Wu since doing so would improve heat dissipation between Otremba’s heating element and Otremba’s heat sink by sealing in Otremba’s thermal conductive insulator and forming an interface between Otremba’s heating element and Otremba’s heat sink. (in paragraph [0018])
Allowable Subject Matter
The Allowability to the Claims 11-13 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Claim 11.
Claims 11-13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 06/02/2026 have been fully considered, Examiner notes that Applicant’s arguments are directed to the claims as amended and the rejection has been modified to meet the limitations of the amended claims (See rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 Corning Glass Works, 868 F.2d at 1257, 9 USPQ2d at 1966 and Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997)