DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Group II (method for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase “a spring member which is attached between the holder and the container corresponding to the spring member to retain the design surface dividing mold part corresponding to the spring member at a predetermined position” in lines 3-5 is unclear. It is unclear how a spring member is attached between the holder and the container corresponding to the spring member (i.e., itself). It is also unclear how the spring member is attached to retain the design surface dividing mold part corresponding to the spring member (i.e., itself). Further clarification is requested as to what “corresponding to the spring member” is intended to mean. For the purposes of examination, the examiner assumes a spring member which is attached between the holder and the container to retain the design surface dividing mold part at a predetermined position.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “a spring member which is attached between the holder and the container corresponding to the spring member to retain the design surface dividing mold part corresponding to the spring member at a predetermined position” in lines 3-5 is unclear. It is unclear how a spring member is attached between the holder and the container corresponding to the spring member (i.e., itself). It is also unclear how the spring member is attached to retain the design surface dividing mold part corresponding to the spring member (i.e., itself). Further clarification is requested as to what “corresponding to the spring member” is intended to mean. For the purposes of examination, the examiner assumes a spring member which is attached between the holder and the container to retain the design surface dividing mold part at a predetermined position.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bachochin et al. (US 2008152742) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Bachochin discloses a mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire (Figs. 1-2), the mold comprising: an annular tread molding part which is divided into a plurality of segments (Figs. 1-2: 16) arranged in a circumferential direction and which is configured to be opened and closed by moving each of the segments in a radial direction ([0017], [0024]-[0025]), wherein each of the segments (Figs. 1-2: 16) includes a design surface dividing mold part (Figs. 1-2: 19) which includes a tread design surface for forming a tread of the tire and which is configured to rotate around a rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) perpendicular to a direction of movement of the segments (Figs. 1-2: 16) and also to an axis of the tread molding part when the tread molding part is opened after vulcanization molding of the tire (Figs. 1-2) ([0017], [0021]-[0022], [0024], [0025]).
Regarding claim 2, Bachochin further discloses each of the segments (Figs. 1-2: 16) includes a holder (Figs. 1-2: see body/holder of each segment 16 having sides 32, 35, 36, 39) to be driven toward a radially outer side by a container (Figs. 1-2: 12, 14) when the tread molding part is opened (Figs. 1-2: see how holder 16 is driven radially outward by container 12 using surface 34, alternatively see how holder 16 is driven radially outward by container 14 comprising spring 48, 50), the design surface dividing mold part (Figs. 1-2: 19) is fixed to a radially inner side of the holder (Figs. 1-2: 16), and the holder (Figs. 1-2: 16) is supported by the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) to be rotatable in relation to the container (Figs. 1-2: 12, 14).
Regarding claim 3, Bachochin further discloses the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-2: 44) is disposed on a radially outer side in a one-sided manner in relation to the center of the holder (Figs. 1-2: 16) in the radial direction, and on one side in a direction of the axis of the tread molding part in relation to the center of the holder in the direction of the axis of the tread molding part (Figs. 1-2: see how shaft 44 is only on one side of the segment holder 16 in a radially outward and axially outermost manner).
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Bachochin further discloses a spring member (Figs. 1-2: 48, 50) which is attached between the holder (Figs. 1-2: 16) and the container (Figs. 1-2: 14) to retain the design surface dividing mold part (Figs. 1-2: 19) at a predetermined position (Fig. 1), and when the tread molding part is opened (Fig. 2), elastically deforms to allow for rotation of the holder in relation to the container (Fig. 2) ([0019], [0024]-[0025]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deshors (FR 2306069, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Deshors discloses a mold for forming a tire for vulcanization molding of an unvulcanized raw tire into a tire (Figs. 1-5), the mold comprising: an annular tread molding part which is divided into a plurality of segments (Figs. 1-5: 7) arranged in a circumferential direction and which is configured to be opened and closed by moving each of the segments in a radial direction (Figs. 1-5) ([0005]), wherein each of the segments (Figs. 1, 5: 7) includes a design surface dividing mold part (Figs. 1, 5: 6) which includes a tread design surface for forming a tread of the tire and which is configured to rotate around a rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-5: 8) perpendicular to a direction of movement of the segments (Figs. 1-5: 7) and also to an axis of the tread molding part when the tread molding part is opened after vulcanization molding of the tire ([0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Deshors further discloses each of the segments (Figs. 1-5: 7) includes a holder (Figs. 1-5: see body/holder of each segment 7) to be driven toward a radially outer side by a container (Figs. 1-5: 10) when the tread molding part is opened ([0004]), the design surface dividing mold part (Figs. 1, 5: 6) is fixed to a radially inner side of the holder (Figs. 1, 5: 7) ([0005]), and the holder (Figs. 1-5: 7) is supported by the rotatable shaft (Figs. 1-5: 8) to be rotatable in relation to the container (Figs. 1-5: 10).
Regarding claim 4, Deshors further discloses a spring member (Figs. 1-5: 16) which is attached between the holder (Figs. 1-5: 7) and the container (Figs. 1-5: 10) to retain the design surface dividing mold part (Figs. 1, 5: 6) at a predetermined position, and when the tread molding part is opened (Figs. 2-3), elastically deforms to allow for rotation of the holder (Figs. 1-5: 7) in relation to the container (Figs. 1-5: 10).
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749