DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 6 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II (a tire production method), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/28/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “external force application mechanism” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Applicant’s specification discloses “the external force application mechanism includes a for-rotation spring member for application of spring force as external force to the segment” (Figs. 1, 3-6: 30) ([0007], [0033]-[0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the segment” in lines 5, 7, 8, 11, and 12 is unclear as a plurality of segments was previously disclosed but now a singular segment is being referenced. For the purposes of examination, the examiner assumes a respective segment from the plurality of segments.
Claims 2-5 and 7-11 are indefinite by dependence on claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the phrases “the first segment” in line 4, “the first rotatable shaft” in line 4, “the second segment” in lines 4-5, and “the second rotatable shaft” in line 5 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 9, the phrases “the first segment” in line 4, “the first rotatable shaft” in line 4, “the second segment” in lines 4-5, and “the second rotatable shaft” in line 5 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 10, the phrases “the first segment” in line 4, “the first rotatable shaft” in line 4, “the second segment” in lines 4-5, and “the second rotatable shaft” in line 5 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 11, the phrases “the first segment” in line 4, “the first rotatable shaft” in line 4, “the second segment” in lines 4-5, and “the second rotatable shaft” in line 5 lack sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bachochin et al. (US 20080152742) (of record).
Regarding claims 1-2, Bachochin discloses a mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire (Figs. 1-2), the mold comprising an annular tread molding part (Figs. 1-2: 19) which is divided into a plurality of segments (Figs. 1-2: 16) arranged in a circumferential direction ([0003], [0017]), wherein the mold comprises a rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) which is provided on a side (Figs. 1-2: 35) of one end of the segment (Figs. 1-2: 16) in a direction of an axis of the tread molding part (Figs. 1-2: 19) and which is perpendicular to a direction of movement of the segment and also to the axis of the tread molding part ([0021]-[0022]); and a base member (Figs. 1-2: 14) supporting the segment (Figs. 1-2: 16) to be rotatable around the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) ([0020]-[0022]); and an external force application mechanism (Figs. 1-2: 48, 50) which, when the tread molding part is opened (Fig. 2), applies external force to the segment (Figs. 1-2: 16) to rotate the segment toward a direction in which a side (Figs. 1-2: 32) of the other end of the segment in the direction of the axis is moved around the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) toward a radially outer side (Fig. 2) ([0019], [0024]-[0025]), wherein the external force application mechanism (Figs. 1-2: 48, 50) includes a for-rotation spring member (Figs. 1-2: 48) for application of spring force as external force to the segment (Figs. 1-2: 16) ([0019], [0024]-[0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Bachochin further discloses an outer ring (Figs. 1-2: 34) which is disposed on a radially outer side of the segment (Figs. 1-2: 16) and movable between a retention position at which the segment is retained at a predetermined position (Fig. 1) and a release position which allows for rotation of the segment (Figs. 1-2: 16) around the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) toward the radially outer side (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nara et al. (US 6066283) (of record).
Regarding claims 1-2, Nara discloses a mold (Fig. 1: 11) for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire (Fig. 1: T) into a tire, the mold comprising an annular tread molding part (Figs. 1-3: 20) which is divided into a plurality of segments (Figs. 1-3: 22) arranged in a circumferential direction (Col. 4 lines 40-43), wherein the mold comprises a rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-3: 36) which is provided on a side of one end of the segment (Figs. 1-3: 22) in a direction of an axis of the tread molding part (Figs. 1-3: 20) and which is perpendicular to a direction of movement of the segment and also to the axis of the tread molding part (Figs. 1-3: 20) (Col. 5 lines 12-27); and a base member (Figs. 1-3: 46) supporting the segment (Figs. 1-3: 22) to be rotatable around the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-3: 36) (Col. 6 lines 2-15); and an external force application mechanism (Figs. 1-3: 42, 43) which, when the tread molding part is opened (Fig. 3), applies external force to the segment (Figs. 1-3: 22) to rotate the segment toward a direction in which a side of the other end of the segment in the direction of the axis is moved around the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-3: 36) toward a radially outer side, wherein the external force application mechanism (Figs. 1-3: 42, 43) includes a for-rotation spring member (Figs. 1-3: 43) for application of spring force as external force to the segment (Figs. 1-3: 22) (Col. 5 lines 51-67; Col. 6 lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Nara further discloses an outer ring (Fig. 1: 25) which is disposed on a radially outer side of the segment (Fig. 1: 22) and movable between a retention position at which the segment is retained at a predetermined position (Fig. 1) and a release position which allows for rotation of the segment around the rotatable shaft toward the radially outer side (Fig. 3) (Col. 4 lines 46-66).
Regarding claims 4 and 7-8, Nara further discloses a guide rail (Figs. 1-3: 45) supporting the base member (Figs. 1-3: 46) to be movable in a radial direction of the tread molding part (Figs. 1-3: 20); and a for-sliding spring member (Figs. 1-3: 47) biasing the base member (Figs. 1-3: 46) toward a radially outer side of the tread molding part (Figs. 1-3: 20), wherein the segment (Figs. 1-3: 22) is moved toward the radially outer side with the segment being rotated around the rotatable shaft (Figs 1-3: 36) (Col. 6 lines 2-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachochin et al. (US 20080152742) (of record) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2000334740, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 5 and 9-10, Bachochin does not expressly recite when the tread molding part is opened after vulcanization molding of the tire, the first segment is rotated around the first rotatable shaft, and subsequently, the second segment is rotated around the second rotatable shaft.
Yamada discloses a mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire, the mold comprising an annular tread molding part which is divided into a plurality of segments (Figs. 6-7: 11, 12) arranged in a circumferential direction, wherein the segments are divided into two different groups that move independently and sequentially from each other (Figs. 6-7) ([0007]-[0008], [0013]-[0014], [0022]-[0025]). In this manner, it is possible provide a tire mold that can prevent flashing by eliminating the pinching of the raw tire between segments, extend the life of the tire mold, and improve tire quality, cost reduction, and productivity ([0006], [0022], [0024]). Although Yamada does not disclose radially moving the segments by rotating around a shaft, Yamada does disclose advantages for independently and sequentially radially moving segments one after the other, which one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize would also be advantageous for and applicable to the tire mold of Bachochin. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Bachochin in order to provide that, when the tread molding part is opened after vulcanization molding of the tire, a first segment is rotated around a first rotatable shaft followed by a second segment rotated around a second rotatable shaft so as to prevent flashing by eliminating the pinching of the raw tire between segments, extend the life of the tire mold, and improve tire quality, cost reduction, and productivity, as taught by Yamada.
Claim(s) 5 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nara et al. (US 6066283) (of record) as applied to claims 1-4 above, and further in view of Yamada et al. (JP 2000334740, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 5 and 9-11, Nara does not expressly recite when the tread molding part is opened after vulcanization molding of the tire, the first segment is rotated around the first rotatable shaft, and subsequently, the second segment is rotated around the second rotatable shaft.
Yamada discloses a mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire, the mold comprising an annular tread molding part which is divided into a plurality of segments (Figs. 6-7: 11, 12) arranged in a circumferential direction, wherein the segments are divided into two different groups that move independently and sequentially from each other (Figs. 6-7) ([0007]-[0008], [0013]-[0014], [0022]-[0025]). In this manner, it is possible provide a tire mold that can prevent flashing by eliminating the pinching of the raw tire between segments, extend the life of the tire mold, and improve tire quality, cost reduction, and productivity ([0006], [0022], [0024]). Although Yamada does not disclose radially moving the segments by rotating around a shaft, Yamada does disclose advantages for independently and sequentially radially moving segments one after the other, which one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize would also be advantageous for and applicable to the tire mold of Nara. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Nara in order to provide that, when the tread molding part is opened after vulcanization molding of the tire, a first segment is rotated around a first rotatable shaft followed by a second segment rotated around a second rotatable shaft so as to prevent flashing by eliminating the pinching of the raw tire between segments, extend the life of the tire mold, and improve tire quality, cost reduction, and productivity, as taught by Yamada.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Allitt (US 3553789) discloses mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire (Fig. 1), the mold comprising an annular tread molding part which is divided into a plurality of segments (Fig. 1: 4) arranged in a circumferential direction, wherein the mold comprises a rotatable shaft (Fig. 1: 22) which is provided on a side of one end of the segment in a direction of an axis of the tread molding part and which is perpendicular to a direction of movement of the segment and also to the axis of the tread molding part; and a base member (Fig. 1: 5a) supporting the segment to be rotatable around the rotatable shaft (Fig. 1: 22); and an external force application mechanism (Fig. 1: 6) which, when the tread molding part is opened, applies external force to the segment (Fig. 1: 4) to rotate the segment toward a direction in which a side of the other end of the segment in the direction of the axis is moved around the rotatable shaft (Fig. 1: 22) toward a radially outer side, wherein the external force application mechanism includes a for-rotation spring member (Fig. 1: 6) for application of spring force as external force to the segment.
Zaika (SU 1362638) discloses mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire (Fig. 1), the mold comprising an annular tread molding part which is divided into a plurality of segments (Fig. 1: 3) arranged in a circumferential direction, wherein the mold comprises a rotatable shaft (Fig. 1: 7) which is provided on a side of one end of the segment in a direction of an axis of the tread molding part and which is perpendicular to a direction of movement of the segment and also to the axis of the tread molding part; and a base member (Fig. 1: 8) supporting the segment (Fig. 1: 3) to be rotatable around the rotatable shaft (Fig. 1: 7); and an external force application mechanism (Fig. 1: 10) which, when the tread molding part is opened, applies external force to the segment (Fig. 1: 3) to rotate the segment toward a direction in which a side of the other end of the segment in the direction of the axis is moved around the rotatable shaft (Fig. 1: 7) toward a radially outer side, wherein the external force application mechanism includes a for-rotation spring member (Fig. 1: 10) for application of spring force as external force to the segment.
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749