DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s submission dated June 1, 2026. Any rejections and/or objections made in previous actions and not repeated below are considered withdrawn.
Claims 1-12, 14, and 16-24 are pending, and claims 1-4, 9-12, 14, 16, and 21-24 remain withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ley et al. (US 2008/0242740 A1).
With respect to Claims 5-8, Ley et al. teaches the compound of formula (II), 4, [0071] represented below.
Ley et al. teaches the compound is known as phloretin, [0068] and can be deprotonated at several positions using sodium or potassium. [0069-70] Additionally, Ley et al. teaches this compound is for use in flavor modification. [0206] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, that, given the finite number of positions that can be deprotonated by the salt cations of sodium and potassium, a disodium or dipotassium salt of phloretin is rendered obvious by the teaching of Ley et al., as recited in claims 5-8.
With respect to Claims 17 and 18, Ley et al. teaches phloretin can be incorporated into a composition for enhancing sweetness. [0206] Therefore, Ley et al. renders obvious the invention recited in claims 17 and 18.
With respect to Claims 19 and 20, Ley et al. teaches phloretin can be incorporated into a composition for enhancing sweetness. [0206] Additionally, Ley et al. teaches the use of bitter sweeteners in the composition. [0108] Therefore, Ley et al. renders obvious the invention recited in claims 19 and 20.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on Page 6, Line 25, that “Phloretin is known to exhibit stability issues, especially in aqueous environments” and cites Hu “Preparation and characterization of phloretin by complexation with cyclodextrins”. Applicant continues on Lines 29-31, that “Examples 3 and 4 of the present application, aqueous solutions of the claimed compounds ‘could be stored for several days at room temperature under nitrogen without any significant change’”. Applicant concludes on Page 7, Line 1, that one of ordinary skill in the art “would not have reasonably expected the claimed compounds to exhibit improved aqueous stability”.
Applicant is directed MPEP 2145 VI, which states “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.” The limitation of the stability of the composition in an aqueous solution is not recited in the instant set of claims, and is therefore not germane. Additionally, Ley et al. does not teach a composition that exists solely in an aqueous environment, and in some embodiments the composition would exist in a fat, wax, or protein matrix. [0168]
For these reasons, applicant’s assertions are found to be unpersuasive.
Applicant asserts on Page 7, Lines 20-22, that “Applicant respectfully submits that the dependent claims incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claims to which they refer and include their own patentable features and are therefore in condition for allowance”.
Applicant’s assertions are found to be unpersuasive due to the rejection of the independent claim from which the remaining claims depend is maintained. For this reason, and those enumerated above, the rejection of claims 5-8 and 17-20 are maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hu et al. (Preparation and characterization of phloretin by complexation with cyclodextrins, New Journal of Chemistry), study of phloretin was presented by applicant in assertions, but not made of record.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791