DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to papers filed 5/26/2026.
Claims 3-5,10-12, 14-18, 20-22,25-26,29-30,47, 52-53 are pending. Claims 1-2,6-9,13, 19, 23-24,27-28,31-46, 48-51 have been cancelled.
The following rejections are newly applied as necessitated by amendment.
The following action is final.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 USC 112b and 35 USC 102 made in the previous office action is withdrawn based upon amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5,10-12, 14-18, 20-22,25-26,29-30,47, 52-53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bernitz et al. (US Patent No. 8551710 October 8, 2012).
With regard to claim 3, Bernitz et al. teaches a method of using a padlock probe to a sample with one or more targets such that the padlock probes comprise binding sites (para 13 and Figure 1). Bernitz et al. teaches contacting one or more secondary probes, one or more tertiary probes (figure 1, figure 8 and para 13-18, and 43). Although Bernitz et al. does not teach that the probes are orthogonal, figure 1 and 8 suggest these probes can be orthogonal. Bernitz et al. teaches using ligation during these steps and imaging (para 13-18, and 43 and 112).
With regard to claim 4-5, 13-18, and 43teaches that the steps can be repeated and that ligation will stabilize the probes (para 13-18, and 43 and 112).
With regard to claims 10-12, as the padlock probes hybridize to different targets the padlock probes would comprise amplifier fragments that would be complementary to each of the padlock probes (see figure 1 and 8).
With regard to claim 14, Bernitz et al. teaches a method of using a ligase (para 100).
With regard to claim 15, Bernitz et al. teaches a sequence that interacts with padlock probes directing our indirectly (para 26 claims 15-18 and figure 8) and as such suggests a splint sequencing interacting.
With regard to claim 16, Bernitz et al. teaches that these fragments are ligated with a ligase (para 100).
With regard to claims 17-18, Bernitz et al teaches a method of hybridizing the padlock probes with detection probes to detect the presence of sequences (para 15-17). These detection probes would be considered readout probes.
With regard to claim 20, Bernitz et al. teaches that the targets can be DNA or RNA (para 20).
With regard to claim 21, Bernitz et al. teaches that the targets are conjugated to oligonucleotide sequences (para 55).
With regard to claims 22 and 25 and 47, although Bernitz et al does not recite cis-ligation, Bernitz et al. teaches hybridizing a contacting RNA probes for rolling circle amplification (para 20-60). This ligation performed by Bernitz et al. would be considered a type of cis-ligation.
With regard to claim 26, Bernitz et al. teaches a method of using a padlock probe to a sample with one or more targets such that the padlock probes comprise binding sites (para 13 and Figure 1).
With regard to claim 29, Bernitz et al. teaches the use of reactive groups of phosphate and amines (para 31).
With regard to claims 30, Bernitz et al teaches a method of hybridizing the padlock probes with detection probes to detect the presence of sequences (para 15-17). These detection probes would be considered readout probes.
With regard to claims 52-53, as the padlock probes hybridize to different targets the padlock probes would comprise amplifier fragments that would be complementary to each of the padlock probes (see figure 1 and 8). Bernitz et al. teaches that there are tertiary and quaternary probes that bind to target regions and bind to detection probes (see figure 1).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE D SALMON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682