DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-8, 14, 16-17, 36-37, 40, 42-44, 46 and 53-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atapattu USPGPub 20220287320 and Whaley USPN 6093439.
Regarding claims 1, 40 and 53-56, Atapattu teaches an analogue cheese composition comprising:
0-10 wt% crude plant protein [0037]
0-35 wt% starch [0035]
A fat/oil component [0043]
Acidulant and pH adjusters [0060-0064]
0-5 wt% hydrocolloid flexibility enhancer such as guar gum, locust bean gum, konjac mannan, agar, alginates and carrageenan. [0074,0075]
The proportion of plant protein in Atapattu overlaps with the proportions recited in claims 1 and 40. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Fat/oil may be present in the composition in an amount of 0-35 wt%. [0043] Oil may be present in the composition in an amount of about 0.5-28 wt% with solid fat making up the remainder of the fat/oil present. [0044] Suitable oils include canola, corn, sunflower, olive, peanut and soybean. [0042] Suitable fats include coconut oil, palm oil and palm kernel oil. The proportions of fat and oil disclosed by Atapattu would provide ratios of solid/liquid that overlap or encompass the proportions of solid fat at the temperatures recited in claims 1 and 40.
Atapattu is silent regarding the pH of the cheese analogue but does recognize the necessity of adjusting the pH to be more acidic (which determines the solubility of the protein components) [0062] and the tangy and zesty flavor imparted by acidity [0061]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have optimized the pH of the cheese analogue of Atapattu depending on the firmness, acidity, tang and zest desired in the final product. The pH recited in claims 1 and 40 is therefore an obvious variant of the prior art.
Atapattu is silent regarding hydrophobic starch and modified starch as recited in claims 1, 40 and 53-56.
Whaley teaches a starch composition useful as a gelling agent viscosifier and/or stabilizer in food products that can be used to replace at least a portion of the gelatin, gum and/or non-fat milk solids present in food products such as cheese without losing the organoleptic and structural properties of the product. (Col. 1, line 66-Col. 2, line 9, Col. 7, lines 18-27\
The composition of Whaley comprises:
Hydrophobic starch: 0-80 wt% stabilizing starch comprising octenyl succinic anhydride modified starch (Col. 5, line 65-Col. 6, line 21)
modified starch: 20-80 wt% hydrolyzed high-amylose starch (Col. 4, lines 1-36)
The modified starch is therefore different from the hydrophobic starch as recited in claims 1 and 40.
Atapattu and Whaley are both directed towards analogue cheese compositions comprising starch. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have used the starch composition of Whaley for the starch component in the cheese analogue of Atapattu to provide organoleptic and structural properties similar to cheese. Therefore, the modification of Atapattu with Whaley renders obvious the invention of claims 1, 40 and 53-56.
Regarding claims 6, 7, 42 and 43, Atapattu teaches 0-35 wt% starch [0035] which encompasses the total starch content reflected in claims 6, 7, 42 and 43. When employing the starch composition of Whaley in the composition of Atapattu, one would add the starch of Whaley in a proportion of total starch disclosed by Atapattu to be suitable. This modification of Atapattu would yield a composition that comprises the components of the claimed starches in relative proportions as disclosed by Whaley. In other words, 0-80wt% of the total starch (0-35 wt%) would be hydrophobic starch and 20-80wt% of the total starch would be modified starch. The proportions of the first and second starches in this modification overlap or encompass the proportions recited in claims 6, 7, 42 and 43. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claims 8, 16, 17 and 44, Atapattu teaches fat/oil may be present in the composition in an amount of 0-35 wt%. [0043] Oil may be present in the composition in an amount of about 0.5-28 wt% with solid fat making up the remainder of the fat/oil present. [0044] In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Suitable oils include canola, corn, sunflower, olive, peanut and soybean. [0042] Suitable fats include coconut oil, palm oil and palm kernel oil.
Regarding claims 14 and 46, Atapattu discloses chickpea, fava, soy and pea protein. [0036]
Regarding claims 36 and 37, Atapattu teaches 0-5 wt% hydrocolloid flexibility enhancer such as guar gum, locust bean gum, konjac mannan, agar, alginates and carrageenan. [0074,0075]
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 6-7 of the remarks that Atapattu fails to teach the claimed proportions of solid fat. However, applicant’s remarks ignore the teaching identified in the rejection that oil may be present in the composition of Atapattu in an amount of about 0.5-28 wt% with solid fat making up the remainder of the fat/oil present. [0044] According to how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the terms solid fat and oil, the lipid component of Atapattu has the properties recited in the claims.
Applicant asserts on pages 7-8 of the remarks that because Atapattu encompasses many embodiments, the embodiments relied on in the rejection would not have been selected. It is unclear what legal standard applicant is applying in making this argument. “Applicant must look to the whole reference for what it teaches. Applicant cannot merely rely on the examples and argue that the reference did not teach others.” In re Courtright, 377 F.2d 647, 153 USPQ 735,739 (CCPA 1967). Therefore, applicant’s assertions are not found persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 8 of the remarks that the starch composition of Whaley is disclosed for dairy products and is therefore not relevant to plant based compositions. Dairy products and plant-based cheese analogues rely on the precipitation of proteins to form cheese and cheese-like compositions. As such, the composition of Whaley is clearly relevant to the disclosure of Atapattu.
Applicant asserts on page 9 of the remarks there is no motivation to modify Atapattu, however, this assertion fails to address the motivation provided in the rejection and therefore fails to rebut the merits of the rejection. Applicant’s assertion that there is no suggestion Whaley would be suitable in plant based cheese is not persuasive for the reasons stated above. Furthermore, given that the goal of Atapattu is to produce a cheese analogue, a starch composition that was known to provide suitable organoleptic properties in cheese logically recommends itself. Applicant asserts on page 8 of the remarks there is no reasonable expectation of success for the proposed modification, but provides not reasoning or evidence to support this assertion. Therefore it is not found persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793