DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and species of a composition of claims 1-2 in the reply filed on 7/2/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 6, 10-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “a cured product”. How does it relate to the claimed thermally conductive resin composition? For purposes of expediting prosecution, it is interpreted as the cured product of the thermally conductive resin composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soma et al (JPH07292048).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of JPH07292048 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Soma teaches a composition comprising (a) a urethane-modified (meth)acrylate having a (meth)acryloyloxy group and a urethane bond in one molecule and having a polybutylene glycol structure in the molecule, (b) a conductive filler such as furnace black, graphite, and (d) a polymerization initiator, and a monofunctional (meth)acrylate other than urethane-modified (meth)acrylate as component (f) such as polyethylene glycol mono(meth)acrylate, polypropylene glycol mono(meth)acrylate, a plasticizer and a curing accelerator [0089, 0098, 0021, 0056, 0074]. The amount of urethane acrylate is 40-90 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of components (a) and (f) [0054].
Soma does not expressly name a single embodiment having the claimed composition. However, each of the components of the composition is described in the reference. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to have made any of the compositions suggested by the reference, including the claimed composition, thereby arriving at the presently claimed invention.
Claim 9: Soma is silent with respect to the claimed elongation of the cured product of the composition. However, the teachings from Soma have rendered obvious the instantly claimed ingredients and amounts thereof. Therefore, it is reasonable that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the claimed physical properties to naturally arise.
Claims 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soma et al (JPH07292048) in view of Hayashi et al (WO2019124447).
In setting forth this rejection a machine translation of WO2019124447 has been relied upon and all citations to paragraph numbers in the discussion below are with respect to the machine translation.
Soma teaches the limitation of claim 1, as discussed above.
Soma does not teach the amount or type of the plasticizer.
However, Hayashi discloses a curable urethane acrylate composition comprising a plasticizer and teaches the plasticizer can be polypropylene glycol [0012], the amount of the plasticizer is 40-60wt% [0038]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize polyether such as polypropylene glycol as plasticizer for the composition of Soma. Additionally, the amount of plasticizer is a result effective variable which affect properties such as softness, pliability and tackiness of the curable composition of Soma. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of the plasticizer through routine experimentation to achieve the desired final properties of the product. Case law holds that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1, 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No.12,331,228. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘228 claims a composition of a urethane (meth)acrylate, a monofunctional acrylic monomer, a radical initiator, a plasticizer, a filler such as aluminum nitride.
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763