DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liao et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2016/0271280.
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses an ultraviolet light irradiation system, comprising: an ultraviolet light source unit that generates ultraviolet light (“UV light is used for disinfection of air or surfaces” [Abstract]); N (N is a natural number) irradiation units that irradiate a desired site with the ultraviolet light (“the different UV LEDs 12 are multiplexed so that the different wavelengths are emitted at different times” [0085]); an optical switch that switches the ultraviolet light to each of paths to the irradiation units (“Although all the UV LEDS 12 may be energized at once, there is a benefit in sequentially energizing the UV LEDs 12, using the multiplexer 74” [0080]); and a switching control unit that controls a switching operation of the optical switch so as to give an opportunity to be supplied with an integrated light amount per unit time equal for each of the paths on a basis of a transmission loss of the ultraviolet light for each of the paths and an irradiation area where the irradiation unit irradiates the ultraviolet light (“the different UV LEDs 12 are multiplexed so that the different wavelengths are emitted at different times. If required, certain wavelengths may be emitted for longer times than others. The photodetector 72 detects the optical power received for each wavelength. The processor 76 associates the output of the photodetector 72 with the wavelength, which also correlates to the targeted microorganism/compound. In step 88, the processor 76 correlates the attenuation at each wavelength to the amount of absorption or scattering by the targeted microorganism/compound, which can be used to determine the quantity of the targeted microorganisms/compounds in the sample. The processor 76 may also correlates the fluorescence at each wavelength to the targeted microorganism/compound” [0085-0086]).
Regarding claim 2, Liao discloses a sensor that detects presence of an avoiding object at which the ultraviolet light is to be avoided at the desired site, wherein when the sensor detects presence of the avoiding object at the desired site corresponding to one of the paths at the opportunity of the one path, the switching control unit does not supply the ultraviolet light to the one path at the opportunity (“Since UV light may be dangerous with prolonged exposure, the UV LEDs 228 are only energized when there is no person in the room. This may be detected by a motion or heat sensor 230” [0125]).
Regarding claim 3, Liao discloses that the switching control unit separately gives the opportunity to the one path after the avoiding object becomes absent (“Since UV light may be dangerous with prolonged exposure, the UV LEDs 228 are only energized when there is no person in the room. This may be detected by a motion or heat sensor 230” [0125]).
Regarding claim 4, Liao discloses that the switching control unit gives the opportunity for the one path to another of the paths (“Since UV light may be dangerous with prolonged exposure, the UV LEDs 228 are only energized when there is no person in the room. This may be detected by a motion or heat sensor 230” [0125]).
Regarding claim 5, Liao discloses that the switching control unit supplies the ultraviolet light only at the opportunity after the avoiding object becomes absent (“Since UV light may be dangerous with prolonged exposure, the UV LEDs 228 are only energized when there is no person in the room. This may be detected by a motion or heat sensor 230” [0125]).
Regarding claim 6, Liao discloses an ultraviolet light irradiation method for irradiating a desired site with ultraviolet light generated by an ultraviolet light source unit (“UV light is used for disinfection of air or surfaces” [Abstract]) from N (N is a natural number) irradiation units (“the different UV LEDs 12 are multiplexed so that the different wavelengths are emitted at different times” [0085]), the method comprising giving, when the ultraviolet light is switched by an optical switch to each of paths to the irradiation units, an opportunity to be supplied with an integrated light amount per unit time equal for each of the paths on a basis of a transmission loss of the ultraviolet light for each of the paths and an irradiation area where the irradiation unit irradiates the ultraviolet light (“the different UV LEDs 12 are multiplexed so that the different wavelengths are emitted at different times. If required, certain wavelengths may be emitted for longer times than others. The photodetector 72 detects the optical power received for each wavelength. The processor 76 associates the output of the photodetector 72 with the wavelength, which also correlates to the targeted microorganism/compound. In step 88, the processor 76 correlates the attenuation at each wavelength to the amount of absorption or scattering by the targeted microorganism/compound, which can be used to determine the quantity of the targeted microorganisms/compounds in the sample. The processor 76 may also correlates the fluorescence at each wavelength to the targeted microorganism/compound” [0085-0086]).
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0150707.
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses an ultraviolet light irradiation system, comprising: an ultraviolet light source unit that generates ultraviolet light (“an ultraviolet irradiation system that sterilizes, disinfects, and inactivates raw water such as city water or underground water” [Abstract]); N (N is a natural number) irradiation units that irradiate a desired site with the ultraviolet light (“four ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d” [0024]); an optical switch that switches the ultraviolet light to each of paths to the irradiation units (“a control device, which controls turnon and turnoff of the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d, is electrically connected to the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d” [0024]); and a switching control unit that controls a switching operation of the optical switch so as to give an opportunity to be supplied with an integrated light amount per unit time equal for each of the paths on a basis of a transmission loss of the ultraviolet light for each of the paths and an irradiation area where the irradiation unit irradiates the ultraviolet light (“The ultraviolet sensors 3 are disposed to measure ultraviolet irradiation amounts from the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d through the monitor windows 2. The counter is disposed to measure irradiation time of the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d and electrically connected to the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d” [0024]).
Regarding claim 6, Kobayashi discloses An ultraviolet light irradiation method for irradiating a desired site with ultraviolet light generated by an ultraviolet light source unit (“an ultraviolet irradiation system that sterilizes, disinfects, and inactivates raw water such as city water or underground water” [Abstract]) from N (N is a natural number) irradiation units (“four ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d” [0024]), the method comprising giving, when the ultraviolet light is switched by an optical switch to each of paths to the irradiation units, an opportunity to be supplied with an integrated light amount per unit time equal for each of the paths on a basis of a transmission loss of the ultraviolet light for each of the paths and an irradiation area where the irradiation unit irradiates the ultraviolet light (“The ultraviolet sensors 3 are disposed to measure ultraviolet irradiation amounts from the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d through the monitor windows 2. The counter is disposed to measure irradiation time of the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d and electrically connected to the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d… a control device, which controls turnon and turnoff of the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d, is electrically connected to the ultraviolet lamps 8a to 8d” [0024]).
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881